Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man sentenced to go to Mayo...

• 17-09-2010 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭

.........and climb Croagh Patrick.

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/man-must-climb-croagh-patrick-after-abusing-garda-131103.html
    Man must climb Croagh Patrick after abusing garda
    By Seán P Feeny
    Friday, September 17, 2010
    A MAN who verbally abused a garda has been sentenced to climb Croagh Patrick.

Donegal man Joseph McElwee, 38, was outside a pub when he called an on-duty garda a "Mayo wanker" and told him to "**** off home to Mayo". Garda Nicholas Freyne told the court the abuse continued for 10 minutes.

McElwee was charged at Milford District Courtwith threatening, abusive or insulting behaviour, intoxication, disorderly conduct, wilful obstruction and failing to comply with the direction of a garda.

Judge Seamus Hughes told McElwee he was to do the four stations of the famous Mayo pilgrimage as a mark of respect for his fellow Irish people, especially those in the line of duty.

Judge Hughes heard how the defendant was part of a group of three who approached two members of the gardaí outside a pub in Rathmullan and began verbally abusing them on March 28, 2010.

Solicitor Kieran O’Gorman said his client was a 38-year-old unemployed joiner and father-of-two who had never been in bother before and had no previous history of behaviour of this nature.

Judge Hughes, who is a Mayo native himself, asked the defendant whether he had ever been to Co Mayo and climbed Croagh Patrick.

"I want you to come back in a month’s time with evidence that you did the four stations of Croagh Patrick and say a few prayers. You then might have a different impression of Co Mayo and its people."

Judge Hughes said he was very serious about the issue.

Mr O’Gorman asked the judge how his client would be able to prove that he climbed Croagh Patrick.

Judge Hughes replied that he will have questions prepared: "You’d better have the answers, and I will know whether you are telling the truth or not."

This story appeared in the printed version of the Irish Examiner Friday, September 17, 2010

I wish judges did more 'innovative' sentencing.

In a recession we all need the amusement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A judge that is thinking "out of the box" - I like it! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Barrister: we propose that Hell be put forward as a alternative destination for my client, your honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Ghetto Cornetto

That judge is a legend. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,018 ✭✭✭✭klose

To Hell or to Connaught

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Sounded fine until the "say a few prayers" bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I want you to come back in a month’s time with evidence that you did the four stations of Croagh Patrick and say a few prayers

The judge should be stricken off for comments like that, how dare he presume to force religion on someone by use of the courts :mad:

It could have been worse, he could have been sent to Coventry!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To Hell or to Connaught

But aren't they 1 and the same?

The judge should be stricken off for comments like that, how dare he presume to force religion on someone by use of the courts :mad:

It was probably an offhand comment more than anything else. No need to get so annoyed.

This is a brilliant punishment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I can see the headline......

Man falls to death whilst climbing Croagh Patrick under court order.

Didn't know we had the death penalty in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I hope he does the climb backwards, while reciting the mass backwards and wearing a masonic robe. He'll probably cost us thousands having to be rescued by coast guard helicopter. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

mikom wrote: »
    I can see the headline......

Man falls to death whilst climbing Croagh Patrick under court order.

Didn't know we had the death penalty in Ireland.

Well if it happens then I hope this becomes a standard sentence across the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

oh sweet suffering divine.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Great, any Australian Garda I can abuse here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Judge Hughes, who is a Mayo native himself, asked the defendant whether he had ever been to Co Mayo and climbed Croagh Patrick.

"I want you to come back in a month’s time with evidence that you did the four stations of Croagh Patrick and say a few prayers

Personally, I would have told the judge - with the greatest of respect - to go & f*ck himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Personally, I would have told the judge - with the greatest of respect - to go & f*ck himself.
    No you wouldn't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Then you would have gone to jail.

I'd rather serve time than have some halfwit judge forcing his religion on me. I have my principles.

any more jokes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

1. Where's the precedent for this decision, following the notion of Stare Decisis?
    2. The Courts are supposed to enforce the secular law. Odd.

Ugh. It's attitudes like this that makes my blood boil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

dlofnep wrote: »

^^ This.
    Until that bit, I found the sentence absolutely hilarious!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

ILA wrote: »
    1. Where's the precedent for this decision, following the notion of Stare Decisis?

A staring match with the loser going to prison? Cool!

Ugh. It's attitudes like this that makes my blood boil.

People standing up for what they believe in makes your blood boil?

You must be a member of the Green Party so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭stbrennan

I can see some sort of "Deliverence" incident happening out there.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

ILA wrote: »

Precedent: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Convicts_in_Australia

People standing up for what they believe in makes your blood boil?

You must be a member of the Green Party so.

There's standing up for something and then there's being ignorant. In your previous comment, you were the latter.

how so. the judge is using the state legal structure to enforce his religious beliefs on someone as part of their sentence they must carry out and provide proof of.

how the feck are you even supposed to prove you prayed to God or whoever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭elchupanebrey

bonerm wrote: »
    Well if it happens then I hope this becomes a standard sentence across the country.

Yeah send all your scangers over to Mayo. No thanks.:mad:

how so. the judge is using the state legal structure to enforce his religious beliefs on someone as part of their sentence they must carry out and provide proof of.

Video camera, I would assume. I was referring to them telling the judge to f*ck off. No matter what way you put it, that is being ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Judge Hughes said he was very serious about the issue.

Mr O’Gorman asked the judge how his client would be able to prove that he climbed Croagh Patrick.

