Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Mccloskey - Barry Morrison, Letterkenny, 2 October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

am i alone in finding it very difficult to get excited over this fight/card???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com

alanceltic wrote: »
    am i alone in finding it very difficult to get excited over this fight/card???

no. and the undercard is muck as well. the only ones that have decent opponents are the Cubans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Heffo001

Agree the quality of opponents is poor for the most part. Really looking forward to see how the Acosta and Garcia do against some decent opponents. I was at Garcia's fight on the Lee vs Thiam undercard and was very impressed by him. Seen some of Acosta's fights on the net also and he looks impressive as well, hopefully he can keep his KO record going against some tough opposition. I like the way they are being given good difficult fights at such an early age compared to most Irish boxers who pad their record by fighting a load of nobody's. Hope RTE show some decent coverage of the fight rather than having to wait for a week for the highlights to be put up on Youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Is that Martin mc Guiness there with Brian Peters ?
    Havent seen him up the ringside before ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Bit of a stretch to have this live on RTE 2 surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Good stuff by Murray. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I hate watching fights with Emile Tiedt reffing them because he is a rubbish ref, extremely rarely gives the decision to the away fighter and never gives 10-9 rounds to the away fighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

He's at most fights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭TheBastard

I was thinking the same myslef- it must be him.

Andy should of knoked him down- boring fight- threw some nice punches but never follewed up with anything to put the opponent down.

Andy Murray would get smashed by John Murray. John Murray would expose the safety first style of Murray with his style and stop him in the mid rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

Mick Dowling being pretty ungracious towards one of his co-analysts again. Can't stand Dowling. Comes across so smug and self satisfied.

Maybe Dowling should be moved to commentary

Mick Dowling being pretty ungracious towards one of his co-analysts again. Can't stand Dowling. Comes across so smug and self satisfied.
    Was thinking the same myself- i like him but he could leave that stuff for at home when he's with his budies- not live TV.

Although Darragh laughing in Dunnes face a few ago was worse- "remember KIKO Bernard- ha ha ha" :p

Yeah, the Kiko jibe was a bit uncomfortable to watch. Think Dunne is shaping up to be a quality analyst. Dowling knows his technical stuff but I find him lacking any class or likeability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

Is this being held in a school PE hall?? ****ing hell, Brian peters promotions must have lost a few bob on Dunner and now can't afford decent venues.

Also, whats the deal with Danny boy as an anthem :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

they all know the score. dont think they'll lose sleep over it.

ragg wrote: »
    Is this being held in a school PE hall?? ****ing hell, Brian peters promotions must have lost a few bob on Dunner and now can't afford decent venues.

i know its like they're all sittin down on the floor in front

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

danny boy :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Feargal as Luimneach

ragg wrote: »

He didn't fill the King's hall for the Lauri, so he defo wasn't going to fill it for an average fighter like Morrison.

Danny boy played so not to piss off his other fans from up north...

He didn't fill the King's hall for the Lauri, so he defo wasn't going to fill it for an average fighter like Morrison.

fair enough, but the venue is toilet, would have thought there is better venues then what looks like local community centre, there can't be more thatn 200 there, seems strange.

The danny boy thing i can accept i suppose, seems fair enough but it's a shame they chose such a horrendous song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Yeah, the Kiko jibe was a bit uncomfortable to watch. Think Dunne is shaping up to be a quality analyst. Dowling knows his technical stuff but I find him lacking any class or likeability.

Lads I missed that, what did Mick Dowling say exactly? and to who?

Danny Boy although not a great song- Barry Maguigan used to use it for the same reasons.

The venue has a bit of atmosphere- unlike when it was in Limerick for Any Lee's Disasters:D

Exciting round. some big punches from morrison after he was knocked down.
    More of the same please. Also Martin McGuinness in he crowd, im sure he was as angry about "danny boy" as the rest of us :P

Trying to figure out how he went down...............:(

WTF, did i miss an invisible punch or something, or was it just a combination of everything

what did mick dowling say that you lads think was disrespectful to someone else on the panel??

Jayob10 wrote: »
    what did mick dowling say that you lads think was disrespectful to someone else on the panel??

Said that Andy Murray and Jim Rock where similar- Not spectacular boxers- lazy looking....

Duddy will always use Amhrán Na bhFiann. I think Mc Closkey and Rogan are a bit more respectful of the other side.

TheBastard wrote: »
    Said that Andy Murray and Jim Rock where similar- Not spectacular boxers- lazy looking....

crikey, did Rock say anything in response???

No. Didnt even flinch, was a bit dis respectful - thouh he didnt seem to have any malice really- Just not the type of stuff youd say to another pundit- Imagine Jonny Giles saying to dunph "you where Brutal" it just wouldnt happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Another Hunky Dory bore night....

Murray: Where will he go? Very one dimensional, lacking power. I just don't see him going much further than journeymen wins.

McCloskey: Can't get excited with him at all. Too awkward, lacking the text book skills. Skilled, but reminds me too much of that clown, Naz. Again, another journeyman opponent tonight. Where is he going? Credit to Paul for doing the business, but all his wins have been against very ordinary competition.

He won't get near Khan. Bradley would be too polished. No, Euro level is his last stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

TheBastard wrote: »
    No. Didnt even flinch, was a bit dis respectful - thouh he didnt seem to have any malice really- Just not the type of stuff youd say to another pundit- Imagine Jonny Giles saying to dunph "you where Brutal" it just wouldnt happen

C'mon, Dowling didn't say that. He said Rock did nothing outstanding in the ring, which is so true. I know, daring thing to say and a bit disrespectful, but right on the money.

Ya but you don't say it on national tv when you could say it about someone else that's not actually there.....
    I think he's a total wanker

walshb wrote: »
    C'mon, Dowling didn't say that. He said Rock did nothing outstanding in the ring, which is so true. I know, daring thing to say and a bit disrespectful, but right on the money.

well i'm not the only one here tongiht who taught it was derogatory

Murray: Where will he go? Very one dimensional, lacking power. I just don't see him going much further than journeymen wins.

McCloskey: Can't get excited with him at all. Too awkward, lacking the text book skills. Skilled, but reminds me too much of that clown, Naz. Again, another journeyman opponent tonight. Where is he going? Credit to Paul for doing the business, but all his wins have been against very ordinary competition.

He won't get near Khan. Bradley would be too polished. No, Euro level is his last stop.

Yeah, would definitely agree about Murray. So boring to watch and isn't good enough in any particular area besides workmanship.

I like watching McCloskey however. I love watching him bobbing that head but fear that his chin mightn't be quick enough for Khan's fists. I think he deserves a big fight with another top ten fighter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Would I be right in thinking that Dunne and Rock dont like each other.. :confused:

He needs to earn it for sure, but I like McCloskey, would love to see him get a shot. Although I think mccloskey and khan would be a real snooze fest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

jesus the commentating was worse than ever, where do they find them

Would I be right in thinking that Dunne and Rock dont like each other.. :confused:
    I think you have that the other way round lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

are these rte guys on drugs ? who honestly sees Khan fighting McCloskey ? in ireland or uk - maybe bring Khan to the PE hall !!!! different league & level - McCloskey is a one trick pony at european level whilst Khan can dominate over the next 5-7 years.

and wft is with the commentary - first McGee telling us its a good job the spell-checkers aren't around when to see the Bizness and now Marty - WTF does he know about boxing ?? and for Davey Boy - o christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

That's not the first time Dowling has said something like that on TV with Rock sat beside him. I also remember him saying something about Dunne too. I don't think there's any malice in it but he comes across as a bit of twat.

Also, Jimmy Magee is a fúcking disgrace. It's time to put him out to pasture, he's absolutely useless. The fact that Marty Morrissey is commentating on the recorded fights suggests he is being groomed to take over from Jimmy, whenever that may be. :eek:

am I the only one who would not be surprised to see Khan fight McCloskey??

Khan is hardly known for his courage, and he may see it as an easy fight and would sell alot of tickets in the UK and Ireland if McCloskey can someone get a win over a top 10 contender beforehand.

If he struggles with Maidana, Khan may look for a tune up at home before testing himself against Bradley or Alexander.

its not that far fetched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I fear McCloskey is going to look foolish against better fighters due to his fighting style. It's all very well Dowling crowing about his reflexes and footwork against average fighters, let's see what happen when he's in there with someone who has good handspeed. Fair play to him if he actually manages to secure a fight against Khan but i just don't see it lasting long.

No where. He won't be able to win the European title. John Murray and Gavin Ree would treat him like a rag doll, he cleaned out the Irish division. He has to be given a step up in opposition but that is easily said than done.

He needs at least 3 or 4 more fights before he even tries his hands at an eliminator. He is a good fighter but needs to work on his skills but against better fighters. Morrison, Daws or Lauri are not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

am I the only one who would not be surprised to see Khan fight McCloskey??

Khan is hardly known for his courage, and he may see it as an easy fight and would sell alot of tickets in the UK and Ireland if McCloskey can someone get a win over a top 10 contender beforehand.

If he struggles with Maidana, Khan may look for a tune up at home before testing himself against Bradley or Alexander.

its not that far fetched

i think it is - dont see Khan giving up big money fights for a bout with Paul imo -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭TheProdigy

different league & level - McCloskey is a one trick pony at european level whilst Khan can dominate over the next 5-7 years.

Spot on, Khan would knock Paul's head off. McCluskey would be absolutely demolished. I think people are trying to convince each other he is a better boxer than he is, EU level is it for Paul.
    its not that far fetched

It is, Khans handspeed is too much for him, I would be extremely surprised if Amir wouldn't spark him tbh.

TheProdigy wrote: »
    Spot on, Khan would knock Paul's head off. McCluskey would be absolutely demolished. I think people are trying to convince each other he is a better boxer than he is, EU level is it for Paul.

It is, Khans handspeed is too much for him, I would be extremely surprised if Amir wouldn't spark him tbh.

Never said McCloskey would win, Khan would knock his head off.

My point was that its not that far fetched they will fight.

Khan has been known to take the easy option.

McCloskey = Ireland's No1 pro. if we cant have faith in him we've nothin.

He's not a dope either. He's not gona stick his chin into khans fist.

A lot here are sayin that he's gonna get nailed if he moves a level - in a way that it seems to me that he therefore doesn't deserve to move up! he's beaten everyone put in front of him, defended his title twice (better than winnin it), so whats he gonna do?

So spare all the khans gonna do this or that to mccloskey. He's earned his right to be a contender - FAR more than salita or anyone else who breezed in. Come round 12 on the world stage and he's down 8 points, fine go for it, right now, he's earned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭TheProdigy

makl wrote: »
    McCloskey = Ireland's No1 pro. if we cant have faith in him we've nothin.

Exactly my point, because we want someone to follow we are building him up better than he is! It is a simple fact that Paul McCloskey is definately not good enough to beat Khan or any World top 5, and never will be inho.

I would love if he became a World Champion or if he got to fight Khan I would be the first to cheer for him, but there is a line between admiring a boxers talents and over exaggerating them.

I'm not criticising Paul, he is a very talented and successful European boxer and will continue to be, but I am not delusional about his prospects either.

I understand where your coming from Jayo but he would need to seriously boost his rep/appeal first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭BoxingIrel.com