Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If there was an election in a month which cabinet members would lose their seats?

• 14-09-2010 8:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭

Brian Cowen Taoiseach Laois-Offaly
    Mary Coughlan Tánaiste Education & Skills Donegal South-West
    Brian Lenihan Minister for Finance Dublin West
    Mary Harney Health Minister Dublin Mid-West
    John Gormley Environment Heritage and Local Gov. Dublin South East
    Noel Dempsey Transport minister Meath West
    Dermot Ahern Justice minister Louth
    Micheál Martin Foreign minister Cork South Central
    Mary Hanafin Tourism, culture and sports Dun laoghaire
    Éamonn Ó Cuiv Social Protection Galway West
    Pat Carey Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs Dublin North West
    Tony Killeen Defence minister Clare
    Éamonn Ryan Communications, Energy and Natural Resources minister Dublin South
    Brendan Smith Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Cavan-Monaghan
    Batt O Keeffe Enterprise, Trade & Innovation minister Cork North West

I'm sure we all have particular ministers from the list above who we'd love to see out on their ear. However, all politics are local and this is especially so in Ireland. So, although most of the country thinks that Mary Coughlan is incompetent, she's probably well respected in her own constituency and will have no problem being re-elected.
    In previous elections a lot of these would have topped the poll whereas now they may have to settle for 3rd or 4th but I find it very hard to see them losing their seats.
    The only obvious ones for me are the two Green Party ministers as they had to battle to get elected last time around and would have lost huge support due to their actions in government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭REPSOC1916

Brian Cowen Taoiseach Laois-Offaly
    Safe
    Mary Coughlan Tánaiste Education & Skills Donegal South-West
    The Ms Palin of the 26 counties will retain her fathers seat.
    Brian Lenihan Minister for Finance Dublin West
    I doubt he'll run. If his health get's better then he's ok.
    Mary Harney Health Minister Dublin Mid-West
    She and Curran will lose out.
    John Gormley Environment Heritage and Local Gov. Dublin South East
    Dead on arrival
    Noel Dempsey Transport minister Meath West

I'd say Brady'll lose out rather than him. Wouldnt mind seeing him out as he's a right sneak.
    Dermot Ahern Justice minister Louth
    Seamus Kirk is CC so if they run him on his own and don't bring try to brink in a running mate than he should be ok.
    Micheál Martin Foreign minister Cork South Central
    Safe
    Mary Hanafin Tourism, culture and sports Dun laoghaire
    I thought she might be safe herself but a local poll put her at 7% in Dun Laoghaire compared to 9% for Andrews. I know constituency polls can be dodgy as hell but it's interesting.
    Éamonn Ó Cuiv Social Protection Galway West
    He gets a huge vote from connemara that won't change despite the recession. If anything it'll go up even further given FG's appointment as Gaeltacht affairs spokesperson. He's safe.
    Pat Carey Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs Dublin North West
    Gone. FF had disasterous locals there and Labour and SF are really mopping up the working class FF vote.
    Tony Killeen Defence minister Clare
    Safe. The man's a perfect gent if I say so.
    Éamonn Ryan Communications, Energy and Natural Resources minister Dublin South
    Gone.
    Brendan Smith Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Cavan-Monaghan
    50:50 him or Margaret Conlon
    Batt O Keeffe Enterprise, Trade & Innovation minister Cork North West

Geography is a big factor against him in Cork north west (he was formerly in Cork South Central) and with the swing against FF he'll lose out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Probably none of them apart from the Greens. I'd imagine they're all very well known locallly and have the constituency buttered up.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭REPSOC1916

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Probably none of them apart from the Greens. I'd imagine they're all very well known locallly and have the constituency buttered up.

In certain cases that true but FF are going to get a hammering and certainly in the Dublin constituencies no-one is safe even if you are a cabinet minister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

REPSOC1916 wrote: »
    Safe

The Ms Palin of the 26 counties will retain her fathers seat.

I doubt he'll run. If his health get's better then he's ok.

She and Curran will lose out.

Dead on arrival

I'd say Brady'll lose out rather than him. Wouldnt mind seeing him out as he's a right sneak.

Seamus Kirk is CC so if they run him on his own and don't bring try to brink in a running mate than he should be ok.

Safe

I thought she might be safe herself but a local poll put her at 7% in Dun Laoghaire compared to 9% for Andrews. I know constituency polls can be dodgy as hell but it's interesting.

He gets a huge vote from connemara that won't change despite the recession. If anything it'll go up even further given FG's appointment as Gaeltacht affairs spokesperson. He's safe.

Gone. FF had disasterous locals there and Labour and SF are really mopping up the working class FF vote.

Safe. The man's a perfect gent if I say so.

Gone.

50:50 him or Margaret Conlon

Geography is a big factor against him in Cork north west (he was formerly in Cork South Central) and with the swing against FF he'll lose out.

agree with most of your predictions , a year ago or even six months ago i would have said brendan smith was a gonner but agriculture ( my brothers a farmer ) has seen quite a turnaround in the past six months in every sector ( especially cereals and dairy ) so that should rub off on him , on merit the guy should certainly loose his seat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Most of the backbenchers will get slaughtered, which is an actual pity as it is the front benchers that should go. I'd love for Brian Cowen to lose his own seat, that would be sweet karma. No pity to see the end of the Green Party, what a bunch of douchbags they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

I'd love to see Noel Dempsey out on his ear. He is just downright incompetent, everything he touches just seems to fall apart. And then he defends it with his smarmy interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭evenmicheal

Gormley is certain to be gone, he barely gets in at the best of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

I was at a non political event on Saturday in Gormley's constituency.

Each time the MC thanked a person for attending there was a round of applause.

When he thanked John Gormley for attending- there was complete silence.

Thank god for that.

I wanted to push him into the Dodder as he was standing right beside it but unfortunately I bottled it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I heard reports that Micheal Martin's seat was in danger and because of this, he's unlikely to succeed Cowen as leader of FF.

Mary Hanafin or Barry Andrews will lose a seat in Dun Laoighre (it's moving from a 5 seater to a 4 seater to make matters worse) - probably Andrews, I can imagine a major bitching contest there between the two as we get closer to an election.

Mary Harney will probably announce she won't contest the next election for fear of the humiliation - she was lucky to get in the last time.

All of the Green ministers (junior ones included) will lose their seats. Sargeant might be the lone Green next time around.

The rest are all safe in my view. It'll be interesting to see if any of them retire at the next election (apart from Lenihan). O'Keefe must be in his 60s and he's the new blood apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

Batt O Keeffe would be very unlikely to get back in even if things were going well. The constituency works against him in it's current form. It's always more likely to return 2FG to start out with.

Michael Moynihan has a solid base in Northern half and should bring home the single FF seat.

It's an election that being a Minster puts you at a great disadvantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I looked it up, Batt is 65. He'll be 67 in May 2012. Maybe he won't bother contesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Lenihan on dodgy ground, prob safe though

Hanafin dodgy, gone

Gormley, dodgy, prob just hang on

Carey, dodgy, definitely gone

Ryan, safe, such a deliberately low profile and no G Lee to worry about, unless George makes a comeback:P
    If Gormley gone, Ryan will lead what's left of the Greens, prob himself and Gogarty, prob Trevor as well

Smith & O'Keeffe, prob safe but their own consituency colleagues will be their worry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Harney won't run again
    That was rumoured/announced a long time ago

All the others are safe except Gormley and O'Keefe

I wouldn't have thought Lenihan would run but I don't know any latest annoucments or what his plans are.
    I realy though he would stand down next election for health reasons. Spend time with his family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I think the ones who will go are Carey and Gormley and if they run Harney and O'Keefe.

I think most people underestimate the "aura" around having a minister in your constituency in rural areas. They are rarely ever rejected at election. Most of them did quite well last time out and should be safe. The only other dodgy one is Hanafin, there is only one place in DL for FF but she is far more high profile than Andrews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

not enough of em

our mary (coughlan ) should be out on her face but it just wont happen - you should see them fawning over her when she appears (the usual responseits because she's a woman you know, no its cos she's cr*p at her job):rolleyes:

edit

actually the only hope i have is she didnt top the poll last time but the lack of alternative canidates hampers her getiing kicked out