Judge Hughes replied that he will have questions prepared: "You’d better have the answers, and I will know whether you are telling the truth or not."

An easier solution would be to have video evidence of his climb, instead of a Q&A session.

Video camera, I would assume. I was referring to them telling the judge to f*ck off. No matter what way you put it, that is being ignorant.

And forcing someone - by law - to carry out a religious act, against their principles, isn't ignorant?

How does that work, Ted?

And forcing someone - by law - to carry out a religious act, against their principles, isn't ignorant?

How does that work, Ted?

Sharia law Irish style.

mikom wrote: »
    Sharia law Irish style.

Thanks, Ted. I get it now. :p

How does that work, Ted?

What would you do if you were the judge? Fining them? That won't achieve anything. Sentencing them to a week in jail? That won't do anything either. At least making a 58 year old alcoholic walk up a hill like that will make him think twice about being abusive.

He's 38 and unemployed. Maybe ban him from all pubs for about 6 months..Maybe cut his dole for a few months.

Will there be a Garda watching him do it? Will he have to sign in at every Garda station? What happens if he doesn't turn up?

It's a joke of a sentence.

Making him walk up a hill - maybe. Telling him to pray. No.

When you start bringing religious punishments into secular law, that's a very slippery slope to start on.. the courts aren't confession boxes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

IvySlayer wrote: »
    He's 38 and unemployed. Maybe ban him from all pubs for about 6 months..Maybe cut his dole for a few months.

Will there be a Garda watching him do it? Will he have to sign in at every Garda station? What happens if he doesn't turn up?

It's a joke of a sentence.

Queue the creation of the Garda HillWalking Support Unit (GHSU)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

dlofnep wrote: »

I love how someone who thanked this post has the username "dougal-maguire."

Feck praying ted, its a load of bollocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Should being verbally abusive to a garda really be a punishable offence in itself? I mean, you wouldn't go to court for being verbally abusive to a randomer on the street. You'd be told to move on.

With all the more serious crime going on, should our justice system really be wasting it's time with a guy who omg "called a garda a mayo wanker!!!"?

idk, i'm just inclined to think a modern proffessional police force should be above responsding to petty juvenile insults.

I can understand why physical assault against a garda is treated much more seriously than normal physical assault (the extra detterant stops some people from trying something stupid to get away), but i can't see how mouthing off at the gardaí has any effect.

Just seems like a pointless excercise to demonstrate their authority.

-EDIT- Failing to comply with garda instruction sounds like something proper. Kinda stupid that the story draws attention to the name calling :p.

Should being verbally abusive to a garda really be a punishable offence in itself? I mean, you wouldn't go to court for being verbally abusive to a randomer on the street.

With all the more serious crime going on, should our justice system really be wasting it's time with a drunk who omg "called a garda a mayo wanker!!!"?

idk, i'm just inclined to think a modern proffessional police force should be above responsding to petty juvenile insults.

I can understand why physical assault against a garda is treated much more seriously than normal physical assault (the extra detterant stops some people from trying something stupid to get away), but i can't see how mouthing off at the gardaí has any effect.

Just seems like a pointless excercise to demonstrate their authority.

He followed him for 10 minutes abusing him. I'd say they were patient enough. Gardaí do a hard job and don't need some drunk roaring at them.

yeah, thats bit is fine, no issue with it. Think its quite novel.

But adding the religious part is overstepping a boundary, religion has no place in the legal system. would the same punishment have been given if he was muslim (or other)? Could you imagine the outrage that would have caused?

how can you provide evidence of saying a prayer to God when he doesn't exist? its just unpossible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Apparently it's not enforceable:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/penance-for-garda-insult-is-to-climb-croagh-patrick-2341148.html
    Last night a legal expert said while judges can make suggestions as to ways in which defendants can show their remorse, such unusual proposals, such as climbing Croagh Patrick, are unenforceable under law.

"It does seem a bizarre suggestion, but it's not unprecedented," one legal source explained.

"It's a somewhat more unusual variation of a theme, like paying out to a court poor box or a local charity. It isn't a penalty, just a suggestion that you should do something to show you're truly sorry."

While Judge Hughes has presided over Donegal District Court for less than a year, his occasionally unusual ideas have already attracted attention.

The Mayo man, a Fianna Fail TD between 1992 and 1997, began presiding over District Court proceedings last October.

He often asks defendants who have pleaded guilty to show their regret for their actions by taking part in community charity groups, before deciding what legal penalty to hand down.

Will ye stop talking rot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

what next, will people be circumcised, or ordered to make hajj?

How does that work, Ted?

claiming to say you would have told a judge to go fuck himself and do time in jail instead of climbing a mountain, is pretty damn hilarious...... and hardy, really hardy. i bet that judge wouldn't even sit in a courtroom with you, he would be that petrified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

So would you have refused to swear on the holy bible also ??

bennyc wrote: »

DUN..DUN..DUN..DUUUUUN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

goose2005 wrote: »
    what next, will people be circumcised, or ordered to make hajj?

Like I said a few posts ago, telling this guy to go up a mountain is not an enforceable punishment - it's not even a sentence. Sentence will be passed on October 11. The judge is suggesting the guy goes and climbs the mountain in the meantime to show how sorry he is, but the guy doesn't have to do it (though presumably the judge would give him a lighter sentence if he did).

Suggesting that it will lead to sentences of circumcision or forced hajj is a bit over the top.

This would not be a problem, it's ok to refuse to swear on a bible, I think you just have to make a different oath.

Yes. Why would I swear on a book that means f*ck all to me?