Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

INDO updates

• 14-09-2010 5:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hi folks.

All INDO updates can be found here, any questions anyone has, please feel free to fire them this way and will do our best to provide an answer.

INDO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

Cool stuff. Any chance of getting the rankings on the irishnationaldarts site. I hear Connie is gone back to no.1 after Sligo. Not that it makes any difference to me, I only won one match in the 2 comps i made this year, i'm just curious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 INDO darts

padr81 wrote: »
    Cool stuff. Any chance of getting the rankings on the irishnationaldarts site. I hear Connie is gone back to no.1 after Sligo. Not that it makes any difference to me, I only won one match in the 2 comps i made this year, i'm just curious.

Hi Padr.

We will have a full list of ranking points available after the celtic cup in Isle of Man, and i will post them here.

Keep going to these events and you will only improve, playing against the best players Ireland has to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭mussha

in the all irelands
    how is the draw done?
    there are seeded teams who are put in different groups, is the seeding based on the result from the previous year?
    if so can you tell me who the seeded teams are for the next all irelands.

mussha wrote: »
    in the all irelands
    how is the draw done?
    there are seeded teams who are put in different groups, is the seeding based on the result from the previous year?
    if so can you tell me who the seeded teams are for the next all irelands.

If theres 4 seeded teams, I'd imagine Donegal, Cork, Dublin and Kilkenny.

is it only 4 teams that are seeded? is there more than one seeding group?

every time i asked anybody ive always got a diff answer just wanting to know what teh format is for the draw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

There are 4 pots, each with names in them....

Seeded pot A

Second group of seeds

3rd pot wud have some stew, and the 4th pot is what most of them smoke over the weekend...

Seedings are based upon nothing but there own misguided ramblings, and ideas....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭S.T.D Ste

Everything always turns to food with you dicie doesn't it ha ha ha

S.T.D Ste wrote: »
    Everything always turns to food with you dicie doesn't it ha ha ha

Least i got to the 3rd pot b4 it happened m8......:D:D

the indo put up this thread asking people to post up questions and now there no answer...

can i please get an answer..
    where can the full rules be viewed?

the indo put up this thread asking people to post up questions and now there no answer...

Go handy Mussha, theyve been in the isle of man for near a week, and are getting ready for a competition there running next feb.... All these things take time, and fund raising...

Im guessing thou, a full list of rules can be viewed on the back of a pack of rice chrispies.

Hello Mussha,

Sorry for the delay, i think they call them holidays in my job,ones i take so i can look after the teams in the Isle of Man amongst other places.

Now, your looking for a "FULL" list of rules, if you contact your county sec he will either email them onto you, or give themto you at a county ranked event.

INDO

is it only 4 teams that are seeded? is there more than one seeding group?

every time i asked anybody ive always got a diff answer just wanting to know what teh format is for the draw?

Seedings change each year, based on the previous 5 years results.

This coming Feb, it looks very much like county Kerry will have a team to enter, which shall be great news for all dart players in the region.

WIll be great to see the legends of the game from that area such as Mike sullivan, Jamsie broderick and lots of others, and some young up and coming talent.

A full list of rankings shall be available on saturday and sunday at the National Singles event in ennis Padr.

Just approach the top table and they will sort it out for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 sean501

INDO darts wrote: »
    A full list of rankings shall be available on saturday and sunday at the National Singles event in ennis Padr.

Just approach the top table and they will sort it out for you

I cant figure out this.if Connie was no 1 why was'nt he playing in the I O M? or am i missing something here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭vindaloo1

Hello Mussha,

Now, your looking for a "FULL" list of rules, if you contact your county sec he will either email them onto you, or give themto you at a county ranked event.

INDO
    bull**** you obviously know nothing about the workings of the INDO then.

This coming Feb, it looks very much like county Kerry will have a team to enter, which shall be great news for all dart players in the region.
    very good - are you using a dial up connection still?

sean501 wrote: »
    I cant figure out this.if Connie was no 1 why was'nt he playing in the I O M? or am i missing something here!!

Connie pulled from the international teams for IOM and the Europe Cup in Turkey.

Leaves him in a difficult spot as he will have to miss Killarney if he still wants to play in the World Cup next year (as Europe Cup and Killarney clash).

sean501 wrote: »

I'm not anything to do with the INDO but Im pretty sure it must of bein Connie's decision, no one in their right mind would drop imho the best player in the country.

It was his decision not to travel.

Seen the picture of the team, jesus, i wuda got a game over there!!! Delighted for mick egan and a few others, real dart people.

As for the INDO, i can see why were still in de dark ages, sending players that wud struggle to get onto some countys....

Young Paddy Meaney, 1 of the brightest talents weve ever had here in Ireland, i hope he gets as far away as possible, before he is destroyed by this poison....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 threepoint

can someone tell me is there youths darts on sat in ennis or is it only sunday,also can i get the rankings for the youths some where

threepoint wrote: »
    can someone tell me is there youths darts on sat in ennis or is it only sunday,also can i get the rankings for the youths some where

One of the best kept secrets ever..... Was 100 dart players in the same room last sunday, and not one person mentioned a national title up for grabs next weekend!!!

To answer your question, i would ask your county secretary.

In the INDO's defence, who else do they send over Dicie mate? They are the lads that are at most the games and who probably have the most ranking points from last season (although I'd say Damien O'Driscoll and possibly another couple could have finished above some).

The only names I don't recognise from the business end of most INDO tournies this year and with a glance through the ones I missed are probably Koyce and O'Mahony but I have no clue how they did last season.

If the team is weak, imho its cause not enough people go to the events. We'd all love an irish team of Finnan, McCloskey, Barry, O'Neill, O'Connor (both Willie and Shane) etc... but if the INDO selected players who don't go to INDO events there'd be a huge ****storm about it.

Imho regardless of politics and everything else, people can despise the INDO if they like and still let their darts do the talking. You just have to look at Martin McCloskeys interview on irldarts to see what he thinks, but he still turns up, plays and makes himself indespenible to the country.

In the INDO's defence, who else do they send over Dicie mate? They are the lads that are at most the games and who probably have the most ranking points from last season (although I'd say Damien O'Driscoll and possibly another couple could have finished above some).

The only names I don't recognise from the business end of most INDO tournies this year and with a glance through the ones I missed are probably Koyce and O'Mahony but I have no clue how they did last season.

If the team is weak, imho its cause not enough people go to the events. We'd all love an irish team of Finnan, McCloskey, Barry, O'Neill, O'Connor (both Willie and Shane) etc... but if the INDO selected players who don't go to INDO events there'd be a huge ****storm about it.

Imho regardless of politics and everything else, people can despise the INDO if they like and still let their darts do the talking. You just have to look at Martin McCloskeys interview on irldarts to see what he thinks, but he still turns up, plays and makes himself indespenible to the country.

CHicken and the egg here Padr.

Why do you think the likes of Peter quinn, damo, john o shea, sean marshall, mick barry, jacko barry, shane o connor, garrett grey, richie mac mahon, luke nolan, benny grace, steven o connor, Ali powell, aoghan o neil, willie o connor, mick mac gowan, and many many more players dont go to the INDO comps???

Simple answer is, you break your arse playing on sh ite boards, playing for even worse prizemoney, for what at the end of the day.

Represent there country???

I stopped playing for medals once i left school, and im sure alot more think the same, but wud gladly go back to playing for Ireland if they were shown some respect.

Thats the only word that counts here, RESPECT... If the players were shown the respect that the committee seem to have for themselves, then Ireland wud be a force to be reckoned with within wdf darts....

Dicie wrote: »
    CHicken and the egg here Padr.

Why do you think the likes of Peter quinn, damo, john o shea, sean marshall, mick barry, jacko barry, shane o connor, garrett grey, richie mac mahon, luke nolan, benny grace, steven o connor, Ali powell, aoghan o neil, willie o connor, mick mac gowan, and many many more players dont go to the INDO comps???

Simple answer is, you break your arse playing on sh ite boards, playing for even worse prizemoney, for what at the end of the day.

Represent there country???

I stopped playing for medals once i left school, and im sure alot more think the same, but wud gladly go back to playing for Ireland if they were shown some respect.

Thats the only word that counts here, RESPECT... If the players were shown the respect that the committee seem to have for themselves, then Ireland wud be a force to be reckoned with within wdf darts....

you do make a great point as always and the players should get more out of it. I'm sure that all those players have their legitimate reasons for leaving, imho I just think more players = more prize money, better games and a better standard which can only be good for Irish darts.

I agree with you on all your points, just seems that the team they sent to the celtic cup is the only team they could of sent this season. If new players (or returning old ones) go to the events and ignore the politics, it gives a much bigger pool for selection. They can only pick the team from what they have.

you do make a great point as always and the players should get more out of it. I'm sure that all those players have their legitimate reasons for leaving, imho I just think more players = more prize money, better games and a better standard which can only be good for Irish darts.

I agree with you on all your points, just seems that the team they sent to the celtic cup is the only team they could of sent this season. If new players (or returning old ones) go to the events and ignore the politics, it gives a much bigger pool for selection. They can only pick the team from what they have.

Cant ask players to play in sub standard conditions which the indo provide..... Thats the point m8.

If the conditions where better im sure more wud go, if more went, then others wud travel aswell..

I seen a pic of the team, and as i said, im delighted for some of the lads, as i wud class them as good players, sean, steve, the 2 martins, mick egan, the 2 meaney lads.

Every event i want the irish lads to do well. Even this weekend i was trying to get updates from the IOM, but i totally understand why others dont go.

threepoint wrote: »

Saturday is mixed pairs only so no youths.

Cant ask players to play in sub standard conditions which the indo provide..... Thats the point m8.

If the conditions where better im sure more wud go, if more went, then others wud travel aswell..

Conditions are a big part of it, like the dartboards, a lot of the places are not up to scratch - Mohill especially.

Money - sort the above, then in theory more will go, so money should go up. I'm not convinced though, I think a lot of people dont go out of dislike for the INDO.

They'd really want to organise the competitions a bit better too.
    This weekend on Sunday, it'll be sets and legs for the men from last 16, so they would need to get the men down to the last 16 quick enough, to allow for a reasonable finish time. Of course this wont happen, a few mens games, then women, then a few more mens. Drag it out, p*ss the players off even more.

As for the Ireland team, it's always picked off rankings, people are asked, some say yes, some say no, some don't attend INDO outside Castlebar so will never be asked. Ideally the best 15 should travel, but this will never happen.

Hello Mussha,

Sorry for the delay, i think they call them holidays in my job,ones i take so i can look after the teams in the Isle of Man amongst other places.

INDO

i rang the county sec and he didnt have the rules can i not get them directly from the INDO?

Seedings change each year, based on the previous 5 years results.

WIll be great to see the legends of the game from that area such as Mike sullivan, Jamsie broderick and lots of others, and some young up and coming talent.

Im still none the wiser as to how many seeded teams there are 4 or 8?

and can you tell me who the seeded teams for this year are ive no idea who got on well over the past 5 years.

i rang the county sec and he didnt have the rules can i not get them directly from the INDO?

Ask them on sunday at the national singles.. Or ask your county sec to get you a copy, thats why they are voted in.

I really dont think its worth the effort Mussha. To be honest, it wud seem to me they make it up as they go along.

well indo posted up her that he would answer any questions and he replyed to all of my questions but with no answers.
    all i want is a straght answer. i thought the rules would have been up online or be easyly to get.

well indo posted up her that he would answer any questions and he replyed to all of my questions but with no answers.
    all i want is a straght answer. i thought the rules would have been up online or be easyly to get.

Up online....... unlikely... Considering i havent seen a result, apart from what padr and vindaloo has posted, and anyone that knows irish darts knows most of the people interested read this site.

Are they seeded???

The groups for the round robin stage of the all ireland?

i want to know who are the seeded teams for the all irelands this year and how the draw is done

ie. 1-2 seeded pots and open draw for other teams.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 threepoint

vindaloo1 wrote: »
    Saturday is mixed pairs only so no youths.

thanks for that vindaloo, hope the darts go well for you the weekend

Try looking at BDO playing rules at www.bdodarts.com - the rules are the same for all WDF members. Substitute INDO for BDO.

or look under playing rules at http://www.dartswdf.com/aa_darts/

County Secretaries do not get a copy of rules they are directed to the BDO/WDF sites.

Seeding - the team managers are present at the draw on the Saturday morning, they should know if seeding goes on or not.

If it does then Donegal, Cork, Dublin and Kilkenny, the semi finalists in 2010 will be seeded.

Try looking at BDO playing rules at www.bdodarts.com - the rules are the same for all WDF members. Substitute INDO for BDO.

or look under playing rules at http://www.dartswdf.com/aa_darts/

County Secretaries do not get a copy of rules they are directed to the BDO/WDF sites.

Seeding - the team managers are present at the draw on the Saturday morning, they should know if seeding goes on or not.

If it does then Donegal, Cork, Dublin and Kilkenny, the semi finalists in 2010 will be seeded.

How the I O M go for you mick??? How you play??

Played OK - won against IOM, scored OK, but poor finishing, better player would have beaten me. Scored better against Wales but lost to a better player.

Hopefully sharpened me up a bit.

IOM put on 2 free kegs and 24 bottles of wine for a game of blind draw doubles on Friday night. That's the way to look after players !!!!

I take it you were in Tramore?

Played OK - won against IOM, scored OK, but poor finishing, better player would have beaten me. Scored better against Wales but lost to a better player.

Hopefully sharpened me up a bit.

IOM put on 2 free kegs and 24 bottles of wine for a game of blind draw doubles on Friday night. That's the way to look after players !!!!

I take it you were in Tramore?

Yes pal, tramore....

won 1st game, missed a shed load of doubles Vs joe coyne, was lucky cause joe missed a few doubles aswell, then played ok against stephen o connor from cork, lost 4-2, after leaving 24 in the last leg he checked 98, (1,57,40) i only seen the 1st dart so was expecting another 3, maybe i shud keep my eyes open more hahahaha.....

I know 1 or 2 of the iom lads, colin tryer and pierce, dont think pierce playing anymore, think hes more into the blaizer side of it.... Good lads, thou colin likes a drink...

Yes pal, tramore....

I know 1 or 2 of the iom lads, colin tryer and pierce, dont think pierce playing anymore, think hes more into the blaizer side of it.... Good lads, thou colin likes a drink...

Yep, Tyrer played very well Sunday against Wales. Nice bunch of lads alright.

Dicie - you can get all the stats here on the celtic cup http://www.welshdarts.org/index.html

Vindaloo - Congrats on doing so well, was it your debut?

first and last I'd say - IOM is a grand spot.

one or two of your county men could be togging for IOM next year padr.
    Noel and Adam Philbin, they're working over in the IOM now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 truthbetold

A few very valid points there but I would rule out the money as an issue, the few times that the INDO have had guaranteed prize money the turnout was the same,
    The issues I feel that people take issue with are several,
    One would be the ranking system, if you have the time and inclination to travel and stay overnight in some of the far flung locations that these tournaments are played you can enter the doubles, where if you can get to a final through a fairly small field then you shall acquire allot of points, if you turn up for the singles the following day then you would nearly need to win it to get the same amount of points,,,
    The singles competitions while structurally are sound are ran in the interest of the publican in that lets keep them there as long as possible seems to be the mantra,
    Some players have top travel considerable distances to get to these trnys and would be more inclined to travel if the could be sure that they would be on the way home at a respectable hour.
    In castlebar you receive ranking points for wins in your first 3 games in the round robin, but if your team progresses to the knock out stage where you would assume the standard will be better then you receive no ranking points, defies logic,
    How far you must go back to pick this years team seems to vary although I am sure it will be clarified that it doesn't,
    Why do last years points not suffice for this years team, or start and end the season before the internationals
    Then at the start of the next term every one starts from scratch, that way if you want to play on the team you know what you need to do.
    Then we would have a team of the current form players.
    any way enough of a rant for now, i am sure there are lots of more issues that could be highlighted and also maybe some of the points made are incorrect, but for the good of the game long term i hope the powers that be use this forum as it should be by listening to the comments and make the changes that most players feel are necessary to get all players back at INDO tournaments.

I think if every one just posts constructive criticism the the thread could be very valuable to the INDO, if it deteriorates below this then it is of no use

It is always easy to sit in judgment from the outside but who amongst us would want the job, let us try help in encouraging the INDO to make the changes necessary to get the organization back to where it once was, Darts is the fastest growing game in the country lets hope the INDO have the foresight to grow with it

always in darts

Dicie - you can get all the stats here on the celtic cup http://www.welshdarts.org/index.html

Vindaloo - Congrats on doing so well, was it your debut?

Thanks Padr, u know im a geek that way, like my averages and stats:D:D

first and last I'd say - IOM is a grand spot.

one or two of your county men could be togging for IOM next year padr.
    Noel and Adam Philbin, they're working over in the IOM now.

yeah I heard this, Noel missed the Mayo panel rankings cause he moved for work, next thing I heard he was an international. Lovely fella and on form a fantastic dart thrower. beat me twice at the first county rankings (i missed out by 2 games), so I owe him one. Think he topped the first rankings comfortably only lost 2 out of 18 games if I remember rightly.

One would be the ranking system, if you have the time and inclination to travel and stay overnight in some of the far flung locations that these tournaments are played you can enter the doubles, where if you can get to a final through a fairly small field then you shall acquire allot of points, if you turn up for the singles the following day then you would nearly need to win it to get the same amount of points
    There are only 2 doubles competitions now - mens/ladies pairs at Masters weekend, mixed pairs at National Singles weekend. All other Saturday tournaments are full ranked singles unless they are a County Board run events (Sligo, Limerick this year) when they are half-ranked.
    Publicity is not an INDO strong point, so it is down to County level to publicise this fact. Maybe that isn't happening.
    Why do last years points not suffice for this years team,
    They do use the previous years rankings. Rankings for the current year starts at the Inter Counties event in February.

There are only 2 doubles competitions now - mens/ladies pairs at Masters weekend, mixed pairs at National Singles weekend. All other Saturday tournaments are full ranked singles unless they are a County Board run events (Sligo, Limerick this year) when they are half-ranked.
    Publicity is not an INDO strong point, so it is down to County level to publicise this fact. Maybe that isn't happening.

They do use the previous years rankings. Rankings for the current year starts at the Inter Counties event in February.

You going down sunday??? Was thinking of going and playing, cause i cud do with the practice...

More than likely, need the practice for Killarney and Hull and couldn't afford Citywest.

I see the list of entries for city west, few Irish lads in the mix there, tomas mc grath, glenn fitpatrick, dave coyne, denis mac carthy....

Agreed bout the cost of it thou, very costly

One would be the ranking system, if you have the time and inclination to travel and stay overnight in some of the far flung locations that these tournaments are played you can enter the doubles, where if you can get to a final through a fairly small field then you shall acquire allot of points, if you turn up for the singles the following day then you would nearly need to win it to get the same amount of points,

Not this season mate. Think its 2 singles comps a weekend at most the events.
    The singles competitions while structurally are sound are ran in the interest of the publican in that lets keep them there as long as possible seems to be the mantra,
    Some players have top travel considerable distances to get to these trnys and would be more inclined to travel if the could be sure that they would be on the way home at a respectable hour.

In a way, but usually it just takes awhile to get started (hardly ever starts on time), at the masters there was only 8 boards for men's, womens and youths and despite it being sets and legs from the last 16 on, ended at a fairly reasonable time. We travelled from Mayo, were home at 9.30 after staying to watch the final. Now that the numbers are starting to pick up again I'm sure they'll go back to putting up 16 boards.
    In castlebar you receive ranking points for wins in your first 3 games in the round robin, but if your team progresses to the knock out stage where you would assume the standard will be better then you receive no ranking points, defies logic,
    You get a point for every game you play and a point for every win. Imho this is very fair. Everyone gets the same chance at points whether your from Donegal or Monaghan. 3-6 points is a nice bonus to start you season. For example if you play for Monaghan (not picking on them by any means but i think they struggled at the all irelands) and your an international standard player, you only get a shot at 6 points. If said player plays for Donegal than he would get a shot at another 6 if they kept the same scoring for the knockouts. seeing as some players don't get a chance to play county at all cause their county team is a closed shop and they won't be selected regardless of what they do.
    How far you must go back to pick this years team seems to vary although I am sure it will be clarified that it doesn't,
    Why do last years points not suffice for this years team, or start and end the season before the internationals
    Then at the start of the next term every one starts from scratch, that way if you want to play on the team you know what you need to do.
    Then we would have a team of the current form players.

Isn't this what they do. I'm sure this years team are the top ranked from last year. For example, the Europe Cup team will be Finnan, McCloskey, McGowan and McDonald cause they were top 4 last season providing all want to travel.

any way enough of a rant for now, i am sure there are lots of more issues that could be highlighted and also maybe some of the points made are incorrect, but for the good of the game long term i hope the powers that be use this forum as it should be by listening to the comments and make the changes that most players feel are necessary to get all players back at INDO tournaments.

I think if every one just posts constructive criticism the the thread could be very valuable to the INDO, if it deteriorates below this then it is of no use

It is always easy to sit in judgment from the outside but who amongst us would want the job, let us try help in encouraging the INDO to make the changes necessary to get the organization back to where it once was, Darts is the fastest growing game in the country lets hope the INDO have the foresight to grow with it

always in darts

Alot has changed for the better in the INDO the last couple of years (compared to the stories i've heard of before) but its not well documented which would be my main criticism of them. Unfortunately their websites never last more than 2 weeks and its a constant search to find things.

That said I've only being to 3 or 4 events in my life and I could find all this stuff out with just a little effort, one phone call to anyone who goes to events reguarly and they'll generally let you know whats up. Plus the PR guy/secretarys number is on any of their webpages and i'm sure he'll help, he's being sound at the few games i've being at, as have most of them.