Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Polish Man Dies

• 04-10-2010 8:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭

A sign of the times. Polish man on his way to work in Dublin is murdered by unemployed Irish Man.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Maybe they just randomly attacked him. Maybe him been polish had nothing to do with it. Still doesn't take from the fact there is scum out there that would do this and most likely get away with it or a slap on the wrist. Legal system is an utter joke in this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Scum is a scum, no matter if they get a dog or a human... He's gonna be a free man in a couple of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

....there's a political angle to this....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

RIP. Terrible for the poor mans family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Nodin wrote: »

It would be naive not to investige if there is a political angle to this.

If there's one thing even worse than pure scum, it's racist scum. And it would be really scary should one find out that that racist scum might even be organised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

This is the second time this has happened ,I'm sure polish people remember the last time.

More gardai are needed ,on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

peasant wrote: »
    If there's one thing even worse than pure scum, it's racist scum. And it would be really scary should one find out that that racist scum might even be organised
    There are more than a few alarmists out there more than happy to use a man's death as an excuse to drum up support for their dubious causes though, like suicide stats being used to pressure the state to pay for people's mortgages. Have we got so much as a link to an article here OP, and is there anything to indicate that the man was attacked because of his nationality, such as how he might have been identified as such by this "unemployed man"? Or is it just another case of someone attacking people that would have been attacking people regardless of where they were from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

There is a photo of the man who was arrested for it on rte website... he looks like pure scum.

Its just crazy that a man on his way to work gets beaten to death. Hopefully they are charged with murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Be under no illusions....our sh!tty "justice" system will see to it that the scumbag who did this will be out and free in 15 years AT MOST. He will be back on the streets when he is just a few short years older than the young man whose life he has taken forever.

Taking someone's life like this and taking them from their family forever should mean a natural life sentence. I cannot understand any justice system that allows a killer to ever be free again.

RIP to the lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

yoshytoshy wrote: »

We need more scum off the streets. Pure speculation here but whats the odds that these guys have convictions as long as your arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    is there anything to indicate that the man was attacked because of his nationality...?

That's what I would like to know ...so it should be investigated.

That's all I'm saying ...no "dubious cause" whatsoever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

peasant wrote: »
    That's what I would like to know ...so it should be investigated.

That's all I'm saying ...no "dubious cause" whatsoever
    At first glance it would appear from the head on yerman to fall into the category of "looking for someone to attack regardless". Well, best wishes and deepest sympathies to the family and friends of that Polish man, its a bad end for anyone to come to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Heres one..... it's time the death penalty came back for the taking of a life in this type of circumstance!!

RIP to the man and condolences to his family. Its such a terrible waste and more that Ireland can be ashamed of in an international context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

changes wrote: »
    We need more scum off the streets. Pure speculation here but whats the odds that these guys have convictions as long as your arm.

Agreed ,I'm not trying to pass the blame ,but in reality when the cats away the scum runs riot.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Whether this was racially motivated or not, these scumbags should be done for murder and given life instead of the usual bull**** manslaughter crap that leads to a ridiculously short sentence. It's about time people were held accountable for their actions and some serious messages were sent out to those who think they can attack others without the consequences. This country is way too lenient on these 'people' and I use the word people loosely because they are sub human

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Avns1s wrote: »
    Heres one..... it's time the death penalty came back
    Where would be the available hangman's position advertised? :cool:

Heres one..... it's time the death penalty came back for the taking of a life in this type of circumstance!!

Didn't stop murders the last time we had it....doesn't stop them now where they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

RIP that poor man & deepest sympathy to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Didn't stop murders the last time we had it....doesn't stop them now where they do.

That may be, though I can't see how it wouldn't be a significant deterrant, but at least we as a nation won't be keeping these scumbags in the lap of luxury in our prisons for years when we can't afford to look after those who deserve it. Right now there is literally no sanction.

Put yourself in the position of that mans parents and see how it looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Hill St Blue

Poor divil...just going about his own business and he gets attacked. Our society is going to the dogs. Rip.

I disagree with the death sentence for one reason only..it is possible to make a mistake with it and execute an innocent person.

Wrt to the likes of the US it's not seen as a deterrant as it takes so long to actually go from sentencing to execution. In countries where the death sentence is carried out the same day as the trial, the effect is somewhat more pronounced, though as I said, I am in principle against it for the 1 person we might execute in error.

However, the next best thing is natural life in prison, and not in some cushy prison with TVs and fcukin pool tables on the landings. 23hr a day lockup, 1 hr exercise. Peoper punishment for taking life like this, not reform or rehabilitaion: fcuk that I say. PUNISHMENT and HARSH PUNISHMENT for the likes of this scumbag should be the order of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

There has been no suggestion in the media reports of him being targetted beacuse he was Polish.

