Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Twilight anyone...??

• 17-09-2010 2:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Americangirl1

Ok, so I want to know. How huge is Twilight in Ireland.
    NO, I do not like Twilight, the books are ok, but I hate the movies.
    I was wondering if everyone is just obsessed with as much as the Americans and such.

So how do you feel about the Twilight 125 votes

I hate Twilight
    0% 0 votes
    I love Twilight
    68% 86 votes
    It's ok, but I have to say that because my G/F loves it.
    21% 27 votes
    Whats Twilight?
    9% 12 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

We like Jeward.
    None of this Edward Vs Jacob stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I was wondering if everyone is just obsessed with as much as the Americans and such.

Americans... such as yourself? I thought you didn't like it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I liked the books and the films. Although I don't think its as big in Ireland compared to the UK and the US.

I also like twilight its one of my favourite times of the day other than when the sunsets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Larry Murphy loves Twilight.
    Perfect time of day for his raping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I love them, but they're definately not as big here as in the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I'm a big stupid thirty something man bastard but I liked the first Twilight.

Decent teeny vampire, never understood the venom towards it, far worse crap comes out each week.

The second movie I liked even more, lots of gags and the wolves's scenes were great fun, loved the cheesey humour in it also.

The third installment was one of the worst movies I've ever seen, woeful.

Never read the books but have fapped to Kristen Stewart quite a few times.

Last night I see her in the new movie The Runaways about Joan Jett and Lita Ford's first band when they were teens, she was class, as was the movie .. but that's not why you called.

I would say Twilight is loved and hated here just as much and the same as it is all over the world for a variety of different reasons, most of which have little to actually do with the content of the movies themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Ah! The Twilight Zone.
    I remember it well.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I don't think any of the fans here are quite like the American fans... Or I hope not anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

voted all options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Americangirl1

Americans... such as yourself? I thought you didn't like it?

No I just live with a bunch of crazy americans who talk about it non stop. I may be american but thats one craz I didn't get onto. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Hate it personally, although a friend of mine is reading the books and says they're 100bazillion times better than the films. But that wouldn't be hard, cuz my left nut would act better than those wooden "actors" in the films. I cringe every time i see a clip. Horrible, horrible, errible, woeful, crap acting!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

No particular hate towards twilight itself, it seems ****, but so do lots of other things. It's the mega fan girls/boys that annoy me

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

'Hate' is too tame a word for my feelings towards that sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ok, so I want to know. How huge is Twilight in Ireland.

We have it every evening.

Twilight and Twilight fans can all f*ck off and die as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Cannot abide it. I hear about family members bringing my thirteen year old cousin to see it or people buying the books for their young daughters or whatever and I cringe. I hate them from all angles--from a writing perspective, from a feminist perspective and from a film lover's perspective. Horrible, damaging, dangerous sh1te.

And every time you say something like that, some Twilight defender lies in wait to tell you "you're taking them too seriously", or "you don't understand them", or "you've never watched/read them". Wrong, wrong, wrong!

To the first one -- they banned the movie Kids here, a more realistic depiction of sex and teenage dangers in case it endangered kids here (way to totally miss the point censor's board!) but it allows a film where a young girl is stalked by an auld lad, does nothing in his absence (for months at a time) and where both parties consider suicide in each other's absence. Way f.ucked up.

ETA: Not that I'm an advocate for censorship. Just wanted to point out the hypocrisy.

To the second one -- What's there to get? No discernible plot or any action that doesn't build to a climax and then just fizzle out. Each and every time.

To the third one -- I tried with the books. God help me but I did but just a small amount of that Mary-Sue, poorly written crap was enough to make me want to eat my face. As for the films, with all that money generated, you'd think the effects could be... well... good. I laughed heartily at the special effects and that was about all the enjoyment I got from them.

/rant! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Saw the first one in the cinema with the gf. Absolute tripe of a anguished faced, tortured soul "love story" (quotes because there was absolutley no on screen chemistry). The action scenes were surprisingly good after such romantic teeny dialogue and inner monologue. But once he sparkled in the sun I checked out completely.

2nd one I saw a very dodgy pirate copy because I refused to pay to see it. It was just as bad. But still had decent action.

3rd, watched at home. A lot more action which was good but the dialogue is just so bad it's hard to ignore that.

