Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White Shoes For U.S. Naval Costume

• 13-10-2010 11:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭

I'm thinking of dressing up as a U.S. Navy Admiral for Halloween.

The dress uniform I'm looking at is white, and the official shoes for such a uniform are formal, white dress shoes.

While I could substitute black shoes in and I don't think it would look too bad (or who the hell would notice/care) but I'm something of a stickler for looking right.

But I've drawn an absolute blank with trying to find white dress shoes (or at least white semi-formal shoes) and white shoes that aren't trainers.

Anyone have any idea where I'd get a pair of white shoes on short enough notice??? (I want to avoid ordering from outside the EU if possible, so I can avoid getting stung for import duty).

Thanks in advance!!! D.M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Ahoy Sailor! :)

I would wear a pair of white canvas materially shoes like keds. If you could pick up a pair of navy ones it would match the little neck tie that they have on the front of it! They shouldn't set you back too much. You can pick them up in Dunnes or pennys. I think they would look just the job under the uniform!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

As it's a once off what about getting a very cheap pair of shoes and then using a tube of trainer whitener on them? Even paint them.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

You'd probably get away with wearing eg. plain white adidas trainers or the likes!

borg_elite.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Lady

Hey I wouldn't worry too much about white shoes, I was in New York for Fleet Week, [where all the Navy and Coast Guard Ships dock and the men in uniform spend the week finding girls and having fun :P]
    But anyway ye they had full uniform on and I saw plenty of black shoes with their white uniforms, which in fact they only wear on special occasions. So go for black shoes if you dont fancy buying white just for the day.

I even routed out a pic from NY :)
    32046_408723459259_546849259_4236566_435794_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Thanks, lads! All replies are greatly appreciated...

Might wing it and go with black, tbh. Save me buying white runners!! haha:):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Post a pic will ya when you're all dressed up....gotta love a man in uniform :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Dr Nic

anniehoo wrote: »
    Post a pic will ya when you're all dressed up....gotta love a man in uniform :D

Mind if i ask where you got the rest of the costume? Im doing the same and want a really good navy uniform... I was thinking about getting a proper suit and then sewing on proper buttons etc... As you've said, it has to be right, or else its all wrong! Thanks John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Dr Nic wrote: »
    Mind if i ask where you got the rest of the costume? Im doing the same and want a really good navy uniform... I was thinking about getting a proper suit and then sewing on proper buttons etc... As you've said, it has to be right, or else its all wrong! Thanks John

http://www.thecostumeshop.ie/costumes/deluxe-navy-officer-costume.html

That's the one I was looking at... But it's only now I'm realising that nobody really has any idea of any parties or anything on!!! :(

Might be a bust out now, cos I'm not shelling out €200 on a costume if I don't get to go to a party in it!!!:mad: