Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Popes visit, will someone try to assasinate him?

• 15-09-2010 3:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Bjorn Bored.

I just have a funny feeling some unhinged and dis-affected person will try, I wonder how good the security actually is?

Last yr some crazy lady pushed him over ,dont remember where,but I just think lots and lots of people are mad at him and all he stands for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I just have a funny feeling some unhinged and dis-affected person will try, I wonder how good the security actually is?

Last yr some crazy lady pushed him over ,dont remember where,but I just think lots and lots of people are mad at him and all he stands for.

That happened in Rome itself, and she wasn't exactly mad at him... more mad for him, as I understand.

I don't think anything spectacular will happen at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Tony Blair or the Pope

I think the papa is quiet safe don't you

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

will someone try to assasinate him?
    Wouldn't imagine so.
    I wonder how good the security actually is?

127686.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

I "pray to God" someone will get him

* ironically as I do not believe in God

Don't really see anyone being that bothered to be honest. Generally speaking, i find 'atheists' don't hold a grudge against the church. For the most part, I believe they just don't care.

I know I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Winty wrote: »

I thought it would be ironically because you don't believe in murder...oh well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I just have a funny feeling some unhinged and dis-affected person will try

Hmm. Sounds like insider knowledge. Got something to confess, Bjorn?

That's not very nice

we may have disagreements with him, and how, but wishing for his murder is uncalled for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Dougla2

bluewolf wrote: »
    That's not very nice

we may have disagreements with him, and how, but wishing for his murder is uncalled for

would be uncalled for to wish for the murder of Hitler or Mao or Pol Pot or papa doc or baby doc .......

sure his crimes aren't as bad but hes still a criminal IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Dougla2 wrote: »
    would be uncalled for to wish for the murder of Hitler or Mao or Pol Pot or papa doc or baby doc .......
    without a fair trial, yes it would be uncalled for.

axer wrote: »
    without a fair trial, yes it would be uncalled for.

i guess but a fair trial wouldn't be fair with a religious leader

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

That's not very nice

I'm afraid I'd have to agree with bluewolf. Cant we just do something to his voicebox? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

That's not very nice

I am sure the Pope would welcome death as Gods number one on earth he is going to a better place.

* again Ironically as I do not believe in God, due to this nothing I say can be used against me as its all hypothetical. I dont not wish any harm on Benny the Nazi Ratzinger. I hope he lives long enought to be sentenced for crimes against humanity

I am sure the Pope would welcome death as Gods number one on earth he is going to a better place.

* again Ironically as I do not believe in God, due to this nothing I say can be used against me as its all hypothetical. I dont not wish any harm on Benny the Nazi Ratzinger. I hope he lives long enought to be sentenced for crimes against humanity

before anyone posts "HES NOT A NAZI HES JUST GERMAN" I would like to point out that he was in the hitler youth

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

before anyone posts "HES NOT A NAZI HES JUST GERMAN" I would like to point out that he was in the hitler youth

AFAIK, all youngsters in Germany at the time were conscripted into Hitler youth. I've no love for the man but it wouldn't be fair to hold that one against him.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Sh**e, I thought that thread title was a job offer! Oh well.

AFAIK, all youngsters in Germany at the time were conscripted into Hitler youth. I've no love for the man but it wouldn't be fair to hold that one against him.

Yeah ....Sure but they would have instilled their beliefs in him , im pretty sure it probably stuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

Yeah ....Sure but they would have instilled their beliefs in him , im pretty sure it probably stuck
    We've got enough reason to dislike the pope. Must we stoop to saying "Oh, he probably thinks Nazism is great too"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Happyman42 wrote: »

The OP is probably considering whether to asassinate Benny or Tony, or both.

Decisions, decisions....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭randypriest

That would be top notch **** material

ColmDawson wrote: »
    We've got enough reason to dislike the pope. Must we stoop to saying "Oh, he probably thinks Nazism is great too"?
    im NOT saying he does , but its likely that the Nazi propaganda got to him being submerged in it for so long at a young age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Paul.M92

robindch wrote: »
    Wouldn't imagine so.

127686.png
    Its actually 4.5 inches of bullet proof glass... Nothing says I have faith in god like a bullet proof screen though.... I heard the "PopeMobile" comes to the country weeks before the pope arrives....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭rokossovsky

Sure by the time oul Ratzo was wandering around in his little black short pants and brown shirt and learning the Horst Wessel his mother church had already made the deal with the Nazis and werre up to their necks with the Croatian fascist government so no you cant blame him on being recruited to the Hitler Youth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Manic Preacher

Happyman42 wrote: »

I know things are desperate, but you must be really in trouble if you want to apply to be pope :p

he meant a assassin job offer ....i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

he meant a assassin job offer ....i think

:D:D I'll take anyhing that's vacant, Assassain, Pope, Taoiseach ....not sure I could do the early mornings though!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 53 ✭✭deathbot

He was conscripted into the hitler youth, like all teenage boys at that time were. He was un-enthusiastic, also, and left as soon as he could.

Following his 14th birthday in 1941, Ratzinger was conscripted into the Hitler Youth — as membership was required by law for all 14-year old German boys after December 1939[9] — but was an unenthusiastic member who refused to attend meetings.[10] His father was an enemy of Nazism, believing it conflicted with the Catholic faith[citation needed]. In 1941, one of Ratzinger's cousins, a 14-year-old boy with Down syndrome, was taken away by the Nazi regime and killed during the Aktion T4 campaign of Nazi eugenics

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pope_Benedict_XVI#Early_life:_1927.E2.80.9351

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭koura

But didn't ye know that the Pope is a distant relation of the House of Winsdor (Saxe-Coburg family).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

deathbot wrote: »
    He was conscripted into the hitler youth, like all teenage boys at that time were. He was un-enthusiastic, also, and left as soon as he could.
    That's not what he said in his semi-autobiography:

http://www.amazon.com/Salt-Earth-Millennium-Interview-Seewald/dp/0898706408

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Would not surprise me at all if he got shot or something did happen. And it would NOT be a religious shooting or killing, it would be some of the crimes he has commited and his organisation against people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I don't see the point. A coupla prayers, a bit of white smoke, another pope. Better the devil you know ... :mad:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

He'll probably just get a pair of brogaí thrown at him, he'll be grand ! If Barack Obama made it for this long, then Il Papa will be safe as houses (especially behind bullet-proof glass...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Popes visit, will someone try to assasinate him?

I'd hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Do all you guys represent the general Atheist community? If so,there seems to be plenty of idiots in that community!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

kilns wrote: »
    If so,there seems to be plenty of idiots in that community!
    There are idiots in every 'community', yours included.

Annnnd on that note, the assassination thread is closed. :)