Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan pensioner dies after assault

• 08-10-2010 1:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1007/goldenj.html

This to me is one of the saddest items in the news at the moment. The poor man seemed to have gone through hell. The papers spoke of a poker and pliers being used in the assault. What sort of bloody animal does something like this? It's made me worry for my elderly parents who live out in the country. :(
    A post mortem examination is being carried out this afternoon on the remains of the pensioner who died following an assault in Co Cavan.

Johnny Golden, 73, died in Cavan General Hospital last night.

He had never regained consciousness following the sexual assault at his home in Doogary, near Killeshandra.

He was attacked between 8pm on 6 September and 11am the following morning.

The Deputy State Pathologist, Dr Kahlid Jabbar, is performing the post mortem examination at Our Lady's Hospital in Navan, Co Meath.

It is expected he will confirm that Mr Golden, a bachelor, died as a result of his injuries.

Gardaí will then formally upgrade this to a murder investigation.

A 17-year-old male was questioned about the incident but released without charge.

Gardaí have renewed their appeal for anyone with information or who was in the area at the time to contact them in the strictest confidence on 049-9525580 or 1800-666111.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

This is disgusting. "Sick" doesn't seem to be a strong enough word to describe the person who did this. The person capable of this is not human.

My sincere sympathies to his family, I can't even imagine what they're going through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

You know sometimes you can be stuck for words, the poor man 73 years old and just trying to get by, it doesnt bear thinjking about, i think i read in one of the papers last week that the main suspect is now in the nut house, of all the crimes ive read this year this has to be one of the worst.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

BotFly wrote: »
    <Snip>.
    :mad: if you have nothing worthy to add piss off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 BotFly

:mad: if you have nothing worthy to add piss off.
    You piss off.
    I'll post what I find worthy.
    See you in the grief stricken for someone I didn't know forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1007/goldenj.html

This to me is one of the saddest items in the news at the moment. The poor man seemed to have gone through hell. The papers spoke of a poker and pliers being used in the assault. What sort of bloody animal does something like this? It's made me worry for my elderly parents who live out in the country. :(

Pretty horrific alright. When I heard there was sexual assault involved I was shocked; when I heard some of the details I was nauseated. Assuming the assailant doesn't have real psychological issues, then this is the type of crime for which life without parole is the only option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    This is disgusting. "Sick" doesn't seem to be a strong enough word to describe the person who did this. The person capable of this is not human.

My sincere sympathies to his family, I can't even imagine what they're going through.
    The thing is that the person who carried out this horrific murder is human and thats the worrying thing and to be sure there are others like him . My sympaties go to his relatives and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

FFS, 73.

My Dad was a couple of years older when he passed away, not aware of stuff like this, Thank God!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

That is one of the mosted ****ed up things I have read occurring in this country. I just hope he didn't suffer too much and lost consciousness early.:(:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Very very similar thing occurred in Swords back around 1990.

Women didn't die but it shook the town that a teen could do something like that to an OAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

I knew this man personally.
    He came to our house for 20 years, every Stephen's day, bringing presents, we called it "Second Christmas".:o

I really hope the fcuk that did it gets what he deserves.
    For those of you who may have read the Sunday World article on him a few weeks ago, don't believe a word. The whole community was shocked when we seen it.

He really was a lovely man and he did nothing to deserve that, we were really hoping that he would pull through but it doesn't always work like that, naturally.

Sorry for the cheesiness, just putting my word in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

This is so sad. I have a soft spot for older people. I'm extremely close to my grandad and the thought of anything ever happening to him... ugh. I just can't comprehend how anyone could be so cruel as to do something like this. Makes me sick.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

I heard the suspect is a guards son, so we will see how this plays out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i often met this auld lad in killeshandra.. seemed like a gentleman..old school/waterproof, i dont think any human desrves the torturing he suffered at the hands of some deranged nut... not matter even if there was something dodgy happened... i dont know.. its very sad..
    im glad im not related to either party... i mught make an appearance at johnnys removal... awful awful thing to happen!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

What a horrible thing to happen. :eek:
    Sincere condolences to his family and friends.

