Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glasgow Warriors v Connacht Rugby, Fri 17th Sep. KO 19.30.

• 16-09-2010 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

Glasgow are unbeaten in their last three games against Connacht, whilst Connacht's only previous win in Glasgow was 30-19 at Hughenden on 26 September 2003.

Glasgow Warriors' slip up at Newport Gwent Dragons ended a five game winning run in regular season Magners
    League matches. The Warriors only defeat in their last nine encounters at Firhill in all competitions was 7-30 to
    Cardiff Blues on 19 February. Glasgow have not lost at home to an Irish side since Ulster were the visitors on 17
    April 2009.

Connacht's narrow 33-35 loss at Scarlets on Saturday was notable for wing Fionn Carr who became just the
    second Connacht hat-trick scorer in Magners League history, following Wayne Munn against Caerphilly in 2001.

The Irishmen have not won in Scotland since a visit to the now disbanded Border Reivers on 1 September 2006.

Referee: Leighton Hodges (WRU, 2nd League game).

Connacht Squad to face Glasgow Warriors

Forwards:
    Ronan Loughney, Brett Wilkinson, Sean Cronin, Adrian Flavin, Rob Sweeney, Jamie Hagan, Andrew Browne, Dave Nolan, Michael Swift, Bernie Upton, Michael McCarthy, Ray Ofisa, Mike McComish, Shane Conneely
    Backs:
    Cillian Willis, Frank Murphy, Miah Nikora, Ian Keatley, Fionn Carr, Keith Matthews, Niva Taauso, Tiernan OHalloran, Aidan Wynne, Troy Nathan, Gavin Duffy, Darragh Fanning.

Glasgow Warriors squad to play Connacht

Forwards: Ryan Grant, Ed Kalman, Moray Low, Kevin Tkachuk, Jon Welsh, Pat MacArthur, Fergus Thomson, Richie Gray, Aly Muldowney, Tom Ryder, John Barclay, Calum Forrester, Rob Harley, Ryan Wilson, Richie Vernon

Backs: Colin Gregor, Henry Pyrgos, Ruaridh Jackson, Duncan Weir, Rob Dewey, Max Evans, Graeme Morrison, Peter Murchie, Hefin O'Hare, DTH van der Merwe, Bernardo Stortoni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

A Losing Bonus point would be great,
    but I feel with the injuries we have at the moment it might be a step too far.

7 point from 3 games(2 away) and a + in the score diff column. This would constitute a great start to the season.

Keep the Maul rolling Lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

Eric Elwood has named his starting XV to play the Glasgow Warriors tomorrow evening (Firhill, 19.30)

The team sees just one change from the side that narrowly lost to Scarlets last weekend. Andrew Browne marks his return from injury and replaces Dave Nolan on the bench.

Ray Ofisa, Niva Ta'auso and Bernie Upton all passed fitness tests and travelled with the squad to Glasgow this morning.
    Scrumhalf Frank Murphy continues to deputise for the injured John Muldoon.

Connacht v Warriors - Firhill, Friday 17th ko 19.30

1 Brett Wilkinson
    2 Sean Cronin
    3 Jamie Hagan
    4 Michael Swift
    5 Bernie Upton
    6 Michael McCarthy
    7 Ray Ofisa
    8 Mike McComish
    9 Frank Murphy (C)
    10 Ian Keatley
    11 Fionn Carr
    12 Keith Matthews
    13 Niva Ta’auso
    14 Troy Nathan
    15 Gavin Duffy

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Ronan Loughney
    18 Rob Sweeney
    19 Andrew Browne
    20 Shane Conneely
    21 Cillian Willis
    22 Miah Nikora
    23 Tiernan O’Halloran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭redroar1942

Cillian Willis could turn out to be a great signing, he offers something completely different to Murphy and is ideal for the high tempo game Elwood favours.

I'd be worried how long some of the starting team will last but Glasgow are ropey enough themselves and tend not to put teams to the sword. I think a losing BP is doable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I'm expecting a very tight game. A losing bonus is more than do-able. I know they bet Leinster but I put that down to Leinster relaxing mid game thinking it was job done and also Glasgow being well up for the game seeing as it was the opening fixture. They are beatable but with so many niggly injuries, I think we won't be able to beat the away game hoodoo just yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

why is murphy captain, willis is a much better option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

outwest wrote: »
    why is murphy captain, willis is a much better option

As captain? :confused:

Do you mean in general at scrum half? If so i disagree completely. Willis has no control on the game and can be poor at the ruck which leads him to hit quick balls from it even when the attacking line isn't really formed, he also has no boot. Based on last season with Ulster, i'd take Conor O' to start ahead of him if Murphy was injured. Good awareness and passer though.

He would make a good impact sub though as him and Murphy are polar opposites at scrum half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

the amount of times murphy messed up a attacking move last season was awful, his can be poor with decision making,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

outwest wrote: »
    the amount of times murphy messed up a attacking move last season was awful, his can be poor with decision making,

Ya i agree he can and he constantly over hits passes from quick rucking. But the man can be on the forefront of nearly all Connacht's attacking movement and is amazing at using the back row like a French scrum half, best in the country in fact. He is far from perfect but is light years ahead of Willis with an excels at an array of skills that Willis doesn't have in his game at all (pace control, a boot, etc) and Murphy was one of ours stars in the second half of last season which was even highlighted by our national press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

Ya i agree he can and he constantly over hits passes from quick rucking. But the man can be on the forefront of nearly all Connacht's attacking movement and is amazing at using the back row like a French scrum half, best in the country in fact. He is far from perfect but is light years ahead of Willis with an excels at an array of skills that Willis doesn't have in his game at all (pace control, a boot, etc) and Murphy was one of ours stars in the second half of last season which was even highlighted by our national press.

Boot?

One thing that Frank rarely gets right is his box kicks. How many times have I seen accidental 10 meter up and unders within our own 22 from Frank? Too many I tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

If I was not snowed under with work I would head up to this game :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

On the evidence of last week's performance, Connacht should give this a right go. Ye should be within 10 at least.

Glasgow Warriors team to play Connacht at Firhill on Friday 17 September (kick-off 7.30pm)

15 Bernardo Stortoni
    14 DTH van der Merwe
    13 Max Evans
    12 Graeme Morrison
    11 Hefin O'Hare
    10 Ruaridh Jackson
    9 Colin Gregor

1 Jon Welsh
    2 Fergus Thomson
    3 Ed Kalman
    4 Tom Ryder
    5 Richie Gray
    6 Robert Harley
    7 John Barclay CAPTAIN
    8 Richie Vernon

Substitutes
    16 Pat MacArthur
    17 Kevin Tkachuk
    18 Moray Low
    19 Aly Muldowney
    20 Calum Forrester
    21 Henry Pyrgos
    22 Duncan Weir
    23 Peter Murchie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

real pity its not on tv, i though all games were on tv in one shape or another

gally74 wrote: »
    real pity its not on tv, i though all games were on tv in one shape or another

BBC ALBA are the sole Scottish host broadcaster and they only have the budget to broadcast one game a weekend.

As they doing Ulster vs Edinburgh (which I find absurb given that BBCNI are showing it), it means no Glasgow vs Connacht. If ALBA can't provide a feed, it means everyone else misses out too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

BBC ALBA are the sole Scottish host broadcaster and they only have the budget to broadcast one game a weekend.

As they doing Ulster vs Edinburgh (which I find absurb given that BBCNI are showing it), it means no Glasgow vs Connacht. If ALBA can't provide a feed, it means everyone else misses out too.

That's a bit silly. Surely they haven't traipsed a load of equipment over to NI for the game if there is another BBC team there?

Podge_irl wrote: »
    That's a bit silly. Surely they haven't traipsed a load of equipment over to NI for the game if there is another BBC team there?

I'd say they are using the NI feed but it looks like they can only broadcast (they don't have to be hosts) one game a week.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'd say they are using the NI feed but it looks like they can only broadcast (they don't have to be hosts) one game a week.

I would have thought any limit to broadcasting abilities would involve only having one camera team to send. Though I suppose if they've sent their commentators to NI then it's a problem.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I would have thought any limit to broadcasting abilities would involve only having one camera team to send. Though I suppose if they've sent their commentators to NI then it's a problem.

Tbh I don't know all the facts. All I've heard is they are on a shoestring budget and can only broadcast a game a week, for whatever reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Ulster vs Edinburgh is on 3 channels - BBC2NI/BBC ALBA/RTE2 which seems a bit much really. AFAIK BBC ALBA is only available on satellite, so those with satellite in Scotland can already get BBCNI while most in ROI can get BBCNI as well as RTE. BTW BBC ALBA covered 2 games last weekend - Edinburgh vs Munster and Dragons vs Glasgow.

You're right, didn't notice that.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Live coverage for this on Galway Bay FM, live text updates on Connacht's Facebook page and KnockOn.ie.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Live coverage for this on Galway Bay FM, live text updates on Connacht's Facebook page and KnockOn.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Live commentary on Galway Bay FM and streamed online on www.galwaynews.ie/galwaybayfm , also live text updates on www.knockon.ie

Will be happy with a losing bonus point tonight, Glasgow has always been a tough venue for us. 7 points from the first 3 games would be great provided we can get a result against Ulster next week.

Edit: Strange, posted at same time as Robbo but didn't show up until 12.27...

HT Glasgow 8 Connacht 13. Another Fionn Carr try!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Connacht were 8 nil down half time
    8 13 too connacht
    Scrum supposedly well on top from knockon.ie away win would be huge

G'wan Connacht!! Unreal stuff.

Hopefully it won't be another heartbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Excellent stuff so far.:cool:

Fionn Carr with a brace? Definitely shouldnt be anywhere near the Irish side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

G'Wan lads you heroes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

YEEEEEOOOOOOOOWWWW!!!

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 19-17 win for Connacht! :D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭RogerThis

Well done the lads from the West. First away win in 2 years.
    Eric is the man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Good Stuff. Fair play Eric and the Boys!

Stand up for the Connacht lads,
    Stand up FOR THE CONNACHT LADS!!!!!!

****ing awesome Connacht! Liginds!!!!!!!! :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭darrenh

Mighty stuff!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Fair play to Connacht, especially considering their injuries.

Not an easy place to go as both Leinster and Munster know. Good to see all 4 provinces being pretty competitive this year.

Wish it was televised. Can you imagine the celebrations at the end? :D

Liginds. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Glasgow 17 - 19(8 - 13) Connacht R

Tries: Glasgow
    Morrison

Tries: Connacht
    Carr

Penalties: Glasgow
    Jackson 4

Penalties: Connacht
    Keatley 4

Conversions: Connacht
    Keatley

Great win for the lads on the road. Top of the League! (for the moment anyway)

That's two good even games, that Connacht have been involved in that haven't been televised. These games are a lot more watchable than the other run away games that are going on to-night. They show Sarlets v's Aironi on BBC 2 Wales, but not the Connacht game. What's up with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Go on Connacht, Eric Elwood FTW.:D

Brilant !!!!!

RogerThis wrote: »
    That's two good even games, that Connacht have been involved in that haven't been televised. These games are a lot more watchable than the other run away games that are going on to-night. They show Sarlets v's Aironi on BBC 2 Wales, but not the Connacht game. What's up with that?

Tbf, BBC Wales are always going to show a match with a welsh team instead of one without.

There should be a boards meet up at the ulster game

Risteard wrote: »
    Tbf, BBC Wales are always going to show a match with a welsh team instead of one without.
    I was more talking about the game last week @ 3 when there were no other matches on. RTE should be showing the Connacht game tonight, because the Ulster game is on BBC NI too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Fair Play Connacht.

3 brilliant efforts resulting in ten points. Same three fixtures last season resulted in 4 points I think.

I was more talking about the game last week @ 3 when there were no other matches on. RTE should be showing the Connacht game tonight, because the Ulster game is on BBC NI too.

I agree with that. The vast majority of people can get BBC in Ireland. Makes no sense to have it on both channels. It was also on BBC Alba as well I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

RTE aren't going to send a crew over to Scotland to cover a game. Unless the home TV station covers a game, it won't be televised.

I'm really looking forward to Connacht vs Ulster next week now! :)

Great night for the provinces, let's hope tommorrow is just as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

get as many as possible to the sportsground next weekend

I feel like getting a ticket if my budget allows 2 games in 2 weeks and a trip to Galway! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I'm over the ****in moon at our 1st away win in nearly 2 years. Cannot wait for next Saturday. Everybody that can, needs to go and support the lads. They ****ing deserve it.

There's only one King Eric, and his surname is Elwood