Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nations cup 2011

• 01-10-2010 12:17pm

From the guardian:
    The Republic of Ireland will meet Wales in the opening game of the Carling Nations Cup. The four-team competition, which will be staged in Dublin, will start in February next year with Northern Ireland and Scotland also taking part.

Giovanni Trapattoni's Republic side open proceedings against the Welsh on Tuesday 9 February with Northern Ireland and Scotland playing a day later.

Trapattoni said: "The Carling Nations Cup is a tournament that we would very much like to win, particularly playing at home in Dublin. The matches will provide us with a good opportunity to see our players in games with a real competitive edge at an important time in our bid to qualify for 2012."

The Northern Ireland manager, Nigel Worthington, is also relishing the tournament. He said: "I am really looking forward to the Carling Nations Cup, as competitive games against our neighbouring countries don't come around too often. There are bragging rights at stake here, not only for the fans but also for the players as no one will want to lose against their closest rivals.

"Northern Ireland are more than capable of winning this tournament and we hope to get off to a good start against Scotland."

Craig Levein, the Scotland manager, added: "Now that the schedule has been announced we are really looking forward to our visit to Dublin next year. This exciting new competition brings together four groups of passionate fans and also allows me to test my squad, in a competitive environment, in the middle of our Euro 2012 qualifying campaign."
    Full schedule

8 Feb: Republic of Ireland v Wales

9 Feb: Northern Ireland v Scotland

23 May: Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland

24 May: Wales v Scotland

26 May: Wales v Northern Ireland

27 May: Republic of Ireland v Scotland

First off, is anyone going to care about this? Without England being involved it seems to be very much a second tier competition. A "friendlies cup" that I don't think anyone is going to take seriously.

Secondly: What's the craic with Ireland getting three home draws? That doesn't seem particularly fair at all!

I'd see the table at the end looking like:
    Rep of Ireland
    N. Ireland
    Wales
    Scotland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Any competition of this nature will always need time to gain a foothold.

Give it a chance and see how it goes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Former Irish regularly cite a tournament which they won in Iceland in 1986 as a springboard for success. I cant even find the results, or much of a record for the tournament on the internet, but it was seen as giving Ireland an impotus for future results.

The same applies here. If we lose it, we have lost it to what I would consider to be inferior teams. The could be a big confidence blow to players, who will need all the confidence they can get. If we win, few will care. As has been mentioned, without England the tournament is deprived of a real big gun. In spite of this, there is no harm in winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Papa Smut wrote: »
    From the guardian:

First off, is anyone going to care about this? Without England being involved it seems to be very much a second tier competition. A "friendlies cup" that I don't think anyone is going to take seriously.

I will care about it anyways, for me it is better than the friendlies on offer at the moment. I think we will still have time for the odd glamor money making fixture.
    Papa Smut wrote: »
    Secondly: What's the craic with Ireland getting three home draws? That doesn't seem particularly fair at all!

As far as i am aware the first tournament is hosted in Dublin, so all the matches will be there, it then will rotate from then on, so the next one could take place in Scotland for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Scotland have all away games so I cant see them doing very well. We should cruise the top of this group thingy with three 1-0 wins. NI to come second and its anyone's guess between Wales and Scotland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

THFC wrote: »
    Scotland have all away games
    ITS IN DUBLIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

It's better than friendlies I think. Over time, this could be a great competition, although I'd prefer if England were in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

The Icelandic Triangular Tournament

25 May 1986
    19:00
    Iceland 22px-Flag_of_Iceland.svg.png1–222px-Flag_of_Ireland.svg.pngRepublic of IrelandLaugardalsvöllur, Reykjavík, Iceland
    Attendance: 4,246
    Referee: Worrall (England)Guðjohnsen 40'(Report)McGrath 34'
    Daly 84'
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iceland_Triangular_Tournament

What i cant understand is the logic of playing non Irish games in what is likely to be a 90% empty Aviva Stadium, even if we give every school child in Dublin a ticket to the non ROI games i cant see them going.

Good to have competitive friendlies though, particularly if you do not play your starting XI in them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wales-NI in Dublin should make up for us not getting to co-host Euro2008 with the Scots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Will all the matches be played in Lansdowne? It would seem to make sense to play the games not involving Ireland in smaller venues.

Will all the matches be played in Lansdowne?

Yes.
    It would seem to make sense to play the games not involving Ireland in smaller venues.

Either that or in another country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Spot the money grabbing bastards odd one out -

Carling-Nations1.jpg

Xavi6 wrote: »

Makes ya sick really. Maybe they wouldn't let John Delaney have a "real" shirt :rolleyes:

[edit] yes, I know that's not him in the photo. Point stands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,518 ✭✭✭✭briany

I'm looking forward to this tournament. It could be better than many of ye think. There could be a charged atmosphere, especially at the Ireland - Northern Ireland game, partially due to the defections of late and partly because of well, you know. But hopefully it won't attract bad elements. Ireland - Northern Ireland hasn't happened in any kind of competitive form for what? Fifteen years? 'Bout time there was another derby between the sides. Different political times, y'know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

What a load of bollocks, hosting the whole competition in Dublin. Who on earth is going to want to go to Northern Ireland against Scotland? Seriously, what a joke.

SantryRed wrote: »
    What a load of bollocks, hosting the whole competition in Dublin. Who on earth is going to want to go to Northern Ireland against Scotland? Seriously, what a joke.

People from Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?

Who on earth is going to want to go to Northern Ireland against Scotland?

Well I should think a certain group of people who attend the Ireland - Northern Ireland game would and a certain group of people who attend the Ireland - Scotland game would.

Edit : Beaten to it. Oh well.

CiaranC wrote: »
    People from Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?

But why not play the game in Scotland or Northern Ireland so? This competition was actually a very good idea because at least their is a semi competitive feel to what is still a friendly. But hosting the whole tournament in one stadium is completely pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Dublin isn't exactly a million miles away from Northern Ireland, or from Wales.

I think it's great. Better than playing meaningless friendlies against eastern European teams. I've no doubt England will get involved eventually too - the chance to fill Wembley with 10 football matches at very little cost will be too much to pass up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,740 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The Icelandic Triangular Tournament

25 May 1986
    19:00
    Iceland 22px-Flag_of_Iceland.svg.png1–222px-Flag_of_Ireland.svg.pngRepublic of IrelandLaugardalsvöllur, Reykjavík, Iceland
    Attendance: 4,246
    Referee: Worrall (England)Guðjohnsen 40'(Report)McGrath 34'
    Daly 84'
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iceland_Triangular_Tournament

Guðjohnsen - is Eiður father, Eiður came on as a second-half substitute for his father in a match on 24 April 1996. Iceland beat Estonia 3-0.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arn%C3%B3r_Gu%C3%B0johnsen

Dublin isn't exactly a million miles away from Northern Ireland, or from Wales.

I think it's great. Better than playing meaningless friendlies against eastern European teams. I've no doubt England will get involved eventually too - the chance to fill Wembley with 10 football matches at very little cost will be too much to pass up
    They won't travel for a friendly though. I'll eat my hat if there's more than 12,000 people at Scotland against Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

But with each country playing twice over the weekend, and Dublin being a popular spot for Scottish and Welsh men anyway, I'd be sure there will be a lot more than 12k at each game. Especially if tickets are sold as a package.

The 6 Nations brings big crowds, and although the standard is relatively higher, soccer fans far outnumber rugby fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I've been looking forward to this for a while. It should be great craic, like the Confederations Cup

Besides, it's competition we have a good chance of winning, I wouldn't complain :D

They won't travel for a friendly though.
    Its not a friendly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

If the tournament has a few years to establish itself it'll be great. The main thing it needs is time to establish...

CiaranC wrote: »
    Its not a friendly
    yes it is

yes it is
    Its a match in a bi-annual tournament, hosted in one country, organised and awarded by four football associations, to win the nations cup. In what way is it a friendly? Any more than a European championship match is a friendly?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

It'll be a bit of craic I suppose. I cheer for my country the same way whether friendly, or World Cup Final.

It's a friendly tournament at the end of the day. Same as the Icelandic yoke they won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Xavi6 wrote: »

Carling-Nations1.jpg
    well northern ireland are sponsored by 7!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

adamski8 wrote: »
    well northern ireland are sponsored by 7!

Makes you wonder if that is the Norn Irish lads taking the piss. I hope it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I think it's a good idea and is a change from the usual meaningless friendlies. It's a shame England aren't involved but if it proves a success then maybe they will be in future. If France or Italy could be tempted to participate then we'd have something to rival the Six Nations.

The only thing that would worry me is the prices the FAI will charge. If they are going to charge around the €50 mark or above for games like Wales vs NI then I think many fans, certainly the ones here, will give it a miss and dismal attendances will make the competition look very bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Will only watch it if the likes of Conor Clifford, Robert Brady, Seamus Coleman, James McCarthy, Anthony Stokes etc are going to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I was going to have a pop at some posters, and point out that there should be no problem getting Welsh and Scottish fans over for weekend games in May (whatever about the February games).

Then I looked at the calendar and saw of the May games that Wales v Scotland is a Tuesday, Wales v NornIron is a Thursday, and Scotland v Ireland is Friday.
    Which puts the kibosh on my plan of advertising it towards the stag party weekend crowd, so I suddenly agree with the pessimists and think the 3 nonIreland games could be poorly attended.

Think it should have been two games on the Thursday night (6.30 and 8.45 kick offs) and 2 games on the Saturday (5.30 and 8.00 kickoffs).

I think it's a good idea and is a change from the usual meaningless friendlies. It's a shame England aren't involved but if it proves a success then maybe they will be in future. If France or Italy could be tempted to participate then we'd have something to rival the Six Nations.

The only thing that would worry me is the prices the FAI will charge. If they are going to charge around the €50 mark or above for games like Wales vs NI then I think many fans, certainly the ones here, will give it a miss and dismal attendances will make the competition look very bad.

Well the Six Nations represents the top flight of the European international rugby teams so I don't believe that Ireland would be involved if there were ever to be a soccer equivalent. This upcoming tournament, though, is a resurrection of sorts of the old home nations championship but without England. We'll see if this competition could generate the same sort of success as that one did (presumably since it ran regularly for around one hundred years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,826 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

If England were in it they'd win it 9 out of 10 times.
    The resources at the disposal of the English F.A dwarf that of the nations involved in this competition.
    I think it will be a good thing to be involved in and will hopefully be something to relish over the years.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,740 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Apparently they are already priced at the competitive price level, e50 for upper tier, e70 for lower rather than the friendly level e40, e60

If they cannot fill the place for Argentina at friendly prices they will hardly be able to fill it at competitive prices for this dross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Pure_Cork

Will only watch it if the likes of Conor Clifford, Robert Brady, Seamus Coleman, James McCarthy, Anthony Stokes etc are going to play.
    I think it'll be a good tournament, especially if Trap uses it to give younger lads an opportunity, like those players and some of the U23s.

Apparently they are already priced at the competitive price level, e50 for upper tier, e70 for lower rather than the friendly level e40, e60

If they cannot fill the place for Argentina at friendly prices they will hardly be able to fill it at competitive prices for this dross.
    Add in travel expenses for people not from Dublin and it is unbelievably expensive to attend games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

No chance imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Pure_Cork wrote: »
    I think it'll be a good tournament, especially if Trap uses it to give younger lads an opportunity, like those players and some of the U23s.

You mean the nonsense LOI team? Not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

You mean the nonsense LOI team? Not a chance.

Very few players in that team would be good enough but the ones that might of gotten a sniff would be pushed around way too easily at an international level, lot of them are very small. Ronan Finn looks very good but he's too light.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Is this going to be on Sly Sports..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Lookin forward to this as for my sins i'm Welsh.

Can see quite a few coming over for the games, especially from North Wales.

My only gripe is tickets, i'd obviously want to sit in the Welsh End, but the Welsh F.A will not allow me to have tickets from there allocation as i have a Dublin Address.

I was a member with them for a good few years, then a few years ago, think it was a World Cup Qualifier in Dublin, i applied and was refused cos of my address, spoke to them on the phone, told them the situation, and that i'd been to quite a few Wales games (As they could see from my profile) but they didn't relent. Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Im looking forward to it. It'll be competitive and I reckon in 10 years ppl will be loving the idea and look forward to it.
    ALso hosting it in 1 city is a great idea as it brings in tourist revenue for that city and wil great a great atmosphere and spirit around the town at the time of the tournament which will also increases the competitivenss off it as a whole.

Maybe the matches will be held on the same day liek they do in the GAA that would ensure a near capacity crowd.. also might be mayhem too haha

Nobody gave a toss about a tournament with England, Scotland, Wales and the north.

Yet people are getting giddy about this nonsence? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Terrible idea..... honestly who wants to watch Northern Ireland v Wales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Terrible idea..... honestly who wants to watch Northern Ireland v Wales?

uggghh... tempted to write witty sarcastic comment..... feck it..

Norn Irish and Welsh football fans duuhhh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

Really looking forward to this, I hope the tickets aren't ridiculously priced though. It'd be a real shame if they were, something like that could really hamper the competition in its infancy (I'm assuming they're planning to do this every year or few years or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Sure a loada them will prob come over/down for the day trip and spend a few quid! And I'm sure ya'll get a few curious heads goin for the sake of it!

Its a bit weird to have the first games in feb, then the 2 and 3rd games 3 months later! Also, i know it'll be a league style, but they need a final of some kind, ie top 2 playoff! OR even change it to a knockout style tournament!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Sure a loada them will prob come over/down for the day trip and spend a few quid! And I'm sure ya'll get a few curious heads goin for the sake of it!

Its a bit weird to have the first games in feb, then the 2 and 3rd games 3 months later! Also, i know it'll be a league style, but they need a final of some kind, ie top 2 playoff! OR even change it to a knockout style tournament!

They won't do that as they want a guaranteed number of games. This is replacing the friendlies that we'd be playing in anyway. That is why Trap won't experiment too much (the May games will be open to more experimentation due to pull outs from the squad)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

R.O.I v Norn Iron

Well what do you think folks, will it end in tears?

Do any of you envisage trouble?