Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Political party piss ups

• 15-09-2010 10:07am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

In the aftermath of yesterdays headlines, I'm left thinking that the Fianna Fail bash in Galway was a session that I wish I was at.

I'm not a member of any political party and don't trust any of them.

But if I was invited to one of their drink-ins I would have to opt for Fianna Fail's.
    I'd say it was some crack, with the revellers making up songs with lyrics like "We run the fuk'n country and our friends own the fuk'n country" followed by the Millwall chant, "Nobody likes us but we don't care." I have in image of a few back benchers having a giggle about locking Willie O'Dea into the broom cupboard.

I imagine a Fine Gale drinks do would have all the charm of a cheese and wine reception at an art gallery in comparison. With all the guests holding hands and singing with their leader like scouts around a campfire.

Labour party booze ups mightn't be too bad, but you get the feeling that it is only a matter of time before a fight breaks out and the guests split into two seperate groups at each end of the room. United only in their accusations at the poor barman for overcharging for the cheese and onion tayto.

I reckon Green Party gigs would be rather dull affairs. When everyone is finished exchanging recipies for homemade yogurt and admiring each others sandals the talk would soon turn to complaints about being served their organic free trade apple juice in plastic glasses. And it would be all over by 7.30 pm sharp. Before it gets too dark to cycle home.

After the third or fourth Wolfe Tones rebel song I would find myself trying to gatecrash my way out of a Sinn Fein do. I imagine my right hand would be sore from signing petitions for countless causes and my stomach would be feeling a bit dodgy too. Might have something to do with drinking all those stale pints of Harp smuggled in from Warrenpoint.

No, give me a Fianna Fail Party party any day (or night).
    I can't shake off the image of Mary Coughlan dancing on the tables and Conor Lenihan sitting in a corner of the room, face down in a kebab.

And every few minutes the Offaly man in the comfy sofa will shout
    "Get the beer in lads - and fuk the begrudgers !"

I wish I was in Galway on Monday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

After the third or fourth Wolfe Tones rebel song I would find myself trying to gatecrash my way out of a Sinn Fein do. I imagine my right hand would be sore from signing petitions for countless causes and my stomach would be feeling a bit dodgy too. Might have something to do with drinking all those stale pints of Harp smuggled in from Warrenpoint.

Pretty accurate analysis in my experience.

In the Examiner today we had an article which featured the following:

"Mr Cowen had been drinking with Cabinet ministers and members of the media in the bar of the Ardilaun Hotel until about 3.30am yesterday... The Taoiseach performed an impromptu comedy routine for fellow revellers in the bar, as well as singing The Lakes of Pontchartrain."

"....Mr Cowen’s strange-sounding performance on RTÉ in which he mixed-up the Croke Park pay deal with the Good Friday Agreement and appeared confused regarding political funding proposals..."

Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Lapin wrote: »

Labour party booze ups mightn't be too bad, but you get the feeling that it is only a matter of time before a fight breaks out and the guests split into two seperate groups at each end of the room. United only in their accusations at the poor barman for overcharging for the cheese and onion tayto.

Good guess!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

In my post above, I completely forgot to mention the Healy Rae Party piss up
    So here it goes -

FECK

ARSE

TITS

GURLS

DHRINK

And the think tank bit will take 5 minutes of discussions on how to stop Kerry county council from filling in potholes on roads down there, and thus, deny the Healy Rae party from their (giving out stink look) during the customary photo ops in the run up the next election.

If all the roads in Kerry were resurfaced the Healy Rae party would have to look elsewhere to garner a vote. Jackie might have to get up on the back of a lorry in Castlemaine and promise his electorate that A Kerryman will set foot on the Moon before the decade is out.

In the meantime we can look forward to more of the following -

FECK

ARSE

TITS

BURP

WIMMIN

ONE FOR THE ROAD LADS............BEFORE I LOCK UP.

Left over cheese & greyhound sangwiches from the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

Labour party booze ups mightn't be too bad

Looks like they're fairly keen to get that across alright. This is the IT photo of their parliamentary party conference today:

1224278996310.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Loved that post OP - Thanks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

In the aftermath of yesterdays headlines, I'm left thinking that the Fianna Fail bash in Galway was a session that I wish I was at.

I'm not a member of any political party and don't trust any of them.

But if I was invited to one of their drink-ins I would have to opt for Fianna Fail's.
    I'd say it was some crack, with the revellers making up songs with lyrics like "We run the fuk'n country and our friends own the fuk'n country" followed by the Millwall chant, "Nobody likes us but we don't care." I have in image of a few back benchers having a giggle about locking Willie O'Dea into the broom cupboard.

I imagine a Fine Gale drinks do would have all the charm of a cheese and wine reception at an art gallery in comparison. With all the guests holding hands and singing with their leader like scouts around a campfire.

I reckon Green Party gigs would be rather dull affairs. When everyone is finished exchanging recipies for homemade yogurt and admiring each others sandals the talk would soon turn to complaints about being served their organic free trade apple juice in plastic glasses. And it would be all over by 7.30 pm sharp. Before it gets too dark to cycle home.

No, give me a Fianna Fail Party party any day (or night).
    I can't shake off the image of Mary Coughlan dancing on the tables and Conor Lenihan sitting in a corner of the room, face down in a kebab.

And every few minutes the Offaly man in the comfy sofa will shout
    "Get the beer in lads - and fuk the begrudgers !"

I wish I was in Galway on Monday night.

Lapin, I think this is one of the funniest posts I have read so far. Thanks for cheering me up last night when I first read it. :)!