Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M3 surface water

• 06-10-2010 9:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭

I was driving on the so called new M3 motorway a few weeks back on a very wet day. I could hardly see where I was on the road with the amount of surface water on the road being sprayed up from other vehicles. This motorway was definitely built on the cheap, with no drainage at all. It was like driving on a small stream. Two tolls for this privilege!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

You have the option of not using it if you dont like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

draffodx wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I have to disagree here, there seems to be a Blase attitude in this forum and also in Ireland at the way projects are constructed.

'Ah sure you should have seen the Old N3' or ' jaysus isnt it only great what the lads did'

Our road network is one of the newest in Europe having only playing catch up over the last decade or so with the influx of money. However the standards that were applied are just not good enough. Why is it ok here and its not ok on the continent. Its very typical of the irish begruding attitude.

Ah sure if you dont like it lump it.....

We are better than this. And if we want to get out of this slump we have to believe that and work at it. - rant over.

Hence why this kip is in the state it is in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Leprechaun77

I noticed this surface water myself the last few times I drove on the road. I also would have expected more from a newly constructed motorway. It is quite shocking having to pay to use such a road (it is great when its dry though). It is also coincidental that when this road opened, the speed limit of the alternative N3 is reduced to 80 km/h.

I wonder why? lol

Just like the N4 after the M4 opened!:mad:

listermint wrote: »
    I have to disagree here, there seems to be a Blase attitude in this forum and also in Ireland at the way projects are constructed.

'Ah sure you should have seen the Old N3' or ' jaysus isnt it only great what the lads did'

Our road network is one of the newest in Europe having only playing catch up over the last decade or so with the influx of money. However the standards that were applied are just not good enough. Why is it ok here and its not ok on the continent. Its very typical of the irish begruding attitude.

Ah sure if you dont like it lump it.....

We are better than this. And if we want to get out of this slump we have to believe that and work at it. - rant over.

My post has nothing to do with that, I was simply saying that if the OP wasn't happy with using and paying for the M3 he/she could have used the N3 instead for free.

He/she stated it was a very wet day, surface water wont magically disappear in seconds. I dont hold a complaint about water spray on a motorway as a valid one. Or a claim that a motorway has "no drainage at all" without design and engineering proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

It's the exact same on the M50, all new parts of that road... which is pretty much all of it has horrendous surface water. However, the minute you get past the stilorgan exit (number 15) southbound you get onto the old road surface, the water disappears. Definitely built on the cheap. It's actually an outrage.

My post has nothing to do with that, I was simply saying that if the OP wasn't happy with using and paying for the M3 he/she could have used the N3 instead for free.

He/she stated it was a very wet day, surface water wont magically disappear in seconds. I dont hold a complaint about water spray on a motorway as a valid one. Or a claim that a motorway has "no drainage at all" without designed and engineering proof.

I appreciate your candor, And would agree that possibly 'proof' of engineering deficiencys would be warranted,.

But would you not also agrees that surface water and the quantity of it seems to be a common theme on the network. M50 M4 M3 M1 . I would also agree that water doesnt magically disappear. But is it not valid that we are not taking the appropriate measures to deal with the issue. I travel the southern M50 daily and to be frank, the water pools in sections. The same can be said for the M4 which has a massive issue around the Citywest junctions westbound.

I appreciate your candor, And would agree that possibly 'proof' of engineering deficiencys would be warranted,.

But would you not also agrees that surface water and the quantity of it seems to be a common theme on the network. M50 M4 M3 M1 . I would also agree that water doesnt magically disappear. But is it not valid that we are not taking the appropriate measures to deal with the issue. I travel the southern M50 daily and to frank the water pools in sections. The same can be said for the M4 which has a massive issue around the Citywest junctions westbound.

I only travel the M50 on a regular basis but cant say I have noticed anything I would call excessive surface water, maybe I've just been lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

I've seen this myself, very poor design or construction means the water isn't disapated fast enough, I'm wondering how this meets the motorway standard, surely they need to reasses them. Compared to motorways in other countries they do look rather flat (should have a fairly noticable angle towards the drains.

Also wouldn't that invalidate the toll, as if it's not motorway then they're not allowed charge, they say the charge it there for the higher standard (threw that one in just for giggles).

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

(it is great when its dry though).

Yeah, grand when dry, aside from the bumps and the narrow lanes and the two tolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I only travel the M50 on a regular basis but cant say I have noticed anything I would call excessive surface water, maybe I've just been lucky.

I have to say I think there is. The levels of spray reduce a good bit once past the Sandyford exit. It does seem go gather/flow excessively over the surface on the 3 lane section

I must be getting lucky with the weather :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

............... I was simply saying that if the OP wasn't happy with using and paying for the M3 he/she could have used the N3 instead for free.

Very disingenuous!

The complaint was about inadequate drainage, your response related to a non-existent complaint, having to pay for the Motorway.

Gophur wrote: »
    Very disingenuous!

The complaint was about inadequate drainage, your response related to a non-existent complaint, having to pay for the Motorway.
    jock101 wrote: »
    Two tolls for this privilege!:rolleyes:

That to me seems like the complaint involves having to pay two tolls for the use of a motorway that had inadequate drainage according to the OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

jock101 wrote: »
    I was driving on the so called new M3 motorway

Do you doubt that it's new?

Or that it's the M3?

Or that it's a motorway?

Need clarification.

That to me seems like the complaint involves having to pay two tolls for the use of a motorway that had inadequate drainage according to the OP.

The essence of the complaint was about the poor drainage. The advice given was to go elsewhere.

There are apologists for every cock-up.

Gophur wrote: »
    The essence of the complaint was about the poor drainage. The advice given was to go elsewhere.

What is your advice for the OP?

He didn't ask for any! ;)

My advice is to once again be happy with what were given... that seems to be your line. Unless im mistaken.

Its anyone prerogative to complain about something that they dont think it is right. just like it is yours to believe it is ok.

But it is of my opinion that you are happy to just generally accept what you are given.

Just because its new and it makes your meath commute easier (if you do in fact use it) does not make it good. I understand the N3 and all its intricities. As ive worked for years in meath. I also understand the new M3, and to say that the drainage on certain sections of this road is perfectly fine is to ignore your senses. its plain to see for all that we put up with these developments as this is what is shoveled at us. Behind closed doors tendors or tendors not given due to meeting criteria. But alas its same oul business as usual around here.

Just like we were shovel fed the M50 Toll bridge with its seemingly open ended contract which in effect payed NTR mutliple times its value and then some. who to blame? planners / civil servants / politicians and the back room dealers who we never see... but yes you are correct.

Its all 'better that it used to be'

with your money........

My advice is to once again be happy with what were given... that seems to be your line. Unless im mistaken.

Not at all, quite the opposite, my "line" is that the OP has started a thread complaining about surface water, yet offers no insights into what they think might help, who to complain to, why they think its happening.

Nor does the OP even ask for advice on who to complain to or what alternatives there are or how to deal with surface water.

So my "line" is the fact that Irish people love to whinge and complain but never bother their arse to do anything pro-active or constructive about it.

Yes but you have demonstrated apathy with the condition of the road and the fact that it is pretty fine. So yes while we piss and moan, is that not a slight improvement on accepting your lot.
    Sure isnt pissing and moaning what got the pensioners there medical card entitlements....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Do you doubt that it's new?

Or that it's the M3?

Or that it's a motorway?

Need clarification.

With it's current drainage system it isn't really a motorway, if you're paying for a motorway then you're at least entitled to one that's up to standard :p

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

PauloMN wrote: »
    Yeah, grand when dry, aside from the bumps and the narrow lanes and the two tolls.

Yea it's extremely bumpy in places! Have you noticed that it's also really one (almost) unbroken series of bends.. forever working the steering wheel!

I was on it last week as well in heavy rain approaching Navan (Dublin side) and at one point the view windscreen became completely grey with the clouds and spray being thrown up.

Wasn't helped by the idiots driving along with no lights on in such poor conditions either!