Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 Helicopters Hoovering ?

• 15-09-2010 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Guys

Just seen what looks like x2 AW139 and the Garda Squirrel hovering over the N4 RedCow for approx 5 minutes. They then proceeded southbound on the M50, unfortunately I was driving at the time so no idea where they went.

Anyone any idea's? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

Big cash shipment to/from the central bank in Sandyford?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

dogmatix wrote: »

Possibly, but 3 choppers.... Must be making a payment to anglo :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

listermint wrote: »
    ... Just seen what looks like x2 AW139 and the Garda Squirrel hoovering over the N4 RedCow for approx 5 minutes. ...
    Anyone any idea's?
    helping to clean up the litter problem? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭jimbis

dogmatix wrote: »

Spot on! Live beside the bank and watched them going in earlier.

Its a fairly regular thing aswell, the last delivery was last tuesday!
    Pity i dont have a decent camera because i could get some good shots!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Back in 2002, I think. Up for my morning shift at 7am. Heard a Dauphin in the air. At the time the Air Corps never got up so early, so was puzzled. Arrived at M50 to see obvious plain clothes thus armed Garda on the bridge at Ballymount and a curiously empty M50 and a Garda roadblock on the sliproad. Suddenly there was this whoosh as a huge convoy of articulated trucks, army and Garda vehicles rushed past rather impressively.

Couldn't figure it out at first. But I would guess it was the delivery of the first Euro notes from somewhere in Europe. I imagine it's the same thing you saw, only on a smaller scale. New Euro notes being delivered.

It's quite a sight and looks like something out of a movie. If I was a potential robber I wouldn't want to take them on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Just seen what looks like x2 AW139 and the Garda Squirrel hovering over the N4 RedCow for approx 5 minutes.

You mean one of the Garda EC135's, The Squirrel has long since been WFU and sold I believe.

xflyer wrote: »
    Up for my morning shift at 7am. Heard a Dauphin in the air. At the time the Air Corps never got up so early, so was puzzled.

Are you sure about that as the Aircorps did even do late night flying in the CM170's and the SAR birds were 24/7 as were/are the CASA's, Perhaps you only ever seen the IAC up when doing Cadet Flying/Training which usually starts around 9am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

xflyer wrote: »
    Back in 2002, I think. Up for my morning shift at 7am. Heard a Dauphin in the air. At the time the Air Corps never got up so early, so was puzzled. Arrived at M50 to see obvious plain clothes thus armed Garda on the bridge at Ballymount and a curiously empty M50 and a Garda roadblock on the sliproad. Suddenly there was this whoosh as a huge convoy of articulated trucks, army and Garda vehicles rushed past rather impressively.

Couldn't figure it out at first. But I would guess it was the delivery of the first Euro notes from somewhere in Europe. I imagine it's the same thing you saw, only on a smaller scale. New Euro notes being delivered.

It's quite a sight and looks like something out of a movie. If I was a potential robber I wouldn't want to take them on!

Nah the robbing was/is done by the ones in the banks.

Surprised they had two AW139s out for it ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

I very often used to see a convoy of - Garda Car, Army Jeep, 2x Securicor Truck, Army Jeep on my way to school on Friday mornings. I realise that there's only a limited number of routes to transport cash between two locations, and noone in their right mind would even think of taking on the Army/Armed Gardai, BUT if someone on their way to school notices a pattern being formed, surely someone trying to ambush it would pick up on it too.

I saw a prisoner transport(must have been v. high profile) convoy on the N4 a while back, but the amount of planning gone into it must have been insane! Gardai closing off junctions, half a dozen Garda bikes(must have been doing about 120mph to get in front of the convoy after stopping traffic), Army Jeeps, Garda Helicopter, etc. Very impressive to see it all work so seamlessly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dacian

mathepac wrote: »
    helping to clean up the litter problem? :cool:
    Can't believe it took over 30 mins for someone to respond to this typo.

