Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connolly Station

• 15-09-2010 3:27pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

So came through Connolly Station today and needed to use the toilet. I thought, grand, there they are hidden in the corner. I get there and you have to pay 20c to take a leak! I was feeling a mixture of anger and embarrasment. Embarrasment because of the American tourist who I walked past coming out asking one of the station people who was just standing there where she could get 20c from. There was actually a chnge machine there and all. But what the man said to her was "welcome to Ireland" - reffering to the stupidity of having to pay to use facilities like that in a main transport hub.

But it does not end there - oh no. This being Dublin a degree of farce was inevitable for when I reluctantly paid 20c and got in there there were two junkies sitting on the ground off their heads! - with no one saying anything or doing anything. A cleaning lady was just looking at them (ironically she was foreign and probrably just observing the delightful scene in front of her). Im not a small guy and even I thought it was intimidating - this at 1pm!

What an image of our country. My city makes me so proud:mad:

P.S the users where not too happy about this situation. I heard "this is stupid" 3 or 4 times because there was a fecking queue waiting to pay! Quite right they are too. Such stupid people in this country, honestly.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

I was under the impression you had to pay for the facilities in order to keep them in good condition?

I would be pretty annoyed to say the least if I saw junkies in there doing that, if I had to pay for going in, in the first place.

I wouldn't mind so much if I didn't have to pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

devnull wrote: »
    I was under the impression you had to pay for the facilities in order to keep them in good condition?

I would be pretty annoyed to say the least if I saw junkies in there doing that, if I had to pay for going in, in the first place.

I wouldn't mind so much if I didn't have to pay.

So was I!

What I could not understand was the two junkies were in there and there was an IE guy just outside (like he was showing people what to do to pay or something). The whole thing was just so rediculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

It's a similar situation in the loos up the top of the Stephen's Green shopping centre. I don't get it, a main thoroughfare area of the city and they're so cheap they need to scrounge the cleaning bill off of the passengers who use the area, and even then they can't even keep the place up to a certain standard?

But this is not St Stephens Green, a private store, this is the busiest station in the country.

Would you see this in Central Station in Washington!? No. Because I have been there and in many other Capitals. You just don't see this in major stations elsewhere. Paying to use the toilets AFTER paying your fare?

If they wanted to stop non rail users and junkies using them would it not have made sense to put them behind the ticket barriers somewhere free of charge? That would be too sensible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

darkman2 wrote: »

But it does not end there - oh no. This being Dublin a degree of farce was inevitable for when I reluctantly paid 20c and got in there there were two junkies sitting on the ground off their heads! - with no one saying anything or doing anything. A cleaning lady was just looking at them (ironically she was foreign and probrably just observing the delightful scene in front of her). Im not a small guy and even I thought it was intimidating - this at 1pm!

Did you say or do anything, like complain to station staff or security? Out of curiosity were the toilets clean apart from the junkies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The OP should have allerted STT rail security, they would have had them removed in a flash. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

You should have brought this to someones attention o.p , its not gonna go away by posting it up here!!! Other option you could have gone toilet on the junkies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Same thing in London stations, I've noticed.

Connolly is in a fairly dodgy area - maybe the idea is to discourage the junkies, though it's obviously not working, since you saw them there, darkman2.

Did you say or do anything, like complain to station staff or security? Out of curiosity were the toilets clean apart from the junkies?

First question - no. I was in a hurry.

Second question - yes they were quite clean.

Connolly is in a fairly dodgy area - maybe the idea is to discourage the junkies, though it's obviously not working, since you saw them there, darkman2.

It clearly does not - and I would have thought would it ever discourage them? 20c with a change machine aswell? Is junkies the real reason - i doubt it? They don't even have those flourescent lights.

First question - no. I was in a hurry.

Second question - yes they were quite clean.

So it seems twp junkies paid 20cent got it and stayed there till until someone actually took 10 seconds to report this!!!
    Most pointless thread ever!

Oliver1985 wrote: »
    So it seems twp junkies paid 20cent got it and stayed there till until someone actually took 10 seconds to report this!!!
    Most pointless thread ever!

No I will tell you exactly what happened. I actually spent 10 minutes in total there because one guy (not sure if he was one of the junkies) was pretending to be a garda. I actually believed myself he was and thought I will wait till this clears partly also curious as to what may happen. The accent was perfect but sadly it was not a garda clearly.

So that's what happened and frankly I have not got time to be fcuking around having to complain in main stations when im late for my train. It's very simple to me. Security do their fcuking job so passengers are left in peace. €4.20 return for me every day, so not only am I and others ripped off but we have to complain aswell?....possibly miss our train and just generally be pissed off after a hard day (morning) in work.

Don't try and pass blame for this onto passengers. Passengers are not to blame here.

Not trying to blame you, but all im saying it would take couple of seconds there is always some staff presence around there or security " couple of junkies in the toilets there":p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Am I the only one who fails to see the irony here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056019284

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Transportuser09

Personally I find the new toilets in Connolly to be in a lot better condition than the ones of old, perhaps the 20c charge is working in this respect. And the other two city transport termini, Heuston and Busaras, have had toilet charges for years prior to Connolly, so it's not a unique thing. Granted it can be frustrating trying to find a 20c at times. As for the junkies, others have pointed out the presence of STT security who from what I've seen are quite efficient at sorting out such problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

OP, is there a reason you didn't inform security?

Yeah ranting here is fine but we're not going to solve it

What? You are not allowed to say someone is foreign anymore?

It fascinates me what tourists and newcomers think of the nice little junky filled cesspit of a capital we have created.

No, just running for the train. Like I said there was no security visible that I could see. And I know the guys your talking about. I did not see them at all today. Im sure others will say the same if they passed through the station. I don't know why that is.

What? You are not allowed to say someone is foreign anymore?

It fascinates me what tourists and newcomers think of the nice little junky filled cesspit of a capital we have created.

I didn't say that.
    I just don't see how a person being foreign can be classed as irony :confused:

And all major cities have drug problems. Dublin is certainly not the worst of them.

I didn't say that.

And all major cities have drug problems. Dublin is certainly not the worst of them.

No, Dublin is not the worst however Dublin is the worst for junkies if your a tourist because Junkies are everywhere in the city center essecially the Northside and boardwalks. You will see the dealing along all parts of the liffey during the morning rush. The afternoon is strung out time whilst minding the kids.

Why is Dublin the worst for visitors - because of the location of all the meth clinics. They should not be in the center of the city. I think it's intimidating and a really bad image to be giving.

I didn't say that.

True, my mistake.

No, Dublin is not the worst however Dublin is the worst for junkies if your a tourist because Junkies are everywhere in the city center essecially the Northside and boardwalks. You will see the dealing along all parts of the liffey during the morning rush. The afternoon is strung out time whilst minding the kids.

Why is Dublin the worst for visitors - because of the location of all the meth clinics. They should not be in the center of the city. I think it's intimidating and a really bad image to be giving

What is the alternative though? Meth clinics in the suburbs? That would be met with fierce opposition I imagine.

Against having the center of our Capital City used as a playground for them? How many Capitals around the world have there tourist and city center spots so ravaged with junkies? Picture it if it was your first time here. What would you think? They are there on O'Connell St once the 16A arrives from the airport early in the morning. You would want to witness the spectacle on certain mornings. To say it's embarrasing for us and intimidating for them is an understatement.

You only need to ask Luas users about it!

Of course we could just end treatment all together and get a proper police force to enforce a no tolerance policy. I would support that. I have no time or symphathy for junkies. And im not the only one!

Against having the center of our Capital City used as a playground for them? How many Capitals around the world have there tourist and city center spots so ravaged with junkies? Picture it if it was your first time here. What would you think? They are there on O'Connell St once the 16A arrives from the airport early in the morning. You would want to witness the spectacle on certain mornings. To say it's embarrasing for us and intimidating for them is an understatement.

Of course we could just end treatment all together and get a proper police force to enforce a no tolerance policy. I would support that. I have no time or symphathy for junkies. And im not the only one!

That would require millions of euro, which we don't have.

And would you accept meth clinics in the suburbs as an alternative? I know I would be furious if one opened on my road. I'd say most non-city dwellers would be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Not trying to blame you, but all im saying it would take couple of seconds there is always some staff presence around there or security " couple of junkies in the toilets there":p

There was a member of staff directly outside the toilets according to the OP>

It doesn't seem like much of a delay to say "there are two junkies in there" before running for the train.

Just to note, there seems to only be two sentences in your post (barely) relating to Commuting & Transport.

Can we reserve discussions of junkies, locations of meth clinics, no tolerance policies and so forth to their relevant forums please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭D.L.R.

Irish Rail suuuuuuuuuuuuuuucks. But its not really their fault, they are allowed get away with being a cruddy and half arsed organisation. This meets govt standards by all accounts.

We've a stingy attitude to the whole public service thing, goes back to the famine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭SeanW

To be fair to IE, Connolly(/Heuston?) is not the only place in the world you have to pay to use the jacks - I had to pay when I used them in Germany and Amsterdam Centraal a few years ago.

I'm not surprised about the junkies - the last two times I was in Dublin City I went to a toilet in Burger King (different ones on O'Connell St.) only to find people I suspect of "shooting up" in both locations at both times. Note: I'm not singling out the Burger Kings here as I'm sure it happens elsewhere. I just had never noticed it before. Found it a little intimidating, even though they probably weren't looking for trouble.

There are everywhere the junkies any public toilet you are bound to get them!!!
    I have to admit the board walk is shocking , They should are be rounded up and put on an island!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

there are so many staff members wlking around connolly station these junkies were probably seen going into the toilets by one!

Yeah ranting here is fine but we're not going to solve it
    why should any passenger do the job of the security and irish rail staff when legitimate passengers get penalised for not having a photo id or for not buying their ticket at the station because they were late for the train and they get fined even though there is a ticket seller/inspector on board who could easily sell them a ticket but choses to fine tham instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I'm sure I've mentioned it before but I really love some of the barrier staff at Connolly. Last week I had a ticket office issued ticket which, as per usual, would not operate the barrier so I approached the Board's servant manning the contol panel (?). I explained the problem and had a totally one-sided conversation with him - nor a word passed his lips and I proceeded though the barrier behind someone else. Do you think that perhaps he was dead? I'm sure that I've seen more life in one of Dublin Zoo's alligators - you know the one's that you assume are stuffed until you see an eyelid blink. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Transportuser09

foggy_lad wrote: »
    why should any passenger do the job of the security and irish rail staff when legitimate passengers get penalised for not having a photo id or for not buying their ticket at the station because they were late for the train and they get fined even though there is a ticket seller/inspector on board who could easily sell them a ticket but choses to fine tham instead?

I don't see the problem with telling security if something is up. They're not neccessarily doing the job of security; if you see something wrong it makes sense to report it if you have the time, it's not like passengers are being expected to remove the junkies themselves. The ticketing thing is propably off topic but in the case of the photo id thing that rule is there to stop multiple users travelling on the one ticket (or the ticket being sold on). So the staff are only doing their job.

I see a problem and I think of the fastest possible solution that will help me.
    In this case, it's finding a security guard or if you can't find one, just tell any member of staff.
    Doing the job of security would mean you're expecting the OP to remove the junkies, nobody ever implied that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

So basically OP what you're saying is that something should be done because it's a problem to passengers such as yourself..... and yet you couldn't be bothered to do anything about it?

The IE staff aren't omnipresent and they would have no reason to go into the public toilets what with there being contractors doing the cleaning rather than the IE staff.

We're not psychic. You need to inform us of your problems, we can't guess them.

mickydoomsux - since you appear to be the IE staff rep here perhaps you could answer my point about the level of ignorance of some of your barrier staff - but you can't because it is indefensible so like Dick Fearn, when I write to him, you only respond to those issues on which you have a leg to stand. Incidentally, regardless of contractors being involved in the toilets that does not absolve CIE/IE of some responsibility for keeping an eye on their property.

Is that really fair?

If mickeydoomsux wants to participate here and contribute, or offer the other side of the coin, fine. If he wants to answer questions about the "why" of the situation, great.

You may as well go to the Motors forum, pick someone who's known to be a car salesperson, and then ask them on-thread to answer why all car salespeople are bad at returning phonecalls.

Chris - I think I'm being fair. If he comes on here defending CIE/IE practices and staff he has got to be prepared for the hard questions too.

Well, i can't really comment on the barrier staff in Connolly because i have no personal experience of exactly what you're referring to, so i'm not going to make something up just to give you an answer. If you have a problem with the lack of communication or courtesy then you should bring it up with the supervisior of the particular staff member you ahve a problem with.

The toilets in Connolly are mostly irrelevent to the staff members because of contracted cleaners and security. What reason would they have for going in there now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The best set up I've ever seen was in Ostende, where there was a modest charge payable to a curt, but polite woman at the door. She could oversee the wash area of both the male and female toilets.

I was in Connolly the other night when a guy asked me for money. When I got to the ticket barrier, the staff member asked me what he had said and sent security after him.

The toilets were free. :)
    why should any passenger do the job of the security and irish rail staff
    Surely, if you find something wrong, there is at least some onus on you to report it.

In a restaurant, if your soup was cold, how would the waiter find out? Telepathically?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I don't see the problem with telling security if something is up. They're not neccessarily doing the job of security; if you see something wrong it makes sense to report it if you have the time, it's not like passengers are being expected to remove the junkies themselves. The ticketing thing is propably off topic but in the case of the photo id thing that rule is there to stop multiple users travelling on the one ticket (or the ticket being sold on). So the staff are only doing their job.
    there is not a problem untill the regular paid security and staff stop looking out for the place they work. it also makes sense for contract cleaners to report such people as junkies to security staff but it does not seem to be happening inside irish rail?
    I see a problem and I think of the fastest possible solution that will help me.
    In this case, it's finding a security guard or if you can't find one, just tell any member of staff.
    Doing the job of security would mean you're expecting the OP to remove the junkies, nobody ever implied that
    i have brought junkies to the attention of staff in heuston and cnnolly and got the usual shrugged shoulders and "what do you think i can do about it?".
    So basically OP what you're saying is that something should be done because it's a problem to passengers such as yourself..... and yet you couldn't be bothered to do anything about it?

