Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dan Boyles tweets this morning...

• 30-09-2010 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭

There can be no sugar coating. These figures are truly horrendous. It tests our willingness to be a responsible party in government.
    Have had about 100 responses and have been in Seanad. Am thinking out loud, I do need to talk to colleagues

Is it just me who thinks Dan Boyle wants out of this government right now...or am I reading way too much into these tweets??????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Your going to get a lot of this now. With the prospect of a general election hanging around - even lightly, numerous TD's will try to project an image that "I'm not like the rest of my party, I'm different."

Its just old tactics for the home voting constituents where their "local man" will get reported on and quoted.

Fools no one but the sheep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

dont matter what greens do now. they kept zanu ff in too long at this stage to be forgiven.
    dont forget its open season on greens as much as zanu ff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Boyle is trying the old FF backbencher trick of pretending to be in oppostion and government at the same time.

Typical hypocritical bull, like Biggins says that fools no one but the sheep.

Round Tower is correct, they'll get torn apart.

It happens when they try and run with the hare and hunt with the hounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Boyle is trying the old FF backbencher trick of pretending to be in oppostion and government at the same time.

exactly. Paul Gogarty is another one who tweets like he's still in opposition. Turns my stomach. He's going to get an awful shock someday when he reads the history books and finds out the green party were actually in government with FF for the past few years.

two faces of the same dirty coin. although i expect it from ff. i disagree with greens on alot of things but the way they've shed their skin in government has surprised me, they truly are snakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Biggins wrote: »
    Your going to get a lot of this now. With the prospect of a general election hanging around - even lightly, numerous TD's will try to project an image that "I'm not like the rest of my party, I'm different."

Its just old tactics for the home voting constituents where their "local man" will get reported on and quoted.

Why would a senator do that? He faces no general election.

Actually it would be in his interest to tow the party line, as his seat in the Seanad depends on the Taoiseach's nomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Boyle is an opportunist and will take whatever view will get him to office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Actually it would be in his interest to tow the party line, as his nomination to the Seanad depends on the Taoiseach's nomination.

He will be running in Cork South Central again at the next general election I assume so he will have to face the electorate.

Actually it would be in his interest to tow the party line, as his seat in the Seanad depends on the Taoiseach's nomination.
    ...And at the calling of the next election, the closing of the existing one and he's out of the Senate... he decides to put himself back up for election? ;)

Edit: Posted the above - then saw Ludo's correct comment before it.

The man is clearly thinking ahead and by the time the next election rolls around, he won't be the only one pulling this stunt in the time between now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Ludo wrote: »
    Is it just me who thinks Dan Boyle wants out of this government right now...or am I reading way too much into these tweets??????

Dan Boyle should take his fat head out of his phone and go down the corridor and resign and stop bullsh1tting. They have been part of a government that has destroyed this country.
    It's now down to how they want to be remembered in history, just inept greedy fools or collaborators

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Two words -

Self preservation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Boyle and the Greens would have had a tiny bit of credibility and have some hope at the next general election if they had taken a stand and pulled out of government when they saw how bad things were going. but now we all see they are cowards and they will be decimated at the next election. Boyle and co havent a hope!

and Boyle trying to play for both teams is showing just how wishy washy his politics are.

He tweets wants thing and then says another. Make up your mind man! you either stay loyal to your party and the gov, or you grow a spine and withdraw your support.

must go tweet, excuse me;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

dont matter what greens do now. they kept zanu ff in too long at this stage to be forgiven.

Don't use the phrase "Zanu FF". It wasn't clever two years ago, and it isn't clever now. It's mindless trash talk, and falls into the same category as "teabagger" and the rest.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

why not use the term?? think your having a bit of a mod power trip there tbh.
    zanu ff is perfect way to describe the corrupt slime in that party.

call me stupid but I never heard the term Zanu FF before, keep in mind Im not a current affairs junkie.
    what does Zanu FF mean?

why not use the term?? think your having a bit of a mod power trip there tbh.
    zanu ff is perfect way to describe the corrupt slime in that party.

Mindless trash talk is flame bait, nothing more - and arguing with moderation on thread is a no-no, as I'm sure you know. If you have an issue, you PM, or you use the dispute resolution procedure.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

SarahBM wrote: »
    call me stupid but I never heard the term Zanu FF before, keep in mind Im not a current affairs junkie.
    what does Zanu FF mean?

ZANU-PF is Mugabe's political party - so ZANU-FF is a very silly attempt to claim that Fianna Fáil, who despite all their many faults are a democratically elected party, are the "equivalent" of a dictator's support faction. It's much the same as calling the EU the "Fourth Reich", calling Tea Party supporters "teabaggers", or referring to Fine Gael as "blueshirts".

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Scofflaw wrote: »
    ZANU-PF is Mugabe's political party - so ZANU-FF is a very silly attempt to claim that Fianna Fáil, who despite all their many faults are a democratically elected party, are the "equivalent" of a dictator's support faction. It's much the same as calling the EU the "Fourth Reich", calling Tea Party supporters "teabaggers", or referring to Fine Gael as "blueshirts".

cordially,
    Scofflaw

thanks for explaining that.

back to topic. Dan Boyle and his tweets. surely he should be pulled up by his party leader for saying one thing on line and then strolling back into the dail and continuing to prop up the government.

SarahBM wrote: »
    ...Dan Boyle and his tweets. surely he should be pulled up by his party leader for saying one thing on line and then strolling back into the dail and continuing to prop up the government.

In theory, yes.
    In reality - won't happen. They are all at it at some stage and/or to some degree.
    So why give out to him/her!
    It would be like (as the saying goes) "calling the kettle black".

Besides most heads of parties know that at some stage, every one of those individually within their own ranks will want to re-establish a rapport or an image of "I'm similar to you" with their local constituents at some stage.

Amazingly by coincidence :rolleyes: this always seems to happen when the prospect of an election might arise.
    So each single entity TD then goes into local constituency self-preservation mode - and when necessary try to separate themselves from the rest of their ranks again amazingly :rolleyes: when there is an unpopular policy.
    (One which they voted on too sometimes previously - but they fail to tell you that bit, of course by accident! :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

so you don't think there is even the possibility that he is "tweeting" things as he actually sees them ?

Is anyone who uses terms like "sheep" ( or Zanu FF for that matter ) more capable of viewing these issues objectively than said "sheep" ?

so you don't think there is even the possibility that he is "tweeting" things as he actually sees them ?

Is anyone who uses terms like "sheep" ( or Zanu FF for that matter ) more capable of viewing these issues objectively than said "sheep" ?

There is a difference between seeing things one-sided and also most times, as they actually are, what they are recognised as as well established stunts and tactics.

As for the expression of me referring to "sheep" - its not just a FF/Green one directional slight.
    Its a shortened form of expression that refers to those that for some daft reason, despite all sensible reason and willingness to actually look in detail at individual issues, still blindly and dumbly vote and support TD's or those up before the electorate just because he/she can work the parish pump!
    ...But I suspect you know all that! :rolleyes:

(Do you want the "parish pump" expression explained too! :rolleyes: )

To get back to your first retort... Again, amazingly he NOW decides to speak out against those his party is in power with - but guess what!
    When their policies might come before the Senate - watch as he either says nothing and/or votes on them too in agreement - YET AGAIN! - and probably has done so previously!

* If I agree with a party over continuing multiple issues, I join it.
    If I don't, I get the hell out of it! Its not rocket science.

The rottenness of some presently is that they sit on the fence too many times and lean one direction or the other it only it suits them for self interest reasons.
    They forget however that they were not selected for self interest reasons - they were selected for the betterment of the people and state, they are supposed to be working for!

There is a difference between seeing things one-sided and also most times, as they actually are, what they are recognised as as well established stunts and tactics.

As for the expression of me referring to "sheep" - its not a FF one directional slight.
    Its a shortened form of expression that refers to those that for some daft reason, despite all sensible reason and willingness to actually look in detail at individual issues, still blindly and dumbly vote and support TD's or those up before the electorate just because he/she can work the parish pump!
    ...But I suspect you know all that!

(Do you want the "parish pump" expression explain too!)

To get back to your first retort... Again, amazingly he NOW decides to speak out against those his party is in power with - but guess what!
    when their policies might come before the Senate - watch as he either says nothing and/or votes on them too in agreement - YET AGAIN!

I don't think theres too many "sheep" on twitter following Dan Boyle.

then again what am I doing standing up for Dan Boyle... why don't ye just reply @sendboyle over on twitter

I don't think theres too many "sheep" on twitter following Dan Boyle.

It would be nice to think that wouldn't it!
    However as we have seen in government and in opposition representation alone, never mid with a percentage of the parish pump public, blind dumbness extents into all population areas as a percentage of some kind.
    ...then again what am I doing standing up for Dan Boyle... why don't ye just reply @sendboyle over on twitter

I don't have the time to use that twit' tool, a tool that I feel often is something that is not conducive to supplying and clarifying (in depth detail to) complex matters and incapable of supplying longer better forms of written expressions and thoughts.
    If I want soundbites, I'll turn on News at Six on RTE.

I don't have the time to use that twit' tool,
    I hope you don't mind me saying this but with the amount of time you spend on boards i'm suprised you have time for anything else :)
    If I want soundbites, I'll turn on News at Six on RTE.

true enough

twitter in comparison to the news at 6 :
    instead of shouting at the TV screen, on twitter you can reply @ the person who tweeted.

I do agree with what you are saying with regards to twitter not affording enough characters to formulate an argument but it would be another medium for you to get your ideas and thoughts out to the general public ( if that is your objective ) e.g. you could link twitter to your posts on boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

Scofflaw wrote: »

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Or similar to likening the deportation of illegal Roma street campers back to their home country to the extermination of millions of undesirables during the holocaust.

I hope you don't mind me saying this ...

I work from very, very early till extreme late hours in to the next morning.
    A lot of that time is within arms reach of a pc/laptop that helps relieve the monotony of some issues I have to preside over.
    (you will see a lot of my posts from 7 in the morning to 4/5am the next day)
    I do agree with what you are saying with regards to twitter...
    Sadly I have enough technology thru work and other factors that a twitter account is something beyond my time limit.
    I have already closed down facebook pages, previous twitter accounts, etc due to time factors.
    Those that know me (or of me!), know where to find me (in detail). ;)

Or similar to likening the deportation of illegal Roma street campers back to their home country to the extermination of millions of undesirables during the holocaust.

If only someone had done that, then, as opposed to likening the singling out and deportation of a single ethnic group with the singling out and deportation of a single ethnic group.

amused,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Think you're a bit hard on the Greens. The collapse was in train when they went into government. Nearly 15 years of FF power has managed to bring the country to ruin again - FF managed it on its own in the '80s when we were told we were "living beyond our means" by Haughey. It seems we've done it again so we must pay the price! That seems to be the Fianna Fail version of government of the people by the people for the people! Pay up and shut up.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

after this election,we will never again hear of the greens,they were and are no help, just helping make us more depressed each day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Thanks for explaining that Scofflaw, I'd no idea what that term meant (re:FF), and thought it sounded incredibly stupid!

As for Dan Boyle and Twitter...sigh. Just because you know how to use Twitter (and assumedly other "cool" modern technology) doesn't make you a good politician.I say this with absolute resignation, as this message is not sinking in among Irish politicians.

Dan Boyle should learn not to tweet thoughts as he thinks them...that will land him in massive trouble sooner or later. And he should most definitely not be fecking around on twitter, while supposedly "working".And Twitter is for teenagers anyway (:p)..it's the American version of text messages, because text messages were never as big in the states as they are here.

And one hundred and forty something characters is not nearly enough to formulate a coherent argument...or even point..with. Especially not for politicians, who love nothing better than the sound of their own voices and use 15 words where 2 would do.Just means they make even less sense than usual....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Dan Boyle isn't nearly the hot mess on Twitter that Paul Gogarty is. And speaking of...
    maringo wrote: »
    Think you're a bit hard on the Greens. The collapse was in train when they went into government. Nearly 15 years of FF power has managed to bring the country to ruin again - FF managed it on its own in the '80s when we were told we were "living beyond our means" by Haughey. It seems we've done it again so we must pay the price! That seems to be the Fianna Fail version of government of the people by the people for the people! Pay up and shut up.:mad:

The Greens are propping up the government, and will continue to do so until 2012 or enough FF reps jump ship since they know they are toast at the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Hopefully the Greens will be wiped out at the next election for the spineless unprincipled chameleons that they are.

Gogarty went a bit nuts on twitter today. calling everyone stupid. unless his account was hacked which is possible. I thought he had learnt his lesson.

fact is Greens should not be allowed next nor near twitter, or at least get lessons in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Ludo wrote: »

He not part of the government. Hes an unelected representative in the 2nd house.
    He only recieved 2000 first preference votes in cork south central last time round. About as popular as a tax increase.

Who cares what he tweets, if he has something to say why doesnt he go on radio where he can elaborate his points rather than giving one line quips while drinking coco in front of his laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

He not part of the government. Hes an unelected representative in the 2nd house.
    He only recieved 2000 first preference votes in cork south central last time round. About as popular as a tax increase.

Who cares what he tweets, if he has something to say why doesnt he go on radio where he can elaborate his points rather than giving one line quips while drinking coco in front of his laptop.

While he is not part of the government, he is a very influential member of the green party. So what he says is indeed relevant to the future of the government (just ask Willie O'Dea).