Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help with new look

• 11-10-2010 6:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Whats the general prognossis for bigger men in mid 20's. Now when I say bigger I dont mean overweight. Think 6ft and rugby player build.

Just looking for a casual look. Have a shaved head if that makes any odds. I usually go around in sports clothes (because they fit and theyr'e comfortable) but lately the amount of people calling me a skanger. Or screaming obscenities in the middle of the street, and just general snobishness. I have to change my look. My wife is going mad over it, and my daughter is at the age where shes wondering why everyones mad at me all the time.

/rant

So yeh. I dunno what I want yet. I was thinking combats, but I dunno, with a skinhead people might start accusing me of being a neonazi or something else ridiculous.

So maybe combats. Emmm only thing I wont agree to is jeans. I cant stand jeans.

Any ideas for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Chinos. The pleated front will give you a bit more legroom then flatfront trousers.
    Poloneck. Same fit as a tshirt but a more tailored look.
    Doc's, comfortable, long wearing and suitable for most occasions.

That gets you out of leisure/sports clothing, avoids jeans and won't break the bank.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Not keen on polo necks at all, but I think thin knit jumpers look great on, something like this -

http://www.marksandspencer.com/Blue-Harbour-Cotton-V-Neck-Jumper/dp/B001OM1YIK?pos=PDP_ts_2/12_image

With a pair of casual cotton trousers? or even cords.

If you have a look online you might get some ideas of what would suit/you'd like

http://www.nextdirect.com/ie/en/shopping/men/casualwear/1/

People are shouting at you in the street? Is your tracksuit made of swastikas or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 rhood5944

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    People are shouting at you in the street? Is your tracksuit made of swastikas or something?

Yeh, honest to God. Obviously its not a daily thing. But it happens every couple of weeks. Some will make a remark that Im a knacker, waste of space, or should get a life, that Im a d!ckhead. Its unreal..! Youd think people would just mind theyre own business. Usually I wear all adidas. And at the minute Im sampling some nike air runners (i wanted to see what all the fuss was about) they pretty comfy on the feet actually- would defo recommend them.

I looked at that link you gave me dotcomdolly. I found some nice looking stuff. I really like these.

http://www.nextdirect.com/ie/en/shopping/men/casualwear/56/4

Just a few questions.

1- I know its probably hard to say without having me there, but do you think these would suit a bigger figure?

2- I'll be hitting the capital over the next few days with the wife. So anywhere I could maybe pick up a pair of these? Or something similar?

3- what do you think would go well with them? I was thinking maybe if i got one of those black, white and grey camoflague top to match or something? What do ya think?

Sorry for all the questions. But trust me. Myself and fashion have always being bitter enemies :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

rhood5944 wrote: »

I looked at that link you gave me dotcomdolly. I found some nice looking stuff. I really like these.

http://www.nextdirect.com/ie/en/shopping/men/casualwear/56/4

Just a few questions.

1- I know its probably hard to say without having me there, but do you think these would suit a bigger figure?

2- I'll be hitting the capital over the next few days with the wife. So anywhere I could maybe pick up a pair of these? Or something similar?

3- what do you think would go well with them? I was thinking maybe if i got one of those black, white and grey camoflague top to match or something? What do ya think?

Sorry for all the questions. But trust me. Myself and fashion have always being bitter enemies :o:o

Hmm i think they might be nicer if they were just plain instead of the camo, if you do get them def dont get a camo top, maybe something in a dark green.

Maybe try pennys for clothes, my bf is 6'5 and a big guy, he buys jeans etc there, says there the only place he can get ones with a long enough leg with out spending a fortune.

Just a few other things i found you might like
    http://www.next.co.uk/shopping/men/trousers/8/1
    http://www.next.co.uk/shopping/men/trousers/9/3
    http://www.debenhams.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10001_10001_090010361065_-1?breadcrumb=Home~Men

The best thing really would be to pick a few shops and then try anything on that catches your eye, you might be surprised at what suits you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Ahhh the military look. Classic.
    Two options.
    1: Army Bargains on Little mary Street for combats, t's and a parka and a pair of boots.
    2: The dandy take on militry. Link

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

Don't bother with combats OP. Go for some plain trousers and neutral coloured jumpers/shirts. Can your gf not pick you out some stuff? You'll go from looking like a knack to looking like a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭lainey316

Big and a shaved head - with combats, especially camo, on a bigger figure you're going to look like you're trying to look hard, and these nice people who shout at you (wtf) could think you're looking for a fight or something (well they're clearly very strange people, who knows). The brown cords posted by psycho-hope are nice.

Never, never, never wear head to toe camo. Unless you are actually in the army. But really, don't get the combats anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

Speaking as a tall, shaven headed guy I say go with the combats if you want - I wear them all the time and never get any looks. They are causual clothing and everyone wears them. But yes decked out in combats, great coat, green t shirt and combat boots might be too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 rhood5944

Thanks for all the input. It seems the general consensus is just go with plain colours. I cant say thats very appealing, but given ye are the experts- I'll give it a try and let yous know how I get on.

I know its probably a bit late notice, but Im going to Dublin tomorrow. Any shops you can recommend for me to try out? Kinda ashamed to admit this, but any shops where the staff actually have a good eye and could maybe go through a few different things with me.

I'll be taking the train to Dublin city center, so anywhere within walking distance (3 or 4 miles tops) would be great.

BTW: someone mentioned could I not get my wife to help me. She's a big culchie at heart and would have me in a tweed jacket and wellies in a minute if I ever let my guard down :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Controversial maybe, but could you grow your hair a bit? I find it's the shaved head that most often screams "knacker" rather than tracksuits. Shaved heads tend to be associated with aggression and generally have negative connotations associated. It's a lot easier and cheaper to just grow it into a more "gentle" style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

If you're a fan of colour, then go for it by all means! Just not head to toe camo, & not too bright in the trouser department. Neutral/dark colours are best there (cream/beige/brown/grey/navy/black/etc). Combats are okay IMO, go for dressy trainers with them IYKWIM. Not your best running/gym gear but not your shoes-to-match-your-tux ;) As someone already said, chinos are a good bet. My bf lives in his jeans, bought him some chinos for hols & he was a bit sceptical at first but quickly won over. Maybe get a couple of non-sporty t-shirts to brighten them up? You could get a couple of long sleeve tops (again, neutral colours) to put under them to layer them up for colder days. V-neck jumper maybe also? Shirt for going out?

You'll have to try everything on I'm afraid so be prepared. XL in one shop is very rarely XL in another & sometimes varies even within the same store! Not sure of Dublin shops but Penneys/Dunnes/M&S would be good for basics, in price order. Maybe TK Maxx as well but get there early as afternoons are too busy & everything is a mess by then. Next is good too, maybe Topman/Burtons but not sure of sizing (bf is 6'2" & has problems with both trouser lengths & top sizes in these places - never long enough & never big enough he says)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Next and River Island have nice menswear.
    You sound like you prefer casual yet stylish wear than more formal/"smart" wear.

A few samples of their things;
    River Island: Some of their casual "looks"-
    http://www.riverisland.com/Online/men/get-the-look/urban
    http://www.riverisland.com/Online/men/get-the-look/casual-remix

River Island -T-shirts and Hoodies:
    http://www.riverisland.com/Online/men/t-shirts--hoodies

Some bits from Next:

Link to their combats/cargos:
    http://www.nextdirect.com/ie/en/shopping/men/casualwear/56/

EDIT: Just noticed you you already checked the next site, whoops! just ignore the ones you've seen already.

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/745318.jpg

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/145852.jpg

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/973394.jpg [These come in Grey too]

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/729652.jpg

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/734484.jpg

They have 101 hoodies! Some examples
    http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/485013.jpg

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/737884.jpg

Some smarter tops:
    http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/726433.jpg

http://cdn.next.co.uk/COMMON/Items/default/default/itemimages//search/736929.jpg

Definitely try Penneys and Dunnes and Jack Jones if there's one near you. You can get things that look very similar to the more expensive things, for about a third of the price, and they are great for tshirts and jackets.

Maybe give jeans another go? There are so many different styles of them, and would give you even more options for outfits. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

Faith wrote: »
    Controversial maybe, but could you grow your hair a bit? I find it's the shaved head that most often screams "knacker" rather than tracksuits. Shaved heads tend to be associated with aggression and generally have negative connotations associated. It's a lot easier and cheaper to just grow it into a more "gentle" style.

I find that rather offensive to honest, aside from the fact that a lot of men don't really have a choice (better shaved head than bald spot) I really thought we had left that stereotype behind several years ago? Come back Andre Aggessi :)

Loads of men sport this look these days and it looks great, I honestly think it's only a problem if other things are added to the mix, like the afore mentioned tracksuit and someone adopting the general behaviour and attitude of a scanger.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

jpm4 wrote: »
    I find that rather offensive to honest, aside from the fact that a lot of men don't really have a choice (better shaved head than bald spot) I really thought we had left that stereotype behind several years ago? Come back Andre Aggessi :)

Loads of men sport this look these days and it looks great, I honestly think it's only a problem if other things are added to the mix, like the afore mentioned tracksuit and someone adopting the general behaviour and attitude of a scanger.

No offence was meant, but unfortunately the stereotype is far from left behind. There's been loads of threads here about that very topic.

The reason I suggested it was because the OP didn't seem very keen on some of the clothes suggested, so if he's that comfortable in tracksuits and things, why change from them? Like you said yourself, when you mix tracksuit + shaved head, you often run into problems. So changing his hair is easier than changing his clothes, if it's viable (ie. it's not to disguise bald patches).