Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THE ELECTRO/FIDGET/THRASH/HARD HOUSE HOUSE THREAD*****

• 07-10-2010 5:43pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭

i think its time to start a thread of the above, there are house, trance and dubstep threads so i think its only fare that electro should it have it own :D:D

iv been listening to electro for the past 4 or 5 years now and started out with some great dj's and remixes but as you get older you fit your self into the sound you love , and the sound i love is the hard basslines with massive kicks and snares !!! felix cartal was first dj with the sound i loved,iv followed him up through from when he only had 2 remixes out to him now having more remixes than ever and a album along with e.p's!! i love some of the dj's coming out of europe at the moment , im loving the scene in belgium now !

i wanted to start this thread so that dj's can be heard that some people may not know of yet and so that some good bangers can be exchanged. also show us what your listening to and recent remixes/songs you have just found , that would be great aswell!!

***i was told to expect some abuse about starting a electro/fidget thread, but who cares :D:D:D:D*****

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

A V A wrote: »

thats enough forever

FYP :)

Only joking,let the abuse begin:D

wats fyp??

abuse is ok but when its totally cluttering the thread it will just be stupid and annoying :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

wats fyp??

abuse is ok but when its totally cluttering the thread it will just be stupid and annoying :P
    Fixed your post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

You lost me at Hard House :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

No disrespect to the OP but some of the names of those genres "fidget house" and "trash" are bordering on the ridiculous,who in the name of jaysus makes these mad genre names up :eek:

non taken :)

i just go by the genre they call them selves thats all, and people who like the genre think its fine :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

before this goes any further you might want to clarify that it's electro-house you're into. Electro is a completely different type of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

jtsuited wrote: »
    before this goes any further you might want to clarify that it's electro-house you're into. Electro is a completely different type of music.

As is elctro-swing:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I thought it was clarified earlier in the week that 'electro' is all Electronic/Dance music?

So hard to keep up sometimes....

On another note - YAY it's Friday. I intend to spend a large amount of today up to no good.

joker77 wrote: »
    I thought it was clarified earlier in the week that 'electro' is all Electronic/Dance music?

So hard to keep up sometimes....

On another note - YAY it's Friday. I intend to spend a large amount of today up to no good.

it was????? jaysus.

Yay Friday indeed. Record shopping!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

The terrible thing is, when you enter the search term 'electro' into youtube, these are the first results... :eek:

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=electro&aq=f

So, in the interest of electro in one of its early and original forms, here is something to use as a reference.

Drexciya - Digital Tsunami

Anyway, I shouldn't be hijacking either this with hair splitting, it is what it is :pac:

haha it's like Drexciya records were invented for these threads!

Indeed... and its actually just decided what I'm going to listen to now in the car, 'Harnessed the Storm' pulled from the shelf for my listening pleasure :D

Think I'll also treat myself to a 12" or 2 today also given that its a Friday.

ah sure you'd be mad not to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

The terrible thing is, when you enter the search term 'electro' into youtube, these are the first results... :eek:
    You certainly won't like what "techno" throws up, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Pace2008 wrote: »
    You certainly won't like what "techno" throws up, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

The OP had that in the title - it was electro house, fidget house, hard house..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

jonnny68 wrote: »
    No disrespect to the OP but some of the names of those genres "fidget house" and "trash" are bordering on the ridiculous,who in the name of jaysus makes these mad genre names up :eek:

anyone hear of clown-step yet? will be massive afaik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Sure isn't that what they're talking about when they're talking about banging techno

Elevator wrote: »
    anyone hear of clown-step yet? will be massive afaik

ant examples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

its all in the thread title man :D

in post no. 1 you say you've been listening to electro for 4 or 5 years.

ye i have yea but after getting into thrash/fidget electro over the pst while

ok I want you to list what you regard as electro.

what ??no!!! id prefer not taking this thread off topic than it already is!!i made it clear what im looking for and was given a go ahead by zascar and he said there are a few people on this forum that like the same kind of electro as me so that why i wanted to start a thread like this:)
    the electro - fidget/thrash/hard house thread,(the types of electro i like !!)

what ??no!!! id prefer not taking this thread off topic than it already is!!i made it clear what im looking for and was given a go ahead by zascar and he said there are a few people on this forum that like the same kind of electro as me so that why i wanted to start a thread like this:)
    the electro - fidget/thrash/hard house thread,(the types of electro i like !!)