Reports say up to 15 teenagers and some slightly older may have been involved.

Lukas Rzeszutko R.I.P.

Tougher sentences and less bleeding hearts needed in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

murphaph wrote: »
    I disagree with the death sentence for one reason only..it is possible to make a mistake with it and execute an innocent person.

Same here, but the trouble with not having the death penalty is that once the harshest punishment available is reduced it seems that all the rest go down as well in scale.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭slum dog

i hope the homeless guy enjoys his new home. ridiculous

That may be, though I can't see how it wouldn't be a significant deterrant,

......"impulse" or spur of the moment killings aren't by their nature carried out with a thought to the consequences. Other killers - fairly obviously - don't plan on being caught. Add in those dysfunctional types who areincapable of fully seeing the results of their actions and "voila".
    but at least we as a nation won't be keeping these scumbags in the lap of luxury in our prisons for years when we can't afford to look after those who deserve it. Right now there is literally no sanction..

Prison is not the "lap of luxury" and I really do wish people would stop spreading that nonsense about the place.

Yes, you may argue that sentencing is too short, but thats another matter.
    Put yourself in the position of that mans parents and see how it looks.

You mean get worked up into an emotional state over a tragedy and see what happens? Thats not the best basis for running a society.

......"impulse" or spur of the moment killings aren't by their nature carried out with a thought to the consequences. Other killers - fairly obviously - don't plan on being caught. Add in those dysfunctional types who areincapable of fully seeing the results of their actions and "voila".

Prison is not the "lap of luxury" and I really do wish people would stop spreading that nonsense about the place.

Yes, you may argue that sentencing is too short, but thats another matter.

You mean get worked up into an emotional state over a tragedy and see what happens? Thats not the best basis for running a society.
    Do you think this killer should ever be released from prison?

murphaph wrote: »
    Do you think this killer should ever be released from prison?

I'd only endorse literal life sentences in limited circumstances, which may or may not apply here.

On the face of whats come to light so far - not for the next 25 - 30 years certainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

gambiaman wrote: »
    There has been no suggestion in the media reports of him being targetted beacuse he was Polish.

Reports say up to 15 teenagers and some slightly older may have been involved.

Lukas Rzeszutko R.I.P.

Tougher sentences and less bleeding hearts needed in this country.

TOUGHER SENTENCES!!!! the justice system in this country is a joke. policing is a joke. that's the political angle. surely our politicians have a case to answer regarding the state of our society.

Murdered going to work. at 5am by some scumbag who no doubt was drinking cans,smokin blow and doin coke all fcukin night in a field behind his gaf..and now he'll get a 5 year sentence after he tells the judge he's addicted to hash and was frustrated or some nonsense.

Hang him.

Nozebleed wrote: »

Murdered going to work. at 5am by some scumbag who no doubt was drinking cans,smokin blow and doin coke all fcukin night in a field behind his gaf..and now he'll get a 5 year sentence after he tells the judge he's addicted to hash and was frustrated or some nonsense.

...and can you remember a specific case where that happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Like most people, I am shocked and saddened by this event, and disturbed that there are people out there who would set on anybody and beat him to death.

But I also think that there should be a trial and conviction before we discuss how to punish a particular person or people. At this point we have suspects and accused, and nobody has been named as a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

WITH a drug addiction and a criminal record by the age of 16, David Curran was an early starter on the road to crime. The ruthless Drimnagh man was just 17 years old by the time he stabbed Pawel Kalite and Marius Szwajkos to death in an unprovoked attack.

By then, the teenager was already well acquainted with crime, having received two convictions for driving offences. In fact, just three days before he murdered two men, he was convicted of driving without insurance and a licence, and of failing to produce both in a garda station. The following day, February 21, 2008, he became the victim of a stab attack which necessitated stitches to his back.

Born on Bloomsday, June 16, 1990, Curran grew up in Lissadel Green in Drimnagh, where he lived with his parents, three younger brothers and a sister.

His path through the education system was a rocky one, peppered with several suspensions from school. He was eventually expelled.

He turned to a life of crime early on, ending up in the Children’s Court on a number of occasions. Gardai were also aware that he was involved in minor larceny including the theft of cars. He often carried a screwdriver when attempting to find something to steal to feed his burgeoning drug habit.

Despite his extra-curricular criminal activities, he did manage to secure some qualifications through a course with FAS.

