Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McGeady got his first goal for spartak today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

good stuff. he's a quality player who for some reason is viewed with suspicion by ireland supporters(and certain sections of the celtic support too). hope russia works out for him and continues to bring him on as a player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

Absolute rocket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Squad number 64 was an odd choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I was never McGeady's biggest fan but I respect him for trying something different like playing in Russia*. Most Irish players stick to Scotland and England.

*I'm aware money might have played a big part in him going to Russia but still..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Fair play to him. He also had an assist a few weeks ago in what I think was his debut. Hopefully he gets game time as we certainly need our players to be getting some.

PS someone needs to go and buy Welliton from Spartak. The guy is a goalscoring machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

Well he was 46 at Celtic and wanted that but it was already taken so he went for 64, most of the players seem to have weird high numbers over there. Not many clubs you would sign for looking for number 46 and its already taken though.

Fair play to him. He also had an assist a few weeks ago in what I think was his debut. Hopefully he gets game time as we certainly need our players to be getting some.

PS someone needs to go and buy Welliton from Spartak. The guy is a goalscoring machine.

I think he had 2 assists in his first 2 league games and now a goal in his 3rd game. Also got a nutmeg in the CL game that was on Soccer AM :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'm glad he scored coz I wanted to know how the Russians said McGeady. Not as funny as I was hoping it to be tbh.

mars bar wrote: »
    I'm glad he scored coz I wanted to know how the Russians said McGeady. Not as funny as I was hoping it to be tbh.

How they write it is a bit funnier, Эйден МАКГИДИ translates to Aidan MAKGIDI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

good stuff. he's a quality player who for some reason is viewed with suspicion by ireland supporters(and certain sections of the celtic support too). hope russia works out for him and continues to bring him on as a player.

He's far from it.

He can dribble well, when defenders back off.
    Yes he's got quick feet, but he has no strength whatsoever.
    Cannot cross for his life, but hey, Giovani Trappatoni will select him every game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

I'd say its 6+4 = 10

Doocey wrote: »
    He's far from it.

He can dribble well, when defenders back off.
    Yes he's got quick feet, but he has no strength whatsoever.
    Cannot cross for his life, but hey, Giovani Trappatoni will select him every game.

As good a player i think he is i don't think Trap will pick him every game if he has everyone fit, last year as we seen Duff, Lawrence and Hunt were picked and McGeady left on the bench most times. Imo he deserves to be starting just for what he creates, brilliant feet, great skill, technically he is by far out best player, he drags defenders out of position, runs at defenders every time he gets a chance, ye sok he's not always got the best final ball but i'd prefer him a lot more than the other choices we have. Our team has very little creativity as it is, if he is to drop McGeady we will have no creativity at all.

I know these McGeady arguements have been done to death so i don't really want to go there again, everyone know he has bucket loads of talent, lets just hope he turns in a few good performances for Ireland next month, he has to prove to a lot of Boards members what he can do :D

JJJJNR wrote: »
    I'd say its 6+4 = 10

Kind of like when Ronaldo signed for Inter years ago and part of the deal was that he got the number 9 jersey off Ivan Zamorano, the next season Zamorano wore 18 with a small plus sign between the numbers 1+8 = 9

Zamorano18.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Delighted for McGeady, especially after his brave decision to move to Moscow. The Russian League looks like it is suiting him. Playing for Spartak is a much better move than playing for some mediocre PL team like Villa or Birmingham. He can improve his technical ability a lot more in Russia than in England as well. Teams in Russia generally pass the ball a lot more than in England whereas most of the teams, outside the top teams, in England can barely string 5 passes together.

Imo he is Ireland's most talented player and should be a guaranteed starter in every match. Great to see he has gotten off to a flier in Russia as I thought it might have taken him a while to settle in but it looks like he has settled in very well. Good news for McGeady and it should be good news for Ireland if only Trap had a bit of faith in our creative players from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Good for McGeady....looks like he knocked it in with his nipple!:D

Was this a league match? Must admit to being shocked at how small the crowd was!

Anyhow, here's an embedded version of vid for handiness sake

murpho999 wrote: »
    Was this a league match? Must admit to being shocked at how small the crowd was!

It was a league game, 12,000 at the game as far as i can find http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/match?id=308129&cc=5739&league=RUS.1

The Luzhniki holds close to 80,000, i'm guessing there poor league position and the fact it was against a side just above the relegation zone meant it wasn't going to be the most popular match. Looking at the last games in the Luzhniki for League matches the attendances are always quiet low.

CSKA's last home game - 6,000 http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=308027&league=RUS.1&cc=5739

Spartak Moscows last home game - 18,000 http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=306919&league=RUS.1&cc=5739

Lokomotiv versus Spartak was only 33,000, not great for 2 teams from the same city http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=305964&league=RUS.1&cc=5739

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

in his first game over there he skinned the left full for the whole first half,then in second half they doubled up on him and he skinned two of them! i think he is a crackin player,at his best droppin the shoulder and skippin across the box and firing in a low drivin shot! set up a lovely goal in the last match,split the defence with a good ball.

and he is one of the most natural wingers we have to choose from,him and duff, duffer obviously ahead of him but duff cant stay around for ever! id have him over hunt anyday,cant stand him, comes on and just kicks the ball away for half an hour, kicks one or two of the oppositions players and people think he is a ****in hero?? look at the amount of chances he will give away against us in the closing stages of matches, its actually shockin! liam lawernce is a grafter, against teams we wont be attacking, id say a good few knowin trap he does a good job, but if you want someone to attack and get you the ball into the final 3rd then mcgeady is the man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Thats a McGeady goal alright.

For "Ireland's most talented player" its a pity he can't kick a ball properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

McGeady is way overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Well done to him, great start at his new club. Hope it continues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

meh

McGeady scores 90th min winner for Spartak yesterday as they won 2-1. It was a peno. The lad is doing well in what was a brave move.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Would have liked to see him move to the EPL. Ah well, he might not be ready for that move yet.

I see Trap has also said he was wrong advising him not to go and that he thinks he has made a brilliant start to his time in Russia.

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Would have liked to see him move to the EPL. Ah well, he might not be ready for that move yet.

I'm sure that if he was ready for a move to Russia, he would have been ready to move to England. He is better off playing for a top Russian side that keeps the ball on the ground rather than some mid-table EPL team who likes to hoof the ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

From the youtube highlights it looks like he got the assist for the first Spartak goal also. Funny to hear the Russian fans sing the chorus of 'MCGEADY' as the stadium announcer says his name. Good to see him doing well, he gets too much unwarranted stick from Irish fans but tbh he is a quality player and we are lucky to have him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

curry-muff wrote: »

And tell me you can't say that for everybody in the Ireland team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Warper wrote: »
    McGeady scores 90th min winner for Spartak yesterday as they won 2-1. It was a peno. The lad is doing well in what was a brave move.

Nailed his cross for the first goal and stuck the pen well to the bottom left. Highlights here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

curry-muff wrote: »

I wouldn't say he is overrated, because he splits opinion so much, its not like everyone thinks he's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Aidric wrote: »
    Nailed his cross for the first goal and stuck the pen well to the bottom left. Highlights here.

That peno is more impressive due to the fact that the goalkeeper was nearly on top of him when he was diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Got his first sending off too this weekend! :D

Looks like the Russian Ref's are showing some solidarity with their Scottish counterparts too! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Never a red card.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Never a red card.

It was a harsh red imo but he can't really have any complaints, he dove in and was nowhere near the ball. I'm sure the pushing and shoving helped the ref make up his mind too.

Looked a red card offense to me. He just dived in and had no intention of going for the ball. The reactions says it all - he knew straight away he was off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Prob was a red. Just wish he was still at Celtic-a fantastic player. Hes a really tough lad-always stands up for himself. The abuse he got in Scotland after declaring for Ireland was nothing short of a disgrace. Still-what do you expect from neanderthals? Showed great mental toughness going to Russia. Not many would do it.Big bucks I know but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I loved the square off with the man in the tracksuit at the end.

Russian guy: "*Something offesnive in Russian*"
    McGeady: "WHAT DID YOU SAY??... No really... what did you actually say?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Did the SFA do a ref swap with the Russians as that was not a red card offence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    The abuse he got in Scotland after declaring for Ireland was nothing short of a disgrace.
    It was fully deserved, hes Scottish, not Irish, just like Glasgow Celtic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

CiaranC wrote: »

don't feed the troll people....

Where to start with this one - he was born in Glasgow with Irish grandparents and has an Irish passport therefore he is Irish. Just like my two sons who are born in Glasgow and have Irish passports. No such club as Glasgow Celtic, it is The Celtic Football Club.

don't feed the troll people....

Too late for me.....

Troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Where to start with this one - he was born in Glasgow with Irish grandparents and has an Irish passport therefore he is Irish. Just like my two sons who are born in Glasgow and have Irish passports. No such club as Glasgow Celtic, it is The Celtic Football Club.
    What a crock of ****. By this rationale all the second generation offspring of immigrants to Britain are not in fact British then? I suppose Wayne Rooney, Ashley Cole and Rio Ferdinand arent English either so? This is a position the BNP would be proud of, another laughable notion from the worlds most confused football fans.

What a crock of ****.

There is only one crock of **** and it ain't my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Yeah.... Ronan O'Gara is American and Jamie Heaslip is Israeli :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Definate Yellow Card but dunno if it meritted a straight red, the no.4 made the most of it.

First red of his career, AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭TopBombing

Dempsey wrote: »
    Definate Yellow Card but dunno if it meritted a straight red, the no.4 made the most of it.

First red of his career, AFAIK

Sent off for two yellow cards against Hibs last season, the second being for a dive out along the touch line, just in front of the dug out's.

The referee - Dougie Dougie McDonald!!

_46293580_mcgeady_red.jpg

TopBombing wrote: »
    Sent off for two yellow cards against Hibs last season, the second being for a dive out along the touch line, just in front of the dug out's.

The referee - Dougie Dougie McDonald!!

_46293580_mcgeady_red.jpg

Ah yes, I remember that now. Thank god that referee is now out of a job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Prob was a red. Just wish he was still at Celtic-a fantastic player. Hes a really tough lad-always stands up for himself. The abuse he got in Scotland after declaring for Ireland was nothing short of a disgrace. Still-what do you expect from neanderthals? Showed great mental toughness going to Russia. Not many would do it.Big bucks I know but still.

So what if he got abuse? It wasn't for declaring for Ireland. It was for rejecting Scotland.

SantryRed wrote: »
    So what if he got abuse? It wasn't for declaring for Ireland. It was for rejecting Scotland.

Scotland rejected him first tbh

Scotland wouldnt allow him to play underage for them and Packie Bonnar offered him an alternative