Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to bring to a gym?

• 08-10-2010 5:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

I am going to be starting up a faily regular Gym program in a couple of weeks (4 days out of 7 a week) and I am wondering what other people bring.

Personally I was thinking that the following would be enough, anyone able to confirm that is all that is needed?

1X T-shirt
    1X Jogging pants
    1X Socks
    1X Underware
    1X Water Bottle
    1X Towel
    1X Runners
    1X Shower gel
    1X Shampoo
    1X Lynx

With them, of course is the clothes brought in (which I would change back into at the end of the session.

Does that seem like a realistic list of stuff I need to bring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

looks good bring two towels one for the gym floor and one for after a shower.I sweat like a demon so maybe thats just me that does this..Also bring a big water bottle there is nothing in the ballygowen sized ones.other than that it looks grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 dotty145

Id bring 2 towels to. ye dont want to be
    drying yourself in your own sweat.. and i
    bring flip flops for the shower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Football socks for deadlift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

I bring the pain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 wolfnight

Good point with two towels, thanks for that.

Also I was thinking of bringing a 2 liter bottle of water and a smaller one for when I am on machines.

And thanks for the advice on flip flops, forgot about feet condoms :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Ipod
    Shorts (what are jogging pants?)
    Whats the difference between shampoo and shower gel?
    Am I a caveman cos I dont know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

I bring a 70's big face and the epicness that is my beard..

Sometimes i bring a fat guy called L

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

If applicable, a lock for the lockers?
    An iPod, if you are so inclined.

And definitely two towels. I use a small white one for the gym (it's the rule in my gym, people get told off for not having towels with them) and a large one for the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

I used to see a fella in the gym who used to bring: 4 sponges, 2 mobile phones, 1 towel, 1 water bottle and 1 sports drink bottle, 1 weightlifitng belt. And that was just for in the gym.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

wolfnight wrote: »
    Good point with two towels, thanks for that.

Also I was thinking of bringing a 2 liter bottle of water and a smaller one for when I am on machines.

And thanks for the advice on flip flops, forgot about feet condoms :P

Get a metal bottle instead, any gym I've been to will have a water foutain for you to refill from. If there's a TKMaxx handy for you they'll have them in the kitchenware section.

I'd have 2 types of runners as well. Runners for running and runners for squatting.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I prefer to go to gym in workout clothes & have fresh clothes in bag to change into after.
    Swimming togs if you you want to have a sauna/jacuzzi after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

rightguard over lynx, lynx barely keeps you fresh for an hour... even if all youre doing is sitting on your hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Bring a good program with you and bring that same work ethic back home and keep the diet on track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

I think you are taking a very thorough approach to your gym bag list.

If diet and training are equally as thorough then your progress will far exceed that of most trainers starting out.

I would just question why starting in a few weeks - is there a specific reason for not starting sooner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Spare t-shirt for me if I run before weights I sweat like a paedo in a barney suit. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

2X towels definately. and your 1X runners made me laugh for some reason :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Two towels definitely. One small one for the gym use and the large one for after shower.

And weight lifting gloves if you are planning do weights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

Id include some kind of pre/mid workout drink so you dont end up running on empty. doesnt have to be anything fancy I used to use a 50-50 mix of OJ and water and it always kept me from fading during a workout.
    My list would be

-shoes with no give in the sole for(a much more stable option than runners for when lifting, I got cheap runners from pennys)
    -chalk
    -rope for weighted dips and pull ups
    -mp3 player
    -notebook
    -2l milk (1l before and 1 after)

why do people wear gloves though? I never really got it

Id include some kind of pre/mid workout drink so you dont end up running on empty. doesnt have to be anything fancy I used to use a 50-50 mix of OJ and water and it always kept me from fading during a workout.
    My list would be

-shoes with no give in the sole for(a much more stable option than runners for when lifting, I got cheap runners from pennys)
    -chalk
    -rope for weighted dips and pull ups
    -mp3 player
    -notebook
    -2l milk (1l before and 1 after)

why do people wear gloves though? I never really got it

For drawing circles around what items of equipment are yours, right?

Gloves, I love the ones that wrap around the wrist and provide stability there. I don't see the need in having a pair of frigged wrists (could be bad technique but I am not bothered enough to worry). Since I started using them no problems with the wrists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

For drawing circles around what items of equipment are yours, right?

Gloves, I love the ones that wrap around the wrist and provide stability there. I don't see the need in having a pair of frigged wrists (could be bad technique but I am not bothered enough to worry). Since I started using them no problems with the wrists.

You read my mind-when i go into the gym 1st thing I do is scrawl MINE!!! on every bench, rack and plate! :D
    If wrist safety is an issue have a look at wrist straps too-heavy benchers use them to keep everything where it should be. Ive a broken bone in each wrist and I find if ive a week off from the gym my wrists hurt-its like the muscles and ligaments are keeping everything where it should be

You read my mind-when i go into the gym 1st thing I do is scrawl MINE!!! on every bench, rack and plate! :D
    If wrist safety is an issue have a look at wrist straps too-heavy benchers use them to keep everything where it should be. Ive a broken bone in each wrist and I find if ive a week off from the gym my wrists hurt-its like the muscles and ligaments are keeping everything where it should be

These have long straps that wrap around the wrist. Harbinger is the brand. Got them in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

A much shorter list would be;
    • Some common sense
      [/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

LOL. Bring comfortable clothing. Possibly a change of clothing.

Oh and clean underwear in case you're hit by a bus. That's just generally good advice my mother used to give me. Curiously, there was a paucity of advice on how to avoid being hit by a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

Surely you sh*it yourself if your hit by a bus??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Oh and clean underwear in case you're hit by a bus. That's just generally good advice my mother used to give me. Curiously, there was a paucity of advice on how to avoid being hit by a bus.

And matching socks.

Last time I had to go into hosp unexpectedly I was wearing mismatching socks, not a good look. This also happened me whilst taking my trainers off to deadlift.

I really need to stop losing socks.

Mellor wrote: »
      A much shorter list would be;
      • Some common sense
        [/

You guys must smell fairly rum in the gym. Another tactic to hog the equipment, perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Thankfully I have never seen a bus pass thorugh my gym, so at least that's one thing less to worry about :D:D

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 psydereyes

I'd maybe bring a small notepad and pen with ya.

Its good to have the plan for your session written out so you can make note of the reps/weight used and maybe what to use next time etc Also noting down any technique problems/questions you have to inquire about later.

Plus it feels good flicking through it a couple of weeks down the line.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

You guys must smell fairly rum in the gym. Another tactic to hog the equipment, perhaps.
        Em, I said common sense. Which includes deo tbh

I was hardly suggesting to show up starkers with a suduko and a pen, solving it between sets using a bit of logic :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Mellor wrote: »
        Em, I said common sense. Which includes deo tbh

I am too hardcore for deoderant. I use magnesium carbonate under me oxters.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek