Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Real IRA threatens to attack British bankers

• 15-09-2010 7:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭

The Real IRA has threatened to attack British bankers and their companies, claiming they benefit only a "social elite" at a cost to "millions of victims".

realira_1715979c.jpg
    The dissident republican terrorist group labelled bankers as "criminals" and as the "next door neighbours of the politicians".
    In an interview with The Guardian the Real IRA said: "We have a track record of attacking high-profile economic targets and financial institutions such as the City of London. The role of bankers and the institutions they serve in financing Britain's colonial and capitalist system has not gone unnoticed."
    In addition to attacking banks the group said it intended to alternate future assaults on "military, political and economic targets".
    telegraph

however little we like bankers and politicians around these woods nowadays, taking law into own hands is going a little to far, then again whats justice and law to these mugs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

read this earlier on myself...

retards imho...

get over it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I was rather hopeing they would have threatened irish bankers but then that would be asking for too much...

Is there actually the possibility of discussing politics in this as the real IRA are not actually in the market of making a political speach that we can discuss...

Maybe this is more suited for after hours or conspiracy theories...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

I was rather hopeing they would have threatened irish bankers but then that would be asking for too much...

Is there actually the possibility of discussing politics in this as the real IRA are not actually in the market of making a political speach that we can discuss...

What are you ashamed of this far left terrorist group?
    you telling us their motivations for this do not involve a political agenda??

this move is obviously a political PR exercise in order to struck a cord with certain segments of the society

this thread is very appropriate to politics and current affairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Gerry.L

No offence but we all know the Real IRA are more then willing and very capable of pulling off an attack. So why put it into the conspiracy theory section.... I can see it now, certain conspiracists promoting the attacks because they believe government figures are reptiles in disguise :eek: :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

No more than a vain attempt (or maybe not so vain) to gain support and recruit the average joe to their flawed cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fecks sake, its the IRISH BANKERS who need blowing up! :mad:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I take it for granted that the RIRA are under the illusion that they are the true Oglaigh na hEireann. Why then are they concerned about UK bankers and not the Irish ones?

Somebody should have gone up and pulled that balaclava off that arsehole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

wouldn't you just love to shoot that fecker right between the eyes.

hypothetically speaking of course.

I'd lock him in bank vault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

You've got to hand it to them... Its a pretty good PR stunt :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

kbannon wrote: »
    I take it for granted that the RIRA are under the illusion that they are the true Oglaigh na hEireann. Why then are they concerned about UK bankers and not the Irish ones?

Somebody should have gone up and pulled that balaclava off that arsehole!

Who were all those people there? If ever I was to agree with summary arrests, it would be for that crowd and the balaclava clad dickhead. I wouldn't stand in a graveyard and listen to that tosser, out of both fear and repulsion. That crowd in my eyes are harbouring and supporting known terrorists. Scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Denerick wrote: »
    You've got to hand it to them... Its a pretty good PR stunt :p
    own goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

What are you ashamed of this far left terrorist group?

The Reals aren't far left at all.

To be honest this sort of lark is just more of the same nonsense, armed struggle is not a viable option anymore. Sin é.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

mike65 wrote: »
    I'd lock him in bank vault.

The vault would be empty apart from him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭clearz

We have a track record of attacking high-profile economic targets and financial institutions

Yeah like all them banker women and children in Omagh. Scumbag :mad:

FTA69 wrote: »
    The Reals aren't far left at all.

To be honest this sort of lark is just more of the same nonsense, armed struggle is not a viable option anymore. Sin é.

what are they then :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

funny , i would have thought in back of the head would be more your style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭RandomName2

What's hypothetical about it? :D

But threatening British bankers would be killing two birds with one stone - so to speak. A protestant Englishman and a member of the elite!

With soundbites like this it is no wonder that they are not doing terribly well in politics in the south.

Besides which we all know what they really like doing is kidnapping ordinary folk who work at banks and holding their families at gun-point until said employees have obtained cash deposits from their work-places. It is not a job that really requires khaki.

What's hypothetical about it? :D

But threatening British bankers would be killing two birds with one stone - so to speak. A protestant Englishman and a member of the elite!

Chances are a British banker is in fact a private school educated Asian lad who's family made good, these days. How high up the greasy pole are the INLA targeting?

ei.sdraob wrote: »

Eh, terrorists?

danbohan wrote: »
    funny , i would have thought in back of the head would be more your style

I don't get it?

Eh, terrorists?

terrorists, freedom fighters, mugs whatever

as a group they do have a political agenda
    this lot are on far left of the spectrum

and this is designed to tick with people leaning over that-a-way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

mike65 wrote: »
    Fecks sake, its the IRISH BANKERS who need blowing up! :mad:

Northern Rock, RBS etc? They ain't exactly exemplary of good banking, are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

clearz wrote: »

The dogs on the street know that people wouldn't have died from the Omagh bomb if the coded warning had have been passed on. But then again, people wouldn't have died if the Reee Raaw hadn't have put the bomb there in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Why,why,why.
    We are all so over this now.Can they not take a bloody hint and realise that?Go get a real job, and a life, instead of running around playing dressup and making statements that nobody wants to hear.

kraggy wrote: »
    Northern Rock, RBS etc? They ain't exactly exemplary of good banking, are they?

This isn't really worth typing about but RBS, Northern Rock etc are lightweights when compared to the damage done by Anglo-Irish Bank, AIB, Irish Life and Permanent etc. The UK banks are back in profit (overall) and the UK fiscal crisis is now that of the current account. The UK governments stake in the UK banks will turn a handy profit for the state. Here the state will be weighed down by Anglo and the rest for 20 years, while ALSO having to cope with a current account deficit for years.

terrorists, freedom fighters, mugs whatever

as a group they do have a political agenda
    this lot are on far left of the spectrum

and this is designed to tick with people leaning over that-a-way

Do hoodies that hang round on street corners and joyride at every available opportunity have a political agenda too? They only lean to the far left when reaching for a piece in the glovebox, and these hoodies are the people that these balaclava heads are appealing to, because the balaclava heads are just the same - thug terrorists.

Did the crowd who smashed up O'Connell street and prevented the Love Ulster parade have a political agenda? some of them may have pretended to but they just used that as an opportunity to run feral and cause damage. Even if they have an actual political agenda, I just dont care

Celtic shirts, flag clad faces and bloody violence =/= any type of republicanism I care to recognise
    108.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Well that's great, but I was under the impression that the IRA fought for the cause of "freeing Ireland". Since when did they take on the mantle of taking revenge against banks? Who gave them that mandate?

Scum, is the only word for them. I notice they say that their membership is increasing, due to young, disillusioned lads. Right - lads who weren't alive to remember the Troubles, who had nothing to do with it except the stories they've been told. Lads who apparently have nothing better to do with themselves except think that joining a terrorist organisation is the solution. Wouldn't occur to them to get off their ar"%es and go try and make something of their lives.....

A statement like this just indicates to me that the IRA are up to their elbows in making money through drugs, gun running....you name it. And when it was disbanded, the income stream stopped. Now they need money again. Why are the people of Ireland and the UK (particularly Ireland, since it's "being done in our name") allowing themselves to be used as pawns in whatever game these lowlife are playing now?

Its that fact that they claim to act 'in our name' that makes me most angry. When some thug asshat comes out with statements of hatred and threats of violence against the British I get a glimpse of the frustration and anger muslims must feel when some new eejit blows themselves and others up supposedly in the name of Islam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭MarkGrisham

clearz wrote: »

This guy agrees with you. A united Ireland isn't worth one drop of blood but these ****ers aren't even after that any more. They're just trying to justify their drug running.

Nationalists.

The only raison d'etre for them and the 32 County Sovereignty Movement is what they term "sovereignty" i.e. Irish unity. They aren't a socialist organisation and neither do they view socialism as their main ideology. In the case of the 32s they are now starting to realise the utter futility of a movement solely concerned with "Brits Out" and are starting to view the need to address social and economic issues as well. So while they are on the left politically, they aren't a far-left ideological organisation in the same way many other groups across the world were.

A statement like this just indicates to me that the IRA are up to their elbows in making money through drugs, gun running....you name it.

The IRA wasn't involved in drugs and neither was it a criminal enterprise, even the Brits themselves admitted that.

I think he means the RIRA

kbannon wrote: »
    I think he means the RIRA

While there's no doubt that all Republican organisations have had corrupt individuals in the past (stretching back to the 19th century Republicans have had to deal with gangsterism in their midst), the Real IRA aren't drug dealers.

There's plenty grounds people can criticise them on without having to make up stuff.

The IRA wasn't involved in drugs and neither was it a criminal enterprise, even the Brits themselves admitted that.

Tell Jerry McCabe's family that. Since when is an assault on a post office van and the murdering of an Irish detective not criminal? All vehicles used by the IRA men in that instance were also stolen.

So unless when you say IRA you refer to those who disbanded in 1922 or 1969, any version after that and especially the latest reincarnations are criminal thugs. The splintering of IRA into PIRA, CIRA and RIRA is just a case of pedantics when talking about the scumbaggery in the IRA

While there's no doubt that all Republican organisations have had corrupt individuals in the past (stretching back to the 19th century Republicans have had to deal with gangsterism in their midst), the Real IRA aren't drug dealers.

There's plenty grounds people can criticise them on without having to make up stuff.
    The media must have it in for them then...
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/fears-grow-of-increased-real-ira-drugs-war-14674583.html
    http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/world/para/nira.htm

and I'm sure I could get more if I could be bothered!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

The RIRA have been torn asunder by the Garda and all that remains of them are small cells and delusional individuals.
    There is little or no organisational structure and what few members remain in any type of close grouping, would be under so much surveillance (and them knowing this themselves) as to make any action taken on their part pretty much pointless.
    The only ones to fear are those very few who moved to the RIRA after the PIRA more or less disbanded. I'm under the belief that once Johnny Adair has been taken care of then those few remaining hardline former PIRA members that would have gone over to the RIRA, would then cease and desist all their activities and the RIRA will also then cease to exist in anything other than myth.
    So while the Guardian might spout out stories of this nature, the truth is the RIRA are dead as an organised group.

That's not to say they're still not capable, as even a single person with enough intent and intelligence can pull off a terrorist act, but as a group, they're finished.

Nehaxak wrote: »
    The RIRA have been torn asunder by the Garda and all that remains of them are small cells and delusional individuals.
    There is little or no organisational structure and what few members remain in any type of close grouping, would be under so much surveillance (and them knowing this themselves) as to make any action taken on their part pretty much pointless.
    The only ones to fear are those very few who moved to the RIRA after the PIRA more or less disbanded. I'm under the belief that once Johnny Adair has been taken care of then those few remaining hardline former PIRA members that would have gone over to the RIRA, would then cease and desist all their activities and the RIRA will also then cease to exist in anything other than myth.
    So while the Guardian might spout out stories of this nature, the truth is the RIRA are dead as an organised group.

That's not to say they're still not capable, as even a single person with enough intent and intelligence can pull off a terrorist act, but as a group, they're finished.

so who is it that's putting pipe bombs under PSNI officer's cars then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I don't think the British public will surrender to this lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I laugh at those who actually believe this. They can barely make a functional pipebomb and are thoroughly infiltrated.

Transparent attempt to capture support from SFs disillusioned socialist supporters. An attack on capitalism and the Brits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

They seemed to kill that police officer well enough and the two BA soldiers. What is to stop this lot going into a bank in England or NI and opening fire and throwing a few grenades in and causing all sorts of damage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

so who is it that's putting pipe bombs under PSNI officer's cars then?

Re-read the last line of what I wrote and besides, it's really not that difficult at all to make a pipe bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

KeithAFC wrote: »
    They seemed to kill that police officer well enough and the two BA soldiers. What is to stop this lot going into a bank in England or NI and opening fire and throwing a few grenades in and causing all sorts of damage?

They know they have to fight a propaganda as well as a military war.

People are angry at banks in general but they're not angry at the cashiers in the branch earning little more than minimum wage*

I think the closest thing they'll do is bomb a financial district with a warning to cause economic damage. And to be honest I don't think they have the capability. If something like Bishopsgate was pulled off I would be immediately suspicious it was allowed to happen to inflate anti-terrorism budgets.

*I really don't know how the public would react if they took out the likes of Sean Fitzpatrick

Tell Jerry McCabe's family that. Since when is an assault on a post office van and the murdering of an Irish detective not criminal? All vehicles used by the IRA men in that instance were also stolen.

It's intriguing you limit your assertion of criminality to those after 1969. The IRA of the 1920s also robbed post offices and trains, and they stole cars left, right and centre when it suited them to do so.

I never said that the IRA or its actions weren't proscribed, I said that they weren't motivated by personal gain and neither was the IRA some sort of flag of convenience for criminal activity. It was a political organisation whose members were motivated by political convictions; as I said, even the Brits themselves admit that.

kbannon
    The media must have it in for them then...
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/ne...-14674583.html
    http://www.globalsecurity.org/milita.../para/nira.htm

and I'm sure I could get more if I could be bothered!

The first article states the Real IRA are engaged in anti-drug activity, it doesn't say they are drug dealers at all. Is that organisation free of corruption and criminal elements? Not at all. But neither is it importing or selling drugs.

Nehaxak wrote: »
    The RIRA have been torn asunder by the Garda and all that remains of them are small cells and delusional individuals.There is little or no organisational structure and what few members remain in any type of close grouping, would be under so much surveillance (and them knowing this themselves) as to make any action taken on their part pretty much pointless.

What a load of utter nonsense. You haven't a notion like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭acer1000

Yes, it boggles the mind why they would go for British bankers after the economic terrorism the bankers down here have wrecked on the island of Ireland.

When one thinks about it, they could get a major propaganda boost if they directed their attention to our ‘top’ bankers. What’s the chances of such happening, considering the political vacuum of ideas on the piling of money into banks that will have to be paid for by the ordinary Joe Citizen, with the sense of injustice felt by that citizen? It seems we don’t have a legal system that can or would want to help us, even if it could. As for democracy, that’s letting us down, too.

Anybody else see a dangerous scenario developing here? I don’t know anything much about these guys but they seem to be dangerous and they have expertise from the past.

If they are to keep directing their weapons at an imagined enemy, i.e. the British State, and that includes it’s people, banks, etc, I imagine that will be a complete pr disaster for them, from the point of view of people down here. People here are flocking to the UK for work, like they have had to in the past, except this time it’s due to the economic terrorism that has been perpetrated on them, by Irish bankers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

They (RIRA/32CSM) are an authoritarian military-nationalist organisation with quite evident quasi-fascist tendencies. It is interesting to see them attempt to latch onto popular issues but in no way can they be described as left-wing, their stunts all very much PR driven in an attempt to try to make themselves somehow relevant by fusing their abhorrent ideology with contemporary social issues. They are a politically bankrupt group whose sole vocabularly consists of "Brits out!".

That's about it.

For all I know, all of what you say may be true, Anarchomunk. If the sentence ‘They are a politically bankrupt group whose sole vocabularly consists of "Brits out!".’ is true , then they must be very stupid. Do they really want to be part of our Utopia, down here? If they still have aspirations for a 32 county republic, the logic would follow that they would direct their attentions at making that republic
    more in line with what they would perceive as their ideal.

They may be a ‘politically bankrupt’, but doesn’t that describe our republic at the moment, except not just politically so, but from moral and economic points of view. too.

Maybe they are dumb at the moment, but what if they acquire some brains and evolve away from the outdated ‘Brits Out’ mindset, might the current political vacuum here leave an opening, helped along by what many here see as a justice deficit?

Anybody else see red flags waving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

hey, leave durg dealers out of this, I know loads of durg dealers who sell the drugs (the drugs sell themselves as they would say) without going about shooting people. these guys don't speak for the honest drug dealers that give us quality highs at a fair price. :pac:

Spacedog, you a publican?