Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

35,000 views in after hours 23,000 views in politics

• 17-09-2010 7:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭

the Brian Cowen morning Ireland interview discussion got 35,000 views in after hours and 23,000 views in politics

why is after hours the centre of www.boards.ie

is it the light touch regulation modding?:eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Brian Cowen hung over is more befitting for AH i recon... considering... you need to be hung over to be in here...

It's like he's trying to be 1 of us :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Becuase I don't want to actually know about politics, just make puns and quips about very serious and worrying situations.

Not everybody is interested in politics, but most people would find something of interest in After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

moonpurple wrote: »

why is after hours the centre of www.boards.ie

More opportunity to Thankswhoretm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

because AH is the lowest common denominator

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

This skanger says "that that back! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Tender Hoop

I have a tender hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Thanks for joining us down here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Rabies wrote: »

I took that as a compliment! :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Honestly I think after hours is moderated in such a way that you have more freedom of speech here than other forums (althou I do not frequent the politics forum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It did happen after hours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Rabies wrote: »

It was a bit of a struggle to drag myself up to this level this morning tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I get all my news updates from AH , thinking of applying for "Who wants to be a Millionaire in the UK", I am so well versed :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

WindSock wrote: »
    More opportunity to Thankswhoretm

:pac:' reach out and touch somebody's hand post
    make this a better world
    if you can'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I used to post in the Politics forum but found that, as you're either preaching to the converted, or arguing against people who have no interest in listening to what you are saying, that you'd have more chance of getting something out of an arse kicking contest if you only had one leg.

The same applies to the Soccer forum.

At least AH, on a good day, is a bit of craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

I used to post in the Politics forum but found that, as you're either preaching to the converted, or arguing against people who have no interest in listening to what you are saying, that you'd have more chance of getting something out of an arse kicking contest if you only had one leg.

sounds like a nail being struck on its top point with vigour:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I never check the politics forum. I don't know enough to contribute and Irish politics is not worth discussing as everyone involved is blatantly incompetent and slightly mentally retarded.
    I lurk on the Irish Economy sub forum though as I like to keep up to date on how fecked we as a country are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Given the active population of Politics Vs the active population of AH the 23K is more impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's pretty much the same on a lot of specialist forums. In some ways, beneath all the pun and fun, you get a way better discussion on AH because you have a large audience with a lot of different opinions.

I do get a lot of my news from AH. I don't watch, read or listen to the news so if something is important or entertaining enough it will be on here before anywhere else anyway.

I love you AH. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Way too many trolls on politics forum.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

squod wrote: »
    Way too many trolls on politics forum.

Hehehehehe.

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    I never check the politics forum...
    ...everyone involved is blatantly incompetent and slightly mentally retarded...
    ..And you know this by never checking it?
    Anyone else spot the contradiction amid other things! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Biggins wrote: »
    ..And you know this by never checking it?
    Anyone else spot the contradiction amid other things! :rolleyes:

I think he's referencing the politicians as opposed to the politics forum posters.

Yea, I got that bit but he said "everyone" involved.
    Talk about tarring all with the same wide brush!

Had he bothered to look into the politics section alone he might have learned that there are some very intelligent people in it.
    ...And thats just the ones that I might not agree with on the other side of the political fence!