Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the oldest you've been asked for ID?

• 08-10-2010 7:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

I'm 32.

I was buying a couple of cheap bottles of plonk to numb the pain in Tesco in Dun Laoirghe the other night when the nice lady asked me for ID.

I had to take out the driving licence, which was ripped up by my kid, as proof of age.

The missus says she's going to start shopping there from now on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

40, but that's down to my eternal youthful looks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

When I was 24 I had a bartender try to confiscate my driver's license because he was convinced it was a fake id :o

I got carded a couple months ago and I am thirtysomethingish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

I'm 48 and was recently asked for ID.

ok...ok...ok....it was when I got caught speeding last week and didn't have my licence with me!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Damn bus Drivers think i'm still the payable side of 66!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

24, got carded yesterday. And I've been going to that off licence for two years,:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Sometimes I forget my age. I was at a bar, bargirl goes "How old are you" "I'm 18" "Have ya got id?" gave her my id. * she inspects id* "You're 19 ya sap" "Oh yeah"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

27 (ie a few months back). Was heading into a bar to meet the girlfriend and was asked. He looked fairly embarassed when he realised.

The legal age here is 16 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

27 while buying alcohol in Dunnes. I wouldn't mind but I was with 4 others of the same age. Our 32 year old friend had to come down with his driving licence.

1st time being asked since I was 16. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭astra2000

Never been asked in my life not even when I was 16/17. I have always looked old:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

22 over the summer, just turned 23 but that was lowest moment of my life :(

Haven't been asked lately. Maybe in my teens.

That use to happen to me in my thirties as well...also got asked was i an au pair when i was thirty and was out walking with my daughter...the woman i was talking to though i was a teenager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Hmm I'm 24 and still get asked everywhere apart from my local.

However, last year when I was 23 I got asked for ID to buy matches (legal age is 16) and a different time last year I got asked for ID to buy scratch cards (legal age is 18 but FFS!!!!) :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

bluewolf wrote: »
    Haven't been asked lately. Maybe in my teens.
    Same here, it's starting to get depressing.

No, actually what is getting depressing is that I was in a bar in a US airport and they were wearing badges that said "We ID everyone that looks under 39".
    I asked for a pint.

The girl didn't ask for ID.

I'm not even 30 yet... FML :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭apope8

Got asked last week for ID and I'm 25, and then got a lecture of the bouncer about how its illegal for anyone between the ages of 18 and 25 not to have an I.D. on them at all times! Guess someone failed the Garda Exam! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

25, only a couple of weeks ago \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

15, I always looked older than what I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Earlier this year, just a few weeks before my 30th birthday was stopped going into a club. I was delighted, but laughed and said no, I'm almost 30. They let me in anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

24 earlier this year (I'm 24) in Tesco buying drink.

"Id?"
    "No, I'm 24"
    "Grand."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Naos wrote: »
    24 earlier this year (I'm 24) in Tesco buying drink.

"Id?"
    "No, I'm 24"
    "Grand."
    Tesco have become Nazis about it recently I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Aye, the "If you're lucky enough to look under 23, bring ID :)" sign is a bit stupid.

"I didn't think I looked under 23. Even still, do I look under 18?"

Some of them really have no cop on - fair enough if management are telling the staff to ask but there should be some form of thinking behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Never......it' not a compliment or something to be proud of tho!

Never carried ID with me to a pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

I normally go to Tesco in Ballybrack and have had no issues there, the Dun Laoighaire one did have signs saying "if you look under 25", but i dont think i do

They must be on some kind of crackdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Was in Roscommon last year on the piss and just after driving up I went to get a pack of benson in Super valu. Asked for ID so I showed em my license which says I'm 23, idiots the n asked for my age card, which I didn't have and then asked me to leave. I then walked across to tesco and had trouble getting served drink. And before you ask, I don't look like a scumbag or anything!

haven't been asked in a couple of months, maybe the wrinkles are finally setting in :(

I'm 29!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Was in Roscommon last year

Sorry for your troubles..... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

31. Was at a gig in the O2, my 24 year-old sister bought drinks without being asked, then 20 minutes later I went up and got IDed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i haven't been asked for id since i was 22 i must look old :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I was 29 and got stopped going into a club and asked for id. Hadn't brought it out with me, so i just said to him i was 29 and i didn't think i needed my id at my age,and thanks for the compliment. He let me in no bother :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭The Paws

When I was 29, I was asked for ID in Texso and I was so speechless and i was trying to say I am 29!! I said something like "i i i erm i am 2---9!" she looked surprised and I showed her my driving lience......then she let me have the bottle of wine!!! i felt youthful for ages!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Captain Americas last night. I'm 25 my friend is 23. Before that, Tesco's 2 weeks ago some 17 year old girl asked me for ID while I was trying to pay with my credit card. What kind of 17 year old has a fookin credit card (in Tallaght anyway).

Before that? A long time. My age card doesn't even look like me, it's faded and I have hair down to my shoulders. It could be anyone on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Has anyone noticed that bouncers ask women for id even though it's fairly obvious that they're past their sell by date? The creeps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭recyclops

There has been a crackdown, working in a offo we have been told a fair few times in recent weeks to ask anyone as the guards are doing a sweep of offos across the nation supposedly, at 26 i still get asked for id regularly too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I have never been asked to prove my age. Not even when I was 16, when I bought myself beer in a working club, or bought wine in an off-license as a gift. I was living in South Africa during my teens, though - they had very different attitudes to a lot of things ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

17. I don't get asked anymore anyway..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

My fake id stating that I was 54 worked though and I've been buying booze, cigs and pornography in that shop ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Got refused buying a packet of tobacco 3 weeks ago - I'm 32 and was with my 13 year old daughter at the time (she's almost the same height as me)

I didn't have my driving license with me, and no way would yer one serve me, even though she saw me pull up outside the door in my Audi A4 - have you ever seen a 17year old driving an Audi?. I even told her "this is my daughter and if Im only 17, would I have the guts to pretend a 13year old was my child" but no dice!

I go in that shop all the time as well, but she was new working there. I suppose I should take it as a compliment:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I never used to be asked for ID as I always looked older than I was.

I used to be nominated to buy the drinks. I was so bloody stupid. I used to go in to the same place all the time. The girl that worked there used to live next door to the family home AND my Dad used to go to the same off licence.

One evening I went in and she refused me saying "Your Dad told just me you're only 16, and you're in trouble, sorry about that". I turned about 25 shades of pubescent red.

Turns out she had mentioned in passing that I do always be in there to my Dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Aiel

I use to work in Dunnes.Their policy is if you look under 30 ask for I.D.Its the person at the till who will get prosecuted more then the company if their found to be selling it to u18's.The company can get fined and possibily shut down for a day or 2.It nearly happened to a good mate of mine who was caught in a sting by the local HSE.He nearly got prosecuted but Dunnes found a big carpet (in their homeware section:rolleyes:) for the whole thing to be swept under and he got away.
    Im 29 and still get asked regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I know some barstaff/bouncers that ask for ID even if they know the person is over 18...so they can get their name and look the person up on facebook :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I know some barstaff/bouncers that ask for ID even if they know the person is over 18...so they can get their name and look the person up on facebook :rolleyes:

"Sorry, I don't accept passports. Have you got a mobile phone number bill on you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

It was early this year either I was 24 or 25 at the time. Blame tesco! Rarely asked for ID when I go to pubs or clubs unless they are very strict about ID! Even when I was younger say in my late teens and early 20's I wasn't asked for ID much yet I looked younger than I was. Weird!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Long hair + beard = looking 10 years older

I just turned 18 and i havent been asked for ID in over a year

Also what the **** is with people not taking passports as a valid form of ID?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

Teutorix wrote: »
    Long hair + beard = looking 10 years older

I just turned 18 and i havent been asked for ID in over a year

This really annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Teutorix wrote: »

it's illegal!:confused:

the oldest i was being asked for id so far was 22 :)...im only 24 now though so i may still get asked.....or not :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Been asked for I.D once in the last year
    I turn 18 tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I was 29 or 30, first time asked (in ireland) since I was about 21 or 22. Been asked in england up to the age of about 25 or 26.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 cardboard box

I'm 27 and my friend whos 25 got asked in tesco and he wouldnt accept my full driving licence :mad::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

it's illegal!:confused:

the oldest i was being asked for id so far was 22 :)...im only 24 now though so i may still get asked.....or not :o
    Is it really illegal for them not to accept it? Because im not afraid to say it to shopkeepers and will report them if they refuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

26 - wasn't wearing make-up and was dressed down as it was a spur-of-the-moment decision to go to the pub. Dressing up and wearing make-up can make a woman look better, but also older.