Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race to 100kg Squat for the Ladies-Mod note Post #14

• 24-09-2010 12:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭

Ok Ladies...

Drifters suggested we have a bit of healthy competition :D Most of ye logging are squatting on or near bodyweight so I think a race to 100kg might be a bit of an extra motivator!!!

Not sure how to work this, maybe just post up what your current 1rm is and if you think you're good for it?:D

Whoever hits it first has to post a vid!

Lurkers welcome!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Think could see myself doing a 100kg squat maybe in the next 10 years if I keep up the training!!! You are well on track for it though.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Think could see myself doing a 100kg squat maybe in the next 10 years if I keep up the training!!! You are well on track for it though.:D

eat more and stop worrying about putting on a kg....in all fairness...you turned sideways at the beers and you actually dissappeared :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

What are ya on about? You're well able for it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

eat more and stop worrying about putting on a kg....in all fairness...you turned sideways at the beers and you actually dissappeared :eek:

werd.

Great idea G86... but I wanna play too :o

g'em wrote: »
    werd.

Great idea G86... but I wanna play too :o

Can we make yours 200kg?:p

Gotta play fair G'em! hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

My big goal at the moment is a body-weight (60kg) squat (did 52.5 x5 x3 today) so 100kg sounds a bit crayzee to me. I can picture my just buckling like a dropped accordian (hmm, that's the opposite of positive visualisation).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

G86 wrote: »
    Can we make yours 200kg?

Gotta play fair G'em! hehe

as much as I would love to step up to that plate a liiiiitttle bit of realism would be nice :pac:

How's about I meet you halfway and we go with 150kg? That's 25kg more than I'm at now and well over double body weight. Fair is actually fair like!! :p

My big goal at the moment is a body-weight (60kg) squat (did 52.5 x5 x3 today) so 100kg sounds a bit crayzee to me. I can picture my just buckling like a dropped accordian (hmm, that's the opposite of positive visualisation).

I bet you anything you have EASY 1rm of 65kg in you, and you weigh a fair bit less than me! So sort it out and join in!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Really great idea. I must start taking it more seriously. As I really like lifting. :) Nowhere near my own body weight though.

as much as I would love to step up to that plate a liiiiitttle bit of realism would be nice :pac:

How's about I meet you halfway and we go with 150kg? That's 25kg more than I'm at now and well over double body weight. Fair is actually fair like!! :p

Deal!

You still doing Texas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Ha Ha my squat is non existent so maybe this time next year?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Damn 125 ATG im guessing? ALOT of lads i know wouldnt be able to do that... and one has been training for 5 years... RESPECT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Right...

Lets try this again...this is a thread for the ladies to have a bit of competition. i dont care if it takes a year or 10 years for them to squat 100kg. If they want to set 100kg as a goal then im all for it..

If anyone and I mean anyone makes this into an argument or a load of off topic crap I'm going to hit them so hard with the ban hammer they aint going to wake up for a week and i really don't care who you are ill still ban you.

To anyone who had good posts in the thread i deleted them too as it was easier and I apologise for this.

edit: some of the good posts undeleted

Now lets do this again and play nice

Can we just get the thread back on topic? The actual target is a just a tiny part of this, the idea is that it's something to motivate the ladies and to make us push ourselves that little bit more.

I don't care if anyone ever hits the 100kg, it's the work they're going to put in to try and achieve it that matters, and by posting in this thread they can keep themselves motivated and get a bit of extra encouragement. Until recently I didn't know many women who lifted, and this is a great way of learning from each other and having a bit of craic at the same time:).

THAT is the point of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Here is a little number from my training journal, this program brought my squat from 90kgx3 to 145kgx3 in just under six weeks. Some of you might want to give it a try.

leg day one: weights

A: Squat up to a max triple
    take as many sets as needed and rest as much as needed between sets. give it your all.

B: Bulgarian split squats: 1-2 warm up sets, then 4sets of 4-6reps,
    go as deep as possible on these and hold the bottom position for a genuine two count.

C: Leg curls: 3sets of 5reps

D: Back extensions: 3-4 sets of 10-12reps
    Squeeze bum hard at the top and slow down to start position.

Day2
    Bodyweight jump training
    On this day you are looking for good quality jumps and landings, take what ever rest you need to between jumps to set up right and always aim for as much height or distance as possible.

A: Squat jumps 10-15

B: Standing broad jumps 10-15

C: Single leg hopping for distance 10-15 per leg

D: Jump lunges for height 10-15 per leg

Some notes:

The bulgarian split squats on day one are the money exercise, as an example on the day I did the 145kg squat I did the bulgarians with 40kg dbs for six reps.

For the jumping if possible try do it bare footed.

That's a huge jump - were you training long when you started it?

I'm doing Smolov Base for 6 weeks from tomorrow, so hopefully that will bring it up.