Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag dies...Solicitor sues State on his behalf..

• 18-09-2010 8:56am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0918/1224279172910.html

So a scumbag involved in the murder of an innocent mother is arrested. While in custody he lies to the Doctor about his drug abuse and is given a dose of methadone that kills him.

His solicitor is beginning a civil action against the state.

Pretty obvious what the outcome will be but will cost a couple of hundred grand in the process.

Should taxpayers really have to pay for this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

ebixa82 wrote: »
    Should taxpayers really have to pay for this??

What do we have to pay for ?

I'm willing to bet you don't know much about Legal Aid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

A respected solicitor Michael Finucane representing a scumbag, why oh why Michael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Someone arrested for questioning about a crime is a scumbag now? Hope you never get called for jury duty.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Someone arrested for questioning about a crime is a scumbag now? Hope you never get called for jury duty.

To those who knew him, he was indeed a virulent scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

gurramok wrote: »
    To those who knew him, he was indeed a virulent scumbag.

People could catch the scumbag off him?
    A respected solicitor Michael Finucane representing a scumbag, why oh why Michael.

Are you au fait with how legal representation works? It's not a prerequisite for your clients to be upstanding citizens.

Anybody else got a pain in their tits with these threads? I wouldn't mind so much if they were actually funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Why would anyone lie that they are a drug addict?
    Surely he should've copped that a dose of methadone when he wasn't on drugs wouldn't exactly do him much good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Rosco1982 wrote: »
    What do we have to pay for ?

I'm willing to bet you don't know much about Legal Aid.

I'm willing to bet you know nothing of legal aid.

Legal Aid means HE doesn't pay for his solicitor.

Reason being, the taxpayer does...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

I'm willing to bet you're a little bit thick and no nothing of legal aid.

Bye bye!

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Why would anyone lie that they are a drug addict?
    Surely he should've copped that a dose of methadone when he wasn't on drugs wouldn't exactly do him much good.

He would have taken it to 1) deal with the withdrawl from his heroin addiction and 2) to get a buzz..

stovelid wrote: »
    People could catch the scumbag off him?

Young easily lead teenagers did.
    Are you au fait with how legal representation works? It's not a prerequisite for your clients to be upstanding citizens.

Yes, I take offence at a highly respected solicitor who fought for victims rights in the courts in the past ending up legally fighting for a scumbag.

He obviously doesn't share your view?

Why should he?:confused: He doesn't know me nor does he know me.

His rep. as a fine upstanding solicitor who always fights for the victims(thats what he did for years) has taken a battering on this one.

Now this is just a shot in the dark, but maybe he's a solicitor and by definition, will represent anybody that will earn him some cash money?

True. Alot of solictors don't have morals at all, they'll take a good few quid in order to get the worst dregs in society off on a technicality even when they know themselves their clients are guilty of heinous crimes.

Everyone is entitled to legal representation, its those solicitors knowing that their client committed grave crimes and go to any length to get them off the hook on technicalities, they are just scum in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Tender Hoop

Is he the son of the murder solicitor from the North?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

The judge of the court will be noting that he misled a doctor and he caused the fatal dosage of methadoine

I'm willing to bet you know nothing of legal aid.

I just don't know where to start with this. You know that Criminal Legal Aid and Civil Legal Aid are completely different ? You know that this would be a civil matter ?

If you know that, then the following should be no problem to you

Firstly, no Legal Aid is ever granted for representation at an Inquest. It's a matter that is specifically excluded under the Civil Legal Aid Act and subsequent regulations. (This might change in future).

So either Michael Finucane is working for free or the Family are paying him.

If the family were to take a case over the death of their son, it would again be a Civil matter. They could apply to the Legal Aid Board for representation. Since Michael Finucane is their solicitor rather than a Legal Aid Board solicitor it's fair to presume they haven't gone to the Legal Aid Board.

So next time you have a rant over the cost of something to the state at least make it accurate.

And finally I have no issue of the family following up this case even if the fella was a scumbag. Nobody should be dying in Garda station cells, and giving someone methadone without actually knowing their prescription is a mugs game. The family are right to follow it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Look at it the other way:

Basically this guy died by a state sponsored lethal injection (of methadone)
    That shouldn't happen and it certainly shouldn't happen again. So an inquiry why and how it happend is a good thing and the proposed methadone protocol for garda stations certainly sounds like a good thing.

It can't be that they inject drugs into someone in custody just on their say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

peasant wrote: »

That shouldn't happen and it certainly shouldn't happen again. So an inquiry why and how it happend is a good thing and the proposed methadone protocol for garda stations certainly sounds like a good thing.

It can't be that they inject drugs into someone in custody just on their say so.
    I'm pretty sure they don't inject methadone. But yes, the proposed protocol is a good thing.

Is he the son of the murder solicitor from the North?

Yes he is.

Sure as Peasant said, find out the truth so there is no Garda brutality, thats grand to me.

It's this suing nonsense on his behalf(deceased) that is really insulting to the victims of that degenerate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

I just don't know where to start with this. You know that Criminal Legal Aid and Civil Legal Aid are completely different ? You know that this would be a civil matter ?

Firstly, no Legal Aid is ever granted for representation at an Inquest. It's a matter that is specifically excluded under the Civil Legal Aid Act and subsequent regulations. (This might change in future).

If the family were to take a case over the death of their son, it would again be a Civil matter. They could apply to the Legal Aid Board for representation. Since Michael Finucane is their solicitor rather than a Legal Aid Board solicitor it's fair to presume they haven't gone to the Legal Aid Board.

So next time you have a rant over the cost of something to the state at least make it accurate.

And finally I have no issue of the family following up this case even if the fella was a scumbag. Nobody should be dying in Garda station cells, and giving someone methadone without actually knowing their prescription is a mugs game. The family are right to follow it up.

Michael Finucane may be working on the 'no foal no fee' basis

its those solicitors knowing that their client committed grave crimes and go to any length to get them off the hook on technicalities

Legal representation, in other words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

Who pays the wages of the judge and all the court staff? I would imagine that it is the state?

Legal representation, in other words.

Beyond morals in my book.

Innocent 22 year old mothers should not be shot dead at parties just because someone was refused entry. But hey, that's life!

John2002 wrote: »
    Who pays the wages of the judge and all the court staff? I would imagine that it is the state?

They get paid regardless of whether this case goes ahead or not.

Innocent 22 year old mothers should not be shot dead at parties just because someone was refused entry. But hey, that's life!

Agreed.

So you don't know anything about Legal Aid then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

So, let's get this straight. Idiot scumbag lies about his drug history. Poor procedure in custody leads to him getting a lethal injection by accident. And morality-free solicitor sues state in a lawsuit that should never go to trial. Wow. There are no winners in this. Everybody's a loser.

Beyond morals in my book.

Lord Diplock just called: he wants his views back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Surely if he sued the state the state would have to pay someone to defend them. Wouldn't that be the cost to the taxpayer?

They get paid regardless of whether this case goes ahead or not.

Yes but their resources and time would be better spent elsewhere.

And I think you're kidding yourself if you think the family are going to pay for this civil action out of their own pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

"The coroner’s examination had demonstrated beyond doubt that serious questions arose from the death."(The Irish Times)

So, the fact that some idiot could lie to a Dr. means that the state should be responsible for maintaining a register that can be accessed out of ours by guards and Dr.s on the off chance that a detainee is telling porkies about his heroin intake?

Yes, prescribing methadone without access to the full facts is a mug's game, but what was the Dr. meant to do? If he had refused treatment that would be seen as denying this charming fella his rights. Dr.s have to make alot of decisions based solely on the information given to them by patients.

I would suggest lying to a Dr to get a buzz is the mug's game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

lol. Much of an imagination do we? How the hell did you read this and come to the conclusion that it was akin to an execution.

The dumb fcuk lied to his doctor and was given the wrong treatment. He died as a result.

If I go into a doctor tomorrow and tell her a whole load of bull**** and she prescribes something that ends up harming me, who's fault is it? mine or hers?

Brilliant. Waste more taxpayers money on even more bureaucratic bull**** and have even less guards on the street.

There's already a massive issue with guards ignoring junkies due to the amount of man hours it takes to process them (with little consequence for the criminal) and you want to make that situation even worse? WTF?

• start cherry pickin who can go to court and who cant and the whole system falls apart . Maybe their son was a scumbag ??? whose to say does that deny them as a family to take a case against the state ? imo no they have every right to .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Innocent of what?.

You know her, was she accused of something?.

And the guy who died hadn't been found guilty of anything, no one should die in garda custody - makes the guards look bad!.

Innocent of what?.

You know her, was she accused of something?.

And the guy who died hadn't been found guilty of anything, no one should die in garda custody - makes the guards look bad!.

I'm sorry, are you saying that this girl was guilty of something?

By innocent I mean she should not have been shot dead by a scumbag.

No one should die in Garda custody, but equallu no one should lie about their drug use in an attempt to get a fix of methadone. You play with fire, you get burnt. He got burnt. Badly.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    "The coroner’s examination had demonstrated beyond doubt that serious questions arose from the death."(The Irish Times)

So, the fact that some idiot could lie to a Dr. means that the state should be responsible for maintaining a register that can be accessed out of ours by guards and Dr.s on the off chance that a detainee is telling porkies about his heroin intake?

Yes, prescribing methadone without access to the full facts is a mug's game, but what was the Dr. meant to do? If he had refused treatment that would be seen as denying this charming fella his rights. Dr.s have to make alot of decisions based solely on the information given to them by patients.

I would suggest lying to a Dr to get a buzz is the mug's game.

I would imagine the lesser of the two evils is to refuse to prescribe, at least that way you won't kill anyone.

I'm sorry, are you saying that this girl was guilty of something?

By innocent I mean she should not have been shot dead by a scumbag.

No one should die in Garda custody, but equallu no one should lie about their drug use in an attempt to get a fix of methadone. You play with fire, you get burnt. He got burnt. Badly.

Yes, indeed - you play with fire you get burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

Madden and Finucane also represented one of the Dundons, "Noddy" I believe, the lovable rogue.

It affected my opinion of them, I had considered applying to them for placement but on researching the firm I found this and decided against it.

Can't say I'd be comfortable representing people like that TBH, right wing lunatic that I am:rolleyes:

If you would like something to really get exercised about look at what Michael Staines has made from legal aid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

I would imagine the lesser of the two evils is to refuse to prescribe, at least that way you won't kill anyone.

failure to adminster requested medical assistance would count as duress and could nullify any admissions made whilst in custody, DPP v. Meehan - defendant maintained that methadone was withheld/ administered selectively in order to facilitate confessions.

questioner wrote: »
    failure to adminster requested medical assistance would count as duress and could nullify any admissions made whilst in custody, DPP v. Meehan - defendant maintained that methadone was withheld/ administered selectively in order to facilitate confessions.

but he'd be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

So, based on your logic, if a patient states to a Dr. they have no allergies to certain drugs, the Dr shouldn't take his word for it in case he's lying?

"Are you allergic to penicillin?"

"No"

"I'm sorry, I can't give you any, you might be lying to me. I need to check the national register of all those allergic to antibiotics before I can treat you. That way I won't accidentially kill you."

You know, there is such a thing as personal responsibility. Those who don't excercise it, can, as ebixa says, get burned.

Yes, indeed - you play with fire you get burnt.

FYP

FYP

I'm an old codger, what does that mean?.

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=fyp

Sardonicat wrote: »
    So, based on your logic, if a patient states to a Dr. they have no allergies to certain drugs, the Dr shouldn't take his word for it in case he's lying?

"Are you allergic to penicillin?"

"No"

"I'm sorry, I can't give you any, you might be lying to me. I need to check the national register of all those allergic to antibiotics before I can treat you. That way I won't accidentially kill you."

You know, there is such a thing as personal responsibility. Those who don't excercise it, can, as ebixa says, get burned.

I think trying to compare the prescription of penicillin to the prescription of Methadone is a little bit ludicrous, at best.

I'm aware of this " personal responsibility" you mention, but I don't think drug addicts are really capable of exercising it.

Oh I see, you wanna be a smart arse!.

Sigh...

One thing people hate on boards.ie - spelling & grammar nazi's.

Generally they're as welcomed as a dose of pox.

I think trying to compare the prescription of penicillin to the prescription of Methadone is a little bit ludicrous, at best.

I'm aware of this " personal responsibility" you mention, but I don't think drug addicts are really capable of exercising it.

So because drug addicts are too ****ed on drugs to exercise personal responsibility it is up to everybody else to do so for them? Luck them!

Not everybody else, but a Doctor should.

I don't think it would be unreasonable to expect that the Doctor would make a phone call to the Ballymun Clinic to check whether the lad was on the Methadone treatment programme.

One phone-call could have saved a life. I'm not going to bother getting into the value of that life, but the point still stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The jury made three recommendations in addition to the verdict.

They recommended a methadone protocol be implemented in all Garda stations as soon as possible. They said there should be written medical information on prisoners for those who needed it, including visiting doctors. And they recommended that there should be access out-of-hours to the central treatment list, a list of people being maintained on State methadone programmes.

They all sound pretty sensible and workable to me

“The family of Dwayne Foster intend to reflect carefully on the findings of the inquest into his death and consider what options are now open to them. It is hoped that all concerned, especially An Garda Síochána, will do the same,” the statement said.

Ciarán Lawlor, solicitor for Foster’s partner Selena Cannon, said he had already begun civil legal action against the State, An Garda Síochána and Beaumont Hospital. The action was being taken on behalf of Ms Cannon’s and Foster’s three children and included claims of negligence and breach of duty.

It'll go to court and a decision will be made. I don't see a settlement being made here but who knows
    OP, just as view someone as a scumbag doesn't mean their family can't bring this case.
    We can't pick and choose the cases depending on somebodys background

The State are used to these cases, a recent one in Cork and that joyrider Terence Wheelock.
    Before this case is over we will probably see marches and local politicians getting pulled in to give support. If you are a local you can make representations and make your views known to them too, they represent you.

They'll get their day in court so accept it.