Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dozy cow

• 02-10-2010 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭

Right today I parked the car on the road outside my mothers house when the dozy cow across the road reversed out of her drive never looked where she was going and bang! passenger door bent up really bad, in fairness to her she called to the door and said I've to call over to see her later, ok no probs! when I called to the door it was a different story " are you trying to imply that I'm responsible for you're cars damage? sure its only a dent and a small scratch no need to paint just beat it out from inside, sure the door still opens! it's only an 02 and I know enough to know that you wont need a panel beater for that you could do it yourself. Now the dent is at least 3" deep pretty well creased so I think a new door I don't think I'm being unreasonable I'd be happy to try and find a second hand door in black and only paint the outside. I know it may only be an "o2 " but it is well minded and it has no dents anywhere else. I feel like insisting on new genuine bmw parts!

Tell the dizzy b1tch you have no intention of not getting a panel beater to do it and if she wants to you can go through her insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Why should you do it yourself?

It was her fault, let her do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Simple really; get her insurance details and let them deal with it. No need for you to get involved with her at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭seanyleary

defo bring it to a panel beater and get a qoute, get it do right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

What? Is she now claiming she didnt do it?
    Its only an 02.... I hate that crap.
    If you have silver or some awkward colour to match, you could be looking at alot of paintwork to get it spot on.
    I would get a rather large quote from a BMW dealer and let that soften her cough for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

For being so arrogant I'd go through the insurance and put it right up her nose tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

Its only an 02 - shame on her! hardly a banger now is it!!!

Go through your insurance, let them sort it for you. If she had said something like "get it repaired and give me the bill" you might be more sympathetic, but seriously - go through your insurance for this - you might need a new door.

Good luck:)

Its only an 02 - shame on her! hardly a banger now is it!!!

Go through your insurance, let them sort it for you. If she had said something like "get it repaired and give me the bill" you might be more sympathetic, but seriously - go through your insurance for this - you might need a new door.

Good luck:)

With the attitude she had I woudnt care if it only needed a small scratch repaired; I would take pleasure in screwing her NCB and insurance policy en route to getting it repaired to the highest standard available, regardless of the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

The same but different happened to me last year when a dizzy mare reversed into me in the company car park.

Get a quote from a main dealer for the repair and contact her insurance with it.

Now if you happen to find a cheaper 'panel beater' than the dealer before the insurance cheque comes out then all the better. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Thanks for all the reply's I was just fuming only had the car a couple of months and all that. And to think I felt sorry for what I taught was a defenseless old woman!

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Thanks for all the reply's I was just fuming only had the car a couple of months and all that. And to think I felt sorry for what I taught was a defenseless old woman!

When it comes down to money there's no such thing as defenceless!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Probably a stupid question but :o

If there were no witnesses how do you prove it was her to the insurance company? She might well deny it ever happened.

themadchef wrote: »
    Probably a stupid question but :o

If there were no witnesses how do you prove it was her to the insurance company? She might well deny it ever happened.

Take a pic of the rear of her car. She cant have done that much damage and not taken any herself.

By right tho the Gardai should have been called the moment it happened or at least when he was made aware that it happened.

Anyway i think it would be up to her to prove to her insurance that she didn't do it.

Well I have her paint on my door!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

djimi wrote: »
    Simple really; get her insurance details and let them deal with it. No need for you to get involved with her at all.
    agreed.

and phone the insurance company tommo,isnt there something about that in insurance claims,where you have to report any "accident" within 24hrs?

Dozy cow is right. best of luck

Well I have her paint on my door!

Like i mentioned before take pics of as much as you can as soon as you can.

If her car isn't parked in a garage overnight you can take her policy number off her disc. All else that you'll need would be her name, car make and licence number vor when you contact the accident dept of her insurance company. Tell her tomorrow that you will be proceeding to claim off of her insurance as soon as you get a quote for the repair. If she's still being sh1tty about it, your reply to her is that she doesn't have a leg to stand on, she reversed into a parked car which is driving without due care and attention and whether she likes it or not you have all the details you need. It's your car at the end of the day and you have the right to get it repaired to the highest standard.

I know with mine last year the assessor didn't come in person to see my car but accepted an email of the dealer quote and pics i had taken (from all concievable angles) on the day the tip happened. Saved a bit of hassle.

It was about a 10days then until i recieved the cheque for the amount of the quote that I had gotten from audi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

It's only an 02?

Lock and load, get her insurance details and let rip! I'd be fuming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Take a pic of the rear of her car. She cant have done that much damage and not taken any herself.

By right tho the Gardai should have been called the moment it happened or at least when he was made aware that it happened.

Anyway i think it would be up to her to prove to her insurance that she didn't do it.
    The Gardaí only have to attend the scene of an accident if there's an injured person. :)

Other than that, it's up to parties involved to collect & exchange details. Yeah you can ring the Gardaí and ask them to attend the scene and collect details etc but it's not priority for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

Bonito wrote: »
    The Gardaí only have to attend the scene of an accident if there's an injured person. :)

Other than that, it's up to parties involved to collect & exchange details. Yeah you can ring the Gardaí and ask them to attend the scene and collect details etc but it's not priority for them.

True but you're also obliged to report an accident, so at least ring your local station and give them the details, no need for anyone to come out to you but just tell them the story and get the name of whoever you talk to.

The only obligation of a Garda at th scene of a material damage accident is to ensure that names & adresses & insurance details are exchanged.

+1 for taking a few pics as evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

did anyone else open this thread thinkng the op had crashed into a real cow haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

guil wrote: »
    did anyone else open this thread thinkng the op had crashed into a real cow haha
    Nah. We knew his neighbour crashed in to him and now we're all telling him to milk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

thats a load of bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

She obviously dosen't want to pay for damage's to your car, just go straight to her insurance company and let her get a call off them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Maybe not too late to call the Guards though and I would nearly be inclined to under the circumstances. I'm just thinking back to the time that I was rear ended. Called the Gardai straight away but they did not arrive till over an hour and a half later as they were tending to other accidents first. The cars had to be moved into the side of the road as they were causing an obstruction so its hardly like they arrived at the scene of the accident either. At very very worst they might have a word with you over wasting Gardai time but don't think such should be the case and you would have a very valid reason to call them under the circumstances I reckon. They would just take a brief statement from both parties, reg numbers, insurance particulars etc. It would be left between really on whether ye want to go through insurance or not...The guards generally don't if never interfere here.

Are you sure about that salad dodger. I'm not sure either but would have thought the onus rests with the OP....I stand to be corrected though.

Maybe not too late to call the Guards though and I would nearly be inclined to under the circumstances. I'm just thinking back to the time that I was rear ended. Called the Gardai straight away but they did not arrive till over an hour and a half later as they were tending to other accidents first. The cars had to be moved into the side of the road as they were causing an obstruction so its hardly like they arrived at the scene of the accident either. At very very worst they might have a word with you over wasting Gardai time but don't think such should be the case and you would have a very valid reason to call them under the circumstances I reckon. They would just take a brief statement from both parties, reg numbers, insurance particulars etc. It would be left between really on whether ye want to go through insurance or not...The guards generally don't if never interfere here.

Are you sure about that salad dodger. I'm not sure either but would have thought the onus rests with the OP....I stand to be corrected though.

Definitely won't be any statements taken - This is a civil matter between the OP and the other party.

Gardaí have a duty at the scene of an accident to ensure both parties exchange names & adresses. That's all.

This was not a hit & run as the other party informed the OP.

There is no offence to be investigated here so Garda involvement will be minimal.

Like I said above - you are supposed to report it, if a Garda can attend they will, if not it's up to you to exchange details.

Now - if she refuses to give her insurance details - that's another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

corktina wrote: »
    thats a load of bull

i see what you did there....

I think I should have worded that slightly differently. What I meant to get across was just that, once the insurance company has been contacted and they go on to contact old Mrs Dozy-Cow that it's up to her to argue the point with them and decide whether to pay up or not.

If it happens that she doesn't want to cough up and it comes down to one persons word against the other, the facts remain that that she hit a parked car and in so doing was wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

pah wrote: »
    Definitely won't be any statements taken - This is a civil matter between the OP and the other party.

Gardaí have a duty at the scene of an accident to ensure both parties exchange names & adresses. That's all.

Ok pah this contradicts what happened the time somebody ran into me. Perhaps as you say they don't actually have a duty to take statements but in my case they certainly did take a brief statement from both parties. They took both our details and ensured we had exchanged all necessary details with each other and that was that. 5 to 10 minutes work on their part but they did take statements from both of us re the circumstances of the accident.

Well I called into the Guards last night to report the accident and he told me That it was nothing to do with them and that if she refuses to pay it's a civil matter and I'll have to pursue her through the small clams system. Don't know if I should give her a cash quote now first to try to avoid all this hassle because I'm worried now if she has that quote it may bite me in the ass later.

If you wish to persist in dealing with her directly you could get a quote to get it repaired (and dont sell yourself short in doing so either; get it repaired to the highest standard you can) and give it to her, give her the opportunity to pay for it without going thru the insurance.

Be prepared to go thru the insurance tho as she does not sound like a reasonable person. Notify your insurance company of the accident, and have a chat with them as they will probably be able to advise you as to the best course of action going forward.

If you wish to persist in dealing with her directly you could get a quote to get it repaired (and dont sell yourself short in doing so either; get it repaired to the highest standard you can) and give it to her, give her the opportunity to pay for it without going thru the insurance.

Be prepared to go thru the insurance tho as she does not sound like a reasonable person. Notify your insurance company of the accident, and have a chat with them as they will probably be able to advise you as to the best course of action going forward.

Nailed-on +1 here.

Get your quote from the main dealer of whatever your make of car is. It might take a day or two to get the quote in writing but once you have it just go straight to the insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Notify your insurance company right away - you're legally obliged to do this, even if you never claim. Better safe than sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

I feel like insisting on new genuine bmw parts!

get her insurance details, call her insurance and make sure thats exactly what you get

no excuse for her to do anything but pay for the full repairs and car hire while the car is being repaired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Thats what you pay insurance for, just get her deatils and let them sort it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Just Karen

Im going through a similar issue. Dozy bull hit me, I called the garda who eventually came to the scene, notified insurance company and thought I was home and dry. Not so. He is disputing liability. Everytime I ring my "insurance" company I get the same story which is hes refusing liabilty, we're waiting to hear back from him. This has been going on 5 months now. If dozy cow wants to fight dirty you may have a long battle on your hands especially if your insurance company have no interest in recovering the money for you!

Good Luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Notify your insurance company right away - you're legally obliged to do this, even if you never claim. Better safe than sorry!
    Afaik, you're not legally obliged and you won't be comitting an offence if you don't.
    However most policies state you must inform your insurer of any damage that may result in a claim against your policy, which makes it a contractual obligation. That's not the quite same as informing them of an accident that doesn't result in a claim against your policy, though AXA do request you do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

An update on this topic.

As other's have already said it's her fault no matter what she says. Get a quote from a main dealers no where else. Take picture's of her car and your's. If she see's you and say's something tell her that your insurance company want's them to assist with your claim. This should help out and put the wind up her gently.

Give her the quote and tell her she has 7 day's to reply before you go through her insurance. If you don't hear from her call her insurance company directly and tell them you are making a claim against one of their client's you won't need to tell them about your insurance company. They will send you a claim form to fill out. Fill it out and send it back to them.

Call your insurance company and tell them the story and that you will be making a claim of the other persons insurance and you will NOT be claiming off your own. They will get upset if they hear from someone else about the incident. They will only make a note on your policy and it will NOT affect your insurance in any way.

Ensure you tell her insurance company that SHE TOLD YOU SHE HIT YOUR CAR. This should seal the deal no promises though.

Ok pah this contradicts what happened the time somebody ran into me. Perhaps as you say they don't actually have a duty to take statements but in my case they certainly did take a brief statement from both parties. They took both our details and ensured we had exchanged all necessary details with each other and that was that. 5 to 10 minutes work on their part but they did take statements from both of us re the circumstances of the accident.

A few notes in the members notebook doesn't mean a statement was taken.

Statements are normally taken in the station or at somebodys home on official paper called a C8 with a legal declaration signed by the Garda and the witness.

I think the confusion here is the definition of what a statement is :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I had something similar where a bin truck knocked over my motorcycle. Four hundred pounds for new plastics but the guy kept fobbing me off.

So I took his details off his insurance disk and phoned the company. I explained the situation and they sent him a claim form.

Two days later, when he got it, he suddenly became eager to pay for the damage.

Maybe worth a try ?