Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm embarrassed to be Irish

• 08-10-2010 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭

Taylor is the best thing to ever happen to darts, and a bunch of filthy drunk paddies in the crowd are booing every dart he throws.

Unbelieveable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Thats what happens if you give people beer from 4 o clock, it happens at a lot of events not just in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Taylor is the best thing to ever happen to darts, and a bunch of filthy drunk paddies in the crowd are booing every dart he throws.

Unbelieveable.

Will you go and pull the other one!!!!

Sid Waddell is the most biased darts commentator ever and you're falling for it.

I seem to remember Phil Taylor siding with the crowd on a couple of occasions during the Premier League after playing Mervyn King, he was basically saying they were professional darts players and that the crowd pay their money and should be allowed do what they want.

The commentators weren't exactly lambasting the crowd when James Wade was being booed earlier.

Double standards for the Golden Child as usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Double standards as regards Sid moaning but its still bang out of order to be booing every shot to that degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭buster180

And what about the English giving King & Wade abuse in the premier league?? Wade got abuse earlier on in the night and just got on with it.

A certain Geordie gimp would want to get his head out of Taylor’s arse. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

It is bang out of order booing any shots I agree but this kind of behaviour has been rampant in the PDC for a couple of years and is not just confined to Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I havent heard it that bad in a while.

Sids Taylor love is way ott though, really grinds my gears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

To be fair to Taylor he didn't make a big deal about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

This booing and rowdy behaviour has been going on for years but probably because Taylor was the victim of it tonight no doubt Barry Hearn will hire extra security for tomorrow night!

Last year Steve Beaton was booed loudly throughout his game against Jacko Barry yet Sid Waddell never mentioned it! It was way out of order the booing Taylor got tonight but Sid never shut up about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

i would say its a problem when he starts losing matches. its not right but it has been happening for years and Taylor never lets it affect him.but yeah sid is a ****ing joke. they boo king incessantly and it clearly has affected him and never a word is spoken about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

Unbelieveable.

Oh for f**k sake. I'm not even sure how bad the crowd was as I only watch Taylor matches on mute now because of Sid. It couldn't have been much worse than what Hankey or King have had to put up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭iseethelight

You pay the piper you listen to the tune. Taylor said you must deal with the crowd. BTY Wade got no booing against Mick on Tuesday, an he always gets abuse in England on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dartsfan

Unbelieveable.

So what that he got booed. He never complained when the crowd were booing Manley or King against him.
    The most disgraceful thing tonight was Sid Waddell's complaints even though he never said a thing when Beaton/King/Manley were booed beforehand.
    Even Bruce Spendley called for order in the middle of a leg, and I'm fairly sure he's not done the same for other players before.

If the PDC wanted to clamp down on booing then they should have done it a year ago, not just after the golden boy gets a bit of treatment.

Taylor himself handled it excellently in the post-match interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Lads it was an absolute f#cking disgrace that booing tonight. Can't believe there are some in here trying to defend it or play it down. It was the same last year. It was brought up a lot on last years thread too how bad it was.
    Skys reaction to it tonight was spot on. Yes they should have clamped down on it when it was happening to others, but some players thrive on playing the bad guy and play up to the crowd. I hope tonight has brought it to a head and something is done about it.
    It does happen at other venues but not to the extent the Irish crowd have done it these last 2yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Rob113 wrote: »
    Lads it was an absolute f#cking disgrace that booing tonight. Can't believe there are some in here trying to defend it or play it down. It was the same last year. It was brought up a lot on last years thread too how bad it was.
    Skys reaction to it tonight was spot on. Yes they should have clamped down on it when it was happening to others, but some players thrive on playing the bad guy and play up to the crowd. I hope tonight has brought it to a head and something is done about it.
    It does happen at other venues but not to the extent the Irish crowd have done it these last 2yrs.

It happens in every tournament. Taylor is hardly ever the recipient of it. King always gets it and for the most part ignores it. It can't be one rule for one another rule for others. Nobody here is trying to defend it but players have to get on with it.

Sky try and villify it yet every time Taylor plays Painter or King, they go back ten years to find "an incident" in their vignettes. They are the ones making the villians, creating the characters that the crowd boo. They are as much as fault as the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

buster180 wrote: »
    And what about the English giving King & Wade abuse in the premier league?? Wade got abuse earlier on in the night and just got on with it.

A certain Geordie gimp would want to get his head out of Taylor’s arse. :rolleyes:
    we're irish though, we were supposed to be better than that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

90% of the crowd at citywest are clueless. All they care about is getting their mug on y and occasionally singing ole ole.

I was seated in the tiers, and what i saw was 90% of people having a great time, also met loads of sound heads, but there was groups of about 6, dotted around the place booing at nothing, they weren''t even looking in the right direction, total ignorant c**nts booing through rolled up 180 cards...and their skanky mots blindly joining in. I don't like booing, but when it's as braindead as what i saw last night........"green jersey must boo"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭wayne76

I was seated in the tiers, and what i saw was 90% of people having a great time, also met loads of sound heads, but there was groups of about 6, dotted around the place booing at nothing, they weren''t even looking in the right direction, total ignorant c**nts booing through rolled up 180 cards...and their skanky mots blindly joining in. I don't like booing, but when it's as braindead as what i saw last night........"green jersey must boo"..
    dead right mate it was small groups and when one spastic would start it was the usual drunk twat thing monkey see monkey do,
    assholes running around with their top off and shoes in their hands pissed i was cringing sitting there,
    i seen men pissing behind curtains and in empty pitcher jug's ****ing sickening and they weren't young lad's my thinking is it'll be the last year it'll be held here and barry hearn sitting there witnessing it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

I seem to remember Phil Taylor siding with the crowd on a couple of occasions during the Premier League after playing Mervyn King, he was basically saying they were professional darts players and that the crowd pay their money and should be allowed do what they want.

I don't think he meant the crowd should do what they want, but he certainly said the players should get on with it. To his credit he never really complained(not that I heard)
    dartsfan wrote: »
    Even Bruce Spendley called for order in the middle of a leg, and I'm fairly sure he's not done the same for other players before.

C'mon, thats unfair on the MCs. I've heard them plenty of times calling for order at different tournaments and in matches involving different players.
    Rob113 wrote: »

Nonsense

Good article, pretty much summing up what others have said in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

EKRIUQ wrote: »
    Thats what happens if you give people beer from 4 o clock, it happens at a lot of events not just in Ireland.

Yeah, not to mention betting slips right there on the table. Must have been a good price for an Anderson win last night, for example.. few beers, blokes smell a chance to win a few quid, you're gonna get a lot of 'em booing Taylor in the hopes of putting him off. Idiots, yes, but for Sid to get up on his high horse about it when it's the PDC and Sky that make the decision to allow so much alcohol and so heavily promote the gambling side of it, is a bit much. Also, as others have pointed out, didn't hear him calling the fans a disgrace when it was Wade they were booing.

That said, there is unreal idiocy up there. I don't mind proper dart fans getting into it and having a laugh, but when its clowns that you know have just shown up because it's an opportunity to get hammered and possibly get their face on telly, it's fairly irritating. Had hassle up there last year and said I wouldn't be going this year, glad now. It's up to the PDC to dictate what people can and can't do at their events at the end of the day and if they allow people to get out of control, they'll take the opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The booing is down to greed on the part of the PDC & Sky and some players portraying a 'bad attitude' to feed off the negative energies. Sky can't find venues big enough to fit in all the paying ticket holders as witnessed during any match of the Premier League, then fill them up with overpriced drinks and leave them run amuck.

They are not even trying to disguise it any more. Rod Harrington made a statement the other night about some advice Taylor was giving a young player about not being boring on screen if they wanted to be a millionaire, nothing about playing good darts, just about playing good television.

I'll watch the final in a bit, but with the sound down if Syd is commentating, as another poster already said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Diggy78

agreed. sickening to see Wade getting booed tonight. bloody scumbags.

Sky can't find venues big enough to fit in all the paying ticket holders as witnessed during any match of the Premier League, then fill them up with overpriced drinks and leave them run amuck.

I'm pretty sure what venue is used is not sky's decision and it is down to the PDC as its their tournament. Its certainly neither's decision on what price drinks are charged at and neither provide security either.

We've already been talking(in the grand prix thread) about how well the premier league nights in Belfast go over. Every event(darts,gigs,comedians,etc) have always had same priced drinks and same security company being used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

The booing, to the level it was at was disgraceful

a little heckling is fair game imo to anyone, but that was ott

also, i love phil taylor

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Devastator wrote: »
    and neither provide security either.

That's not true. The PDC provide the security as it's the same lads at every tournament. It's definitely the same in the World Championships as the Grand Prix as I go to World Championships every year and Grand Prix every year bar this one.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    That's not true. The PDC provide the security as it's the same lads at every tournament. It's definitely the same in the World Championships as the Grand Prix as I go to World Championships every year and Grand Prix every year bar this one.

Fair enough, didn't exactly say what I meant as I was referring to league nights in response to other post.

The booing is down to greed on the part Sky and some players portraying a 'bad attitude' to feed off the negative energies. Sky can't find venues big enough to fit in all the paying ticket holders as witnessed during any match of the Premier League, then fill them up with overpriced drinks and leave them run amuck.

They are not even trying to disguise it any more. Rod Harrington made a statement the other night about some advice Taylor was giving a young player about not being boring on screen if they wanted to be a millionaire, nothing about playing good darts, just about playing good television.

I'll watch the final in a bit, but with the sound down if Syd is commentating, as another poster already said.
    No the booing is not skys fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭celt262

Its easier to control a couple of hundred like it is at the lakeside than the thousands that are at the PDC events. Also bars selling drink cheaper the more you buy is encourging people to drink more and getting them drunk quicker.

That article in the link is very good though and reminded me of last year at the Worlds final between Taylor and Whitlock, several times on Whitlocks throw at an important time the camera zoomed in on ronnie o'sullivan and the crowd cheered which affected Whitlock. SKY/PDC have generated these atmospheres and will find it hard to roll back to best of order times.

I was there Friday night and had a great night and will go back next year if they keep it in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Devastator wrote: »

Great article.

Had to laugh at the " Sky have lost the concept of even handed journalism!" section though, as if sky have ever had even handed journalism, whether it be darts, football or golf or any other sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 gazza99

agree boo boys should be thrown out. im all for the craic and everything that goes with darts but booing shouldn't be welcome in any sport. ya fair enough its i going on for a while now and peter manley springs to mind but its happening in nearly every game now and its about time its banned. was there sat night and wasnt impressed with how wade and taylor were booed especially on important darts. And asa for the people who insist on standind for the whole night why dont ye just stand at the bar if ye must go?

celt262 wrote: »

I was there Friday night and had a great night and will go back next year if they keep it in Ireland.

It will be according to PDC's 2011 calender. Maybe not same venue though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭tribesman78

Agree the booing is out of order. If you want someone to win support them don't boo the opposition. I was there Saturday and it was a mighty night. Yes there was booing and it does need to be cut out. Just to point out though it was not all Irish at the event. I was beside a table of other nationals ( I won't say who) but they were booing also so to tarnish just "the paddies" as you who says eloquently put it is wrong. And i don't think think using the term "paddies" makes you stand out as being a proud Irish man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭tazdogue

I didnt actually see it myself but heard there were words between Taylor and Lewis?? Anyone able to fill me in on this? Anyone able to point me to the score at the time as the coverage is on youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

No the booing is not skys fault
    They are definately partly at fault for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Degag wrote: »
    They are definately partly at fault for it.

Yep, agreed...

Sky create the bad boys of darts, nicholson, king, manley, painter, mason, sky loved to hype up these players as the villians, and have turned darts in a panto styled theatre......

Manely didnt like it, but turned it to his advantage, weve seen reactions from players, wade of late being one, nocholson nearly jumping into the crowd at the uk open.

Now thou, seeing as it is PT that is effected, i expect something to be done about it, sky wont make him out to be the viallian of the peace, no, theyve a new found angle, LEWIS Vs WADE, and ran with it even after the final.

Sky are as much to blame as any fan that boo's, them and the pdc have created this monster, now it is out of control and dont know how to handle it.