Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Societys Booking for next year .

• 24-09-2010 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Had our societys AGM on wed night and was re-elected as society sec ,

During the meeting we all bandied around a few names of clubs to play this yr ,So i left armed with a hit list to try and get , It was great booking this early got a pick of dates and times , Well recommended for anybody that has to do the same .

I've booked the following for next , Just wondering what People think ,

Corballis ( scramble in feb ) , Luttrelstown , Headfort new , Kclub - smurfit , Concra Wood , Heritage portlaoise(capts day ) Kclub Palmer ( presidents day) ,Druids Glen , Palmerstown House , Knightsbrook (november turkey shoot ) .

Got some great deals on the prices .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Great clubs there. A great year ahead for your society GorHugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

They all sound good ( except Corballis).

Where your society based it looks like it'll be a good year to join :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭GorHugh

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Great clubs there. A great year ahead for your society GorHugh.

Cheers Jimdagym , Should be fun , oonly have to wait 5 more onths for it to start :):)

we are based in Navan , New members always welcome regardless of location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

would have to agree, why Corballis?

Everything else is brilliant, the only course I would replace Corballis is Carton House (Monty Course).

So which soc is this?

Ollieboy wrote: »

Everything else is brilliant, the only course I would replace Corballis is Carton House (Monty Course).

So which soc is this?

the outing is in Feb , We start with a scramble on a links course , Having played seapoint for the last 2 yrs we decided to try somewhere else , Corballis is a grand course .

we played the monty last year , cracking course we just want to try somewhere different .

We are a scoiety that plays out of navan .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

Ollieboy wrote: »

So which soc is this?

Im in this society aswell.alot of the courses will be in round d 50 mark so we wanted a cheaper option for the first outing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

GorHugh wrote: »
    the outing is in Feb , We start with a scramble on a links course , Having played seapoint for the last 2 yrs we decided to try somewhere else , Corballis is a grand course .

we played the monty last year , cracking course we just want to try somewhere different .

For February it would actually be a perfect choice. I've never seen rain out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

does anyone else think scrambles in a society calendar is brutal,when i pay for a game i much prefare to play the whole course with my own ball

heavyballs wrote: »
    does anyone else think scrambles in a society calendar is brutal,when i pay for a game i much prefare to play the whole course with my own ball[/QUOTE
    last year was first year we tried it.at first i also thought its a bad idea but its
    a good way to start the season for some of the lads who havent been playing over the winter,also its good craic.nice easy way to start the society year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

thoscon wrote: »
    does anyone else think scrambles in a society calendar is brutal,when i pay for a game i much prefare to play the whole course with my own ball[/QUOTE
    last year was first year we tried it.at first i also thought its a bad idea but its
    a good way to start the season for some of the lads who havent been playing over the winter,also its good craic.nice easy way to start the society year

i suppose the fact that you're society has a good few outings on good courses it fine,my local one however only have 6 outings and 1 is a scramble,i hate it

thoscon wrote: »

i suppose the fact that you're society has a good few outings on good courses it fine,my local one however only have 6 outings and 1 is a scramble,i hate it

I wasn't overly gone on the idea in the first place , But it works very well , Great craic is had drawing the teams and in general the lads love it , Your right with the number of outings i wouldn't be that into it if we had 6 outings a year and had to put 1 aside for a scramble

weve also added slieve russell to the list of courses we play next year
    cant wait:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Macreddin is some track, it has just replaced concra wood as my favourite, if ya haven't played it yet treat yourself, might be a bit far to go from navan
    That is a good strong list of courses .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Corballis ( scramble in feb ) , Luttrelstown , Headfort new , Kclub - smurfit , Concra Wood , Heritage portlaoise(capts day ) Kclub Palmer ( presidents day) ,Druids Glen , Palmerstown House , Knightsbrook (november turkey shoot ) .

I'm guessing that you get a special deal by playing both K Club courses. If not, how much is the Smurfit course costing you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

I'm guessing that you get a special deal by playing both K Club courses. If not, how much is the Smurfit course costing you?

PLayed the Smurfit last year in a scoiety for €70 with a 3 course meal. The meal was in the Palmer Club House

getting both courses for €125