You do realise that electro is not electrohouse????? It's a totally different genre. Electro is not a catchall phrase for electronic music.

ye i know that ye , as you see there are 2 mistakes in te thread title ,i cant fix that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭YOP1992

leave the OP alone lads, with the thin lines between genres and the thousands of genres you can give him abuse over this :p

ye i know that ye , as you see there are 2 mistakes in te thread title ,i cant fix that ?

Don't worry about it - anyone visiting here will know it's not a Drexciya electro thread - we had one already which lasted about a week or so, which says something for what us snobs call 'electro', the youth of todays 'electro' and the interest levels for both :pac:

Must bump that though...

i understand how it would annoy people the way youg people these days call electro etc:)

im have always been a fan of john foxx,the normal,human league, kraftwerk,and many others, i would personally call them electronic music and i do know there are alot more artists out there:P

but i just didnt know how to put it, im talking about the music i posted in my second reply etc ,:)

Don't listen to a lot of fidget anymore, and never listened to hard house, but you might be interested in this chart I recently did, it should be vaguely the same style. Some electro-house, some bouncier house stuff, some nu-disco, some garage stuff etc. There's links to most of the tracks on my blog.

1) ZZT – Zzafrika [Turbo]
    2) The Grid – Floatation (Round Table Knights Remix) [New State Music]
    3) Ruede Hagelstein – Emergency [Souvenir Music]
    4) Clouds – Mauful Sir [Blood Music]
    5) K.I.A.M. – Funky 4 (Martin Brothers’ Donkey Punch Remix) [Fools Gold]
    6) Justin Martin & Ardalan – Mr. Spock [Dirtybird]
    7) Supra1 – Ghoster [Trouble & Bass]
    8) Discosamurai – No & Yes [Turbo]
    9) Hannulerauri – Zombie Tropicana [Relish Records]
    10) Simon Faz feat. Dany L -The Model (In Flagranti Money Belle Remix)
    11) Style of Eye & Slagsmalsklubben – Homeless (Canblaster Dub)
    12) Korallreven – Loved-Up (LOLboys Remix) [Acephale Records]
    13) Velour – She Wore Velour [Night Slugs]
    14) Melé – Digits [CDR]
    15) Barclay James Harvest – Love On The Line (Mustang Master) [CDR]
    16) Nakion – Horse Track (Xaver Von Treyer Remix) [Tigersushi]
    17) Screendeath – Packback [Southern Fried Records]
    18) Azari & iii – The Worker [Turbo]
    19) Heavyfeet – Here We Go Again [Plant Music]
    20) Detboi – I Am [Cheap Thrills]

so im the olny one on here that like fidget i guess hahahaha

just dicovered this track and its just a melter!!!! really like it :)

i have a few more but not sure to post or not

would you say dubstep guys would like some of the examples im given since the have really dub step bass lines??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭acman

Don't listen to a lot of fidget anymore, and never listened to hard house, but you might be interested in this chart I recently did, it should be vaguely the same style. Some electro-house, some bouncier house stuff, some nu-disco, some garage stuff etc. There's links to most of the tracks on my blog.

1) ZZT – Zzafrika [Turbo]
    2) The Grid – Floatation (Round Table Knights Remix) [New State Music]
    3) Ruede Hagelstein – Emergency [Souvenir Music]
    4) Clouds – Mauful Sir [Blood Music]
    5) K.I.A.M. – Funky 4 (Martin Brothers’ Donkey Punch Remix) [Fools Gold]
    6) Justin Martin & Ardalan – Mr. Spock [Dirtybird]
    7) Supra1 – Ghoster [Trouble & Bass]
    8) Discosamurai – No & Yes [Turbo]
    9) Hannulerauri – Zombie Tropicana [Relish Records]
    10) Simon Faz feat. Dany L -The Model (In Flagranti Money Belle Remix)
    11) Style of Eye & Slagsmalsklubben – Homeless (Canblaster Dub)
    12) Korallreven – Loved-Up (LOLboys Remix) [Acephale Records]
    13) Velour – She Wore Velour [Night Slugs]
    14) Melé – Digits [CDR]
    15) Barclay James Harvest – Love On The Line (Mustang Master) [CDR]
    16) Nakion – Horse Track (Xaver Von Treyer Remix) [Tigersushi]
    17) Screendeath – Packback [Southern Fried Records]
    18) Azari & iii – The Worker [Turbo]
    19) Heavyfeet – Here We Go Again [Plant Music]
    20) Detboi – I Am [Cheap Thrills]

Jaysus, do people really listen to this stuff anymore? Seems like an "electro" top 20 from 2007...

i only really know 2 from that list :p

acman wrote: »
    Jaysus, do people really listen to this stuff anymore? Seems like an "electro" top 20 from 2007...

Did you even listen to any of that mix?

Taking that as a no.

Did you even listen to any of that mix?

No, that fact that I recognise a lot of those names from my early electro days, put me right off listening to it. Not quite sure why I wondered into this thread in the first place actually...nostalgia?

Like who? Most of those artists actually had their first release this year. ZZT and Style of Eye are about the only producers in that mix that were around in the 2007 days.

Well, I recognised names like ZZT, Detboi, The Grid, Ruede Hagelstein and Melé - however, that's not really my point - hasn't this genre long surpassed it's sell by date? More recently, I recognise that Mr. Spock tune from the RA top 50...my god what sh'te - snoop dog meet electro. Which brings me to my point, the electro house novelty was exactly that, a novelty - fun while it lasted but has since died a horrible, horrible death. Does it not bother you that pretty much every pop / rnb / mind-numbing - super-generic radio hit emulates the electro house sound? Electro house sounds and auto-tune have been completely over-abused in the last couple of years and in short, it has become so very boring, uncreative and diluted.

To be honest, I don't know what you're talking about. A lot of that list is very new and progressive garage stuff, post-dubstep, or whatever you call it, and there's also loads of italo-disco/nu-disco stuff too, so your claim that it's the same stale sounds as 2007 is just wrong, just because you recognise a few names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

To be honest, I don't know what you're talking about..

I think he's saying it sounds cr.ap:pac:

Ah I'd accept that no problem, that's just opinion, but saying the genre hasn't changed in 4 years is just wrong.

ok. jesus. i decided to actually go through each one of those tracks to see what genre they actually were..... check below for list!

jesus frankie, some of that stuff is just woeful. and acman is correct to a large extent. a good lot of that chart was going on ad nauseum four years ago (and depressingly was being done to a much higher standard).

I'm sorry for saying this but this is pure hipster music. Just really brash, novelty stuff.

And as far as the genre stuff goes....I actually wrote down what i thought to be the genre beside each track and cross referenced it with what genre beatport has it down as. There was essentially no difference.
    When I find myself agreeing with beatport's decision on genre, i'm fairly sure the genre thing isn't really up for debate.

1) ZZT – Zzafrika [Turbo] - electrohouse
    2) The Grid – Floatation (Round Table Knights Remix) [New State Music]progressive crossed with french filter house
    3) Ruede Hagelstein – Emergency [Souvenir Music]indie dance
    4) Clouds – Mauful Sir [Blood Music]electrohouse
    5) K.I.A.M. – Funky 4 (Martin Brothers’ Donkey Punch Remix) [Fools Gold]breaks/electrohouse
    6) Justin Martin & Ardalan – Mr. Spock [Dirtybird]snoop dog remixed-this is one of the most godawful things i've ever heard.
    7) Supra1 – Ghoster [Trouble & Bass]dodgy polish interpretation of uk garage
    8) Discosamurai – No & Yes [Turbo]electrohouse
    9) Hannulerauri – Zombie Tropicana [Relish Records]synth pop
    10) Simon Faz feat. Dany L -The Model (In Flagranti Money Belle Remix) nu-disco
    11) Style of Eye & Slagsmalsklubben – Homeless (Canblaster Dub)electrohouse
    12) Korallreven – Loved-Up (LOLboys Remix) [Acephale Records]definitely not dubstep - post or otherwise
    13) Velour – She Wore Velour [Night Slugs]cross between cosmic disco and uk funky
    14) Melé – Digits [CDR]electrohouse - sampling TLC
    15) Barclay James Harvest – Love On The Line (Mustang Master) [CDR]indie dance/ prog rock with some electronic beats
    16) Nakion – Horse Track (Xaver Von Treyer Remix) [Tigersushi]synthpop/electrohouse
    17) Screendeath – Packback [Southern Fried Records]eastern novelty electrohouse
    18) Azari & iii – The Worker [Turbo]indie dance
    19) Heavyfeet – Here We Go Again [Plant Music]electrohouse - definitely not UK garage
    20) Detboi – I Am [Cheap Thrills] electrohouse

tbh, i really had no idea this sort of stuff was being made any more (guess that's the advantage of staying the hell away from beatport).

Touché ;)
    To be honest, I don't know what you're talking about.

See above
    A lot of that list is very new and progressive garage stuff, post-dubstep, or whatever you call it,

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt on that one.

and there's also loads of italo-disco/nu-disco stuff too, so your claim that it's the same stale sounds as 2007 is just wrong, just because you recognise a few names.

Italo/nu disco has been around since way before 2007 - my point however, was directed towards the electro house genre.
    just because you recognise a few names.

It's not uncommon for people to "judge a mix by it's cover" and read the track listings first. I found it difficult to get passed ZZT to be honest - there might very well be some other interesting stuff in there, but at first glance it certainly doesn't seem like it.

Yeah I think you're pretty spot on the genres Jeff, apart from the stuff you call synth pop, which in my opinion is fairly standard italo-disco/nu-disco, the likes of Hannulerauri – Zombie Tropicana.

I don't really get it with this forum and labelling everything that isn't deep house or techno as **** hipster music. It's fair enough to say you don't like it, or don't listen to it, but I can't agree that when DJing 3/4 nights a week in pretty well respected nights that all the music I play is ****. There is a world outside 515 and Nightflight.

but I can't agree that when DJing 3/4 nights a week in pretty well respected nights that all the music I play is ****. There is a world outside 515 and Nightflight.

tbh frankie, and i'm sure i'm not alone in thinking this, the nights you play are indie/hipster nights. if you're making money out of it, then fair play to you etc., but this idea that 'I play at loads of nights, therefore I must be good' is bizzarely arrogant (even by my standards:D) and utterly nonsensical.

Honestly I can't get over how utterly sh1t the music in that chart is. Doesn't matter how many times you play to a full room of fringed hipsters who haven't a bloody notion about music, it's absolute tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I don't really get it with this forum and labelling everything that isn't deep house or techno as **** hipster music. It's fair enough to say you don't like it, or don't listen to it, but I can't agree that when DJing 3/4 nights a week in pretty well respected nights that all the music I play is ****. There is a world outside 515 and Nightflight.
    Have to agree here. I'm all for criticising forms of media that are completely devoid of merit, and it should be open season every time someone attempts to get a thread going lauding the talents of Inna, or posting a mix consisting largely of Basshunter anthems and Cascada classics.

But any time there's so much as a whisper of trance or electro house there’s a furious slew of derogatrory comments that stifle an hope of discussion on the genres.

I’ve said it before and I’ve said it again that these are the accessible genres from which a lot of EDM enthusiasts expand and develop their tastes. If I’d been introduced to electronic music through dub techno I’d have abandoned it years ago.