Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sindo/fox news and Fine Gael

• 03-10-2010 11:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭

WHY WHY WHY, does the sindo/fox news online lead with Fine gael power struggle again.
    Now Im not political one way or the other, finna fall fine gael labor all a shower of $h!t€s.

But I see constantly a campaign waged against Fine Gael. Nearly every week online there is something which is bad mouthing fine gael in one way or another.

As far as i know sindo/fox news is the biggest selling paper in Ireland so it reaches out to a lot of people and can influence in ways that should not be allowed.
    eg I also see Enda Kenny being called Inda, its little things like that which can influence people to make up their minds, thinking okay Inda is a bogman, what does he know about IMF etc...

Now as I said Im not a fine gael man, I have varied my votes in the past and will do so in the future,
    but Im getting sick and tired of a sindo/fox news type of journalism.
    Is it a bias on behalf of their journalists or is it on behalf of their owners or is there some other reason why sindo/fox news journalism exists.
    AND
    dont get me started on that barry egan guy and his ilk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Enda/Inda
    Brian/Biffo
    Eamon/Eamon

oh...I see...the Sindo are keeping Labour ahead in the polls:rolleyes:

Irish newspapers are intrinsically negative. When you look at who this affects most, it has to be the governing parties, yet the opposition give them ammunition against themselves.

On the other hand, look at Newstalk, an O'Brien project with Hook et al. There isn't a hope Fianna Fáil or Labour can get a fair hearing, never mind Sinn Féin or the Greens.

The Sunday Times is a week long read that very few read cover to cover, that's not really any relation to it's daily namesake, but is about the most neutral you're going to get here.

The Tribune...don't get me started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

ah yes what about rte, dobson moments, andrews inner cleadness, yeah yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭maynooth_rules

The Sindo is a glorified FF rag, pure and simple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The job of the Sindo is to support FF at all costs. Its what its writers are paid to do. You definitely dont hear about them getting pay cuts.

I promise you that about a fortnight before the next GE, the two Brians will go to Sir Tony's house for a chat.

this rag will win another election for FF (not that any other party or ideology is worth a sh!te)

Yes this is cynical, but its not that far off the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

No, just wrong and very far off the mark. There are scathing attacks on the government in the S/Indo every day/week. I can understand someone having a contrary opinion on something, but to have one when the evidence that illustrates otherwise is right there in print is somewhat odd. But I s'pose, there's nothing like a bit of media snobbery...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Einhard wrote: »
    No, just wrong and very far off the mark. There are scathing attacks on the government in the S/Indo every day/week. I can understand someone having a contrary opinion on something, but to have one when the evidence that illustrates otherwise is right there in print is somewhat odd. But I s'pose, there's nothing like a bit of media snobbery...

I wouldnt call it scathing, they pull the punches. There's a bit of grumbling sure, but watch it go into overdrive come election time. As for media snobbery my utter cynicism which, I'll be the first to admit is a character flaw of mine, views it as merely a different level of spin, reverse psychology even - "ah jaysus Mick sure even O'Connor is having a go now". Maybe I'm blinded by my cynicism, but it cant be as bad as being blinkered by outdated Civil War politics, a necrotic Constitution and a sizeable postcolonial cringe. Irish newspapers thrive on negativity. Again I'll remind you that Caligula made his horse a Senator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭yeahme

Every sunday i log onto the irish sunday independent/fox news website,
    and every week its the same Fine gael bashing, which is why Im calling it irish sunday independent/fox news. Ok, during the week the paper is "Fair and Balanced" to a certain degree ;) but come Sunday it FG bashing time, if you dont believe me look it up, sorry i cant post links this ould dog is past his prime for googling content.

And for anybody that is reading this thinking im a FG mouth piece, forget it, My voting pattern has been varied, coming from a FG mother and FF father, who just voted for the best person.

I have even voted SF in local elections. Why? because I knew the guy, he was young, energetic, fresh ideas AND he had a uni degree, (made a change from the other canidates) good job, and he wanted good things for the local area, I believe he was the best canidate from the rest so I voted for HIM, not for any 32bit county politics.

Anyway back on track, to fox newspapers/independent.....

The job of the Sindo is to support FF at all costs. Its what its writers are paid to do. You definitely dont hear about them getting pay cuts.

I promise you that about a fortnight before the next GE, the two Brians will go to Sir Tony's house for a chat.

this rag will win another election for FF (not that any other party or ideology is worth a sh!te)

Exactly what I wanted to say, however Sir, you have managed it in a better way than I ever could.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭unit 1

You only had to see the expression in fionan sheehans face on Vincent Browne the other night, he nearly wet himself (plus smug expression) when he was relating his "inside" info on Kenny relating the poll results at FGs meeting.:mad:
    Question, 2 poorly designed bad polls and 1 well thought of good poll = Kenny must go. What a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

yeahme wrote: »
    WHY WHY WHY, does the sindo/fox news online lead with Fine gael power struggle again.
    Now Im not political one way or the other, finna fall fine gael labor all a shower of $h!t€s.

But I see constantly a campaign waged against Fine Gael. Nearly every week online there is something which is bad mouthing fine gael in one way or another.

As far as i know sindo/fox news is the biggest selling paper in Ireland so it reaches out to a lot of people and can influence in ways that should not be allowed.
    eg I also see Enda Kenny being called Inda, its little things like that which can influence people to make up their minds, thinking okay Inda is a bogman, what does he know about IMF etc...

Now as I said Im not a fine gael man, I have varied my votes in the past and will do so in the future,
    but Im getting sick and tired of a sindo/fox news type of journalism.
    Is it a bias on behalf of their journalists or is it on behalf of their owners or is there some other reason why sindo/fox news journalism exists.
    AND
    dont get me started on that barry egan guy and his ilk.

Well to be fair to the Sindo its more than likely FG TD's providing the quotes.
    I cant understand why they are hanging Enda, if his FG opponents have policy disagreements fair enough. But they dont its just pitty personality poitics.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The death spasms of a defunct medium.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 silverstrand

Dob74 wrote: »
    Well to be fair to the Sindo its more than likely FG TD's providing the quotes.
    I cant understand why they are hanging Enda, if his FG opponents have policy disagreements fair enough. But they dont its just pitty personality poitics.

I take it you did not see last sunday edition Comment no name no signature mystery person took over.

Seem like let they let the journalists off then until such a moment as is required then control takes over.

Where is a man's soul in all this, I have to wonder?

And where is Bono Why or Why cant he fund us a newspaper (with heavy's to keep out the gutter hacks) we haven't had one since the British left. What was the last one The National or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

I take it you did not see last sunday edition Comment no name no signature mystery person took over.

Seem like let they let the journalists off then until such a moment as is required then control takes over.

Where is a man's soul in all this, I have to wonder?

And where is Bono Why or Why cant he fund us a newspaper (with heavy's to keep out the gutter hacks) we haven't had one since the British left. What was the last one The National or something?

I am fairly sure the anti Enda coverage is not coming from FF, labour or SF, but Edna's enemies in FG.
    I have no doubt FF leaked the PJ Sheehan story.

Why would a tax dodger like Bono start a newspaper?
    Every newspaper will have an agenda, the sindo is OTTbut every nespaper in the world will have some degree of its own agenda.

maybe bono could set up a charity newspaper!!

I think a lot of this comes from the journalists themselves, they should be impartial and judge fairly and not let their own politics cloud their judgement, even go so far as to restrict their vote just like the guards are not allowed vote.

They have too much power at their disposal and i think people under estimate the power of the written word.
    Fox news-indepenent newspapers, have a lot to answer for.
    but then what are the alternatives, times, ugh, the red tops, indy-media,
    all crap. so what then do we use to help us make a decision on who to vote for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

Does shane ross not write for the sunday indo? He is hardly the biggest fan of FF.

Didn't he run for FG in some elections years back before becoming an independant?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

yeahme wrote: »
    even go so far as to restrict their vote just like the guards are not allowed vote.

Just because the gardaí is an apolitical organisation, doesn't mean their members are denied a democratic right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

The Sunday Indo on front page bashed FG, Lab and FF. Solid FF people like me would be very worried if the media went soft on us. Journalists are only earning a few bob and the pressure they are under to write a story is immense. Labour I have to admit are practically ignored by the media but wait till the GE comes along and if their position in the polls remains high just watch the media eat them alive !
    I always find it amusing when FG complain the Indo is reneging on them

I am fairly sure the anti Enda coverage is not coming from FF, labour or SF, but Edna's enemies in FG.

Every newspaper will have an agenda, the sindo is OTTbut every nespaper in the world will have some degree of its own agenda.

The most famous absurd gist... 'sure who else is there' comes from FF and is presented as if a fact a certain times. As if there could be two FF on the one Island! I have voted FG once I regret that as I should have concentrated on making democracy work and voted them more often to shift balance of power (unlike the Greens I did not know all) and allow politics to evolve before I should have indulged in what my politics were.

Another one is a kind of imbecilic ha ha approach towards FG that leaves out ludicrous actions of FF. Usually around couple of months to days before election. Of course there are excellent professionals working within on a daily bases. They write articles. This is about headlines and presenting nonsense as ok or real. At crucial investigative time there was the hard done by Bertie factor. Poor Berty someone was out to get him. Of course its playing Irish people for fools, and yes they fall for it, which says we are either fools or just over trusting. Its just spin and it serves its purpose to control democracy it is the substitute for Dictatorship in a modern day sense. Has to be looked at over years. If you start now you will see, start with maybe two weeks ago on Sunday just for somewhere to start. But detail would require proper analysis. If its any help once when David Mc Williams put the question to panel of Sunday Editors the shuffled and mumbled and could not answer, just looked uncomfortable.

As for tax dodger Bono well simple. For years when anything happened around the world Bono was on hand. Really did not matter what as long as there was a group of people and a disaster he was there. Which is all very commendable except for when we had floods, where home people were stranded in darkness escaping in boats, lost all they had, and saw whole villages submerge. No Bono came. When our democracy has brought us to the edge of the abyss. No Bono.

That the little matter of almost total control of our media by a very small number might have coloured our path and greatly influenced our decisions. Including the dismissed voices of dissent during the so called ' boom'. Already the new spin is rising that everything is fine. Just like its been fine for the last twenty years, when those who could think knew it but were not allowed to be heard. They got the role of FG the ha ha and silly comments to imply they were talking nonsense. Now the trusting fools are the same people who are now being told sure you knew it all and you are all to blame!!

We need some one to finance a 100% ethical paper and professional standard media source. Of course this would upset our the spinners and their people which is why someone with money lots, can only do it. I wonder as Mr Bono has not paid tax if he might put some of that which would have been taken away anyway to neverevereveryland, instead put it to some longstanding and patriotic good use. Redeem himself in the eyes of those who see him as a 'Tax Dodger' perhaps. Maybe put it into research for an alternative communication tool for politics that is more open and effective if paper is a financial non runner. Just feel he might like to role all the disasters he has applied himself around the world into this one here and help our Democracy recover or evolve, we cant even stand up, so how bad could that be. How bad does anything in Ireland have to be before he might notice, oh and no we dont want a visit and standing looking around while camera flashes? No something real.

The most famous absurd gist... 'sure who else is there' comes from FF and is presented as if a fact a certain times. As if there could be two FF on the one Island! I have voted FG once I regret that as I should have concentrated on making democracy work and voted them more often to shift balance of power (unlike the Greens I did not know all) and allow politics to evolve before I should have indulged in what my politics were.

Another one is a kind of imbecilic ha ha approach towards FG that leaves out ludicrous actions of FF. Usually around couple of months to days before election. Of course there are excellent professionals working within on a daily bases. They write articles. This is about headlines and presenting nonsense as ok or real. At crucial investigative time there was the hard done by Bertie factor. Poor Berty someone was out to get him. Of course its playing Irish people for fools, and yes they fall for it, which says we are either fools or just over trusting. Its just spin and it serves its purpose to control democracy it is the substitute for Dictatorship in a modern day sense. Has to be looked at over years. If you start now you will see, start with maybe two weeks ago on Sunday just for somewhere to start. But detail would require proper analysis. If its any help once when David Mc Williams put the question to panel of Sunday Editors the shuffled and mumbled and could not answer, just looked uncomfortable.

As for tax dodger Bono well simple. For years when anything happened around the world Bono was on hand. Really did not matter what as long as there was a group of people and a disaster he was there. Which is all very commendable except for when we had floods, where home people were stranded in darkness escaping in boats, lost all they had, and saw whole villages submerge. No Bono came. When our democracy has brought us to the edge of the abyss. No Bono.

That the little matter of almost total control of our media by a very small number might have coloured our path and greatly influenced our decisions. Including the dismissed voices of dissent during the so called ' boom'. Already the new spin is rising that everything is fine. Just like its been fine for the last twenty years, when those who could think knew it but were not allowed to be heard. They got the role of FG the ha ha and silly comments to imply they were talking nonsense. Now the trusting fools are the same people who are now being told sure you knew it all and you are all to blame!!

We need some one to finance a 100% ethical paper and professional standard media source. Of course this would upset our the spinners and their people which is why someone with money lots, can only do it. I wonder as Mr Bono has not paid tax if he might put some of that which would have been taken away anyway to neverevereveryland, instead put it to some longstanding and patriotic good use. Redeem himself in the eyes of those who see him as a 'Tax Dodger' perhaps. Maybe put it into research for an alternative communication tool for politics that is more open and effective if paper is a financial non runner. Just feel he might like to role all the disasters he has applied himself around the world into this one here and help our Democracy recover or evolve, we cant even stand up, so how bad could that be. How bad does anything in Ireland have to be before he might notice, oh and no we don't want a visit and standing looking around while camera flashes? No something real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

The Sindo is a glorified FF rag, pure and simple

Have you actually read the paper recently? The Sunday Independent is not an FF paper and never was. What it is though is an incredibly populist paper.

The job of a newspaper isn't to tell the news, but to sell papers. They are not going to write articles that are truthful but piss off the readership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

Einhard wrote: »
    I can understand someone having a contrary opinion on something, but to have one when the evidence that illustrates otherwise is right there in print is somewhat odd.

yeah kinda like how I fail to grasp how 20 odd % of the electorate still think FF are good for this country despite all of the evidence to the contrary? Perplexing and irritating indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

They are not going to write articles that are truthful but piss off the readership.

Well at least the first half of that is right, considering the amount of inaccurate and slanderous bull they've written about Limerick over the years.

So the first half is true, but they have no problem pissing off the readership when it suits them.

As a "former reader but wouldn't use it to wipe my arse as a result" I know what I'm talking about.