Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SsangYong Rexton

• 25-09-2010 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

There are a bunch of commercial Ssang Yong Rextons on sale in Ireland at the moment that are a great deal! AFAIK the importer brought in a bunch in 2007 and had to register them in 2007 due to some sort of change in regs, and the importer ended up with a pile of them just sitting in storage for the past few years. Presumably they were left there due to the celtic tiger that we were all enjoying at the time!

Anyway, I only found out about this recently and have bought one. It's brand new, was sitting somewhere for the last few years. They've decided to get rid of them now for basement bottom prices. The one I just got is a 2007 reg, automatic, leather seats, commercial so 2 front seats only, the back is floored for cargo and carpeted, and the 2 back door windows are also carpeted (the up/down window button is disabled for anyone who would like to point out that if the window is carpeted and someone hits the window down button it'll be a big problem) and the hatch window is darkened.

The original price for these vehicles was 33 - 34 k € depending on manual v automatic, but they're flogging them for about 1/3 of the price!!! I got mine for 1/3 of its original price!

The reason I decided to post about them is because I've had mine for only a few days. It still has new car smell! It only had 21km on it when I first test drove it. That's 21 kilometres, not 21,000 kilometres! I still just can't believe I have this vehicle for my business!! Anyone who thinks they might want one, I recommend that they get onto someone from SsangYong cos I can't imagine there will be any left for long!! It's rare that something like this comes along!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

Hi WhodahWoodah
    Did you think why so many cars were not sold for 3 years?

http://www.whatcar.com/car-reviews/ssangyong/rexton-4x4/summary/23734-3

"Against The Rexton suffers from stodgy handling, numb steering and an unsettled ride, while the interior is plain. The turbodiesel engine needs more grunt and running costs will be high.

Lots of metal for the money, but the Rexton's on-road manners are poor compared with most rivals'. "

Euro ncap never did crash tests on ssang yong, and I'm sure you wouldn't like to know results. :(

I would prefer to get this BMW x5 2005
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/X5/X5-3.0-D/201034199324884/advert?channel=CARS
    for 16k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭WhodahWoodah

My point was specifically not to get into a debate, it was just to tell people these vehicles were available. Mine is going great, and if that changes, the warranty started on the day I took posession. I made it clear in my OP that I was just telling people that these commercial vehicles are around cos they'll be gone soon. This is a thread for the debate of one type of vehicle over another.

While I'm sure the vehicle you mentioned is great, it's hardly new which mine basically is as far as being driven is concerned. A Rexton that's been driven since 2007 is hardly comparable to one that's been warehoused since it came out of the factory in 2007! I think the Rexton v Whoever debate is happening in multiple other threads.

BTW I need mine for shifting heavy loads and it seems to have tons of poke! Teetotaller when you've driven one of these particular Rextons with a heavy load on board come back and criticise me for my recommendation of it. I've had no problems with it and have ONLY been driving it with heavy loads on board.

Also BMW and I have a long and unhappy history relating to a 318CI, but that's a moan for a different thread...let's just say BMW will never see another penny from me..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I'd rather have 1100000 penny sweets. 34k was wildly optimistic in the first place, for what is a copy of a Mercedes engine nailed to the tackiest interior surrounded by the tackiest acre of sheet metal you can imagine.

Fair play if you're happy, but those Rextons are dirt no matter how new they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Got one into work a few years ago on trade in (I didn't trade it in thank god). Boss said I could use it away. Gave it back the next day and used a fiat panda instead.

Same spec as yours. The wood looked like a cat got sick on the (already crap) dashboard after eating it's own crap and calling the seat covers "leather" was surely against some trading standards law. Thing was only 9 months old with 15000km and the wear and tear was shocking. steering wheel, seats, seatbelts all looked like a car with 10 times the mileage. Belonged to a small shop owner so didn't exactly have a hard life!!!

If yor happy then none of this matters but I can think of dozens of jeeps I'd take ahead of one! I hope you're planning on keeping it for life too because it'll be a hard sale if you ever need to get rid of it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

More boards.ie naysaying. Best of luck with the car. Maintain and service it properly and you should be grand. Good value if you can claim the vat back on it through you company if you have a vat number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

Would have thought that something like this could be de-registered and then re-registered. Even after 3 years. (I've seen it done on a 5 year old that was never used). They could have just produced it to the revenue and said it was registered in error and never realised. Maybe there is some reason this can't be done in this case though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

maybe becuase the tax strucutre changed in 2008, and this is halfway between a passenger & a commericial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Does this get the normal commercial tax of under €300? If so, I dont know why they reg'd them in 07.
    Anyway, the rexton is the only respectable looking Ssangyong of the whole model range so it at least has that in its favouor.
    I wouldnt fancy buying any car thats been parked since 07 whether it be new or used. There is alot of oportunity for corrosion of components etc. I know of an S Class merc diesel which was a genuine faultless car with only 50k miles on when parked for 2.5 years. It turned into complete money pit when returned to service and completely unreliable.
    If you are happy with the price, well fair enough but used 07s are much less than what you paid

mickdw wrote: »
    Does this get the normal commercial tax of under €300? If so, I dont know why they reg'd them in 07.
    Anyway, the rexton is the only respectable looking Ssangyong of the whole model range so it at least has that in its favouor.
    I wouldnt fancy buying any car thats been parked since 07 whether it be new or used. There is alot of oportunity for corrosion of components etc. I know of an S Class merc diesel which was a genuine faultless car with only 50k miles on when parked for 2.5 years. It turned into complete money pit when returned to service and completely unreliable.
    If you are happy with the price, well fair enough but used 07s are much less than what you paid

Warrenty warranty warranty!!

If I bought a used 07 off someone for a few grand less it'd have a whole ton of kms on the clock, god knows what sort of battering it would have received over its life and I'd have no comeback if it got nackered 2 weeks later. I bought this from a dealer. They replaced some rubber hosing in the engine beforehand that they said may have gone hard due to being parked for so long, and it had a full service. AND IT'S UNDER WARRANTY. I know it's not new, but it's definitely a bargain as far as I'm concerned.

I'm happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

It was still way to dear imo. I would prefer a Landcruiser with 100k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

-Corkie- wrote: »

I'd prefer a kick in the nuts and carrying everything on my back to a bleedin' Sssssannggyyyooonnng Rectum.

R.O.R wrote: »
    I'd prefer a kick in the nuts and carrying everything on my back to a bleedin' Sssssannggyyyooonnng Rectum.

LOL as Clarkson said I would rather staple my ears to a Horse..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Ah it ain't that bad! Cheap bus if it does the job for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

Fair play OP for pointing out the opportunity. Wether anybody wants to take it up or not is their business, but the OP is happy with his purchase, so, if others dont want to buy one, why not just say nothing, or say thanks for the info. Why verbally kick the crap out of the OP?? Dont want one, dont buy one. Simples. Nobodys trying to groom ye into the bleedin Sangyong.

OP, hope it does the job for you and enjoy your new motor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭fabricator

Well said Dunsandin.
    Remember what Clint Eastwood used to say in the Dirty Harry movies "opinions are like ar***oles, every bodys got one".
    It sounds to me like the OP got just the deal he was looking for.
    As for resale value, what vehicle is worth anythig second hand anymore. Buy the cheapest you can, use the warranty if it lets you down and motor on.
    Bought a new Fiat Doblo van in March, swore I would never buy a Fiat but at 11 grand inc Vat, 2years warranty and 2 years AA cover inc. I couldnt turn it down.
    All makes have there troubles, and I have driven many.
    If I had a euro for everytime a main dealer said to me "I have never seen that happen to one of them before" I could probably ride out this recession quite comfortably.
    So lay off the Rexton.
    And as for BMW`S, how many of those 60 grand rear wheel drive motors did u see struggling in the snow and ice last winter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭dunsandin

Well Fabricator, them Fiat Doblo's are complete sh...:D

Only kidding - looked at one yesterday in Black in the dealers, I had gone in to look at the smaller Bipper type yokes, spotted the latest doblo and it looked very well - and when it comes to commercials, I agree, drive it for 3-5 years, by which its almost worthless, change it and move on, or else drive it till it dies. They are all crap in one way or another, but are meant to be a tool to do a job. Guy I know wanted a van for work, went to dealer and saw the kia sorento commercial, and bought it, for less than a swb transit. He'll drive it till the warranty is up and then trade for somthing else. And he loves his new jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

dunsandin wrote: »
    Fair play OP for pointing out the opportunity. Wether anybody wants to take it up or not is their business, but the OP is happy with his purchase, so, if others dont want to buy one, why not just say nothing, or say thanks for the info. Why verbally kick the crap out of the OP?? Dont want one, dont buy one. Simples. Nobodys trying to groom ye into the bleedin Sangyong.

OP, hope it does the job for you and enjoy your new motor.

i have a 2004 rexton since 2006 theres 140k miles on it absoulaty no fault with it 1 problem in 5 years a pin came out of the gearbox was put back in under warrenty flying since i load it up i tow with it no prob yea its not as fancy as some more expensive ones but hey who cares as long as it stays going without any bother im happy. its a very comfortable jeep too

I'll tell ye (and by "ye" I mean all the folks who ignored the fact that my OP was just to tell people about this deal that is going and not to have a big debate about Rexton v XXX) what...if something goes wrong I'll post my woes here like the best of ye. And if nothing goes wrong I'll also post about how great things are going!

I don't think anyone can argue with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I've seen a few of these being given a hard life and they have coped more than adequately.

They are an old fashioned 4x4 but if your doing hard work they are more than capable of with standing it and they aren't half bad off-road also

OP good luck with the car, you seem to have gotten a good deal. A 'new' vehicle for circa 10k is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

The rexton got a facelift in 2006 which improved the suspension and massively improved the engine.

My "new" Rexton won't have an easy life. I've already cargo'd the balls out of it and it has performed admirably. At least I know where it's been and I have the warranty should anything go wrong.

That's usually more than those who bought whatever from BuyAndSell or AutoTrader or private sales can say.

I just looked out my window and my Rexton still looks good!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

My "new" Rexton won't have an easy life. I've already cargo'd the balls out of it and it has performed admirably

Sounds good to me so.

I have never seen the point in buying an expensive 4x4 etc if your going to use it as a workhorse and drive it into the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I just looked out my window and my Rexton still looks good!!!!!

and that's all that matters to an owner, best of luck with it

Absurdum wrote: »
    and that's all that matters to an owner, best of luck with it

I suppose for 10k its good value for a new jeep....

Thanks Corkie ..... that was the total point of my OP!

When you find an 07 Landcruiser with 21 km, not 21000 km, on the clock for €12k+VAT you should snap it up then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 AlphaDelta

what dealer is selling these cheap Rextons ?
    is it the 2.7 engine ?