Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

100km Castlecomer (KK) Sunday 17/10/10

• 18-09-2010 8:36pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The sportive season is drawing to a close but there's good news for those of you who want more. On Sunday the 17th of October there's a 100km charity spin leaving from Castlecomer in north Kilkenny (just a little over an hour from Dublin with the new motorway). The cycle is in aid of the Castlecomer day care centre and entry is €20. It starts in Castlecomer at 9h30 there at the Millenium Park and goes to Killeshin, Carlow, Arles, Stradbally, Abbeyleix, Ballinakill, Ballyragget and back to Castlecomer. There is also a 50km option which follows the same route up to the Pike crossroads after Arles and turns to Castlecomer there. The cycle will be done at an enjoyable pace but ye'll still sweat a bit, don't worry. There will be food at the finish and a water stop in Stradbally. If ye need any info ye can contact myself, The DocMan or Toblerone1978.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Chimayland

Excellent. Looking forward to it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Pencil me in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭bonzie1

I did this last year. Really great. Well run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Headdy

I average 22km/hr on the hybrid but am able for the 100k - will all the food be gone by the time I get there? - is it that kind of sportive?

If it's like last year there will be food. It was an event of great camaraderie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭bonzie1

There was all levels and all kinds of bikes. And yeah great laugh too. Headdy don't worry, there was plenty of food. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

bonzie1 wrote: »
    I did this last year. Really great. Well run.

Yeah I'm in too, did it last year good crowd and nice pace . One of the last ones of the year , might as well it's a long way to the Spring sportives :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭strummer_ie

Hope to have a lash at the 100km myself :D
    What's the route like ? flat / hilly ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Hope to have a lash at the 100km myself :D
    What's the route like ? flat / hilly ?

Couple of bumps in the road is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

hope to make it there.

dont know the area at all however have experienced kileshin in leinster loop,

will write you up as before :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68093514&postcount=41

this time hope to be carrying HD camera on board, twill look odd but hey what the heck, you will love the pics afterwards, and people can identify themselves.

is there a particularily steep part in carlow called the butts or something ? is it going through there ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

It doesn't go up the Butts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Hi, i`d like to add some further info for anybody considering doing the CASTLECOMER 100/50K on October 17th.
    *Sign on on the day only ; opens at 8.30am. 20EURO.
    *Start time for 100k is 9.30am & for 50k is 10.30am.
    *Food stops on both distances hopefully with some warm soup and sambos!
    *Food at the finish and each participant can have photo taken by experienced photographer and download it for fre later.
    *100k route could be described as a rolling route with excellent roads. Only significant climb is a long 3 mile drag about 12k from home.
    *50k route again is on excellent roads and after about 35k has a long 3k drag on open road.
    * Both events will have a lead car and support van, moto marshalls, road marshalls, road markings and leadout by Gardai.

Please feel free to ask any questions and i`ll add further details as we add more to this worthy event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

I'll be there, I'll try and rope in a few from the deise land .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Hoping to make it although I may be in London that weekend. If I get a flight home on the Saturday night I'll be laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

Really want to bring my son on this, he did the 57k Leinster loop for his first sportive and loved it. I think this will be a nice finish to the cycling year and hopefully he'll be dying to get get going next season.

Henboy it`d be great to see a load of ye up to Kilkenny for a good days cycling & congrats to the `young man` Git101, bring him along and he`ll be well looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Git101

TheDocMan wrote: »
    Henboy it`d be great to see a load of ye up to Kilkenny for a good days cycling & congrats to the `young man` Git101, bring him along and he`ll be well looked after.

Thanks TheDocMan, I'm delighted that he's showing an interest in cycling, just a bit worried that he may beat me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Hope to be able to make it to this (work permitting). It goes within 2km of my house, so it's about the most local sportive route I'm ever going to get.

Update info; Further details and contacts up on; marblecitycyclers.com
    ROUTE MAPS to follow.
    Just to add a little something we`ll have a decent number of spot prizes to give away on the day . Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Currently trying to get in the miles in preparation for this, will be my first 100k, looking forward to it!

http://www.mapmyride.com/route/ie/castlecomer/665128595692659055

Just in case anyone wants the course in a different format to the google maps version. Hope this helps

I also exported it as a crs file to put on my garmin. If anyone wants that file PM me and I'll send it. I've tried to attach it as a zip. It may work:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 mike1963

The sportive season is drawing to a close but there's good news for those of you who want more. On Sunday the 17th of October there's a 100km charity spin leaving from Castlecomer in north Kilkenny (just a little over an hour from Dublin with the new motorway). The cycle is in aid of the Castlecomer day care centre and entry is €20. It starts in Castlecomer at 9h30 there at the Millenium Park and goes to Killeshin, Carlow, Arles, Stradbally, Abbeyleix, Ballinakill, Ballyragget and back to Castlecomer. There is also a 50km option which follows the same route up to the Pike crossroads after Arles and turns to Castlecomer there. The cycle will be done at an enjoyable pace but ye'll still sweat a bit, don't worry. There will be food at the finish and a water stop in Stradbally. If ye need any info ye can contact myself, The DocMan or Toblerone1978.
    Sorry to interupt you but it,s the DISCOVERY PARK with it,s 80 acres of wonderful walks and play ground for the kids not the MILLENIUM PARKicon7.gif

public map on bike route toaster

http://www.bikeroutetoaster.com/course.aspx?course=182464

click into summary to see the profile of the ride,

note the last section contains the biggest hill :

enjoy

would anyone be out off by a HD Camera on my helmet to record part of the event ?

could post here afterwards

*MICHAEL i`d be great to have some footage from your headcam.
    *MIKE your dead right it is the Discovery Park - blame Captain Havoc for the Millenium park renaming. You`re right it`s a fantastic place to spend some time with something for all ages.
    *ASHLEEY thanks for the exrta mapping details and
    *MURPH good luck with the training. Say hello on the day - you`ll be well looked after.

michael196 wrote: »
    public map on bike route toaster

http://www.bikeroutetoaster.com/course.aspx?course=182464

click into summary to see the profile of the ride,

note the last section contains the biggest hill :

enjoy

Didn't know of that site. Thanks very much.

I've got the course in my Edge 500 now. I tried it out on the Leinster Loop and it does give you an idea of hills to come, and distance left etc... I'm still not sure if that's a good thing though.

its not a good thing, to view ahead the profile of the course hills on the day with the garmin. In the wicklow 200 i used to look at the profile of hills to come in the next few miles on the garmin and I made up my mind mot to climb them before i even saw them; as the screen normalised the hil to full screen ,

go to

www.ridewithgps to see the profile gradients calculated : excellent site

It is good. I use that site for too.

Bad news everyone, I've jinxed the weather for this by getting the day off work so I hope to see some of ye there :)

The weather looks good for the week. Let's hope it lasts. Just got to shake off the flu now (it's never a cold, right).

Anyone fancy cycling out to this from the city? Meet at the Glendine Inn an hour and a half before the start?

If the weather is good I probably will. I'll let you know the day before

you know i recently tried echiniciae drops to help with colds, as we will get a few colds being out sweating on bikes over the autumn and winter and it realy works.

you knw after sweating for hours and u feel urself getting a cold, i take the drops in tea or coca cola and u can feel the cold dissapating .

So I am adding echiniciae to my kit bag at this stage

Good tip. Thanks. My biggest problem is a potential torn meniscus from football injury 2 weeks ago. Had an MRI on Thursday. Fingers crossed. Managed to swim and do 60k on the bike ok last week though. Can't run or twist or even kneel down mind you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 thegilpen

Not going through the buts,Carlow Arles StradballyAbbeyleix Ballyragget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

So, the sign on/start is in Discovery Park...?

Anyone know roughly where that is...? I'll be coming from Naas.. don't know Castlecomer that well...

Cheers...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Fender76 wrote: »

Anyone know roughly where that is...? I'll be coming from Naas.. don't know Castlecomer that well...

Cheers...

Here you go
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=castlecomer+discovery+park&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=50.777825,79.013672&ie=UTF8&cd=1&hq=castlecomer+discovery+park&hnear=&radius=15000&ll=52.806419,-7.200508&spn=0.009223,0.01929&z=16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Fender76

Thanks mate... looking forward to it...

By the way, I'll be wearing a blue jacket and helmet riding a Felt if anyone wants to say hi.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭strummer_ie

What's the best way there from Dublin.
    Google maps doesn't have the full M9 and directs me through Athy to the N78.
    Or is it a better route to go M9 to Leighlinbridge and go cross country ?

:D:D

Fender76 wrote: »

Cheers...

What's there to know? It's got two streets. :pac:

Personally I'd come through Athy getting off the Motorway at Kilcullen. Don't forget them that wants to cycle out from the city, leaving the Glendine Inn at 8h00.

I won't make the Glendine Inn start off. Got good (ish) news on the knee. No more football unless I want a full knee replacement in a few years but cycling is in, and at my age it's a chance to retire gracefully (ish). Physio reckons 100k might be too much this Sunday but I'll see how it goes. My wife might kill me though seeing as she's been listening to me moaning for 3 weeks about my poor knee.

ashleey wrote: »
    I won't make the Glendine Inn start off. Got good (ish) news on the knee. No more football unless I want a full knee replacement in a few years but cycling is in, and at my age it's a chance to retire gracefully (ish). Physio reckons 100k might be too much this Sunday but I'll see how it goes. My wife might kill me though seeing as she's been listening to me moaning for 3 weeks about my poor knee.

Sorry about your retirement from football :( Guess I won't be seeing you anymore then during the weeks. There's always the 50km option or you could be like me and take shelter, I haven't been on the bike since the 12th of September.

At age 40+, I probably fit the profile of a MAMIL rather than trying to chase after people on football pitches who are half my age though.

I'll work on persuading the wife for a pass for Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 thegilpen

Its shorter to go through Athy 20mins to Castlecomer Discovery park on right hand side

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

I know sign on for this is from 8.30am, but what time are ye hoping the 100km heads off at lads?

Aquos76 wrote: »
    I know sign on for this is from 8.30am, but what time are ye hoping the 100km heads off at lads?

There'll be no hoping, it's 9h30 on the button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

Kinda maybe thinking about trying to do this tomorrow. For anyone travelling to it does the start point have a decent amount of parking? Are you expecting big numbers? Anyone any idea on a forecast yet?

weather forecast is fine for tomorrow. just wrap up warmish....no rain forecast

g0g wrote: »
    Kinda maybe thinking about trying to do this tomorrow. For anyone travelling to it does the start point have a decent amount of parking? Are you expecting big numbers? Anyone any idea on a forecast yet?

Loads of parking in the town, which is a one minute cycle from the start (just over the bridge).