I grew up along the border,lived next door to a bank. As a kid we just got used to the presence of soldiers in our doorway (2 foot recessed,1800s building so solid rock) every now and then. Wheres my wife who is form Dublin is quite uncomfprtable when we go to Europe and we are in the presence of armed troops/police.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

Saw them myself !

dsc4892.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

There were 3 black heli's flying in formation over Cork last week too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Highlander

Saw them myself over Santry about 1.15 this afternoon, hovered for about 10 minutes and headed off. They did the same one day last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

It was 3 articulated trucks full of something, seen it myself today when they came off the M50 at dundrum & the garda & army had it blocked.

If it's money, who the ****s it for? Are the banks getting more bonuses for screwing the country???

jmayo wrote: »

Surprised they had two AW139s out for it ?

One of the AW139's secondary roles is support for Garda Operations. They "may" or "may not" have been armed too as the AW139's can have 7.62MM GPMG's fitted on both sides ( 1 each side ) firing from the forward sliding windows directly behind the cockpit doors.

whitesands wrote: »
    It was 3 articulated trucks full of something, seen it myself today when they came off the M50 at dundrum & the garda & army had it blocked.

If it's money, who the ****s it for? Are the banks getting more bonuses for screwing the country???

That sounds like an Ammunition Transport were they heading in the Direction of the Curragh/Glen Of Imaal?

There were 3 black heli's flying in formation over Cork last week too.

They were AW139's too, There was a big Combined Exercise down off the Oil Rigs and Coast Area,

Lots of Soldiers/Possibly ARW or Navy seen fast roping down from the AW139's onto Fort Mitchell and the AW139's landing at Haulbowline.

Here is the Official NOTAM:

A1226/10 - 1ST-3RD 6TH-9TH 0800-2000
    MILITARY EXERCISE WILL TAKE PLACE
    MULTIPLE MILITARY HELICOPTERS OPERATING BETWEEN CORK CITY, CORK
    HARBOUR AND KINSALE ALPHA GAS RIG. SFC - 2000FT AMSL, 01 SEP 08:00 2010 UNTIL
    09 SEP 20:00 2010. CREATED: 27 AUG 09:31 2010

The IAC's AW139's and EC135's will look black from a distance as they are both painted in the same MATT GREEN RAL6031 finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭balkanhawk

I'm sure there is gold bullion in the lorries too. If the AW139's were there you can be sure that there were a load of soldiers in the back with the abseiling ropes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Spotted them when I was in Marlay Park around 2pm, seemed to be hovering over the tallaght m50 exit then moving to the sandyford exit and back again.

Made me immediately think they were watching the road. Definitely 2 army and one Gardaí.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Dacian wrote: »
    Can't believe it took over 30 mins for someone to respons to this typo.

I could.

But I won't:rolleyes:

calex71 wrote: »
    Made me immediately think they were watching the road. Definitely 2 army and one Gardaí.

Army dont Operate any Fixed Wing Assets, they are Air Corps AW139's the Army Utilise Orbiter UAV's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Steyr wrote: »
    Army dont Operate any Fixed Wing Assets, they are Air Corps AW139's the Army Utilise Orbiter UAV's.

Realised I got that wrong, and knew some one would call me one it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭westdub

balkanhawk wrote: »
    I'm sure there is gold bullion in the lorries too. If the AW139's were there you can be sure that there were a load of soldiers in the back with the abseiling ropes.

Believe it or not the lorries are ''usually'' not even carrying Money,
    Most of the time they are carrying the paper that the money is printed on,
    and before anyone says that there is no way there would be that much security for just paper... imagine what the counterfeiters would do if they got their hands on the genuine watermarked paper....
    The shops have a hard enough time spotting counterfeit notes as it is...:rolleyes:

They do sometimes carry gold as well, but not bullion just the sheets of gold leaf that they use in some currencies, most people don't know it but the Mint at sandyford produces money for other countries as well as here, and not all the money used here is printed there either, some of the notes are made abroad and imported... but not in artics....;)

whitesands wrote: »

i did hear that fingelton was expecting part payment of his pension ;)
    One of the AW139's secondary roles is support for Garda Operations. They "may" or "may not" have been armed too as the AW139's can have 7.62MM GPMG's fitted on both sides ( 1 each side ) firing from the forward sliding windows directly behind the cockpit doors.

I thought the AW139s secondary role was flying ministers about.

Seen as you are follower of all things military, what was the result of the enquiry into the door falling off the AW139 down in Killarney ?
    Did Aer Corps ever release findings or did IAA do an investigation ?

Weren't those AW139s just civilan dolled up as military and thus just had the 7.62s added as door mounts ?

PS I always thought they just used the EC135s for Garda backup ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

i doubt the aw139's were armed with door guns its dublin city i hardly imagine an aw139 swooping down and the door gunner blasting away with his gympy. more realistically those helicopters have a small security force in the rear and their primary role is aerial observation of the convoy. they will be then ordered to disgorge their cargo at a location when necessary by the officer in charge. i doubt the convoy was transporting ammo either maybe it was explosives as they are the only convoys i have seen with larger than normal security and a need to have pre stationed gardai at a junction normally they just have outriders go ahead to do that. this is of course just my take on it i don't know.

Seen as you are follower of all things military, what was the result of the enquiry into the door falling off the AW139 down in Killarney ?

Weren't those AW139s just civilan dolled up as military and thus just had the 7.62s added as door mounts ?

They have a number of roles including ministerial transport, their primary role in DF support. Have a look at military.ie for other roles.

Any helicopter that has machine guns is military enough for me!! sure dont they have fly around with night-vision googles. Agreed that they dont have all of the other balistic protection and missile warning gear but this is Ireland not the stan.

Dont know what happened with the door thing, not really a big deal though. Just bad PR.

If the 139's were used you can be sure there were a load of troops ready to swoop in if something went down.

PS - Its Air Corps

Anyone see the new official feeds, mate in the the don passed on the links to me.

http://twitter.com/IrishAirCorps

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Irish-Air-Corps/148942718466693

They have numerous Secondary roles such as Support for Garda Operations, Air Ambulance, Overland SAR, Disaster Relief and VIP Transport.

Havent heard anything about that.

From what i know the EC135's are used for Pilot/Instructor and Instrument Training and Air Ambulance and Army Support they are also or were talking about using them for ISTAR.

The AW139's are Civillian as they are Utility Helicopters and wont be used Overseas but their roles are very much Military.

They have a number of roles including ministerial transport, their primary role in DF support. Have a look at military.ie for other roles.
    They have numerous Secondary roles such as Support for Garda Operations, Air Ambulance, Overland SAR, Disaster Relief and VIP Transport.

Ah lads just because I forgot the :rolleyes: doesn't mean I wasn't been a tad sarcastic :D
    You must start switching on the sarcasm radar.
    AFAIK one minister dempsey often has hopped a ride aboard a AW139 out to Meath.
    I heard they had problem fitting in harney due to weight and balance restrictions. :D
    Any helicopter that has machine guns is military enough for me!! sure dont they have fly around with night-vision googles. Agreed that they dont have all of the other balistic protection and missile warning gear but this is Ireland not the stan.

The stan :rolleyes:
    I knew a guy who wanted to use night vision gear doing night hours in a cessna.
    He claimed it gave him the comfort factor.
    Of course his day job was leading a flight of Lynxs.
    Dont know what happened with the door thing, not really a big deal though. Just bad PR.

I think it is a big deal since bad press gives the anti this and that folks more ammunition.
    From what i know the EC135's are used for Pilot/Instructor and Instrument Training and Air Ambulance and Army Support they are also or were talking about using them for ISTAR.

The AW139's are Civillian as they are Utility Helicopters and wont be used Overseas but their roles are very much Military.

Oh I know they are used as military here, but they have been adapted.
    From recollection they are used quiet a lot by SARs, coast guards and border guards etc around the world.

True but they are not the best for SAR as has been proved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hi Guys

Just seen what looks like x2 AW139 and the Garda Squirrel hovering over the N4 RedCow for approx 5 minutes. They then proceeded southbound on the M50, unfortunately I was driving at the time so no idea where they went.

Anyone any idea's? :confused:

Yep.

They are the new Dyson s21s and the Garda Miele..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭jimbis

They were escorting again today. Seen them coming in the distance so i jumped on the bike and went down to the entrance of the mint.

There was only one artic today (usually 2), a spare truck, 1 garda jeep, 1 garda car, 15 full army jeeps:eek: and alot of garda bikes with the Garda chopper and 2 air corps choppers up above!

Its a great operation to watch! :D I'll try get it on camera next time;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭mowhawk

Oh yes they do! The clue is in the name Aer Corps, i.e. a corp. In this case one of the corps of the army just like Artillery, Infantry etc. Ireland does not have an Air Force or indeed a Navy either. We have the Aer Corps and a Naval Service. Both of these corps are headed by Brigadier Generals (in the case of the Naval Service named Commodore but equivalent to) and are directly answerable to the deputy Chiefs of Staff, Major Generals and the Chief of Staff himself a Lieutenant General. ;)

The Artillery operate the UAV's but they are still also a corp of the army too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭xflyer

Are you sure about that as the Aircorps did even do late night flying in the CM170's and the SAR birds were 24/7 as were/are the CASA's, Perhaps you only ever seen the IAC up when doing Cadet Flying/Training which usually starts around 9am.
    Ah but Steyr, I grew up within sight of the circuit at Baldonnel. They do/did night fly. Usually in the circuit. It was fun to watch. But they never got up early in the morning before me in the unless it was for a good reason. So I knew instantly something was up. The Alouettes sometimes were out early but you knew someone was in trouble either at sea or in some hospital if you saw one early in the morning.

Whitesands:
    Bank notes wear out so have to be replaced. The old stuff is burned and replaced with like for like. We are speculating as to what was in the trucks but most likely it was new Euro notes to replace the old. The fivers fall apart very quickly.

On the point of cash or valuables being escorted. I saw an amusing moment at Dublin Airport once. There was a twin Cessna parked remotely out on the old 23 runway. All at once an armoured van appeared escorted by soldiers and Garda. The soldiers leapt out and surrounded the aircraft. Out of the van came a couple of bags which the pilot placed carefully in the nose baggage compartment. At this the whole escort jumped back in their vehicles and drove away leaving the aircraft and pilot all alone in full view of the perimeter fence. So much for security. Once he signed for it, that was his problem.

mowhawk wrote: »
    Oh yes they do! The clue is in the name Aer Corps, i.e. a corp. In this case one of the corps of the army just like Artillery, Infantry etc. Ireland does not have an Air Force or indeed a Navy either. We have the Aer Corps and a Naval Service. Both of these corps are headed by Brigadier Generals

The Artillery operate the UAV's but they are still also a corp of the army too.

Wrong, first off its Air Corps or Aer Chór na hÉireann not Aer Corps, It is the Air Component of the PDF just as the Irish Naval Service is the Sea Component of the PDF. The IAC used to wear Army Issue but now have a Proper "Air Force" Blue Uniform since 1994.

The Artillery/Infantry Operate/Utilise the UAV's acquired by the IAC as has been used in Chad and well publicised by the one that was Homesick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Highlander

Back again over Santry now with the Garda helicopter in tow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 appleseed

apparently 1 billion in Euro currency. headed to the mint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

they seem to be doing this a lot. Are people hoarding cash at home or something?

Printing it for Anglo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Could the whole country not conspire together to rip off a few billions from ourselves... use the loot to pay off a bit of the national dept, then get the insurers to pay up and we are quids in.

Nobody breaths a word to anyone.

I reckon this man will lead the charge :D

brian-cowen-robs-from-the-poor.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭newcavanman

it was actually 2 billion that was being transported, and the AW139s were carrying Army Rangers . my cousin was part of the escort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Good to know the auld Irish Army are going home talking about the escorts they were on that day and how much money was being moved. Is it any wonder cash in transit vans get robbed all the time!

it was actually 2 billion that was being transported, and the AW139s were carrying Army Rangers . my cousin was part of the escort

Maybe or maybe not Opsec,most likely yes. I wouldnt re-post that newcavanman anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Thank you for your well thought out analysis of my post.

So now, tell me this, is it part of normal operating procedure to go home and tell people about operations?

I gave this :rolleyes: as your attitude towards what a Poster has said stinks, And no its not part of Ops to talk about what you have done but i also agree with you that it should not have been posted on a Public Forum.