The IE staff aren't omnipresent and they would have no reason to go into the public toilets what with there being contractors doing the cleaning rather than the IE staff.

We're not psychic. You need to inform us of your problems, we can't guess them.
    there are security cleaning staff and a whole array of staff all around connolly station and not one of them saw these two junkies either entering the station or the toilets? lets face it the staff seem uninterested in anything passenger related including junkies in the toilets like why would they care when they are never in those toilets instead having their own private "free" toilets! it is a shame irish rail staff just dont seem to be bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

How is paying to use the toilets in a main rail hub in any way odd? I'm surprised to find ones that are free these days. You often have the resident cleaner-woman in continental europe with her dish for coins; and Birmingham New Street and Bern Central both have barriers....

And anyway, don't tell Irish Rail staff about security problems, they're useless. Tell the STT heavies - the ones who look like spare members of the Serbian Police Force. They WILL remove people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

But this is not St Stephens Green, a private store, this is the busiest station in the country.

Would you see this in Central Station in Washington!? No. Because I have been there and in many other Capitals. You just don't see this in major stations elsewhere. Paying to use the toilets AFTER paying your fare?

If they wanted to stop non rail users and junkies using them would it not have made sense to put them behind the ticket barriers somewhere free of charge? That would be too sensible.

I agree. I understand that it costs money to maintain the facilities but I still resent having to pay for using a toilet. When you didn't have to pay for the toilets here the toilets weren't the best, but they served their purpose, and I'd rather have those back than the current toilets.

there is not a problem untill the regular paid security and staff stop looking out for the place they work. it also makes sense for contract cleaners to report such people as junkies to security staff but it does not seem to be happening inside irish rail?

i have brought junkies to the attention of staff in heuston and cnnolly and got the usual shrugged shoulders and "what do you think i can do about it?".

there are security cleaning staff and a whole array of staff all around connolly station and not one of them saw these two junkies either entering the station or the toilets? lets face it the staff seem uninterested in anything passenger related including junkies in the toilets like why would they care when they are never in those toilets instead having their own private "free" toilets! it is a shame irish rail staff just dont seem to be bothered.

So basically you want the staff to act as bouncers and refuse admission to anyone they don't like the look of?

You do realise that we can't ask someone to leave the station unless we have a good reason? Doing otherwise is just walking into the discrimination case minefield.

You have good reason to be annoyed if the individual isn't removed after it is brought to the attention of staff that they are shooting up in the toilets or whatever but otherwise you can't expect people to be turned away just because their mere presence offends your delicate sensibilities.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I also feel wary now using those toilets, which is a shame as they're generally in good condition (barring the fact that some cubicles seem to be in maintenance for months).

You could also nip into the toilets for the Enterprise service. They're through the barriers so the junkies won't be in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Because I have been there and in many other Capitals. You just don't see this in major stations elsewhere. Paying to use the toilets AFTER paying your fare?
    This is the norm in German railway stations, certainly in Berlin where all large stations have franchised out the jax to a private company (McClean usually) who charge a pretty Euro to take a leak, but having said that...absolutley no way would they let a couple of junkies lie on the ground. The cops would be in sharpish to get them out.

Perhaps IE should charge more than 20c to keep the junkies out.

I'd rather pay the 20c and use the new facilities in Connolly then go back to the old free ones

So, so dark in there, I never knew why the gents in Connolly were so dark.

We have bright and clean (mostly) toilets in Connolly, well worth the 20c

I used several train stations in Rome this summer and everyone of them had a fee
    Seems to be the done thing in mainland Europe and murphaph has more examples above

STT are serious security guards, look like stormtroopers from Bosnia and I'd like to see more of them
    They wouldn't be long in removing the junkies from where they shouldn't be, just approach and tell them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

Same in most London terminals too - pay 20p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

MYOB wrote: »
    How is paying to use the toilets in a main rail hub in any way odd? I'm surprised to find ones that are free these days. You often have the resident cleaner-woman in continental europe with her dish for coins; and Birmingham New Street and Bern Central both have barriers....

And anyway, don't tell Irish Rail staff about security problems, they're useless. Tell the STT heavies - the ones who look like spare members of the Serbian Police Force. They WILL remove people.
    I'm just back from a trip London to Oslo, by train/boat.

I paid to wee in main train stations in London, Hamburg, Copenhagen and Stockholm.
    there was a charge I believe in Amsterdam Central too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

op you say you were in too much of a hurry to report it ( which would take maybe 15 seconds to mention it to a member of staff on your way out) yet you had time to spend 10 minutes in the toilet:confused: