Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ouch! Brian Cowen feat on Jay Leno Show Sept 22nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

"So nice to know we're not the only Country with Drunken Morons"

- Its just the tip of the Iceberg for Fianna Fails A Listers with Drink, am, fondness allegedly......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭DHYNZY

ouch!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I just checked Jay Leno's email logs! ;):D

To : jay.leno@some.tv-station.com
    Attachments: 1 (mime-type:image/jpeg)

Well, I said I'd say the above before an FF apologist got in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

^ I don't quite get this Liam, does this mean it was Coveney who sent the photo and that comment? Do you have a link to where you found that email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

bijapos wrote: »
    ^ I don't quite get this Liam, does this mean it was Coveney who sent the photo and that comment? Do you have a link to where you found that email?

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Hmmmm - Note the way he wants sources before proceeding.......

- Reporter for The Star Newspaper?

Wrong smiley icon : I meant ;) or :D

Mind you, I would still have reckoned that the "@some.tv-station.com" makey-uppy address would have been a hint!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Whoosh!

Well Liam's post went right over your head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

... and it looks like he travelled forward in time to send that email too.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Wrong smiley icon : I meant ;) or :D

Mind you, I would still have reckoned that the "@some.tv-station.com" makey-uppy address would have been a hint!

Sound. Thought it was a bit bizarre. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

I have the original email. Money first. Then you can print the story. Then you can investigate, if you have time.

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Well I'm sure that did wonders for investor confidence in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

The Saint wrote: »

Not to worry, We're planning to send Mary Coughlan to repair our image:confused: in the U.S.. To quote John McEnroe " You cannot be serious". Can you imagine what the Presidents of Harvard, Stanford e.t.c. will think when that thing opens her mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

sorry but to correct my earlier post, Coughlan is not meeting university heads, rather some 'high school' guidance counsellors. No doubt that will really boost our economy. How much will this junket end up costing the taxpayer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

Ah sure it's only a bit of friendly banter on Leno. Fair play to Brain Cowen he should be drunk in office all the time. There is nothing wrong with being drunk anyway!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

How much will this junket end up costing the taxpayer?

Oh come now Deanh,don`t be churlish Ms Coughlan is noted for her parsimoneous attitude...it`ll be 7-11`s and Mc Donalds all the way whilst there...and her Car and Driver are already on their way via the Southampton Steam Packet...;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 sonofabeach

I'm no admirer of Brian Cowan or FF but Mr. Leno should look in the mirror and drop the drunk bit and then he'd have himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭wall

No doubt people will be saying how disrespectful it is of Leno for slagging the leader of our country, forgetting that almost all comedians and lots of commentators in this country have slagged their last leader George W Bush. If we give the slagging we have to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭keno-daytrader

I'm no admirer of Brian Cowan or FF but Mr. Leno should look in the mirror and drop the drunk bit and then he'd have himself.

Perhaps we should ban nob nation from our airwaves?

For Gods sake our leader goes on the piss till well after 3 in the morning on a tues night then does a half pissed interview before 9am and he shouldnt be slagged as the country goes down the toilet?

Like the bit on Jay Leno will have any impact on bond rates, wake up and smell the reality.

☀️ 7.8kWp ⚡3.6kWp south, ⚡4.20kWp west

wall wrote: »
    No doubt people will be saying how disrespectful it is of Leno for slagging the leader of our country, forgetting that almost all comedians and lots of commentators in this country have slagged their last leader George W Bush. If we give the slagging we have to take it.

Exactly Wall you said it perfectly. People were slagging Cowen in this country after the incident, and now everyone thinks what Leno said is a disgrace. It's madness!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 sonofabeach

No problem with people slagging Brian Cowan( I do it myself), I just think Leno is an idiot

Leno is an icon in a America. I much prefer Letterman though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

the fcuk watches Leno?

Overheal wrote: »
    the fcuk watches Leno?

Is that a question or what is it ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bcirl03

Leno for Taoiseach I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bcirl03 wrote: »
    Leno for Taoiseach I say!

Cowan for Pope, Coughlan for the Tonight show.....I see a transatlantic reshuffle of major proportions in the offing.

Nodin wrote: »
    Cowan for Pope, Coughlan for the Tonight show.....I see a transatlantic reshuffle of major proportions in the offing.

Not exactly a major jump, since Cowen seems to excuse, protect and reward those who screwed others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Not exactly a major jump, since Cowen seems to excuse, protect and reward those who screwed others.

And don't forget the good old 'mental reservation'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

deanh wrote: »
    Not to worry, We're planning to send Mary Coughlan to repair our image:confused: in the U.S.. To quote John McEnroe " You cannot be serious". Can you imagine what the Presidents of Harvard, Stanford e.t.c. will think when that thing opens her mouth.

I didnt know she was meeting their respective imprimaturs. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Conas wrote: »
    Leno is an icon in a America. I much prefer Letterman though.

If they have him as an icon , i am worried about their mentality over there.Who makes a show host an icon.:confused:
    I dont agree with his lame joke about Cowen,but he does it to everyone and who cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Madd Finn

Wow! April 1st must be hell for you every year!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,172 ✭✭✭SeanW

I actually saw the skit a few days ago, I turned red with embarrassment for Ireland. Now, that's not easy since I imagine I've seen a thing or two over the years. Seems not. No offense to Brian Cowen, but he should know by now that it doesn't take much to make him look like a sketch.

Is it really any wonder that the bond markets have no confidence in us? A Jay Leno joke of a leadership who does interviews hungover, and a disastrous 'bank bailout' (a.k.a. no bondholder left inconvenienced) policy that has the potential to ruin the country.

I am of course conscious of the possibility that some FF hack will say it's all Simon Coveneys' fault and the markets are worried that the government will fall and be replaced by Fine Gael.

caseyann wrote: »
    If they have him as an icon , i am worried about their mentality over there.Who makes a show host an icon.:confused:

His show gets watched by millions of people he's being doing it for a long time. He is known around the world, of course he's an American Icon.

Let him make fun of Brain Cowen who only has himself to blame anyway. Laugh it all off, it's only a bit of friendly banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

The Saint wrote: »
    It's called 'democracy' (yes, I know he wasn't directly elected).

If we want to elect someone who is easily portrayed as a drunken-idiot internationally then that's our prerogative.

A nation always gets the government it deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭strathspey

I think it just enforces the stereotype, that most Irish are drunks, quite honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

strathspey wrote: »
    I think it just enforces the stereotype, that most Irish are drunks, quite honestly.
    So do the Irish people every weekend