Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man dies after road rage incident.

• 01-10-2010 9:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭

Sad to hear this......couldn't believe it would actually happen in Ireland but the way some people act when they get into a car it doesn't surprise me.

Link to rte.ie's piece on it http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1001/dublin_road.html

Here is hoping they catch the person who did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

They might already have the person who attacked him.

From the link

Gardaí at Irishtown are following a definite line of inquiry and have interviewed a number of witnesses, including a man who presented himself to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

"road rage incident" kinda plays down a vicious murder in my mind. You dont attack someone with a Hurley in an unpremediatated way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

FFS! That's terrible. He'd only been in the country a few months too. Condolences to the man and his family. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

I think it would be considered manslaughter rather than murder as it would be difficult to prove the intent was to kill him. Doesn't make any better though, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

That's terrible. Hopefully it will make people stop and think about how precious their car/right of way/manliness really is in the grand scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

I must admit to the odd bit of road rage at times but no further than a prolonged blast of the horn or a handsignal but that really makes ya think how quickly things can turn bad. shockin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

Very sad indeed. Condolences to family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Hard to believe there wasn't more to the attack than a road rage incident to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

draffodx wrote: »
    Hard to believe there wasn't more to the attack than a road rage incident to be honest.

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

blastman wrote: »
    I think it would be considered manslaughter rather than murder as it would be difficult to prove the intent was to kill him. Doesn't make any better though, IMO.

This really highlights how our legal system is an absolute farce. Hitting someone repeatedly over the head with a hurley is an intent to kill. It's murder, and would be tried as such in any non-mickey mouse country other than here?

Remember the Kenneth Noye case from the UK, where he got out of his car and stabbed that poor chap to death. Murder. Would it have been the case here.

If the Killer of this guy gets 4-7 years, what kind of message does that send out to the violent scumbags of this country. Kill someone, and out in 3-4 with good behavior. Crazy.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Murder in my book. You dont hit someone on the head repeatedly without having the intention to do them serious harm. Had he been hit and then fallen and struck his head on a kerb THAT would be manslaughter.

Chriscl1 wrote: »
    Why not?

I cant fathom any road rage incident that would require someone to batter someone else with a hurley.

we dont know what kind of headcases are knocking about these days. yer man that done it could be a lunatic for all we know. maybe the english lad was bigger than him so he took a hurley to him. we wont know 'til its reported from the courts i suppose.

Me neither. That said, the idea isn't that unusual - we've had several posters in Motors claim that they would assault someone over damage to their car.

Chriscl1 wrote: »
    we dont know what kind of headcases are knocking about these days. yer man that done it could be a lunatic for all we know. maybe the english lad was bigger than him so he took a hurley to him. we wont know 'til its reported from the courts i suppose.

But so many questions arise in my head, what sort of road rage causing incident would have to happen to cause that anger, why did he have a hurley in the car, how did he get the chance to use the hurley, why wasn't the incident reported to gardai at time(maybe it was), etc...

The report is just a bit vague to fully know the real reason for the attack.
    Anan1 wrote: »
    Me neither. That said, the idea isn't that unusual - we've had several posters in Motors claim that they would assault someone over damage to their car.

Was there damage done? By road rage I thought it just meant that one person done something on the road that the other didnt like, such as cutting in front of them or something?

I've no idea regarding exactly what happened. There is a GAA club nearby, though, which might explain the camán.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

If someone's not prosecuted and convicted for murder, something's very wrong with our legal system.

That truly is a depressing and horrifying turn of events.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

We've all had moments where we're tempted to get out and have a go if someone has done something stupid, but then you realise that other people can be idiots, you beep the horn or whatever, and go about your life.

IMO, once you step out of your car to deal with road rage, the incident has gone waaay too far. Can't believe the killer thought it ok to smack someone around the head with a hurley and walk away thinking he had done his best to deal with the situation. Ridiculous. I love my car more than anything but it's definitely not worth ruining mine or anyone else's life for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

You really have to be careful about what you wish for.
    A friend of mine told me of an incident involving his brother.
    This guy got involved in a road rage incident with another car. Both drivers pulled over. When my friends brother got out of his car he recognised the other driver as a well-known criminal with a fearsome reputation.
    He managed to get out of the situation but it could have ended very differently.

Anan1 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

Dreadful savagery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭plissken

daRobot wrote: »

Remember the Kenneth Noye case from the UK, where he got out of his car and stabbed that poor chap to death. Murder. Would it have been the case here.

Though if I remember correctly there was far more to that case than just a simple case of road rage, I'd be surprised if that wasn't the case here also.

plissken wrote: »
    Though if I remember correctly there was far more to that case than just a simple case of road rage, I'd be surprised if that wasn't the case here also.

that one was deff road rage it was the time he stabbed to death the plain clothes detective in his back garden that had more to it. then there was yer woman that stabbed her partner to death in a kenny noye style attack and tried to blame some random motorist with road rage but she got found guilty in the end.