Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Security Lapse Dublin Airport Passport Control

• 03-10-2010 11:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Just wondering was anyone at passport controlin dublin airport this sunday evening around 10.40pm

The que was building up fast a male made a run for it through passports without showing Id, The guys in one or two boots got out to run after him. took them 10/20 seconds to hit alarm

40-50 seconds later a second male which looked to be a friend of the first male also makes a run via empty security booth, They were after the first guy towards baggage hall I dont know did they realise the second guy also came through

Anyone know were they captured?

To me they police had totally taken their eye of the ball, when guy one made a run for it, their was defintely time for the next 50/60 people to make a run as well if it was planned(total lapse in security)

I went out via baggage no shutdown in arrivals, i taught it would automiticaly shut doors to find anyone on run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Have you contacted the gardai about this? Sounds fairly serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Maybe he really, really wanted to get his bags off the carousel first? nobody likes being left standing there when that empy gym bag and the half open bag of golf clubs are doing their lap of unclaimed shame for the 15th time around it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

They wouldn't have made it outside the airport, not a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

You're only seeing half the picture tbh. There's a few things that stand in favour of the authorities here. It's likely both were caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Happened last week too where a guy made a dash through security. He was stopped.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Larianne wrote: »
    Happened last week too where a guy made a dash through security. He was stopped....
    ...and transported to a nice hotel and will eventually be given asylum seeker status

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Folks, it was my grandda (again)... he was 'busting' for a piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭liverpool100

I walked through baggage hall 2 minutes later, no sign of security, no shutdown, no one stopped going out arrivals door( I felt them should have been shut first off)

Guy 1 took off running fast and one of the security guys looked unfit after him

Guy2 that made a run more than likely made it out as their was a lot of people around and i walked through and seem nothing out of the ordinary in arrivals, i would now assume guy2 just walked out arrivals door and security may not realise their was a second guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I walked through baggage hall 2 minutes later, no sign of security, no shutdown, no one stopped going out arrivals door( I felt them should have been shut first off)

Guy 1 took off running fast and one of the security guys looked unfit after him

Guy2 that made a run more than likely made it out as their was a lot of people around and i walked through and seem nothing out of the ordinary in arrivals, i would now assume guy2 just walked out arrivals door and security may not realise their was a second guy

I'd say they were apprehended (def the first guy anyway) and escorted to security offices with minimal fuss so as not to alarm everybody in the airport.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:confused: Why would they make a run for it? I dont get it as if they were illegal the airline would of looked at there passports before they boarded there flight or am i missing something here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

They've got new doors at Dublin Airport, just after customs, like an airlock. You go in one door, your in a kind of little box and you have to wait for the door at the other end to open before you can get out.

I doubt if he got through these.

Anyone know what those doors are for, incidentally? Is there some type of sensor in them or something, which traps you if it detects drugs or the like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I would say he got caught. There is always people looking at the cameras and could relay to anyone chasing the guy his location. Its probably harder to got throught the checkouts at lidl when they are closed compared to Dublin Airport :D

The new doors are just to stop people from trying to go back in the baggage hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

What probably happened was the two guys went down to pier a, realised they went to the wrong gate and probably had a few minutes to get to their gate, once you pass the doors in pier a the only way back is through passport control, back outside and through security again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Pookah wrote: »
    They've got new doors at Dublin Airport, just after customs, like an airlock. You go in one door, your in a kind of little box and you have to wait for the door at the other end to open before you can get out.

Anyone know what those doors are for, incidentally? Is there some type of sensor in them or something, which traps you if it detects drugs or the like?

Same kind of setup as you have in banks??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

I think it's just to stop people getting from the arrivals hall back into the baggage reclaim area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Same kind of setup as you have in banks??

Not exactly.

The first door opens automatically. Now you're in a type of glass corridor about 3 metres long. You walk to the end, meanwhile the first door closes behind you, you are now trapped, then when you get to the end, the second door opens, again automatically.

Looking up, there appears to be some kind of sensor. Could be just a counter, I suppose.
    penguin88 wrote: »
    I think it's just to stop people getting from the arrivals hall back into the baggage reclaim area.

It seems a bit elaborate just for that. After you come out the second door, there's still a security gaurd sitting there, to stop people coming in, and then another automatic door, iirc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Alpha Papa

I would be quite confident both parties where quickly detained by either GNIB or Airport Police. Hope this helps. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

I think the new gates at Customs have something to do with detecting substances, I've saw them on TV and at other Airports and they seemed to be connected to the drugs/explosives searches.

I'd say he was definitely caught. The Airport Police are pretty active around the exit in case someone happens to do a runner during a drugs search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Pretty sure they're just there to stop people getting into the bag claim area. Could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Just wondering was anyone at passport controlin dublin airport this sunday evening around 10.40pm

The que was building up fast a male made a run for it through passports without showing Id, The guys in one or two boots got out to run after him. took them 10/20 seconds to hit alarm

40-50 seconds later a second male which looked to be a friend of the first male also makes a run via empty security booth, They were after the first guy towards baggage hall I dont know did they realise the second guy also came through

Anyone know were they captured?

To me they police had totally taken their eye of the ball, when guy one made a run for it, their was defintely time for the next 50/60 people to make a run as well if it was planned(total lapse in security)

I went out via baggage no shutdown in arrivals, i taught it would automiticaly shut doors to find anyone on run

Probably 2 returning Liverpool fans trying to get home without being noticed:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lobsterman1

There seems to be no system in place to avert such a potential security lapse,as the DAA are in the process of a large scale staff reduction. There is no longer a manned security presence,as it is deemed the airlock solution is sufficient-(corporatespeak for cost-efficient). In this environment,technology is meant to be an aide to human resources,not a replacement,and the powers that be have tunnel vision,resulting in security being compromised,not consolidated. The general consensus among the frontline staff-who are not consultated in any meaningful way,despite working on a daily basis with the pratical application of company policy and dept. of transport directives,is that because there is no perceived immediate threat involving the countries core airports,then its economically prudent to reduce the aviation security manpower,and stretch the existing levels in the hope(and i stress the word HOPE), that things will be ok...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Dublin airport passport control is an absolute joke anyway; I'll never forget the time I was coming home from Rome and couldnt find my passport and they just waved me through saying it was grand! :o I could have been anyone! (Granted I dont look like the most threatening person in the world and my mates on the other side shouting 'she's illegal!' probably made it obvious I wasnt, but still!).

I was in the airport at this time on Sunday and didnt see anything, hopefully they got it under control anyway-sounds a bit dodge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Not exactly.

The first door opens automatically. Now you're in a type of glass corridor about 3 metres long. You walk to the end, meanwhile the first door closes behind you, you are now trapped, then when you get to the end, the second door opens, again automatically.

Looking up, there appears to be some kind of sensor. Could be just a counter, I suppose.

It seems a bit elaborate just for that. After you come out the second door, there's still a security gaurd sitting there, to stop people coming in, and then another automatic door, iirc.

They are the same as the bank lockdown doors if something happened in the airport they could trigger them when the suspect is inside trapping him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

2 People running into the country? Are you sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dobh

i wonder if anybody knows if it is possible to go through to airside if you are not flying anywhere. i am asking cos my teenage daughter will be flying alone from dublin. i will be bringing her to the airport and would like, if poss, to go through with her as far as the gate as she is nervous about going it alone. she will be able to if push comes to shove but if there was a way around it i would like to know. i dont know where else to post this query . thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

:confused: Why would they make a run for it? I dont get it as if they were illegal the airline would of looked at there passports before they boarded there flight or am i missing something here.

Not every country checks your passport on leaving.

Ireland, for one. Canada is another, I can think of.

And you can print boarding cards off the net these days, so need for anyone to check your documents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

dobh wrote: »
    i wonder if anybody knows if it is possible to go through to airside if you are not flying anywhere. i am asking cos my teenage daughter will be flying alone from dublin. i will be bringing her to the airport and would like, if poss, to go through with her as far as the gate as she is nervous about going it alone. she will be able to if push comes to shove but if there was a way around it i would like to know. i dont know where else to post this query . thank you.

Unless you have a ticket and a passport, No chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

The general consensus among the frontline staff-who are not consultated in any meaningful way,despite working on a daily basis with the pratical application of company policy and dept. of transport directives,is that because there is no perceived immediate threat involving the countries core airports,then its economically prudent to reduce the aviation security manpower,and stretch the existing levels

Ah the beauty of the English language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Were they making a movie? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

the airline would check they have a valid passport and boarding pass, they dont check visas or other official documents, thats what the passposr control place is for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,391 ✭✭✭markpb

Book a cheap Ryanair flight for around the same time, print off your boarding pass et voila - you can accompany her airside. Part b of my plan is less clear - getting back out - but I know it's possible because other people have done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

markpb wrote: »
    Book a cheap Ryanair flight for around the same time, print off your boarding pass et voila - you can accompany her airside. Part b of my plan is less clear - getting back out - but I know it's possible because other people have done it.

It's possible in the old terminal, wander down to what used to be section A (now gates 201-220, I think), but I don't know about Terminal 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Hmm...necro thread is old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Nope, I work in security screening in T2 and you cannot get airside without a boarding card, absolutely no way around it. She'll be fine, we see people like your daughter every day. It'll help build that little bit more independence without mammy there too :)

On the topic of passport control - that's up to the gardai to deal with, it's their area. The DAA have no control over it. From what I can see, they don't have enough guards for both terminals.

Was is T1 or T2 it happened? In T2 they have electronic gates you can't get past unless the guard presses a button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Havent these guys ever heard of recession?