Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ahern News of the World Add

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Pity you couldn't keep the fu*ker in there.....I honestly think, he thinks people like him :confused:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I think there is already another thread on this but to answer your question, no! He will obviously do anything for money (except take his TD's responsibilities seriously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Maybe its time to organise a boycott of that rag. Unfortunately I am unaware of anyone who actually buys it.

Ahern has no shame at all. Sure he thought we'd all accept his utterance that he won "the money" at the horses! In fact I believe he is so deluded that he believes he stands a chance at the Presidency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I was going to start a thread on this myself ,but I honestly wasn't sure to post it in the comedy/ah/politics forum and thats why I didn't.

Think of what other country you'd see a politician do this in ...................... ,the name mugabe comes to mind.

The sooner we sort out these gas cookers the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Ahern is deluded enough to think that everyone likes him no matter what he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

it must be nice to be able to go through your day thinking your a funny, well liked, intelligent,, honest, jack the lad............when the whole country knows your a slimy, corrupt, quisling that will go down in history as the most hated man since cromwell (and there's a poll to prove that).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

FFS lads, overreaction much? The man writes a column (apparently a good one) on the GAA etc... and he appears in an ad for the paper....

Big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Johnny Murphy FF

I loved that ad, Bertie is a great fella despite what all the anti-FF muppets think.

After all how many of you can claim to be

(1) creator of an economic boom
    (2) creator of the GFA
    (3) A book writer and author
    (4) A journalist
    (5) A diplomat.

And much much more, you all just jealous of Bertie. Get over yourselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I loved that ad, Bertie is a great fella despite what all the anti-FF muppets think.

(2) creator of the GFA
    (4) A journalist
    (5) A diplomat.

FFS, it is clear that you are not a FF supporter at all, and are here to simply stir the pot and alienate people from FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

(2) creator of the GFA
    (4) A journalist
    (5) A diplomat.

Dear God...they're real!!

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    FFS, it is clear that you are not a FF supporter at all, and are here to simply stir the pot and alienate people from FF.

Either that or it's Bertie himself, because he's the only one who would believe rubbish like that.

I'm not going to even grace the other thread with a response, because it would give it legitimacy, but Ahern DOES have something to his name......the biggest economic disaster this country has ever faced.

What he doesn't have to his name is a tax cert, however, which makes it illegal for him to be a TD.

(2) creator of the GFA
    (4) A journalist
    (5) A diplomat.

your right actually. we're just lealous of him.

(2) creator of the GFA
    (4) A journalist
    (5) A diplomat.

The (sheep) people of ireland are fools no longer, and will vote FF out, and mark my words that party will end up like the PDs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Johnny Murphy FF

Doom wrote: »
    The (sheep) people of ireland are fools no longer, and will vote FF out, and mark my words that party will end up like the PDs

Whether you like it or not the Irish people love FF which is why we have been in power for most of the states history. Get over it, we are not going away.

FF will never = PDs, keep dreaming though pal !

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Whether you like it or not the Irish people love FF which is why we have been in power for most of the states history. Get over it, we are not going away.

I'm Irish and I loathe them for who they are, what they stand for and what they do and have done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Fianna fail are a glam rag ,thats gone out of fashion ........

BIG TIME!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

A man who wants to be our next President advertising a rag of a newspaper from inside a kitchen press.

The mind boggles

kbannon wrote: »
    I'm Irish and I loathe them for who they are, what they stand for and what they do and have done.

^^ What he said. So that bolloxes up the "Irish people love FF" delusion.

Mind you, now that myself and kbannon (at least) have disagreed with a deluded Bertie follower spouting lies, I'm worried; should we go and commit......y'know..... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

I think you're really an opposition politician, posting here to cement FF's downfall by inciting further hatred against them.

Good work.

it hurts me to agree with that. the irish people are like a battered wife we keep going back no matter how bad ff are. i think its a hangover from colonialism. my hope is that slowly we'll start to rid ireland of the cancer of ff. your more or less finished in dublin, county by county we'll cut you out like the rotten tumor you lot are.
    wow im dizzy after all the metaphors;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

great ad.. For sure will make people buy the rag.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    I think you're really an opposition politician, posting here to cement FF's downfall by inciting further hatred against them.

Good work.

Is it even possible to have additional hatred for those rats ?

Whether you like it or not the (stupid) Irish people love FF which is why we have been in (robbing the country) power for most of the states history. Get over it, we are not going away.

Get to to have a general election so......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Disgraceful

Could not imagine Tony Blair, George Bush or any other former international leader making such a fool of themselves for personal gain

reminds me of a muppet .........

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Do you know why FF have been in power for most of the State's history?

Because everyone smart enough to disagree with them has been isolated and forced to emigrate.

Once the current round of emigration ends and all the talented people who actually care about Ireland are gone, FF will be back in power with an economy fixed courtesy of the opposition parties and it is goodies all around until they destroy it again.

Of course, mores the fool me for sticking around, but sure we'll wait and see how bad it really gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

It's bad enough that he presided over the near destruction of the state, it's bad enough that he opined that his critics should commit suicide, it's bad enough that he stuck two fingers up at a state tribunal, it's bad enough that he had to be forced out of office over his personal affairs, but the awful thing about this odious individual is his refusal to accept any responsibility for the malaise the country is in and now he's asking us to read his football musings in an english tabloid rag. The man has no style, no scruples, no moral compass, no shame and is utterly devoid of class. Please disappear from the public arena Bertie while the good people of the country try to extricate themselves from the ****e that you and your "buds" landed us in. I loathe you and your kind, crawl back under a rock where you belong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

The man is a sitting TD, and in the middle of the worst economic crisis this country has faced he's off doing a nixer for an oirish edition of a piss poor tabloid.

In his head he's clearly retired from real politics. He's just riding the Dail gravy train, waiting for the doors of Aras an Uachtarain to open for him, to catch a lift on the next state gravy train. The man acts like we owe him something. But sure now I tihnk about it, wasn't he a great Taoiseach, and doesn't he deserve a nice little retirement gig after all the hard he put in. And sure isn't he just one of the lads like anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

I regret to say that Johnny Murphy FF is no longer with us. He was fun to start with, but has become, alas, increasingly repetitive and unimaginative. Hopefully he will move on to fresh pastures rather than re-regging.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Persiancowboy

FFS lads, overreaction much? The man writes a column (apparently a good one) on the GAA etc... and he appears in an ad for the paper....

Big deal.

You don't seriusly believe this clown actually writes that column do you?? This is like all the boooooks he used to "review" for the Irish Times when he was Taoiseach!!

The only time that pr*ck ever wrote anything was when he signed his name on blank cheques for Charlie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Ahern should be right at home. The NOTW makes up rubbish, has done for years so the chancer Ahern already had qualifications in that field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Big deal.
    "The lad" was also a chief architect of our economic problems. He has no shame, and its attitudes like your's I'm afraid that let the likes of him off the hook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Are you allowed to do that, work for the press while you are a TD? Doesnt that conflict with checks and balances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Ok, taking the odds he claims for tax free status as a "artist" as the poor little fella cant afford the taxes :(

Taking 10-1.

Are you allowed to do that, work for the press while you are a TD? Doesnt that conflict with checks and balances?

Sure he's not even be allowed at TD at the moment, because he doesn't have a tax clearance cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

BTW does anyone have Jay Leno's email address, I can't find it at the moment ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭alanfa

I formed a facebook group if enough people sign up the mercernary news of the world might wake up to the financial reality of having a high profile liability like him in the organisation.http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?o.129700128540&ref=mf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

Well, not that it's any consolation, but the only thing you can say is that it's not the worst way in which he has given two fingers to the country he was supposed to serve. What would you expect from a pig but a grunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I can't help but feel a bit sorry for him, he's seriously deluded.. I wonder if any of his friends or family ever speak to him about how the public perceive him

Well apparently Cashel Chamber of Commerce have started the ball rolling in getting reality through his thick, ignorant head.

He's been "de-invited" from their evening on Thursday, according to The Last Word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Not happy with destroying the economy twice in my lifetime FF, courtesy of Bertie & Cowan, are now determined to drag our country down to their level and make us a laughing stock across the world.
    God Almighty and we used to have an issue with Punch cartoons!

I am now ashamed to say I'm Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Well apparently Cashel Chamber of Commerce have started the ball rolling in getting reality through his thick, ignorant head.

He's been "de-invited" from their evening on Thursday, according to The Last Word.

Yeah, a poster on politics.ie got the ball rolling with a facebook campaign to protest at the event, then the sindo picked it up and Cashel was buzzin with the news the ***blank*** was on the way.

This is what should happen - Ahern should be shunned everywhere he goes.
    I'm living in Dublin Central and by God, if that snivelling snake ever knocks on my door I honestly don't know if i'll end up doing time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Doom wrote: »
    Pity you couldn't keep the fu*ker in there.....I honestly think, he thinks people like him :confused:

He seems to be just about the most deluded person in Ireland. It's like his brain is stuck in a time-warp where he thinks it's still 2003. Can he really believe that his legacy will be the 'celtic tiger' (yeah right) and his single-handedly fixing Northern Ireland's woes? Can he? Surely it must be all an act, the same 'good old salt of the earth bertie' act that he perfected over the years? Because if he actually really is that deluded that he thinks his legacy will be a positive one then he's close to insane, never mind just deluded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

I would have my doubts about the actual intelligence of this man. Did he not at any stage stop and think to himself "Jaysus people are pissed off at me, maybe I shoud keep my head down till this passes over"

Obviously not as he's now sitting in a cupboard supping a cup of tea. Surely he still has advisors, he must have a PR company working for him and yet they all thought this ad was a good idea.

The mind boggles.:confused::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I think sometimes we all need a friend to put us straight. Like you might be piling on weight or slacking off somewhere else and your friend might be harsh, but they will tell you how it is.
    You may be hurt but you'll improve

Does Bertie have such a friend?
    Or is he surrounded by party hacks and long time allies who are just yes men.

Someone needs to take him aside and tell him just how this NOTW ad is perceived.
    Either that or he has lost touch with reality, someone is going to quote me now and wonder did he ever have it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I can't wait to see Jay Leno's take on this ex Taoiseach tosser.

The Biffo gag last week wasn't that funny really, just silly.
    (And embarrising.)

But the follow-up with Bertie should be a good laugh.
    (At our expense). :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

You can go to the FF website and send a message about it, you don't even have to go to far with the complaining as it is quite obviously very WRONG having an ex leader in an ad for the NOTW!

Whatever about it being wrong to have Ahern in the ad, it's not illegal; the bigger issue is that it's wrong to have Ahern in the Dáil; it's illegal and he's not entitled to be there!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Whatever about it being wrong to have Ahern in the ad, it's not illegal; the bigger issue is that it's wrong to have Ahern in the Dáil; it's illegal and he's not entitled to be there!

Go on then.
    Tell us why this is so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Lapin wrote: »
    Go on then.
    Tell us why this is so.

Three words:

Tax. Clearence. Certificate.