Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airtricity again........AARRH!!

• 04-10-2010 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭

I know them Airtricty sale people are commission based, but for fcuk sake will you ever leave me alone?
    At least twice a month they call, the same heads, fcuking bugging me to switch when i dont want it.
    No its not my house. "but its cheaper"
    No i dont pay the bill anyway. "who does?"
    No i dont want it. "why not, you'l save"
    I dont care, NO!! "please"

They even can call twice a day, wtf?

Is it bad all over the country?
    These people are worse than any religious order any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Close > Door > Face > End Story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

skipz wrote: »
    I know them Airtricty sale people are commission based, but for fcuk sake will you ever leave me alone?
    At least twice a month they call, the same heads, fcuking bugging me to switch when i dont want it.

Ring Airtricity and complain?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Snakeblood wrote: »
    A shotgun will solve this problem OP.

May lead to other difficulties though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Flogas for gas and an bord gais for eh electricity so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Just say you're with them already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

If they're phoning, you can ring ComReg and get added to a "No Cold Call" list but whether this has any affect on calls remains to be seen. There's nothing you can do about Door-to-Door types except ignore them or close the door quickly, and if that doesn't work, threaten to call the Po-Po on their ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Snakeblood wrote: »

Lol :D Have you ever tried complaining to a company like that? :D

...besides the last thing he wants is to talk to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

My mam has actually stuck a sign in the window of the front door saying 'If you're from Airtricity, don't bother calling here' :D

Dunno how well it's gonna work mind you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Airtricity contracts these guys from marketing companies. I had an interview with one of these companies a few years back, got through to induction. Got the job, Never returned after that day.

They are very devious and unethical in their workings. Very loose morals, like to prey on the vulnerable and use nuisance tactics to get their sales.

Not going to name the company for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

alwaysadub wrote: »
    My mam has actually stuck a sign in the window of the front door saying 'If you're from Airtricity, don't bother calling here' :D

That class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I wish they'd call me.

I'm so lonely.

I just want someone to talk to. :(

alwaysadub wrote: »

Your Mother is the best. :)

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I wish they'd call me.

I'm so lonely.

I just want someone to talk to. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

But they are cheaper, aren't they? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

why don't you want to change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

One day there was a knock on my apartment door. I figured it was my best friend who lived in the same building at the time and so had a key to get in, 'cause the buzzer didn't ring. Thinking that was who it was, I answered the door in a t-shirt and my underwear.

It was 2 men from Airtricity. Awkward. I said I'd switch anyway, hoping they'd go away quicker, but was asked for my bank account details... I walked backwards to get my card 'cause I didn't want them looking at my ass! Other than that incident, Airtricity have been wonderful for me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

They've gotten to you haven't they?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Had one of those guys call last week. Some laugh. I dont do direct debit for bills that can go up and down each month, so I asked him If I could pay with a cheque like the ESB.

"Is it direct debit only?"

"You can go to your post office before you get the bill and this will be deducted from your bill then"

"But how will I know what to pay off in the POffice, as I wont have got the bill yet? Could I not just get the bill and pay it off in the post office"

"You can pay it off in the post office before you get your bill"

"So basically its still direct debit only then isnt it"

"Well..................." (Queue lots more avoiding the question)

So Im sposed to believe that Id pay off some money in the PO and that transaction would always show up on Airtricity's system flawlessly each and every time! :rolleyes:
    My neighbour switched over to them awhile back and his reward was a bill which was 3 times the norm. Hes still ringing them daily to sort it out.

Bullet > Dodged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Memo to the Airtricity pimpers at the foot of the exit escalator in Jervis Centre Tesco who may read boards.

Continue to stand between me and the escalator at your peril.

Your extreme peril.

zuroph wrote: »
    why don't you want to change?

Its not my house, house sitting until we head to oz next year. So its handy to keep it the way it is and just pay in the post office.
    You'd think they would get the picture by now, no means no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Dickheads from Sky keep knocking in and there's a f**king dish on the side of the gaff. :rolleyes: how thick are they?

Next time the knobends knock in I'll ask them are they here to collect the dish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭dezzyd

They are cheaper....but..
    We changed over, like OP were getting called on a lot. What made us sway was the promise of 200 clubcard vouchers. That was four months ago. Never got vouchers.
    Five million calls later to the "complaints dept" we were still voucherless (is that even a word?) .
    But I bet annoying twat got his commission!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

They're just trying to do a job- leave them alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

They must have no system in place at all. Just mark the address as done. Maybe come back next year or in six months, but not bloody twice a month.

It's bad enough that they call so often, but they are bloody rude too.

One time when they rang the bell, I was upstairs. By the time I got to half way down the stairs (couldn't have been thirty seconds) the bell was ringing again and he was holding his finger on it this time.

I was shocked to see a sales person when I opened the door, so I just told him "you're not going to make any sales if you ring the bell like that" I closed the door in his face.

I felt a bit bad as the guy does have a tough job, but seriously, a bit of cop on is needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Novella wrote: »
    One day there was a knock on my apartment door. I figured it was my best friend who lived in the same building at the time and so had a key to get in, 'cause the buzzer didn't ring. Thinking that was who it was, I answered the door in a t-shirt and my underwear.

It was 2 men from Airtricity. Awkward. I said I'd switch anyway, hoping they'd go away quicker, but was asked for my bank account details... I walked backwards to get my card 'cause I didn't want them looking at my ass! Other than that incident, Airtricity have been wonderful for me! :)
    Awkward. I said I'd switch anyway, hoping they'd go away quicker,
    How could that possibly get rid of them quicker?:confused:
    but was asked for my bank account details... I walked backwards to get my card
    2 guys call to your door and you give them your bank details?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

SugarHigh wrote: »
    How could that possible get rid of them quicker?:confused:

2 guys call to your door and you give them your bank details?:confused:

I think the poster might have been partaking in one of these.
    Something said or done to evoke laughter or amusement, especially an amusing story with a punch line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Social Disorder

Damn them people trying to do their jobs just to make enough money to feed their families/drug addiction.

And yes, Airtricity is cheaper so what they are saying is true. If you did indeed listen to them or tell them to just drop you in a price comparison sheet you may actually benefit. But sure, I do hate trying to save money too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Novella wrote: »

Sure they will look at anything to get a sale, even if it sickens them.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I answered the door twice one evening to people trying to flog stuff.
    The Airtricty rep was the most difficult to get feckin rid of & that's saying something considering the other person was a traveller :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Just checked my airtricity account after reading this inspiring thread, apparently my balance is 130 quid (in the black) but they still took 60 quid out of my bank account 5 days ago. WTF??

Oranage2 wrote: »
    They're just trying to do a job- leave them alone

Which is it? you either work for them or you never had the misfortune of answering the door to them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭dezzyd

**Vai** wrote: »
    Just checked my airtricity account after reading this inspiring thread, apparently my balance is 130 quid (in the black) but they still took 60 quid out of my bank account 5 days ago. WTF??

have had similar problems - they kept trying to take debits on wrong days which resulted in being charged €7.00 by airtricity and €12.70 by bank for return debit - don't know wtf they are doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

Simple Solution: Say you work for the ESB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

please stay away from airtricity
    my parents got the bill of all bills :mad: they taught changing to them would be cheaper
    they never got a bill so high

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Ogham

They are not the cheapest - don't believe the hype.

http://www.moneyguideireland.com/electricity-prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Ring Airtricity and tell them under the Data Protection Act that you want all of your details completely removed from the system you want a copy of the recording of the call to prove that this conversation took place (i work in regulated business which is big on data protection) they will s**t the pants and leave you alone and if anyone knocks at the door again they should meet with the business end of a hurley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Big Steve wrote: »
    Ring Airtricity and tell them under the Data Protection Act that you want all of your details completely removed from the system you want a copy of the recording of the call to prove that this conversation took place (i work in regulated business which is big on data protection) they will s**t the pants and leave you alone and if anyone knocks at the door again they should meet with the business end of a hurley.

I think ESB may be more expensive, but its peace of mind. You always know somebody is answerable if your elec cuts off one day... not the same with airtricity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

bigneacy wrote: »
    I think ESB may be more expensive, but its peace of mind. You always know somebody is answerable if your elec cuts off one day... not the same with airtricity

And they use a nicer word when cutting people off for being very late with bills, de-energising.....:pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Until the contract is re-newed then they'll push up their rates.

I'm honestly not bothered about having to keep on switching deposits between Airtricity and Bord Gais / ESB every year, just to save a little bit on bills...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

Just stop answering the door!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 master_chief

Does anybody know if switching to Bord Gais for electricity (I use at the moment ESB and Bord Gais for gas) will merge gas and electricity onto 1 bill or will they still issue 2 separate bills?

One of the main benefits for me of switching anywhere is to get 1 bill, not even the lower price (it's marginal saving in my case to be honest).

I thought of Airtricity too and they call to me often as well, always tell them I need time to think it over which is actually true. To be honest their offer does not look bad, but don't have great confidence as they're new company and these sales men put me off the most, always circle with the pen the saving price on the leaflet like I was stupid and could not see that myself. When I actually asked them (I know I was nasty ) some questions about energy efficiency and some math calculations around units, etc. they just did :eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭eden_my_ass

Does anybody know if switching to Bord Gais for electricity (I use at the moment ESB and Bord Gais for gas) will merge gas and electricity onto 1 bill or will they still issue 2 separate bills?

One of the main benefits for me of switching anywhere is to get 1 bill, not even the lower price (it's marginal saving in my case to be honest).

I thought of Airtricity too and they call to me often as well, always tell them I need time to think it over which is actually true. To be honest their offer does not look bad, but don't have great confidence as they're new company and these sales men put me off the most, always circle with the pen the saving price on the leaflet like I was stupid and could not see that myself. When I actually asked them (I know I was nasty ) some questions about energy efficiency and some math calculations around units, etc. they just did :eek::confused:

No, I'm with Bord Gais for both and its two separate bills, two separate online logins to two separate online accounts....pity that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

No, I'm with Bord Gais for both and its two separate bills, two separate online logins to two separate online accounts....pity that!

and no ability to submit online readings for leccie, only gas :mad:

I see they have Jack Charlton trying to flog their eletricity now as well:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

I'm signed up with them for a few months now, but yet they still call to the door trying to get me to sign up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

skipz wrote: »

I'm finding Board Gas a lot worse at the moment... I've told them twice now that I'm not interested, and to please remove me details, but the feckers still keep calling me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Tell them you're with bord gais for your electricity and have solar panels on the back of your roof to heat your water. They can't compete with their rates. I worked in the same office as them when I was a Sky rep. Heh, stupid Airtricity, they got less commission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

I've never been troubled by Airtricity. Is this a Dublin thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Dunjohn wrote: »
    I've never been troubled by Airtricity. Is this a Dublin thing?
    Before I left they only had rights from Airtricity to sign people up in Athlone, Mullingar, some parts of Dublin (mostly southside and city centre) Cork & Galway.