Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

who should be taoiseach

• 01-10-2010 9:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

so you would ye like to elect or to have as taoiseach then if the was a general election
    id like to see brian lenihan but due to his health issues might not be able for it.
    of eamon gilmore...
    forgot about what parties they are in. who is good enough to get us out of this mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 ken2010

me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 keary79

cool maybe then id be minister for finance:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭citizenerased1

Apparently he has an irish Granny?

chuck-norris-thumbs-up.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

iron-man-pose2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Bono. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

keary79 wrote: »
    so you would ye like to elect or to have as taoiseach then if the was a general election

Considering that the current Taoiseach has under 20,000 direct votes backing him, and the next one is unlikely to have many more, the odds are that you and I won't be electing a Taoiseach anytime soon.

I would rather have a system where the person running the show is elected nationally, instead of buddies picking the one more likely to look after the interests of the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

internet-warrior.jpg

i just hope im sure his a nice man just dont think enda kenny has what it takes to be taoiseach

put it this way we cant fcuk it up any worse than what it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Lenihan is hopelessly incompetent and, judging by last night's performance, deluded.

Shane Ross gets my vote. Fair, thorough and competent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Doesnt Lenihan seem to get an awfully easy time from the public & media? Sure, He inherited a mess in the department of finance but he has constantly been wrong estimates about anglo etc.

I am prpbably the only one in the country who thinks it but Enda Kenny is my preference for taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

I will vote FG even though Mr Kenny lacks the X factor.

Gilmore is great but Labour = Trade Unions = Inflated Public Sector keeping high earners (too many for start)

the vote should be set up like britains got talent or the apprentice and call it (ireland need a new taoiseach) and they have to show us what they can do:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Lenihan is hopelessly incompetent and, judging by last night's performance, deluded.

Shane Ross gets my vote. Fair, thorough and competent.

Would he have time for it? in between flogging his book on bankers et al and his four angry men road show and his appearences on any show related to the economy and his number in that quality sunday paper? Think he is too busy making money off the recession to try and sort it out.

Frogeye wrote: »
    Would he have time for it? in between flogging his book on bankers et al and his four angry men road show and his appearences on any show related to the economy and his number in that quality sunday paper? Think he is too busy making money off the recession to try and sort it out.

At least he wrote his book on his own time, unlike others we could mention.

And given his public service work re the M50 and on that eventful quizzing session where he made Alan Dukes show his true turncoat colours, I'd say he has shown that he will work for the public good, again unlike others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

internet-warrior.jpg

crikey , katie perry obviously wears you down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Arthur Morgan TD

I like that mans back bone and his policies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

id like to see brian lenihan but due to his health issues might not be able for it.
    of eamon gilmore...
    forgot about what parties they are in. who is good enough to get us out of this mess

i hope brian lenihan dies in agony b4 the next election

paky wrote: »
    i hope brian lenihan dies in agony b4 the next election

I can't stand what the guy has done, or what he represents, but this is WAY out of line.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

I can't stand what the guy has done, or what he represents, but this is WAY out of line.

according to whom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

EDIT : Nevermind this post ,it was the presidency I was thinking of.

At least I didn't say brian cowen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

paky wrote: »
    according to whom?

According to fairly common standards of decency. Do it again and you'll be banned.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Michael Lowery :pac:

In all seriousness, he was very high profile and if he never got involved/caught in that messing it's pretty likely he could have been leader of FG
    We'll never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

For me its as simple as A,B C Anyone But Cowen !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Lock all the party luminaries in a house, put video cameras in every room and broadcast the results to the nation. Vote them off one by one

"Day 4 in Deartháir Mór and Mary Harney has eaten the teams food supply for the week"
    Joe Higgins would make vague threats to other members and repeated references to the 'fatcats' of the house. He'd also nationalize the kitchen and refuse to let anyone else use it (as they're all too wealthy for him). He'd claim to hate the right-wingers most of all but would spend most of his time bitching about Gilmore. He'd be unpopular with the rest of the housemates but he'd be good for causing friction so the audience would vote for him to remain until the quarter-final.
    Trevor Sargent would spend his whole time pottering around the garden. He wouldn't get voted off for ages as noone would notice him at all.
    Mary Harney would be kept in for comedic value. The studio sound board would use lots of special effects whenever she fell over. Would be hated by the audience and get voted out soon.
    Joan Burton would wreck everyone's head with endless bitching. 'Moan' Burton would get kicked out quickly.
    Gilmore would be incredibly popular, audience would love him but then mid-season, he'd publicly state his intention to win. He'd then get voted out, partially as noone can tell him and Joe Higgins apart (in looks and in policies)

Etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Johnny Murphy FF

Brian Cowen, and if not Cowen then Lenihan. And if not Lenihan then Michael Martin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Brian Cowen, and if not Cowen then Lenihan. And if not Lenihan then Michael Martin.

pTRUCA1-4039064reg.jpg

The only person so far i agree with you on:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

not gonna happen, but Ivan Yates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭TheReverend

Obvious troll is obvious

I dont know i am starting to think it is Bertie for sure :D

I would say more like time Fianna Fail and Bertie come out and make public apology to the people of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Typical Irish begrudgery. Shane Ross has been consistently the only politican in the country who has railed against how the banks operate. He's been doing it for well over a decade now and if anyone had of listened to him back then we wouldn't be in this mess now. It was him, after all, who exposed Patrick Neary's 'principled based regulation' for the banks, i.e. they would regulate themselves. It was him who exposed the massive waste and junkets that happened at FAS, including Harney's $400 haircut.

He has done the state plenty of service by cataloguing the corrupt nature of this place and we need more around just like him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Gilmore and Gilmore only. He's the only 'Leader' of the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Iron Hide wrote: »
    iron-man-pose2.jpg
    In Iron Man (vol. 3) #55 (July 2002), Stark publicly reveals his dual identity as Iron Man, not realizing that by doing so, he has invalidated the agreements protecting his armor from government duplication (since those contracts state that the Iron Man armor would be used by an employee of Tony Stark, not by Stark himself). When he discovers that the United States military is again using his technology, Stark accepts a Presidential appointment as Secretary of Defense instead of confronting them as he did before. In this way, he hopes to monitor and direct how his designs are used. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

John Howard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

not gonna happen, but Ivan Yates

had yates not quite politics in 2002 , most likely he would have been made leader , with him at the helml , i dont think its a stretch to say fine gael would be well over 45 % , i mean labour have nearly trippled thier vote , surely fine gael should have come close to doubling thiers since 2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

RATM wrote: »
    Typical Irish begrudgery. Shane Ross has been consistently the only politican in the country who has railed against how the banks operate. He's been doing it for well over a decade now and if anyone had of listened to him back then we wouldn't be in this mess now. It was him, after all, who exposed Patrick Neary's 'principled based regulation' for the banks, i.e. they would regulate themselves. It was him who exposed the massive waste and junkets that happened at FAS, including Harney's $400 haircut.

He has done the state plenty of service by cataloguing the corrupt nature of this place and we need more around just like him tbh.

Begrudgery? I don't think so. Best of luck to the man if he can make a few bob off the recession. I was merely pointing out his vested interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I don't believe it's all that important who is Taoiseach ... the really important position for all our futures is Who is Minister for Finance?

IMO that should be Richard Bruton no question and to get him if we have to take Enda sitting at the top of the table it would be a price worth paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Callan57 wrote: »
    I don't believe it's all that important who is Taoiseach ... the really important position for all our futures is Who is Minister for Finance?

IMO that should be Richard Bruton no question and to get him if we have to take Enda sitting at the top of the table it would be a price worth paying.

that could happen without Edna in charge, FG might have it as a condition of their coalition with a Gilmore led government

i think most any people or i hope are decend people wouldnt wish any body dead especially someone who is sick.
    so i think brian lenihan should take time off and get better and not die of a heart attack from all the stress.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

of eamon gilmore...
    Lovely Lenihan as our leader. He said that 4 billion would bail out the banks then he said it would be nearer 34 billion the day after he says it could be nearer 50 billion. Have I changed you mind yet?

Bill Cullen was on the radio during the week spouting his usual bullsh1t about working for nothing and all that crap. He even went so far as to praise Lenihan. When he went off the air people started ringing the radio station saying that he should be our next taoiseach. After listening to 5 minutes of his bullsh1t he had them convinced, is it any wonder that we have fools running our country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Either Borat or Bruno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Nobody from this Country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

ken2010 wrote: »
    the vote should be set up like britains got talent or the apprentice and call it (ireland need a new taoiseach) and they have to show us what they can do:D:D:D

So true, I know it is ment to be funny but we have a history in this country of electing people who turn out to be lying gobsihts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

in fairness to Shane Ross, pre-recession he was banging on about Bankers, govt expenses, auctioneers long before recession kicked in and it became a popular thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭mayo_lad

i think michael o leary form ryian air would make a great taoiseach http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_O%27Leary_%28businessman%29

just look at what he has done to ryianair

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

I would also like to see Shane Ross as Toaiseach.

But I think Minister for Finance, is as, if not more important these days.

For that role, I would love to see someone like Peter Mathews or Constantin Gurdgiev. Basically, someone economically literate.

Not someone like Lenihan, who for some unknown and unexplained reason seems to be able to convince most of Ireland that he is doing a good job. The typical thing I hear from some of my friends and family is 'Sure that government are an awful shower...Brian Cowen is an eejit... at least Brian Lenihan is there making the hard decisions"

Seriously, wtf?? He is the one who is fcuking this country beyond recognition for generations to come? Just because you like his mannerisms doesn't mean he is not an incompetent d1ckhead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

of eamon gilmore...

FFS give over about lenihan.
    He gets an easy ride because he is sick.
    He is a good talker and that's it.
    Every measure he has taken has been disastrous for the Irish taxpayers.

I can see why people would wish he was gone, as his legal trained ability to spin lies and appear competent is very dangerous.
    At least he wrote his book on his own time, unlike others we could mention.

Yes and he only looked for tax exhemption on learning bertie got it.
    Of course he was told he couldn't avail of it.
    Go figure. :rolleyes:

And given his public service work re the M50 and on that eventful quizzing session where he made Alan Dukes show his true turncoat colours, I'd say he has shown that he will work for the public good, again unlike others.

You forgot his quizzing of former AIB chief eugen sheehy on the Eugene McErlean demotion and scapegoating due to his admission to IFSRA that AIB were overcharging and Goodbody's were running dodgy funds for executives out of Nevis.
    BTW former IFSRA cheif liam o'reilly is supposed to have asked Eugene McErlean to withdraw his allegations that AIB were overcharging.
    This was from the head of the IFSRA before patrick neary.
    neary just carried on the policy of his predecessors.

Ross also fought to keep Ethna Tinney on the board of EBS which meant the directors/chairman did not get to turn EBS into another INBS which would have cost the Irish taxpayers another few billion.

I have great respect for the man as he has done the country some service.
    He may write books and write a column in what is otherwise a rag, but at least he writes the truth about our shambolic nepotistic corrupt corporate affairs.
    RATM wrote: »

that could happen without Edna in charge, FG might have it as a condition of their coalition with a Gilmore led government

Well Gilmore the other day said he would want Burton in charge of finance.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

I sudder at the though of Gilmore at leader and Joan Burton as minister for finance!