Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC Players' Championships at the City West

• 16-09-2010 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭

Newsflash from the PDC !

THE two PDC Players Championship events in Dublin in October will be open for entry to non-PDPA members.

Two Players Championships will take place on October 2 and 3 at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin, ahead of the start of the Bodog.com World Grand Prix.

As with other non-UK Players Championships, the tournaments will be open for entry to PDPA members and also for non-PDPA members resident outside the United Kingdom.

This means that any player with a Republic of Ireland passport or eligible to receive a Republic of Ireland passport would be allowed to enter, along with other non-UK non-members from around the world.

PDPA members should enter as usual through the PDC Online Entry System.

Non-members can enter by paying €125 per competition.
    Entry must be made via Michael O'Sullivan at 29 Mervue Crecent, Ballyvolane, Cork, Ireland. For more information, call 00353 (0)87 264 8291 or email to mcjosullivan@eircom.net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 sean501

When is the closing date for entries please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

sean501 wrote: »
    When is the closing date for entries please?

Entries have to be with the PDC before midday on Wednesday, September 29th., - - - so, fees will have to be paid not later than Tuesday, September 28th.

If you are in Tramore next week, Sean, I will collect them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

Anybody goin up to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

I dont think its open to the public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Daffy501

Right there Jake its not open to the public , however if your lucky enough to know one of the players(PDPA member) who has entered you can get in via them as a guest.
    As far as i know each player(PDPA member) who enters can take 2/3 guests in with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jake The Fat Ma

I'm going up anyway because I am marking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Just noticed Taylor and Barney not entered into any of these 2 tournaments.

Taylor has been known to miss a few of these players championship events but he's already well qualified for the grand final in the Circus Tavern next January but Barney has no interest in this tournament and will miss this event again for a 2nd year in a row and personally I think Barney is doing himself no favours dismissing events like these.

Best of luck to all the Irish players involved tomorrow and Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

William led the way with a strong Irish field getting as far as the Third round. Dave Coyne gave a very good account of himself too.

http://www.irldarts.com/2010/10/02/pdc-dublin-players-championship-saturday/

Whitlock v Priestley in the final,just about to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Just noticed Taylor and Barney not entered into any of these 2 tournaments.

Taylor has been known to miss a few of these players championship events but he's already well qualified for the grand final in the Circus Tavern next January but Barney has no interest in this tournament and will miss this event again for a 2nd year in a row and personally I think Barney is doing himself no favours dismissing events like these.

Best of luck to all the Irish players involved tomorrow and Sunday.

100% agree and I think the lack of competitive match practice shows when the big tournaments come around. It would certainly do him no harm to get some practice in for this week seen as he'll be over here anyway.

I think I did hear somewhere recently he had a back problem, anyone know anything about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Final -
    Simon Whitlock 6-1 Dennis Priestley
    Winner £6,000
    Runner-Up £3,000

Devastator wrote: »
    100% agree and I think the lack of competitive match practice shows when the big tournaments come around. It would certainly do him no harm to get some practice in for this week seen as he'll be over here anyway.

I think I did hear somewhere recently he had a back problem, anyone know anything about this?
    He was entered into the players championship tournaments in Nuland Holland a few weeks back but withdrew due to a back problem according to the PDC website. As you said Devastator you'd think he'd have entered the Saturday and Sunday tournaments in Dublin to get a bit of match practice before his game against John Magowan Tuesday night?

Well done to Simon Whitlock on his win and his 5th players championship tournament victory in total this year. Dennis Priestley is an inspiration to any darts player,still chucking top class arrows at 60,what a brilliant player. Also well done to the 2 semi finalists Justin Pipe and Ian White.

Day 2 underway in Citywest and a good start made by the Irish players with Brendan Dolan,Mick McGowan,John Magowan,William O'Connor,Aodhagan O'Neil,Michael Mansell,Denis McCarthy and David Coyne all winning their 1st round games and guaranteeing themselves at least £200 for reaching the 2nd round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sillesy

does anyone have any link that i can watch todays games online for free?

sillesy wrote: »
    does anyone have any link that i can watch todays games online for free?
    There's no TV coverage of today's tournament but the World Grand Prix starts tomorrow and there will be plenty of sites to watch the games online. A good site for darts coverage is www.myp2p.eu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

not going well all irish players beaten in rd2 so far. brendan dolan playing mickey mansell so there'll be one in rd3 and aodhagen is still playing his rd2 game.

Mickey Mansell keeping the flag flying,on a great run today and he's into the quarter finals where he plays Denis Smith. Quarter final results; Jamie Caven 6 Jelle Klaasen 1,Steve Beaton 6 Wayne Jones 4. Other quarter final game is Ronnie Baxter v Tony Eccles.

now into the semi's. 6-1 win over Smith. Fair play.

Cracking win for Mansell.

6-4 to Caven but if i'm not mistaken thats the joint best run an irish (north or south) player has had in the pdc?

Caven wins final 6-5 against Baxter. Good day for Mickey Mansell. Probably the best placed finish this year in a PDC tournament for an Irish player (north or south).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

padr81 wrote: »
    6-4 to Caven but if i'm not mistaken thats the joint best run an irish (north or south) player has had in the pdc?

Mick mac gowan was in a final of a pro tour event in scotland few yrs back. Brendan dolan was also in a final.

Mick won vauxhall and the irish classic, 2 of which were pro tour events. Vauxhall being a pro 128 back in 2006 and same yr for the irish classic.

Dicie wrote: »
    Mick mac gowan was in a final of a pro tour event in scotland few yrs back. Brendan dolan was also in a final.

Mick won vauxhall and the irish classic, 2 of which were pro tour events. Vauxhall being a pro 128 back in 2006 and same yr for the irish classic.

cheers Dicie mate, your full of stats. I forgot Felix McBrearty who won one as well if I'm not mistaken (although I usually am)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

was in city west tonight, full of coke sniffing, pint swlling a-holes - trust the irish to ruin it - fights with bouncers etc etc - left before taylor even came on - never again:mad:

Sorry to hear your night was ruined. It's getting worse there every year. The genuine darts fan is suffering because of these as**oles.