Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC and PS3 online gaming

• 13-10-2010 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭

I'm thinking of switching to UPC to provide our internet. I'm currently with Vodafone at the moment. I've had no issues with Vodafone and the speed is good, getting about 6MB on a 7MB connection. I'm just thinking about the switch for financial reasons, UPC will be a lot cheaper.

Does anyone use UPC broadband for playing online? I've heard it causes issues with some Wii games (Mario Soccer).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Have had no problems with UPC and gaming (I use PS3 and PC). The pings are generally faster to UK and European based servers as there is a fibre optic link across the Irish Sea.

Was playing CoD World at War last nite (on pc) and had a ping of between 45ms and 66ms on a dutch server.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Have had no problems with UPC and gaming (I use PS3 and PC). The pings are generally faster to UK and European based servers as there is a fibre optic link across the Irish Sea.

Was playing CoD World at War last nite (on pc) and had a ping of between 45ms and 66ms on a dutch server.

Yer we got the 30 meg connection currently have 4 xboxs, 1 ps3, 1 wii and think around 5 laptops and never had a problem. If you can opt for a business line - bit more expensive but worth it, the customer service is a lot better + your contention ratio will be in the area of 5 to 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭socio

Go for Smart Telecom if they're in your area. 1:1 contention so you get what you pay for and the customer service is top notch...unlike UPC who are the worst company I've ever dealt with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Josey Wales

Thanks for the replies. However, I've just rang Vodafone to query my bills and they have been way over-charging me. So when this is sorted I will probably stay with them because I'm happy with the service otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

UPC CS are terrible ;_;
    Their only downfall tbh.. and in saying that i only have the 5meg and its fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭DemoniK

What you get with UPC seems to depend largely where in the country you are...
    I'm on the 30/3 package and it's excellent.

Others I know in certain areas in Dublin are plagued with problems.

Same with C/S - I seem to have gotten the good ones anytime I phoned...

I was with smart - and changed cos after the takeover I was getting more and more issues at the wrong times, e.g. upload dropping to <5kbps at 9pm just as I went gaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 SonicTitan

I'm on a UPC 15mg connection and have never had a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

I'm on a 20MB connection and its working out perfectly for gaming in my gaff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

I'm in the city centre with 15mb UPC, tiz excellent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Grand so a while back i posted on how to get nat type 1 with an eircom router.

pppoe Username: eircom@eircom.net
    Password: Broadband1

now i just said bye bye to my lil eircom router that served me well for many a year.

i'm now with UPC, anyone know how to get nat type one with them ?

or what is advanced in the router web page thing ?

cheers all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,962 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Hey,

I'm fairly new with UPC as well (moved from eircom). I got Nat 1 on Eircom but can only get NAT 2 on UPC. Online works perfect for me tho and i've heard contradicting reports about the difference between Nat 2 & 3. Go to Network setting and enter manual settings. Choose the default option for all and put in your router ssid and password, it should move from nat 3 to nat 2.

Anyone else know how to get it to nat 1 though?

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Hey,

I'm fairly new with UPC as well (moved from eircom). I got Nat 1 on Eircom but can only get NAT 2 on UPC. Online works perfect for me tho and i've heard contradicting reports about the difference between Nat 2 & 3. Go to Network setting and enter manual settings. Choose the default option for all and put in your router ssid and password, it should move from nat 3 to nat 2.

Anyone else know how to get it to nat 1 though?

yeah its nat 1 im looking for myself cos its a lot better for lobbies and online features etc.

funny thing is though i asked your man installing my broadband and i asked "whats the pppoe settings ?" and he just looked at me like "what ? :eek:".

he hadn't got a fecking clue what it was.

but if anyone does have the pppoe please do pass it on... should be like the eircom one

cheers again all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,962 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Robbie, I can go one better. The UPC 'engineer' couldn't install the wireless dongle on my computer. I told him I already had a wireless card in the desktop and he just looked at the screen blankly hoping for something to happen. I had to tell him to just leave and I will sort it out haha. Oh I rang UPC asking for the pppoe and they said they didn't have one????

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Robbie, I can go one better. The UPC 'engineer' couldn't install the wireless dongle on my computer. I told him I already had a wireless card in the desktop and he just looked at the screen blankly hoping for something to happen. I had to tell him to just leave and I will sort it out haha. Oh I rang UPC asking for the pppoe and they said they didn't have one????

a bit hopeless i might say.... one couldn't get the box to show on the tv !

but yeah i used pppoe with eircom and perfect nat1 everytime... maybe someone else with UPC and give us a clue how to get nat1 ?

thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

I have Nat 1 on my PS3 with UPC.

