Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are students buying 500 Euro laptops?

• 14-10-2010 2:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭

Every time I come on Boards and look in the computer related forums, there's college students looking for advice on laptops to buy for "college work" and surfing the internet. Every thread posted they're looking for €500+ laptops

I recently got a new Acer Aspire One netbook for €300 Euro, over the option of a perfect refurbished laptop from a good supplier for €170 Euro which would more than do the work and leisure use they claim to want.

Often the same students protest against fees and claim they can't afford course materials, but where the hell are they getting €500+ for high end laptops?

Is there someone giving free money out again? I thought Anglo had stopped lending!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

People have these things now. They're called bank accounts. They allow you to put amounts of money into them which accumulated are called 'savings.' These 'savings' allow you to buy things that you couldn't afford in the short term. Handy, they are.

Also, they have parents who might buy them the laptops.

Also, they might require higher-end laptops for various functionality.

Basically, people can get better stuff than you. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Because people are fecking idiots.

If all you need it for is facebook and college work you could buy one for €50

You can build a gaming PC for €500 for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

In fairness this is going to be a once off and probably the single biggest material investment that they will make during college so they want what they think they need. I paid that for mine and thank christ it's still working 6 years down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

I think the real issue is why are students buying up refill pads?... when you can't even refill them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

ILA wrote: »
    Every time I come on Boards and look in the computer related forums, there's college students looking for advice on laptops to buy for "college work" and surfing the internet. Every thread posted they're looking for €500+ laptops

I recently got a new Acer Aspire One netbook for €300 Euro, over the option of a perfect refurbished laptop from a good supplier for €170 Euro which would more than do the work and leisure use they claim to want.

Often the same students protest against fees and claim they can't afford course materials, but where the hell are they getting €500+ for high end laptops?

Is there someone giving free money out again? I thought Anglo had stopped lending!

mammy and daddy i would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Doop

Teutorix wrote: »

You'd probably be finished college by the time that thing starts up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Doop wrote: »
    I think the real issue is why are students buying up refill pads?... when you can't even refill them

I know! I tried............:(

Doop wrote: »
    You'd probably be finished college by the time that thing starts up
    My friends laptop cost €50 and has a 6 second boot time. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Netbooks are good for what they are but the small screen (and more importantly resolution), small keyboard and slower processor limit it's use for college. Battery life can be great on them though. I have both and netbooks are grand for a bit of pissing about but I much prefer the laptop. If I had to choose between them I'd spend the extra few quid on a proper sized laptop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Maybe they don't like ****ty small netbooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I love the ones buying Macs and saying they're "only" whatever price with a student discount. Windows is so 5 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Banji

Find one for €50 then..

Plus all courses have different types of coursework that needs to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Personally, if i was going to buy a laptop, i couldn't justify not spending the extra 200 and getting more for my money.

Those netbooks are good for the likes of what you said, but suck for everything else. A decent laptop is a good investment, if you're going to use it for 3 years.

amacachi wrote: »
    I love the ones buying Macs and saying they're "only" whatever price with a student discount. Windows is so 5 years ago.
    Haha yeah, wait till their lecturer tells them they need a certain program that dosent work on OSX. most mac owners probably wouldnt know how to compile WINE from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They never gave out loans for laptops unless there was a €500,000,000 building that went with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Sanjuro wrote: »
    People have these things now. They're called bank accounts. They allow you to put amounts of money into them which accumulated are called 'savings.' These 'savings' allow you to buy things that you couldn't afford in the short term. Handy, they are.

Also, they have parents who might buy them the laptops.

Also, they might require higher-end laptops for various functionality.

Basically, people can get better stuff than you. Get over it.
    I thought you were meant to save Savings, not spend them? :confused:

Fair play to those posters who've given reasonable explanations which I hadn't thought about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I paid 500 for my laptop.

It still is working and has never had a problem since I got it 3 years ago.

And it is so handy for keeping my mountains of college work on.

How could I afford it? Overdraft!

Why did I buy the more expensive one? Buy cheap you buy twice is my motto!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Just try doing a thesis on a netbook. It truly sucks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

For University/College, I'd say that getting a fairly good spec laptop is a really good investment.

Once it's used properly for University/College, it can be a great strenght to getting a qualification..

Though, If the Uni/College has decent computers and access to them, it's not essential.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It's kind of unnecessarily combative to indicate that 500 euro is a ridiculous or excessive amount to spend on a laptop for further education tbh.

I paid 500 for my laptop.

It still is working and has never had a problem since I got it 3 years ago.

And it is so handy for keeping my mountains of college work on.

How could I afford it? Overdraft!

Why did I buy the more expensive one? Buy cheap you buy twice is my motto!
    Fair enough.

It's just that before college you'd always hear about the "student lifestyle" of living "hand to mouth" and all that ****e, yet nearly every student I see in college owns: (a) a laptop, (b) an iPhone, (c) a decent car with barely any of them over 10 years old, most within 5 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

It depends on what sort of course they're doing. Not everyone only needs a word processor and email. Some students will need to use CAD software, Photo/Video editing software, 3D computer graphics software and as such they will require a laptop with a bit of extra muscle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Paying extra might be a good investment for the. An older refurbished laptop might not have the same expandability as a newer one due to lower processor speeds, hard drive and RAM size. They may also have better graphics cards which are quite important for science/engineering courses as well as a longer of others. Generally they come with a longer guarantee and will probably last longer as well. As others have said screen size and keyboard size are important too.

It is worth spending extra especially if you plan to keep it for a long time. I spent €600 on mine about 4 years ago and it is still going strong and is well capable of handling the majority of tasks that I need. I could have gone for cheaper ones but they simply would not be good enough today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

God be with the days when we had to carve our lecture notes into a wax tablet.....kids these days don't know they're born :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

Why do people who start threads bitching about phantom people they've
    never met always include the non-obligatory (btw) reference to
    society such as dole or college fees or whatever, ffs that doesn't
    give your argument any justification - you're still moaning about something
    that doesn't matter in the slightest & if something as ridiculously stupid
    as this annoys you then you have a lot to be thankful for.

Here's my version of your thread using the same outlook:

"Why do people complain about what other people choose to do in a free
    society where they have a choice to live as they please? It pisses me off :mad:
    Why aren't they like me? I don't have "free money" so they shouln't
    either, Anglo must be giving it to everyone except me :( There isn't,
    after all, any other way to buy a laptop other than free anglo money :rolleyes:
    I think 300 for a laptop is fine and because they want to spend
    more they are wrong so if I include a reference to society I'll get
    some form of justification. Because of this I think college fees should
    be re-introduced out of spite because I'm angry students can afford
    better laptops than me!"

dr bolloko wrote:
    It's kind of unnecessarily combative to indicate that 500 euro is a ridiculous or excessive amount to spend on a laptop for further education tbh.

€300 is the most I've spent in life for any item so far, and that was for a netbook last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Not sure when you were last in college, but these days most courses require the students to have their own laptops. Netbooks are actually fairly woeful if you want to be doing anything serious on them - I used one for my work once and it nearly drove me mad. You can only see about 20 lines of a code editor at a time on the damned things, never mind writing 10000 word essays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭pieface_ie

Because you need a decent laptop to run all the software you use, Autocad,dialux,relux,ies etc

your only fooling yourself buying a cheap one

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

€300 is the most I've spent in life for any item so far, and that was for a netbook last week.

Not everyone has the same needs as you. If I was using the netbook for some of the stuff I need to do for college I'd be driven mental by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

why are you watching what students are doing with their money anyways?
    if they want to spend €500 on a laptop who really cares?

what is with people watching what everyone else is spending? watch your own finances and let the rest of us worry about our own!

Daddio wrote: »
    Not sure when you were last in college
    I'm there right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

As yourself..

Would you by snypers second hand laptop?

You will find yourself in PC World in a jiffy

If you were doing a course that involved 3d modelling and other resource intensive processes you would need a good desktop rather than a laptop. Rendering complex models can take a long time without a decent GPU/CPU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭NotInventedHere

Haha yeah, wait till their lecturer tells them they need a certain program that dosent work on OSX. most mac owners probably wouldnt know how to compile WINE from my experience.

You just install a windows partition

Not much point having OSX then is there when a normal laptop is cheaper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You really don't want to cheap out on a laptop. The first one I got was a Dell and it was around the 300 mark, I ended up spending more on getting it repaired.

If you were doing a course that involved 3d modelling and other resource intensive processes you would need a good desktop rather than a laptop. Rendering complex models can take a long time without a decent GPU/CPU.

Not necessarily. You can get laptops with highly clocked dual cores or lower clocked quad cores and decent dedicated graphics in them. They won't be as powerful as a similarly priced desktop but they'd still be pretty powerful machines.