Alas, in the meantime he was also dabbling heavily in cannabis and alcohol. His problem with drugs first became apparent in November 2006 when he presented at the Ciall Youth Project seeking treatment for addiction. He was put on a 12-week counselling course, but just two months later he was back seeking help again. And in January 2008 he made a third attempt to clean himself up. By then, his choice of drugs had expanded to include benzodiazepines, a class of relaxant drugs that include Valium and sleeping tablets.

However, in the eventful week leading up to the double murder, he had lapsed once more.

On Friday, February 22, he presented as usual for a scheduled session at the Ciall Drug Project but it was decided he was in no fit state for counselling due to the stabbing incident on the previous evening.

Some 24 hours later, Curran embarked on a day that tragically encapsulated his life of crime. It began shortly after 10am when he purchased a bottle of vodka. He and some friends, including Sean Keogh, went to the locks at the Grand Canal where he spent much of the morning drinking, smoking cannabis and ingesting Roche "yellows and blues" tablets.

Some time that afternoon, Curran came upon a moped and decided to steal it. A number of gardai were seen approaching so Curran and his pals abandoned the bike, but not before removing two bottles of wine and a screwdriver from it.

He was still in possession of a screwdriver when he received a call from a female friend telling him that his cousin had been in a fight.

He immediately ran down across the Luas tracks at Goldenbridge and headed around to Benbulben Road. Curran continued up the street to a house at 48 Benbulben Road. Polish men Pawel Kalite and Marius Szwajkos were standing outside.

He then viciously drove a screwdriver into the heads of the two men.

His murderous deeds completed, Curran fled to his aunt’s house and stayed there for several days before agreeing to go to a garda station. Despite enduring seven lengthy interviews with gardai, he steadfastly refused to admit that two men had died at his hands.

THE teenagers spent the day down by the banks of the Grand Canal, drinking, smoking cannabis and taking pills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

R.I.P to the lad...

time to bring back the death penalty imo. and I know people will give out about this but the way things are going it needs to be brought back in ASAP.

I'd only endorse literal life sentences in limited circumstances, which may or may not apply here.

On the face of whats come to light so far - not for the next 25 - 30 years certainly.
    Do you think it's appropriate that a person can "delete" another human being, and then walk free? How does a thirty year sentence equate to a life nullified?

Basically, the killer in my view forfeits their own life when they take another and if I could be 100% sure that we'd never make a mistake then I WOULD favour the death penalty, BUT we can and will make mistakes, so the next best option id to ensure the killer is at least denied their liberty until they themselves die.

Can you explain to me how you come up with the "25 to 30" years figure? Is that how long you think it will take to make sure the killer doesn't kill again upon release, or that his "debt" is somehow cleared after this period?

Is it any kind of a deterrent though? I was ordering a Chinese in a local takeaway last week, when in walked a few lads that could be reliably be categorised as rough. I overheard their conversation, which appeared to revolve around the number of court cases they had outstanding and whether or not "Paddy" was getting out this month.

The overall impression was that their sentences were a badge of manhood, something to take pride in, that you weren't one of the lads until you'd been inside. The impression from the younger ones was of being awed by the more hardened in the group.

I felt like talking to them and asking why they would be satisfied to spend so much time in prison, when most young men their age wouldn't be content with that lifestyle. Until this attitude is dealt with, we can expect more crimes on our streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

yoshytoshy wrote: »

No we don't need more Gardaí, we need the ones we have to get off their arses and do what we pay them for, we need the judiciary to come down from cloud cuckoo land and we need the bleeding hearts to walk to work through Darndale at 4 a.m.

so the next best option is to ensure the killer is at least denied their liberty until they themselves die.

that would be too much on the irish taxpayer keeping them locked up as you say denied their liberty until they themselves die.

extermination is the way to go.

if you know you're life is going to be taken then i'm sure the person/persons will think twice about attacking anyone.

and i know it is only a matter of time before it is brought back. thats a fact.

LFCFan wrote: »
    Whether this was racially motivated or not, these scumbags should be done for murder and given life instead of the usual bull**** manslaughter crap that leads to a ridiculously short sentence. It's about time people were held accountable for their actions and some serious messages were sent out to those who think they can attack others without the consequences. This country is way too lenient on these 'people' and I use the word people loosely because they are sub human

as you know or should know the reason for manslaughter is the fact of which i have already said is because the cost is too much to keep a scumbag in prison and dry the taxpayer for this amount of time of full life. life in prison should mean life but it costs too much unfortunately this is the case.

the death penalty, if the person convicted is 100% proven guilty of murder should be destroyed and removed from society at least then if the murderer gets out early from prison they will not be able to commit another murder or harm anyone else. plus with the extermination of such an individual the cost on the people of ireland will be alot less than if we were looking after them with their playstations and tv's all their life behind bars. the time has come to deal with this issue but as long as we have a crap government this will continue as other murderers in this country have been doing nothing but enjoying themselves in prison with the best food, yes the best food as i do know this and they laugh at the law in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Originally Posted by Nodin

Although Nozebleed has already referenced the most obvious specific case for Nodin,this particular attack has an almost eerie similarity to the Drimnagh one....

The willingness and ability of the Pack to seek out,take down and savage their preyis something we appear to have developed a liking for in this increasingly bewildered country.

Anybody familiar with the Industrial Estate`s on Dublins perimeter will,if they work shift duties,be very familiar with the sight of workers making their way to jobs therein.....all you have to do is nod a greeting and you`ll more often than not get an Eastern European accented "Hi" in return.

Round my area,and I`ve little doubt,round Newtown Industrial Estate,that accent would be enough to attract the baleful primeval attention of some product of our native "Knowledge Based Economy" whose chosen path through life is to inflict enough pain and suffering on others to make him The MAN !,thus attracting the kudos of his supportive pack..

But,as some posters appear to reflect,our national phsyche appears to be one of constant retreat from confronting Pure Evil when it rears up and spits in all of our faces,as it now does with such regularity.

It is repeated in almost every aspect of our Social and Legal administration.

No criminal act,no matter how henious is deemed worthy of punishment or even condemnation until and unless we have performed a due-diligence and attempted to find some tenuous excuse for whatever savagery has been perpetrated on some innocent abroad.

Lukas Rzeszutko R.I.P. was going to work.

That very act to a significant number of savages in a significant number of locations (Throughout this Country) is reason enough to set a person apart as in somehow "Different".

Unfortunately as the State`s resources are largely directed towards keeping the savages well fed and their recreational needs attended to the "Workers" are then left to fend for themselves.

Just watch what now develops here as Lukas Rzeszutko`s grisly violent death makes him,and his family, non-persons as far as the Irish State is concerned.

Very shortly we`ll probably read accounts of Lukas Rzeszutko`s family and friends rallying round to find enough money to bring his family here or to fly his mortal remains back to his homeland.

The Irish State,however,will very firmly move now to protect and support Lukas Rzeszutko`s alleged attacker and will allocate whatever resources are required to ensure his health and well being whilst he is a Guest of this Nation.

By the time this case comes to trial,with hopefully a great many more of the c.15 "onlookers" arraigned,Lukas Rzeszutko will have disappeared as an individual we might recognize....Lukas Rzeszutko will become "that Polish Lad" ...or the "Foreign Fella that got clattered"...most likely by then a good many of the "onlookers" will have moved on to step into the Pack Leaders boots and might even accquire a few serious charges of their own.....but it`s ok...theres no pattern developing here....nothing to see...move right along....:mad:

Yea...Modern Liberal Irelands engaging policy of endearing appreciation of our baser instincts is leading us all on a march to the gates of Hell...but those who might not want to go there are voiceless and powerless.

The Island of Saints & Scholars was never more inappropriate a title was it ? :o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

LFCFan wrote: »
    Precedents have been set however. If these guys get mega harsh sentences they will get off on appeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭COUCH WARRIOR

these recidivist offenders should be castrated relatively early on in their criminal careers. Farmers do it all the time to cattle to effectively moderate their behavour, I'm sure the effect would also be present in humans. Also it would be relatively cheap.

It would be very interesting to see a poll here regarding bringing in the death penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

zenno wrote: »
    It would be very interesting to see a poll here regarding bringing in the death penalty.

You'll probably find that the majority are against the death penality.

OP - The fact the alleged killer or killers were unemployed is completely irrelevant. I have no idea why you mentioned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Austerity

Had these scumbags been hung for the crimes they've commited previously the Polish man would be alive today, but the bleeding hearts of Ireland would not tolerate that. The man is dead because of your bleeding hearts.

Ireland is a third world ****hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

And on that note, we can close the thread, which hasn't really ever developed a political angle, but has consisted instead primarily of people wanting other people to be hanged or castrated on the basis of being either "scumbags" or "scum".

Those posters really need to rise above posts which consist of little more than a couple of profanities and a couple of slogans, of which this thread has contained rather more than the usual number of examples. This forum isn't Liveline, and your posting privileges will be withdrawn if you are persistently unable to rise above the Liveline level.

Also, Austerity is either SLUSK or someone so similar as to make no difference, and so is permabanned.

moderately,
    Scofflaw