Very simple actually ....

I have a cheap network switch between the UPC modem and the supplied wireless router.

I come straight out of the network switch into the PS3 getting NAT1 . PS3 network scan set to "all automatic" no need for lenghty configuration takes a whole 30secs :)

Then a second patch cable up to the wireless router and all Laptops and phones behind that wireless router safe and secure.

M

(p.s) one potential downside to this configuration is if you use media servers etc.
    Cause your PS3 is seperate from your router it won't be part of any media network .

mixednuts wrote: »
    I have Nat 1 on my PS3 with UPC.

Very simple actually ....

I have a cheap network switch between the UPC modem and the supplied wireless router.

I come straight out of the network switch into the PS3 getting NAT1 . PS3 network scan set to "all automatic" no need for lenghty configuration takes a whole 30secs :)

Then a second patch cable up to the wireless router and all Laptops and phones behind that wireless router safe and secure.

M

(p.s) one potential downside to this configuration is if you use media servers etc.
    Cause your PS3 is seperate from your router it won't be part of any media network .

i have the router modem 2 in 1 thing so it actually has to go through the modem first before anywhere else so i cant actually do that

any other way ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

is it a cisco modem yeah?

ronanc15 wrote: »
    is it a cisco modem yeah?

yup

cisco EPC2425

im lagging online.

in battlefield bad company two in a squad rush with a max of 8 people and im lagging.

that can't be good.

its a wired connection too aswell straight with ethernet cable

ps3 is saying

Nat: type 2
    Speed download: 6mbps
    Speed upload: 566.8kbps

meant to be a 15mb connection !!!

EDIT: just dropped to 4.7mb download... less than what i was getting with eircom... whats happening people ?

NAT 1 means the PS3 is getting a public IP and so has a direct connection. The way to do this with the Cisco is to put it in bridge mode but you lose the phone service if you have it, and you're exposing ALL of your devices, including PCs and laptops, directly to the internet which is a major security risk. Also, only about 3 or 4 devices will work before the modem will refuse to give out any more IP addresses.

PPPoE is specifically a DSL feature so UPC can't and won't support it.

Karsini wrote: »
    NAT 1 means the PS3 is getting a public IP and so has a direct connection. The way to do this with the Cisco is to put it in bridge mode but you lose the phone service if you have it, and you're exposing ALL of your devices, including PCs and laptops, directly to the internet which is a major security risk. Also, only about 3 or 4 devices will work before the modem will refuse to give out any more IP addresses.

PPPoE is specifically a DSL feature so UPC can't and won't support it.

i hate UPC :(

everything was grand with eircom on nat 1 for the last year and no lag (except the **** mw2 rooms) and all was well.

but UPC are pissing me off already.

ahwell... i'll make do with crummy nat 2 until someone has a better idea.

Why are you looking for Nat1?

Nat 1 is what you were forced to do with Netopia boxes with eircom. Nat 1 won't allow you to hook up your PS3 to internal Media servers.

While Nat 2 can be configured correctly with proper port forwarding to give you 100% control of your gaming experience. If you put in the effort you can get NAT2 working correctly.
    You will need to ensure you have your PS3 set to a reserved IP in the DHCP server, then port forward the following to that IP address
    For PSN UDP:3074, 3075 TCP: 3074
    For COD (and others) UDP: 2095, 3478, 3479, 3658, 5223 TCP: 80, 443, 5223

To be honest - not sure on the 80 or 443 ports - but most port forwarding howtos I see always forget 2095 - and it's definitely needed on COD4, WAW and MW2 (for me anyway).

Other than that - ensure uPnP is turned on also..

And finally - disable the firewall and flood protection on that piece of crap box. It gets in the way.
    If you didn't need phone I'd recommend bridging it to a proper router, or if you want to chance it - get a 2nd hand stand alone modem and see if UPC will provision it for you.

DemoniK wrote: »
    Why are you looking for Nat1?

Nat 1 is what you were forced to do with Netopia boxes with eircom. Nat 1 won't allow you to hook up your PS3 to internal Media servers.

While Nat 2 can be configured correctly with proper port forwarding to give you 100% control of your gaming experience. If you put in the effort you can get NAT2 working correctly.
    You will need to ensure you have your PS3 set to a reserved IP in the DHCP server, then port forward the following to that IP address
    For PSN UDP:3074, 3075 TCP: 3074
    For COD (and others) UDP: 2095, 3478, 3479, 3658, 5223 TCP: 80, 443, 5223

To be honest - not sure on the 80 or 443 ports - but most port forwarding howtos I see always forget 2095 - and it's definitely needed on COD4, WAW and MW2 (for me anyway).

Other than that - ensure uPnP is turned on also..

And finally - disable the firewall and flood protection on that piece of crap box. It gets in the way.
    If you didn't need phone I'd recommend bridging it to a proper router, or if you want to chance it - get a 2nd hand stand alone modem and see if UPC will provision it for you.

that all sounds rather complicated and rather boring

but i did disable the firewall there earlier... first thing i did cos its useless and i'll the flood thing now, sounds like it could be an issue..

uPnP ?????
    is it necessary ? never used it before like

uPNP allows your device (PS3 in this case) to set up the port forward for any other connections it needs.
    By doing the first port forwards you ensure nothing else can get to those which are minimum for your PS3 to work online.

DemoniK wrote: »
    uPNP allows your device (PS3 in this case) to set up the port forward for any other connections it needs.
    By doing the first port forwards you ensure nothing else can get to those which are minimum for your PS3 to work online.

ah very good so... i'll have a crack at that tomorrow so... cheers :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

robbie_998 wrote: »
    i have the router modem 2 in 1 thing so it actually has to go through the modem first before anywhere else so i cant actually do that

any other way ?

This is your problem with regards to getting NAT 1...not happening. (Nothing wrong with NAT 2 btw).
    Either buy a modem and router and reconfigure your network or set up ports with your current config.
    I'm with UPC and have always had NAT 2 and have never had an issues with online gaming.

EDIT: What you're going to do...must learn to type faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

NAT Type 2 is fine for ps3 gaming...You dont need Nat 1 , and its not easy/possible with UPC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

make sure Ip flood detection is off. Mine was on and as soon as i turned it off, i noticed the diference straight away. I play BC2 wireless on my ps3 with the 15mb copnnection with no issues at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭eddhorse

No probs with UPC for me :)
    They have come a long way from NTL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I have always been NTL (now UPC) for past 9 years, never a single problem with internet, i upgraded to their highest speed other week and its even better, always online, plus pc online, laptops etc same time, never a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

15mg never have any probs and have never had to contact their CS.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Have merged the two threads about UPC in here, just to keep the place tidy we'll have this thread for all talk about UPC and PS3 :)

just did what DemoniK recommended and nat 2 is running well.

very stable , no lag and it all works grand.

cheers for that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

I'm getting UPC 30mb broadband installed tomorrow. I'm getting the Cisco EPC 2425 modem/router that they provide with it, which according to everything I've read about it, is absolutely rubbish. Some examples of what's people say about it: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056130178
    Anyway, I have a PS3 and will be online gaming. Anyone know what is the default NAT type with UPC? If it's NAT type 3 I'll have to set it to NAT 1 or 2 in the router config. But I hear that the EPC 2425 has to be reprogrammed every time you log in, which sounds like a major pain in the ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

Mine was set to NAT2 by default and doesn't have to be "reprogrammed" every time I log in.... let us know how it go's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

Default for nat2 for me aswell, which there is no problem at all.

The router is rubbish though, make sure you turn off all the firewall features on the router because it causes massive latency and dropped packets while gaming (or anything else for that matter)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

i have had no issues once i set up the ps3 on a static ip and put that ip in the DMZ on the router and it should be fine. you can set up port forwarding too if you want but i didn't bother

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Nat 2 here also. Have a separate modem(Scientific Atlanta) and router(Netgear).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

Thanks guys for the replies. That's grand. NAT 2 will be fine. I had a NAT 3 setting with Eircom, (this setting is a restricted setting, and is problematic for PS3 online gaming, as yiz probably know if you've had this NAT type before) and it was bloody awkward changing it (for me anyway!). So that's good news that the default NAT type with UPC is NAT 2 :)
    I heard that if you customise Wifi settings on the EPC 2425, you have to reprogramme it every time you log in, I read that on another thread here. I'll see how it goes, hopefully it won't give me the bother that a lot of people seem to be having with it. At least I won't have to muck about changing the NAT setting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

I'm getting UPC 30mb broadband installed tomorrow. I'm getting the Cisco EPC 2425 modem/router that they provide with it, which according to everything I've read about it, is absolutely rubbish. Some examples of what's people say about it: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056130178
    Anyway, I have a PS3 and will be online gaming. Anyone know what is the default NAT type with UPC? If it's NAT type 3 I'll have to set it to NAT 1 or 2 in the router config. But I hear that the EPC 2425 has to be reprogrammed every time you log in, which sounds like a major pain in the ass

Is it actually possible to connect your ps3 wirelessly with that router? I haven't been able to go online in almost a year now since using it.