End of the day I seemed to like the vampire/werewolf fights, I'll just watch underworld in future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Never seen it but judging by the hysterics on both sides of the love/hate argument its quite obviously a tweeny fad that will burn itself out in a short while like so many before it. It reminds me of all the fuss that the X Files kicked up back in the day, who here gives much thought to that show anymore and the hype surrounding it was turned all the way up to 11.

People who hate Twilight have to at least admit that its not half as pervasive or obnoxious as that absolute abortion of a show called Sex and the City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

I enjoyed the first three books. Breaking Dawn was the biggest pile of tat I'd ever read though.

It did annoy me that Bella didn't have any ambition and I preferred Jacob, but they were a good light read.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm suprised this never came up sooner... i think it's 1 of U2's better songs from their earlier stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I read the Twilight books a few years ago to see what all the fuss was about. They're fine for kids but the writing is absolutely woeful. They completely brainwash young girls...in the first book Stephanie Meyer constantly describes Edward's appearance and smell. And I mean constantly. The descriptions of Bella are completely vague; she is just a generic awkward teenage girl, so that any awkward teenage girl (are there any other kind?) reading the book can put themselves in her position and imagine they too can encapture the heart of this god-like being.

Meyer also leads her readers to believe that for a guy to stay in a girl's room all night and watch her sleep is romantic, and not in the least bit creepy.

The further along in the series you get, the more ridiculous the story. The final book is utter tosh.

Decided to give the movies a chance since I had devoted my time to reading the books! Turned the first one off after half an hour. I literally couldn't watch the cringe-worthy acting any more. On the plane home from Oz this year I had run out of decent things to watch so stuck on the second movie. Fell asleep about an hour into it.

I know girls around my age (24/25) who are absolutely obsessed with the books, the films, Robert Pattinson, etc and tbh it makes me think they are slightly unintelligent or something.

So yeah...I hate Twilight and all connected to it!

I always think of that funny comic panel where it shows bella going "watching me while I sleep is so romantic" and it depicts just how creepy it actually is, in the comic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I have watched the 3 of them with my daughter and have to say I found them to be ridiculous but she loved them.

She is 10 , I am not , market reached.

Robert Pattison is not good looking he looks like he slept on his stomach for the first few years of his development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Twilight has as much to do with proper vampires as pedagrie chum has to do with werewolves. Twilight is bullshit. Twishite.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Twilight has as much to do with proper vampires as pedagrie chum has to do with werewolves. Twilight is bullshit. Twishite.

There is something you should know.

Kasabian wrote: »

Blade killed em all!!!

Millicent wrote: »
    Cannot abide it. I hear about family members bringing my thirteen year old cousin to see it or people buying the books for their young daughters or whatever and I cringe. I hate them from all angles--from a writing perspective, from a feminist perspective and from a film lover's perspective. Horrible, damaging, dangerous sh1te.

And every time you say something like that, some Twilight defender lies in wait to tell you "you're taking them too seriously", or "you don't understand them", or "you've never watched/read them". Wrong, wrong, wrong!

To the first one -- they banned the movie Kids here, a more realistic depiction of sex and teenage dangers in case it endangered kids here (way to totally miss the point censor's board!) but it allows a film where a young girl is stalked by an auld lad, does nothing in his absence (for months at a time) and where both parties consider suicide in each other's absence. Way f.ucked up.

ETA: Not that I'm an advocate for censorship. Just wanted to point out the hypocrisy.

To the second one -- What's there to get? No discernible plot or any action that doesn't build to a climax and then just fizzle out. Each and every time.

To the third one -- I tried with the books. God help me but I did but just a small amount of that Mary-Sue, poorly written crap was enough to want me want to eat my face. As for the films, with all that money generated, you'd think the effects could be... well... good. I laughed heartily at the special effects and that was about all the enjoyment I got from them.

/rant! :pac:

You rant eloquently :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I'd imagine it's as big here as it is in America.
    Swooning teenage girls are everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I dont hate Twilight, I despise it and everything to do with it in general.

I've seen this pic a thousand times and I still want the final Twilight movie to end like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Proper vampires from literature. Like, you know, Dracula. Vampires... like, properly... ah, fuck it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Who?
    What?
    Where?
    When?

Seriously, wtf is twilight???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Checkbox fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Being 100% Honest.

I'd shag the females.
    Hit the males over the head with lump hammers and teach the scriptwriters how to write a decent script!

The wife loves the boring, moaning rubbish.
    I can't stand it. I keep hoping the females will get their kit off but its like watching an episode of Eastenders - no hope and a schite load of depression!

I think this sums it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I loved the Twilight books. The movies are crappy! They are too "hollywoodised". I did drag my poor misfrotunate boyfriend to see them. I enjoyed seeing him squirm and 2 hours of muttering and swearing to himself! But, I won't do it again.

I was in forbidden planet in Belfast a few weeks ago and I was looking at merchandise and a loads of big girls walked in well over 30 and were like OH MY GOD EDWARD BAGS! OH MY GOD JACOB BAGS!!! It's sad that they are in love with a fictional character and what they represent! I enjoyed the fiction, but I do love my real life... where vampires are not real!

These guys are taking it too far, imagine if this was Ireland. Exorcisms all round! :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q77sJT8O56E&feature=player_embedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Where's that thread gone that names the topics that have been flogged to death on AH? Surely this was one of them. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I read the books. Thought they were alright, didn't have to be putting much effort into reading them.
    The films are pure sh1te and gets worse with each one. And i really and truly can't get the hype over Edward/Robert Pattison. Was so wtf after reading the description of him in the book and then seeing who they picked to play the role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Biggins wrote: »
    Being 100% Honest.

I'd shag the females.
    Hit the males over the head with lump hammers and teach the scriptwriters how to write a decent script!

The wife loves the boring, moaning rubbish.
    I can't stand it. I keep hoping the females will get their kit off but its like watching an episode of Eastenders - no hope and a schite load of depression!

Did anyone else read this in a Ferengi voice?

What kind of quarky person reads things in a ferengi voice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i read the books, not something i'm proud of, but i did. they are waffle but i still wanted to know what was gonna happen so i devoured them like a psychopath. i've only seen the first film and i think it's utter muck. don't hate twilight, don't really care about it tbh.

Fair play to you!

I got four pages in to the first one (just for curiosity's sake) and had to put it down as I wanted to falcon punch yer one in to next century. It was terrible whiny tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I enjoyed the books they were easy to read, in fact i read all 4 in 4 days.

I take my daughter to the cinema to see the films (she loves them), i enjoy the films too.

I do like more murder/psychological stuff so twilight is refreshing light and i don't have to concentrate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I do like the books, I got the first book in 2006 as a present for my birthday and I really enjoyed it after that I got the books as they came out. The movies are rubbish :mad: So much of the story was taken out and Robert Patterson! What the hell happened to him he was great in Harry Potter and now he's just awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

chin_grin wrote: »
    Fair play to you!

I got four pages in to the first one (just for curiosity's sake) and had to put it down as I wanted to falcon punch yer one in to next century. It was terrible whiny tripe.

:o i have a lot of time on my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

I read the books before the films came out so I could give an opinion on them, they were dull and silly.
    I watching the films to see how they turned out, they were very very dull.

Just when you look at them you realise its not a nice story at all. The girl has no personality at all, except for being pretentious, lets herself get pushed around, is utterly obsessed with her sparkly vampire boyfriend yet only seems to like him for his looks- She never mentions anything about his personality.
    The vampire boyfriend is completely controlling, never gives any reason why he likes the girl... its really all a classic example of an abusive relationship.
    In the end the girl even changes herself completely, giving up her family, so she can be with him.

Noodleworm wrote: »
    I read the books before the films came out so I could give an opinion on them, they were dull and silly.
    I watching the films to see how they turned out, they were very very dull.

Just when you look at them you realise its not a nice story at all. The girl has no personality at all, except for being pretentious, lets herself get pushed around, is utterly obsessed with her sparkly vampire boyfriend yet only seems to like him for his looks- She never mentions anything about his personality.
    The vampire boyfriend is completely controlling, never gives any reason why he likes the girl... its really all a classic example of an abusive relationship.
    In the end the girl even changes herself completely, giving up her family, so she can be with him.

Saved me a read. Cheers! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I have watched the 3 of them with my daughter and have to say I found them to be ridiculous but she loved them.

She is 10 , I am not , market reached.

Robert Pattison is not good looking he looks like he slept on his stomach for the first few years of his development.

That is all!