Is it just me, or does anyone else wonder how on earth a human being can even think of doing something like this, never mind actually do it?

Noreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

storm2811 wrote: »
    For those of you who may have read the Sunday World article on him a few weeks ago, don't believe a word.

Yep, I did read that article, pretty sensationalist and they claimed to know why it happened. Almost, like it was his own fault

I'll take the word of a local over a journalist from the Sunday World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

What the **** is wrong with some people. If anything like that happened to my family, the gardai would not be involved. Id do the time with a smile on my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Dr. Zeus

Seriously heinous crime. Poor man.

Can I ask what the Sunday Word was spinning on this? Curious.

Here is the article

http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/?aid=5703
    Last night, Johnny's neighbours and friends slammed allegations that the assault may have been sparked when the gay pensioner made advances on the teenager.
    Locals say he has tried to explain his horrific attack by making "disturbing allegations" that Mr Golden had made advances towards him.

But those allegations were rejected by Johnny's neighbours who said he is the victim of a smear campaign.
    He's 73-years of age, we know him all his life. He's an easy target now he's lying in a hospital bed.

"Johnny has nobody, he has no family. It's a terrible thing that these things are being said about him and there's nobody to defend him.

"Why should he be blackened when he is lying in a coma?"

The truth will come out in time, headline grabbing articles that all the locals have rejected don't help anyone.

He can't even defend himself but a national paper is coming out and making allegations. Allegations when the gardaí haven't even pressed charges yet

Sunday World is a rag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The level of evil/sickness that was involved in this attack is disturbing. Ultimately what ever sick fcuk who did this, doesn't deserve civilised treatment.

Here is the article

http://www.sundayworld.com/columnists/?aid=5703

The truth will come out in time, headline grabbing articles that all the locals have rejected don't help anyone.

He can't even defend himself but a national paper is coming out and making allegations. Allegations when the gardaí haven't even pressed charges yet

Sunday World is a rag!

It was a terrible article all right, calling his house run down and surrounded by scrap and everything.
    There was even a part in it I think where they said, or someone else said that the fella who did it "just fell in with the wrong crowd".:mad:

The whole thing had me raging, and now the lad who did it checked himself into a psychiatric clinic or something, claiming to be suicidal..yeah..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

This story is very disturbing. I definitely think there's more to it than what is being reported so i personally wouldn't throw the first stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

That journalist should be well ashamed of themselves. I wonder what agenda they have in writing that article. If they don't have one then it is just an example of dreadful biased writing. An absolute vulture of the highest order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

The level of evil/sickness that was involved in this attack is disturbing. Ultimately what ever sick fcuk who did this, doesn't deserve civilised treatment.

lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

mal1 wrote: »
    This story is very disturbing. I definitely think there's more to it than what is being reported so i personally wouldn't throw the first stone

even if it is what some some people are implying turns out to be correct, there can be no excuse for what this young lad did.

Yep, I did read that article, pretty sensationalist and they claimed to know why it happened. Almost, like it was his own fault

I'll take the word of a local over a journalist from the Sunday World

sadly you can think you know someone and in some cases that illusion is never shattered, other times it is. i'm not saying that's the case here- the sunday world could well be just **** stirring, however i know from bitter personal experience people are not always as they seem.

Another sad thing about this is that Johnny didn't have any family.. He was raised in an orphanage in Wexford I think.. He had lots of friends locally though and as a previous poster has said, those who knew him well are very quick to defend his character.

I would have met him a few times and he always came across as very harmless. A fine musician and a great mechanic.

He was gay and that was well known locally, perhaps this was a homophobic attack? Even if what the Sunday World was implying (that this was a revenge attack for inappropriate contact with the assailant at some stage in the past, and I hesitate to insult his memory by even entertaining that as a possibility) Nothing could excuse torturing a 73 year old man to death..

RIP..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Look at last night's Late Late Show, the ex-governor of Mountjoy going on about the poor prisoner getting Stork butter instead of Dairygold, poor lambs. This lad'll be out in 10 years or so, having got free education, training, TV, radio, etc. in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 strange john

I heard the suspect is a guards son, so we will see how this plays out
    What difference does that make? Do you really think there's going to be some amazing cover up? Hello, it's not like speeding ticket, an OAP was tortured and killed....doesn't matter if his dad was emperor of the planet, that boy is facing time inside, be it prison or hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jesus Christ... :(

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Disgusting. Old man with nobody to defend him, to help him.

I'm not a liberal person, but could this be a homophobic attack? It seems to have played a part in there, somewhere.

Sunday World is nothing but utter scum. If they had article a few weeks ago, maybe this stirred the trouble? I've heard the rumours about this, but I would hate to think something like this is happening due to news paper rubbish or rumour.

He doesn't deserve that no matter what, but again maybe all is not as it seems as someone else put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Speechless about this to be honest, gotta collect my thoughts on this one.

RIP

DB10 wrote: »
    Sunday World is nothing but utter scum. If they had article a few weeks ago, maybe this stirred the trouble? I've heard the rumours about this, but I would hate to think something like this is happening due to news paper rubbish or rumour.

The Sunday World is indeed a rag
    But they reported it after it happened, they certainly did not do a profile on him which caused the attack
    Johnny Golden, 73, died in Cavan General Hospital last night.

He had never regained consciousness following the assault at his home in Doogary, near Killeshandra.

He was attacked between 8pm on 6 September and 11am the following morning.

Attacked in September, the Sunday World did their shameful article to report
    Johnny never recovered and died this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

Beggers belief this. RIP,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 RoisieK

It is awful sad, myself and my family are heartbroken, I've known Johnny all my life and I couldnt say a bad word about the man, a more gentle, pleasant and kind poor ould devil would be hard to find. He was a true character, very well known and treated as a member of most peoples family even though he himself was an orphan and had none of his own. There is a massive outpouring of greif here in South Leitrim and the surrounding areas for a man who was known and loved by so many. I just want to correct a previous poster the father of the monster who did this to Johnny is not a guard, he actually comes from an ordinary respectable family who I have to say I feel for but you cannot let people away with murder. People are extremly angry to see this lad walking around our roads, driving around in cars with his mates as if nothing has happened, it makes my blood boil. Johnny has no blood relatives but he was a part of so many peoples families and we will not rest until Johnny has justice, Rest in Peace Johnny x

Is he still out and about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 RoisieK

Is he still out and about?

Yes he's still out and about and seemingly his friends who helped him by either joining in or keeping watch for him all now have allibis, it makes my blood boil :mad:

Imagine if he did have family, would they let him out then. I don't know what to make of the story at all, kind of beggers belief. I am disgusted with the Sunday World and the article they published, disgusted but not surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

The Star had a scummy article about this man yesterday. Bascially a 2 page hatchet job on the man based on one persons 'allegations' about what the man had in his back yard

Why do the press have it in for him?

gazzer wrote: »
    The Star had a scummy article about this man yesterday. Bascially a 2 page hatchet job on the man based on one persons 'allegations' about what the man had in his back yard

Oh FFS..is it online anywhere? I can't find it.
    I did write an email to that prick who wrote the article in the Sunday World, pointing out what was wrong with it, his reply was pretty much him asking me if I wanted to get my say in the paper too..:rolleyes:

fair play to you storm, I would be thinking of the same but never get around to it

RoisieK wrote: »
    It is awful sad, myself and my family are heartbroken, I've known Johnny all my life and I couldnt say a bad word about the man, a more gentle, pleasant and kind poor ould devil would be hard to find. He was a true character, very well known and treated as a member of most peoples family even though he himself was an orphan and had none of his own. There is a massive outpouring of greif here in South Leitrim and the surrounding areas for a man who was known and loved by so many. I just want to correct a previous poster the father of the monster who did this to Johnny is not a guard, he actually comes from an ordinary respectable family who I have to say I feel for but you cannot let people away with murder. People are extremly angry to see this lad walking around our roads, driving around in cars with his mates as if nothing has happened, it makes my blood boil. Johnny has no blood relatives but he was a part of so many peoples families and we will not rest until Johnny has justice, Rest in Peace Johnny x

Very nicely written, sums up my feelings on it too, he really was part of everyone's family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Kazuma

I made a post on a social networking site...

And proceeded to get comments from a cavan girl telling me that "if I knew the full story I wouldn't be feeling sorry for the man, he deserved what he got" etc.

WTF do you do to deserve castration? And having a poker shoved up your arse... :confused:

Poor man, some ****ing scum out there to be sure :mad:

And why is the peson that did it walking around? Surely he is not fit to be out among the general public

Kazuma wrote: »
    I made a post on a social networking site...

And proceeded to get comments from a cavan girl telling me that "if I knew the full story I wouldn't be feeling sorry for the man, he deserved what he got" etc.

WTF do you do to deserve castration? And having a poker shoved up your arse... :confused:

Poor man, some ****ing scum out there to be sure :mad:

There's rumours going around everywhere since it happened, some people tend to believe them and the media over people who actually knew him...:(

And why is the peson that did it walking around? Surely he is not fit to be out among the general public

I don't know tbh, presumably he checked himself into a psychiatric clinic..probably hoping to get off as being "mentally unstable" instead of getting what he deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 riddle_diddle

:confused: can you sue the rag for deffamation of character??? thats why these people write crap about things they know anything about. They write it to get publicity and to get their rags sold! they do not care about anyone or anything. That journalist is sitting at his desk with the biggest smile on his face and more than likely a big pat on his back from his editor. I believe nothing in papers anymore, not even the spread sheets as i've read stories in them that i know for fact that details are completely wrong.

To contradict myself about not believing the papers anymore, I had to stop reading the article when i first read about Johnny. Words really cannot justify how appauled, sickened and saddened i was to learn of this mans demise. To think, that this beautiful country can produce such a twisted, unworthy and hellbound group of individuals who would stand by, plan, help and participate in such an act - makes me ashamed to call them my fellow irishman. They may come from respectable families, but it certainly has not rubbed off on them. Death would be too good for them. I pray the gardai do their job and not suffer abuse as they usually do.

I did not know Johnny, but know of people like him in my own area so i can only imagine the disbelief and horror the people in his area are feeling. And to those like previous poster "botfly", i'll say this, you seem to have a complex about people expressing their sympathies for people they do not know? what kind of person are you to not feel compassion, hurt and anger towards such an act as this. You may have your own opinons as we all do, but in cases like this opinons should be minimal and if you have to express yourself - open another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

In relation to the Sunday World - They kill good trees to put out bad newspapers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Rhamiel

Shocking indeed!
    similar to an incident in sligo lately..
    http://www.sligotoday.ie/details.php?id=10333

And I know for a fact that the absolute scumbag who attacked this man in Sligo checked himself into a psychiatric hospital immediately after!
    Seems to be a common scumbag trick these days??
    heard the nurses/doctors there could see right though the c**t anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Rhamiel wrote: »
    Shocking indeed!
    similar to an incident in sligo lately..
    http://www.sligotoday.ie/details.php?id=10333

Did you notice this at the end of that article.
    Meanwhile Sligo gardai are still investigating a serious incident which took place in Johnson's Court shopping centre on Thursday. Two young teenage girls were shot with a pellet gun. One of the girls, a 15 -year old, was shot in the face. The 6mm pellet struck the girl on the cheek just two inches below her eye. Her 13-year old sister was shot in the back.

The girls, from Ballymote, had been sitting on a bench in the shopping mall when they were approached by three youths, ranging in ages from 13-17. In an unprovoked attack the eldest youth opened fire with the weapon. Gardai are confident in their investigation as the incident was captured on the mall's CCTV system. The victims were able to clearly identify the assailants from the CCTV footage.

Christ almighty, what sort of little feckers were they! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Rhamiel

Did you notice this at the end of that article.

Christ almighty, what sort of little feckers were they! :mad:

Vintage Sligo at times Im afraid :confused: