Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest march to the Dail on the 29th of Sept

• 25-09-2010 01:31PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭

There is a protest march to the Dail organised for when it resumes after their well deserved and hard earned summer holliers.
    Who's going? (I'll be there!)

Or will the Irish gombeen just lie down and take it again...
    French strikes puts us to shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'll be there - honestly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Woohoo! A protest? I'm like, so there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Pity they would'nt send around flyers to houses and word of mouth it texts speedy way.Because certain people wont know its happening.

I am there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hairywhole

What are people protesting about? Bit late in the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Benito

I won't be there, 12 hour shift. I might be refused the time if I asked as I'm unionised. If I go won't everyone else want to? I remember going on one 'Day of action' march organised by the unions. We marched from the factory down to Parnell Square, some just took it as an unpayed half-day, many others bunked of to the pub on the way. They couldn'd even wait until after.

The Dail dosen't sit on Saturdays but at least if we had a large number on the march we would be visible. The anger is there but, it's not very audible without the numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Benito wrote: »
    I won't be there, 12 hour shift. I might be refused the time if I asked as I'm unionised. If I go won't everyone else want to? I remember going on one 'Day of action' march organised by the unions. We marched from the factory down to Parnell Square, some just took it as an unpayed half-day, many others bunked of to the pub on the way. They couldn'd even wait until after.

The Dail dosen't sit on Saturdays but at least if we had a large number on the march we would be visible. The anger is there but, it's not very audible without the numbers.

They wouldnt listen anyway even if in there,Media is the key.

caseyann wrote: »
    They wouldnt listen anyway even if in there,Media is the key.

Lets all join fianna fail and be good card carrying members and when the next FF hack is on the LLS we can all give him/her a slow handclap:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

29th? Get back to work ye damn hippy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

I won't be there.
    I work Monday-Friday.

Why are these marches organised during the working week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Backard_Pell

I would like to be there if I was in Ireland, but I know a really effective way of getting the government's and bank's immediate attention... organise a mass withdrawl of cash from all deposit accounts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

who's organising and what are the topics of protest

I will by all means protest against the government but will not march behind a sea of banners saying "no cuts" etc

The anti NAMA march was full of "No to Lisbon" posters and most of the chants were about cut backs etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

who's organising and what are the topics of protest

I will by all means protest against the government but will not march behind a sea of banners saying "no cuts" etc

The anti NAMA march was full of "No to Lisbon" posters and most of the chants were about cut backs etc
    Sounds like you need to find some sort of right-wing protest (an oxymoron). They're as rare as hen's teeth in this country, thankfully.

ILA wrote: »
    Sounds like you need to find some sort of right-wing protest (an oxymoron). They're as rare as hen's teeth in this country, thankfully.

I don't see how the budget can be balanced without cut backs. Hence I will not attend protest aimed at preserving over generous public sector pay & conditions and social welfare

Of course I want to see the areas with most fat cut first and those most able to pay asked to pay first. However we have a FF lead government so that won't happen

Trade Unions have already called for a protest march from Anglo to the Dáil and they will be joined by the Socialist Party, republican group Eirigí and the Community Against Cuts Campaign.

That's me out

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I would like to be there if I was in Ireland, but I know a really effective way of getting the government's and bank's immediate attention... organise a mass withdrawl of cash from all deposit accounts

While I don't think it is expressly against the chater of this forum, do you really have to incite people to cause a bank run. It would make our situation worse, it wouldn't change the government and it might end up increasing FF's stranglehold over the country.

If you're going to withdraw all you cash, at least do it discretely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

What's needed is 10,000 people to march around Kildare street from 8am to 10am monday to friday obstructing the entrance to the Dail, blocking our "leaders" from entering. Send a clear message that we don't want them there.

We've over 200,000 unemployed so it should be east to organise, right ? (there may be a degree of scepticism on my part there)

iMax wrote: »
    What's needed is 10,000 people to march around Kildare street from 8am to 10am monday to friday obstructing the entrance to the Dail, blocking our "leaders" from entering...
    Hate to tell you but they would use the infamous tunnel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Biggins wrote: »
    Hate to tell you but they would use the infamous tunnel!

The 'Rat Run'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Backard_Pell

iMax wrote: »
    What's needed is 10,000 people to march around Kildare street from 8am to 10am monday to friday obstructing the entrance to the Dail, blocking our "leaders" from entering. Send a clear message that we don't want them there.

We've over 200,000 unemployed so it should be east to organise, right ? (there may be a degree of scepticism on my part there)

is it not 460,000 unemployed?

p.s. I did not intend to incite a bank run through my post, it was meant to be hypathetical...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭SparrowTown

stoneill wrote: »
    There is a protest march to the Dail organised for when it resumes after their well deserved and hard earned summer holliers.
    Who's going? (I'll be there!)

Or will the Irish gombeen just lie down and take it again...
    French strikes puts us to shame.
    There is a woman planning to chain herself to gates * in protest at chemtrails too on that date
    "lady who is chaining my self to the rails of the dail. AT 11AM TO 4PM. ON THE WEDS THE 29 OF SEPT.REF. CHEMTRAILS"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

Yeah I think I'll go so I can hear Jack and Dave tell me how hard they have it... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 silverstrand

I think we are all missing the point.

We have a crises. In a crises the most divided families know you have to act as one. After all if your ship has sunk and your in the water do you shout from the water who is the life boat for the left people. Dont think so.

Who cares who organises, your proverbial brother or sister that you normally don't agree with organised it and you might go with respect for your mother (land) or (father) land. If the Capitalist of all capitalist Michael O'Leary had the relevant march and you were as left as Joe Higgins or James Connolly would you huff and puff or say thank you for putting the effort and leadership skills to good use. And if your trying to get finance for the new business and Joe Higgins or James Connolly himself organises a march not on right or left politics but on preserving your nation. Do you care, no I dont think so. You say thank you very much for organising and putting your leadership skills to good use. Its a 'family' solidarity not politics

You can argue when you have a fully operational democracy to argue with in the mean time its 'all for one and one for all' Irish style. Dignity unless your a moronic Hothead, Civility and stubborn cunning and determination

Together!

I think we are all missing the point.

We have a crises. In a crises the most divided families know you have to act as one. After all if your ship has sunk and your in the water do you shout from the water who is the life boat for the left people. Dont think so.

Who cares who organises, your proverbial brother or sister that you normally don't agree with organised it and you might go with respect for your mother (land) or (father) land. If the Capitalist of all capitalist Michael O'Leary had the relevant march and you were as left as Joe Higgins or James Connolly would you huff and puff or say thank you for putting the effort and leadership skills to good use. And if your trying to get finance for the new business and Joe Higgins or James Connolly himself organises a march not on right or left politics but on preserving your nation. Do you care, no I dont think so. You say thank you very much for organising and putting your leadership skills to good use. Its a 'family' solidarity not politics

You can argue when you have a fully operational democracy to argue with in the mean time its 'all for one and one for all' Irish style. Dignity unless your a moronic Hothead, Civility and stubborn cunning and determination

Together!

I will not protest against cuts as any solution to the current fiscal crisis involves cutting expenditure!

A protest purely against FF and/or the bank bail outs and I'd be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,383 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

That's me out

if you have a problem with anglo or the members of the dail you go protest and let nobody stop you, there will be loads of different people and organisations there on the first day of the dail, and none of them are excuse for you not to protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭poppyvalley

Enough about street marches, protests etc., etc. Let's take real positive actione direct. Let's refuse to pay..1. Car tax ( VRT) 2.Increased ESB charges, increasd health charges. O.K they'll come after us, but there will be soo many of us.. do you get the picture? It will only work if we do it en masse. Are you up for it? If so let me know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Shea O'Meara

You'll find the key organisers of the march will be happy for the numbers and will welcome all comers.
    There can't be a march like this on one topic, the media usually list several reasons when reporting on such marches. It's commonly accepted that not everybody there is on the same page as regards everything.
    You'll see party banners and non-party affiliated groups and general folk who are there for individual reasons.
    As cynical as we can be, it's nice to see ordinary people speak up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

Why was the "St" dropped from St Stephen's Green on that poster?

Sounds like someone has an ideology to impose.

I'll be impressed if more than 100 people turn up to this.

Is there a Facebook page that people can click on? lol.

See post 17.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

I wouldn't go to this because I know our old friend RBB will be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,383 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

JonJoeDali wrote: »
    I wouldn't go to this because I know our old friend RBB will be there.
    if you have a problem with anglo or the members of the dail you go protest and let nobody stop you, there will be loads of different people and organisations there on the first day of the dail,there always is and none of them are an excuse for you not to protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The fact it is on a Wednesday precludes the majority of us that are employed and are hanging on to jobs by a thread.

The fact that it contains the usual groups who would protest at the opening of a can of Dutch Gold lager in a field will also discourage the very people who are needed on protests like this if they are to make an impact on the psyche of the politicians.

The fact that the unions are the ones organising this will also preclude those of us who realise that they want to subsidise a situation that is unsustainable and one that needs to be changed if this country is to emerge from the mess that it is in.

I will not protest against cuts as any solution to the current fiscal crisis involves cutting expenditure!

You don't have to march behind other peoples or groups banners anymore than you have to carry a swp placard! (they're not obligatory you know). You might have some people thinking f*** the CS, I've taking enough cuts now it's your turn. What should make such protests effective is the number of different opinions united against the worst Government in our history. Or don't you agree? I can't go but, if you can even though we might disagree on some matters, you will have my respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

Numbers expected?

Quite small I imagine:o

Benito wrote: »
    Quite small I imagine:o
    I think this time there might be a good lot there.
    Just a suspicion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

I've seen no mention of this on other popular Irish forums, surely that would give an indication to it's size.

peabutler wrote: »
    I've seen no mention of this on other popular Irish forums, surely that would give an indication to it's size.
    Its an aspect but this protest has been organised from the work places and ground organisations, not just on internet chatter.

I hope you're right. Glad you'll be there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I wont be there, my thesis is due in the day after, and I'd want to get a good mark in it so I can get a good job . . . . abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

You'll find the key organisers of the march will be happy for the numbers and will welcome all comers.
    There can't be a march like this on one topic, the media usually list several reasons when reporting on such marches. It's commonly accepted that not everybody there is on the same page as regards everything.

I'm no fan of any of the groups mentioned on the march banner posted earlier in the thread, but I tend agree with this. The bank bailouts have gone far enough, particularly when these type of questions are being raised. Whatever about the PS unions, I've even less time for FF/banks, and both FF and the banks would likely be happy to see people divided and less heat going in their direction.
    You'll see party banners and non-party affiliated groups and general folk who are there for individual reasons.
    As cynical as we can be, it's nice to see ordinary people speak up.

Something tells me though that if I showed up with a banner about the Croke Park Deal fleecing ordinary taxpayers, I mightn't be too welcome ;)

I wont be there, my thesis is due in the day after, and I'd want to get a good mark in it so I can get a good job . . . . abroad.

Not the best reply. If you must go abroad, will you take your dissent with you? If you go, I wish you the best. Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Mr Dempsey has a message for you guys:

No point in being Mr Angry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'm planning to attend, kicks off at 1 right?

I'm not part of the trade union/any political thing. Just a general show of unhappiness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

people shouldnt be deciding whether to attend or not based on the likely appearance of Joe Higgins, RBB, the unions etc, or even what they are specifically protesting about.
    this is a chance for political indifferences to be put aside, and for us all to unite and say ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Will go. Have to leave work then go back and work late but definitely worth going to. The more who show up the better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

What are we protesting about now? The French strikes are silly - opinion polls show that a majority of French people both support the rise in the pension age AND support the strikes! There is far too much carnival involved in general strikes of this nature. Better if we had a governing strategy instead... Funny enough an angry mob doesn't regularly make competant, level headed decisions.

Denerick wrote: »
    ....an angry mob doesn't regularly make competent, level headed decisions.
    Neither does our government as we have seen and continue to see, too many times as well.
    Should we just lie down like dumb animals and take it instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Biggins wrote: »
    Neither does our government as we have see and continue to see, too many times as well.
    Should we just lie down like dumb animals and take it instead?

They could stand up and bleat incorherently. The only issue that protesters would be able to agree on is that the want a general election.