Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Skiing & Nightlife

• 11-10-2010 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭

Now I know I'm generalising a bit here, but I can't help but notice the amount of people on here and other forums asking for suggestions for ski holidays, these people are generally beginners and their number 1 priority/requirement always seems to be: 'must have a good nightlife'

Don't get me wrong, I love apres ski, party til from 4 to about 7 or 8 then off to bed and then up at the crack of dawn to get a full days skiing in.

I get the feeling many of these people go on ski holidays and spend half the day in bed with a hangover. Of course each to their own, if that's how they want to spend their holiday thats up to them.

It just gets me thinking though, there are a lot cheaper ways to get pissed than to go on a ski holiday.

I would just say as a bit of advice for beginners, if you really want to make the most out of a skiing holiday and learn as much as you can, I wouldn't have the 'night life' at the top of my priorities.

Apres ski runs from 3 or 4pm to around 7/8pm and I believe its generally accepted that the reason for this is that it is not possible to go out on an all nighter every night and still be able to get up and make the most out of your days skiing. I also find that Apres ski is more fun and livelier than going out later in the evening.

Im not trying to tell people what they should be doing on their holidays, its just my opinion and some advice from my own experience.

Can of worms ? :)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,614 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Overflow wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, I love apres ski, party til from 4 to about 7 or 8 then off to bed and then up at the crack of dawn to get a full days skiing in.

Generally the crack of dawn is 8am, so that would give you 12 hours sleep! Most people can easily stay out till 1am or later and get up and out before the lifts are open.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I like burning the candle at both ends. :D

I would still be aiming for getting out for a relatively early lift back up the hill, you make your own apres though and it doesn't really matter where you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭flikflak

I think a lot of beginners under estimate how much learning to ski/board can take out of you - esp if you are not already quite active.

Most people soon realise that if you have paid €150 for a week of ski lessons and have to be up the mountain ready to go at 09.30 each morning then you cant be out on the lash each night.

Its called apres ski for a reason - its straight after skiing for a few beers, home, shower, food and bed.

When I first went skiing with my friends one of them got so twisted on the free welcome drinks that she missed the first day of her learn to ski course and had to pay for private lessons to catch up!

If you are a seasoned skier then you have more of a chance of coping with a few late nights as you can maybe get up the mountain for 10am - and tbh there is nothing better for a hangover than fresh mountain air!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

flikflak wrote: »
    I think a lot of beginners under estimate how much learning to ski/board can take out of you - esp if you are not already quite active.

Most people soon realise that if you have paid €150 for a week of ski lessons and have to be up the mountain ready to go at 09.30 each morning then you cant be out on the lash each night.

Its called apres ski for a reason - its straight after skiing for a few beers, home, shower, food and bed.

When I first went skiing with my friends one of them got so twisted on the free welcome drinks that she missed the first day of her learn to ski course and had to pay for private lessons to catch up!

If you are a seasoned skier then you have more of a chance of coping with a few late nights as you can maybe get up the mountain for 10am - and tbh there is nothing better for a hangover than fresh mountain air!

Thats exactly what i was trying to get across !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

copacetic wrote: »
    Most people can easily stay out till 1am or later and get up and out before the lifts are open.

I must be getting old :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭flikflak

^ me too! Apres is where its at anyway - its where all the fun happens :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I've been boarding twice, both times out till about 12 or 1 half the nights there, otherwise maybe an hour or two earlier, and up again, on the slopes by 8.30 to 9am

1st time out some of our group didn't catch up with us till 11 or 12, by that time we have woken up on the lower slopes and were heading up the mountain for the bigger runs.

When you have spent all that money, you want to make the most of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

one of my holiday, we skied from dawn to dusk (literally, it was dark when we were getting up and dark when we were on our last run or waiting for the bus back) bt we still managed to get up again the next morning...I dont know what it is about the drink or the air over there but i dont get hangovers!!! :) best holiday ever we got sooooo much skiing in!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

I am like the OP ski till last light and straight into the nearest bar playing terrible Europop music to which I will shake me ski booted booty off to and then hit the Dinner for 8 and pass out in bed ready for first tracks the next morning! :D

Meet a few lads from Tipp one year who managed to ski 2 of their 6 days due to hangovers they where great craic though

Fattes wrote: »
    Meet a few lads from Tipp one year who managed to ski 2 of their 6 days due to hangovers

what a waste of a trip!!!!

I'd cry if i missed one day!!! its to far to go to not take full advantage of it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

I can remember staning at the top of one of the back bowles in Lake Louise with the Mother of all hangovers on a pair of slalom skis the morning after St Patricks night and 6 Drop Heli SKiing Trip with CRM wondering what I was doing.

I leared two things that day! Slalom skis are not to shabby in Powder and that the best way to cure a hangover is loads of pow skiing with lashing of Poutin and Gatorade at every chance :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I am not a hard core skier. I have another sport (Iaijutsu) that I pursue seriously three days per week year round. When I do ski, it's mostly with friends that are occasional skiers like myself. Rather than hang out in pubs or clubs, we ski or do some other fun activity, but afterwords you can find us socialising in hot tubs or sipping a brew in the ski lodge bar. So our goal is to have fun together, not prepare for the next Winter Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

I have this debate every year....
    I maintain we are on a SKI holiday
    All I get back is we are on a ski HOLIDAY

Fattes wrote: »
    the best way to cure a hangover is loads of pow skiing with lashing of Poutin and Gatorade at every chance :D

or ensure u have one again the next day!!!! PUKE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,140 ✭✭✭olaola

I dunno what it is, I'm putting it down to the mountain air. But I NEVER get hangovers on ski holidays. We have a good routine: Up, brekkie, lifts, ski, gluhwein, ski, gluhwein, ski, lunch, ski, jagermeister, ski, apres ski, pool, dinner, few pints, bed. And repeat 6 times.

I love both sides of it - learning more on the slopes, getting better and exploring. Then craic with your mates at apres ski, and a great laugh around the dinner table. Most night we'd get about 8 hours sleep. The odd night we might go on a mad one, and fall into bed in the AM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

When I started it was out on the last til 4AM. Up at 8. Ski school at 9.30. Learning while drunk = no fear :). 3 years later and it's still the same. Burn the candle at both ends for the win. Only missed one day and that was due to injury, not a hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Holy Diver

^ Yeah we used to drink the sh*t out of it in the first few years and still used to ski 6 full days. Usually drank hard from maybe 7 or 8pm until we would each stumble back to our accommodation at various times. It's fairly doable when in you early to mid twenties but i couldn't do it now. Still though i do see its charm!!

Last trip i had zero alcohol due to a stomach problem and i have to say i covered waaaaaaaay more ground that i would have if there were late nights involved