Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Like free stuff? Course you do! (Competition)

• 25-09-2010 1:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭

Hello fellow gamblers,

I come to you with a no strings attached competition that requires minimal effort from your good selves.

As some of you may or may not know I run a football website called BackPageFootball.com and the main sponsor of our podcast is Paddy Power. The kind folk from Paddy Power have agreed to give us a weekly prize for our 'Beat the Bookie' type comp.

On offer this week is a free 20 euro bet for the winner, but as this is only the first shot at it the prizes are guaranteed to get bigger and better the more interest we have (free jerseys and match tickets to top games have been mentioned).

Basically we're relying on your participation to give us the ammo to ask Mr. Power for more to give away!

How it works - we give you the opportunity to place three “bets” in the comments section of our podcast article, based on a game we select from the upcoming weekend. Pick who you think will win, who the first goalscorer will be and the correct score of this game and your bets are placed. This week's game is the early kick off between Manchester City and Chelsea so we will need all your entries by 12.30pm.

But how do you win? To make it interesting, you don’t need three out of three to win the prize, you need the most points. The points system is based on the odds of your bet, so if you’ve tipped one team to win 1-0 at 2/1, and it is successful, you get two points.

You need a minimum of four points to win from your three selections. Have a first goalscorer at 10/1? Then you may just pick up ten points and be well on your way to the prize.

More details can be found by clicking the link below and if you have any questions just pop them in this thread and I'll answer them.

All the info you need is here!

I'll update the thread every week with all the new details to give you a heads up.

Cheers and good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Nice one Xavi, I picked City 1-0 with Tevez. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well we had two winners for week one, including Collie D above, and Paddy Power have kindly agreed to give both a prize.

Later in the week I'll have the details for the next matchup so if you didn't participate this time make sure you get on it.

And we're back! After a great response last week we're out to try beat it this time round.

This week's game is the big one on Sunday between Chelsea and Arsenal.

It's the same idea again - click the link below, got to the 'Comments' section and simply put down your predictions for the winner, the final score and the first goalscorer.

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-10/

Remember, the more entries we get, the better Paddy Power will make the prizes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Keep the entries coming lads, ye've nothing to lose! :)

Back again for another week! Another boardsie came up trumps last week so make sure you give it a go.

This time we want your predictions for the Ireland qualifier against Slovakia. All you need to do is go to the comments section of the link below and leave your thoughts for the winner, the score, the goalscorer and what minute the first goal will come in.

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-11/

Also if you sign up an account by clicking on the ad on the page you get to avail of the 'Bet 10, get 20 free' offer to start you off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Nice one Xavi,just saw this now. Just put up my selection there. Come on Richard Dunne:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭SportsGreatest

Nice one Xavi, I just commented there.

Best of luck everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭rossit

come on ireland big game tommorrow best of luck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Ahhhhhh,I was wondering why I'd a twenty quid free bet in me account,cheers lads!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Didn't see this till now, but I will defo get on board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Started doing it after I listened to the podcasts, I'd recommend to everyone to download the podcasts aswell, funny and a good listen IMO.

Went for 2-1 Ireland, :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Who won this week so? :D plenty of 1-1 predictions no1 had ledger though ha

jive wrote: »
    Who won this week so? :D plenty of 1-1 predictions no1 had ledger though ha

Listen to the pod and find out! ;)

Back to the Premiership this week and the comp is focusing on the Merseyside derby.

Usual rules - leave a comment stating who you think will win, the final score, the first goalscorer and the minute of the goal and you're in with a shot.

Costs feck all to enter, and even if you don't win you can still avail of the 'Bet 10, get 20' sign up offer by clicking on the ad on the page.

Here's the link to the page to post your tips so get on it!

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-12/

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Listen to the pod and find out! ;)

Back to the Premiership this week and the comp is focusing on the Merseyside derby.

Usual rules - leave a comment stating who you think will win, the final score, the first goalscorer and the minute of the goal and you're in with a shot.

Costs feck all to enter, and even if you don't win you can still avail of the 'Bet 10, get 20' sign up offer by clicking on the ad on the page.

Here's the link to the page to post your tips so get on it!

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-12/

hahah yes i won ;) podcast is entertaining enuf as well i will do my best to listen religiously!

This is going to sound really stupid Xavi,but how do I listen to the podcast?

greetings wrote: »
    This is going to sound really stupid Xavi,but how do I listen to the podcast?

Well it's available on iTunes or you can just listen to it on the page I linked to above.

There's an icon just below the date which is of a megaphone with an arrow beside it. Just click the arrow and it expands and plays.

Just a plea to not ignore the podcast. :pac:

Even if ye don't fancy listening to it, an iTunes subscription gets us further up the chart and gives us more chance of being seen by others. It should download on iTunes as soon as it goes online.

If ye don't have iTunes, hit the RSS button at the bottom of the link above, the one with the headphones.

I listened to it last night,was good listening.

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Just a plea to not ignore the podcast. :pac:

Even if ye don't fancy listening to it, an iTunes subscription gets us further up the chart and gives us more chance of being seen by others. It should download on iTunes as soon as it goes online.

If ye don't have iTunes, hit the RSS button at the bottom of the link above, the one with the headphones.

That RSS icon doesn't work for me,this comes up

Back Page Football » Page not found http://backpagefootball.com Sat, 16 Oct 2010 11:42:14 +0000 en hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1

Whoops, cheers mate.

Does this work for you -

http://backpagefootball.com/category/podcast/feed/

No eire-dearg,a huge thing is coming up,I don't want to post it here it would block the whole page,will i PM you what's coming up?

Is it just a huge block of text?

I know whats wrong.

Anyway, this one surely does work - http://feeds.feedburner.com/BackPageFootballPodcast

Ya,a massive one. Good man,subscribed there.

Best of luck today lads!

If you haven't entered, do it now!

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-13/

This week's podcast and competition.

Should be an interesting one - Man City v Arsenal.

Don't forget to listen and subscribe to the podcast (icons at the bottom) which helps us improve numbers

Thanks again, we much appreciate you guys letting us have this thread.

bpf.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Don't forget to listen and subscribe to the podcast (icons at the bottom) which helps us improve numbers

bpf.png
    Good game for it really, gonna be a tough game to call.

bpf.png

Any idea when PP credit the free bet? I won last week and checked account but nothing there. Actually not a bad thing as the bet I fancied didn't come in. I won a few weeks ago as well and was expecting an email or something but when I checked account the free bet was there so just wondering how they knew which account to credit without asking?

We assume the email you used in the comp is the same as the one you've signed up to Paddy Power with. If it's not on their database, then we ask you to sign up. We'll get on to the boys and see if that prize can be sent in.

Don't think this has been mentioned, but if you continue to lose the competition you can sign up to Paddy Power via one of the banners on the site and get a free €20 bet after making a €10 one. So there's an alternative....

It only works through our affiliate system, so it has to be done by clicking a banner. But seeing as this is a betting forum I'm sure everyone already has an account!

We assume the email you used in the comp is the same as the one you've signed up to Paddy Power with. If it's not on their database, then we ask you to sign up. We'll get on to the boys and see if that prize can be sent in.

Cheers for that. Yeah, same email used on your site as for account. Not a massive issue, as I said would have only used bet for a losing selection ;)

Collie D wrote: »
    Cheers for that. Yeah, same email used on your site as for account. Not a massive issue, as I said would have only used bet for a losing selection ;)
    You should have it by now Colum.

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Who won?

I had Arsenal to win 3-2 with Nasri first scorer in the 21st minute, he scored in the 20th! Damn. :pac:

^^^ Think it was your good self. The winner had that selection anyway according to the pod.

This week's game is the derby between Newcastle United and Sunderland. Same format - pick the winner, score, first scorer and minute of the first goal.

When you've decided who you're going for simply click the link below and leave your predictions in the comments section at the bottom (have a listen to the pod while you do it!).

Also, if you haven't got a Paddy Power account just click on the banner in the article, register and you will get to avail of the 'bet 10, get 20' intro offer.

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-backpage-episode-14/

P.S. Anyone who should have gotten a free bet having won but hasn't yet just let us know. We're sorting out one at the moment anyway and will of course honour anyone that has won.

Cheers!

Cheers dude, tis me indeed, just listened there. I never win anything, makes a nice change.

What do I've to do now? :pac:

Cracking podcast btw.

You should have it by now Colum.

Thank you, kind sir.

If anyone's interested I've blown it on a treble of Wigan, Pompey and QPR for return of just under €350

We split 50/50 if you win. I forgot to mention that above...

Anyways, this week is Newcastle v Sunderland. Get your bets in!

i think i won again :P still waiting on the free bet from the ireland slovenia game

Back again for another week folks. We're sorting out a few outstanding prizes for folk at the mo so we haven't forgotten anyone!

This week's game is the big clash between Liverpool and Chelsea.

You know the rules - pick a winner, result, first scorer and minute of the first goal and leave your tips in the comments section of the link below.

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-back-page-episode-15/

As usual, fire any questions at me here or via PM.

I win again I think? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

You should start betting on these things

Oh wait...

x PyRo wrote: »
    I win again I think? :pac:

Bah, was that you with 2-1 Torres 14th minute? Thought I'd won until I saw that. Congrats

Yeah twas me. Unlucky dude.

Congrats mate, we'll sort out the bets asap.

And this week's game is the Sunday clash between Everton and Arsenal at Goodison Park.

Usual rules - predict the winner, score, first scorer and minute of the goal and you'll be in with a shout.

Easy!

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-back-page-episode-16/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Celtic3x

Allright Lads, any update on last weeks comp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭clouter

Think/Hope I've won it.
    Had Arsenal to win 2-1, no one had Sagna but I was close to time of goal.

Have my fingers crossed!!!!

Howdy folks,

Our winner last week had Arsenal to win 2-1, Fabregas to score first in the 33rd minute so with no one picking Sagna he won based on the minute of the goal (Sagna scored n the 36th). Not sure if it was one of you guys!

This week we're featuring Fulham v Manchester City on Sunday.

Usual deal - leave your winner, score, first scorer and minute of the goal.

http://backpagefootball.com/featured/hold-the-back-page-episode-17/

Also, there's a few lads I know haven't got their free bets. Spoke with Paddy Power today and I just have to flick them a list of the folk (which I have) and it'll be sorted in the next few days.

Thanks for getting involved!

Bonus question: predict how many times Colum Derwin is mentioned in one podcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Celtic3x

that was me lads nice one. when should that be on the account

Celtic3x wrote: »
    that was me lads nice one. when should that be on the account

I'm sending the list of winners through to them to day so they should credit the accounts tomorrow.

Don't forget to put your tips in for the Fulham v City game today!