You really don't want to cheap out on a laptop. The first one I got was a Dell and it was around the 300 mark, I ended up spending more on getting it repaired.
    There's your problem.

I work with windows PCs and Servers and I love the Mac because it just works. I still have my old Ibook g4 and the kids use it 6 years later no problem. Most windows PCs and laptops are buggered after 2 years and need about 4 or five times the user intervention to keep running(format and reinstallation) than mac. As a user said earlier buy cheap, buy twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,906 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Fair enough.

It's just that before college you'd always hear about the "student lifestyle" of living "hand to mouth" and all that ****e, yet nearly every student I see in college owns: (a) a laptop, (b) an iPhone, (c) a decent car with barely any of them over 10 years old, most within 5 years old.
    (a) a laptop is virtually a necessity in most courses these days
    (b) the vast majority of students do not own an iPhone, or any other smartphone
    (c) I knew about 3 people who had a car in undergrad. The vast, vast majority of students do not own a car

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Don't forget the additional fee of a *cough* licence....

Lets add another pointless question using this stellar logic:

Why do people buy laptops with windows on them? I mean if they are college
    students then they obviously should just take linux because it's free, I mean
    it does the same stuff - word processing etc... that all these "poor college
    students living the college life" say they want. Because of this I think
    college fees should be reintroduced but I'll indirectly hint at this by the
    sheer derrogatory mention - anyone with windows and in college should be
    shot on sight paying college fees due to the fact they can afford
    luxuries I can't. In fact, why laptops at all? Pens and paper do the same
    stuff that these college students want, in fact OP - why are you going off
    buying a laptop when a pen and paper do the same thing? :mad: Why did you
    spend 300 on it when you could get one for 200 that does the same thing
    more or less :mad:

28064212 wrote: »
    (a) a laptop is virtually a necessity in most courses these days
    (b) the vast majority of students do not own an iPhone, or any other smartphone
    (c) I knew about 3 people who had a car in undergrad. The vast, vast majority of students do not own a car

I suppose we could say that 2/10 have an iPhone, and maybe 150/4000 have a car

I work with windows PCs and Servers and I love the Mac because it just works. I still have my old Ibook g4 and the kids use it 6 years later no problem. Most windows PCs and laptops are buggered after 2 years and need about 4 or five times the user intervention to keep running(format and reinstallation) than mac. As a user said earlier buy cheap, buy twice
    Im so tired of hearing that excuse for paying double the price. I have a desktop with XP and its been running for 6 years without a single issue, never needed to reinstall or format my HDD. and i only paid €600 for it.

Lets add another pointless question using this stellar logic:

Why do people buy laptops with windows on them? I mean if they are college
    students then they obviously should just take linux because it's free, I mean
    it does the same stuff - word processing etc... that all these "poor college
    students living the college life" say they want. Because of this I think
    college fees should be reintroduced but I'll indirectly hint at this by the
    sheer derrogatory mention - anyone with windows and in college should be
    shot on sight paying college fees due to the fact they can afford
    luxuries I can't. In fact, why laptops at all? Pens and paper do the same
    stuff that these college students want, in fact OP - why are you going off
    buying a laptop when a pen and paper do the same thing? :mad: Why did you
    spend 300 on it when you could get one for 200 that does the same thing
    more or less :mad:

I don't want college fees reintroduced. I'd have to pay them then as well, I already pay 1,500 or five netbooks, for the privledge of being here with grant leechs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Considering most books for my course cost around 100 Euro, 500 for a laptop aint that much.
    I got mine for Christmas a few years ago though.

Im so tired of hearing that excuse for paying double the price. I have a desktop with XP and its been running for 6 years without a single issue, never needed to reinstall or format my HDD. and i only paid €600 for it.
    You don't download/attempt to download all the dodgy porn [read "malware"] that other Windows users must.

I don't want college fees reintroduced. I'd have to pay them then as well, I already pay 1,500 or five netbooks, for the privledge of being here with grant leechs.

What the hell is a grant leech? Bitter much? Even though you're in college you
    still haven't learned society 101, namely that we give grants to people to
    see them succeed & no question of personal greed, such as your only
    motive not to introduce fees
    , or bitterness comes into the equation.

Don't forget the additional fee of a *cough* licence....

True, thats only a hundred notes though

You don't download/attempt to download all the dodgy porn [read "malware"] that other Windows users must.
    I do download alot of stuff, Im just not a plank that cant tell the difference between legit stuff and a virus. Also OSX has viruses too :rolleyes: