Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cowen on the Radio this morning

• 14-09-2010 8:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭

Tired and Emotional???:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

They must have "thinked" late into the night.
    He sounded sick as a small hospital.
    He was interveiwed on his way to his breakfast roll at about 8.30.
    Glad to see FF up early.

On Pat Kenny now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

mike65 wrote: »
    What happened?
    The uh, "think in". AKA the post-summer piss up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

What happened?

Again, what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

What happened?

He appeared to be slurring his words during the interview on good morning ireland, as well as mixing the croke park agreement and the good friday agreement. Apparently he was up late at the FF drink-in last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Raging I missed this, is it archived yet?

Cowen was interviewed this morning at about 8.30, he sounded very worst for the wear

Cheers, I'll listen back assuming RTE haven't blitzed it.

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/209-2818597-396-0.smil

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Christ he sounded rough.
    He should have done a Boris Yeltzin and stayed in his leaba.
    He didn't do himself any favours at all and it will probably live to regret this.

Maybe he has a heavy cold but comparisons with Enda Kenny's interview are already being made.

Confusing the Croke Park agreement with the Good Friday agreement didn't help matters.

Fianna Fáil shindigs in Galway seem to have a habit of backfiring on them.
    Whether they are in tents at the races or plush hotels up on Tailors Hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I can't access here in work, but Ray Darcy has just played back some, so it must be available. He sounded dreadful. I genuinely struggled to understand some things he was saying. Apparently, the interviewer thanked him for doing the interview before breakfast . . . at 8.50!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

shock horror ..... Irish man has a few drinks at work night out !!!!!

We all know the country is in ****e and it isn't nice the irony of Irish people giving out about someone having a night on the piss is bizzare.

For all you think about Cowen et al, it is a tough job, and for all partys these Summer Schools, Think-ins are like a staff night out that we all love to indulge in.

Feckin' sensationalists .... get back to reading your Daily Star !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

As well as sluring his words and getting confused he also spoke for 10 mins without saying anything. He just slurred bullsh1t. Biffo Slurry Mouth, leader of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

As well as sluring his words and getting confused he also spoke for 10 mins without saying anything. He just slurred bullsh1t. Biffo Slurry Mouth, leader of Ireland
    Well, admittedly that's normal.

Okay listening back, he sounds a bit rough and his usual grumpy 'wished he was elsewhere' self but not drunk, that accent isn't the crispest at the best of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

whippet wrote: »

We all know the country is in ****e and it isn't nice the irony of Irish people giving out about someone having a night on the piss is bizzare.

For all you think about Cowen et al, it is a tough job, and for all partys these Summer Schools, Think-ins are like a staff night out that we all love to indulge in.

He should of cancelled that interview. Knowing he'd have a few the night before(no problem there) does not excuse putting on a bad character performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Yes. Shock horror is right.

A "few drinks" doesn't affect you the following morning. A few too much does.

And being "under the weather" the following morning is unacceptable for ANYONE who has to work, let alone someone who's on over €1,000 a day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

I know Cowen sounds like a bogger most of the time, but confusing the Croke Park agreement with the Good Friday Agreement is a bit... suspicious.

and surely if he knew it was going to be on the radio he would have made an effort to prepare himself and sound awake.

people keep saying politics is about perception, I wish some one would tell FF that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Nijmegen wrote: »
    The uh, "think in". AKA the post-summer piss up.

Are they Gardai using surveillance on these yet? Conspiracy to commit fraud and so forth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

can anyone post a link to the former Liberal Party leader who did a TV interview when tired and emotional, Charles Kennedy ?

Sounded similar to this morning, I seem to remember he was shafted within a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

There is a big difference between a company night out or days away and this shower of inept chancers.

Do people on company nights out or company days away get their chauffeurs and bodyguards paid for by us the taxpayers ?

Who is paying their hotel bills ?
    Who is paying for the accomodation for their Garda and non Garda drivers who are with them in Galway?
    Is ff ?
    Are they f***.

Who is paying the bar bills ?

How did all these ministers get over to Galway ?
    How many used the Aer corp aircraft ?

Now why don't you get back to reading the indo.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

I didn't hear the interview, I would just have had my own breakfast and I had listened to Hanafin going on with the usual c*ap about spreading the pain fairly and evenly come the budget, so I doubt I could have kept it down.
    As for being half pi**ed and slurring his speech, I'd say that was par for the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

I heard the interview and he sounded like a man who had a skinful last night and had about 2 hours sleep. He was definitely slurring his words and wasn't far, from being still under the influence, as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

This isn't the first time it has happened.

15cc4rk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

I heard him this morning and he sounded rough from the off you would have though he could have stayed away from the sauce for one night knowing he had an interview booked with the National broadcaster at 8.30 am as I doubt very much that he was door stepped.
    The man is a moron and a liability that we are all paying for and he should go now but then this is Ireland he will probably get a slap on the back from the FFer's and continue on in his ignorant arrogant manner devoid of any leadership skills, qualities or abilities.

jmayo wrote: »
    There is a big difference between a company night out or days away and this shower of inept chancers.

Do people on company nights out or company days away get their chauffeurs and bodyguards paid for by us the taxpayers ?

Who is paying their hotel bills ?
    Who is paying for the accomodation for their Garda and non Garda drivers who are with them in Galway?
    Is ff ?
    Are they f***.

Who is paying the bar bills ?

How did all these ministers get over to Galway ?
    How many used the Aer corp aircraft ?

Now why don't you get back to reading the indo.

So its alright for the majority of the population to go out on the razz but not the politicians .... and for the record the Star has more journalistic credibility than the indo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

If Cowen was absolutely peed out of his mind he would make more sense and show more intellectual ability than anything the ABFF have to offer.

Cowen is up against it big time, the media, the ABFF and the Opposition are ready to pounce at the slightest opportunity. Their contempt for Cowen and FF is at the disturbed menatality level. Cowen has always been uncomfortable with the media as all intelligent people are when stupid questions are repeated
    Billions of words have been written and spoken since April 2008 and billions more will be uttered but nothing will change the simple fact that this country needed a very serious period of deflation and anyone who thinks you can inflate at the same time is a total idiot. I know this, the media know this and the Opposition know this. If the ABFF had brains they would also know this !
    We can all waffle on forever about politics and economics but the botom line is, if an economy is suffering severe inflation the cure, as it has always been, is severe deflation. The No 1 tool in deflation process is massive unemployment. Either learn simple economics or get out of the kitchen.

Liam Byrne wrote: »

And being "under the weather" the following morning is unacceptable for ANYONE who has to work, let alone someone who's on over €1,000 a day!

I thought they were on their holidays until the dail was back, so he isn't entitled to a few drinks on his holidays? Or is the whinging and moaning about dail time only when it suits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭pumpkinsoup

I thought they were on their holidays until the dail was back, so he isn't entitled to a few drinks on his holidays? Or is the whinging and moaning about dail time only when it suits?
    You've missed it again. Going on national radio to address the people in that state is an indication of very poor judgement. The public perception will be one of ineptitude. I think Cowen is in big trouble about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Are you for real or just trolling?
    This is the Prime Minister of our country we're talking about, speaking on the national broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

How do we know he was on the beer last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Here we go!

The bottom line is he shouldn't have agreed to the interview so early if he knew that it was likely to be a late night.

It was certainly unprofessional but the way some are going is way ott. Angels all I presume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

This is the second time in the past year that the country has had the pleasure of hearing their Prime Minister on the national broadcaster obviously hungover from a FF bash the night before.

This man, for better or worse, is the Taoiseach - he should have a bit of respect for himself let alone us.
    This man is taking decisions that will affect all of us for decades to come - yet it appears he can't have one or two at a do and leave it at that.

It's bloody embarrassing for him - and us.

big_show wrote: »
    How do we know he was on the beer last night?
    Because I could smell it off him on the radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I've no problem with him being on the lash until the early hours but it was terrible 'handling' to let him go on air if that was the case. he could esily have said he was busy and go on Pat Kenny later in the morning. Sounded brutal and was really depressing just listening to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

So its alright for the majority of the population to go out on the razz but not the politicians .... and for the record the Star has more journalistic credibility than the indo

The majority of the population are not costing the taxpayers money by organising the pi** up in Galway and using taxpayer paid for resourcers to get to and from it.
    Now are they ?

I notice you ignored all my previous points about who is paying for the accomodation of all the ministers drivers ?
    It is us the taxpayers.
    Once again a ff apologist ignores hard questions. :rolleyes:
    You've missed it again. Going on national radio to address the people in that state is an indication of very poor judgement. The public perception will be one of ineptitude. I think Cowen is in big trouble about this.

Is he f***.
    Look at his excusers out in force to excuse his behaviour.
    cowen could have an orgy with animals or engage in child abuse and you would have the ones out excusing him.

Aidric wrote: »
    Here we go!

The bottom line is he shouldn't have agreed to the interview so early if he knew that it was likely to be a late night.

It was certainly unprofessional but the way some are going is way ott. Angels all I presume.

Why is it ?
    I couldn't give two craps if he was drunk all the time since in my opinion it wouldn't matter.
    He is cr** at his job, period.

Why I am angry is the ff party and it's ministers have decided to go away to Galway on the razz, as affectionately labelled above, and who is paying the cost ?
    We are.

We are continously being told we need to tighten our belts, but we have ff deciding to stay in reasonably expensive hotel in Galway for a couple of nights, courtesy of us the taxpayers.
    How many of them have cars driven by state employed Garda and civilian drivers ?
    Who pays for their accomodation ?

To add insult to injury the moron from Clara turns up to address the nation through the naitonal broadcaster in what appears to be a semi drunken daze.

Bravo for our glorious leader.

We are a joke of a nation.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭big_show

Poly wrote: »
    Because I could smell it off him on the radio

The dog!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Actually, what's more embarassing is the witch hunt that's now being conducted on the national airwaves and by our journalists.

Personally, I have nothing but absolute contempt for journalists. I know several, and they are very nice people, but as a career it is basically sitting there being a critic under the name of "keeping the public informed" and "delivering news that people have to know". It is the easiest thing in the world to be a critic.

As for the what's now going on on the various radio shows - well, we can hardly expect much more from the people of Ireland...it's about as far as we are prepared to rise. Have a problem? Ring Joe Duffy. Perish the thought that you might actually employ a bit of cop on and realise that in the grand scheme of things, this does not matter a damn. That the best or the worst of us, have had mornings where we were tired/hungover/not tuned in. That we all do stupid things.

I am not a FF supporter. In fact, I'm not a fan of politicians in this country. But I wouldn't have Brian Cowen's job for all the money in the country right now. He cannot do anything right. He is actually speaking a modicum of sense this week - he won't fix the problems outright, the budget will be - HAS to be - tough, and people need to grow up and realise that. And as usual, everyone out there is screaming about how wrong he is.

I am deeply ashamed at this point in time to be Irish, and it's not because of what Brian Cowen may have done. It's because we have been exposed, yet again, as the parochial, small minded, self interested paddies that we actually are, instead of a people who are interested in trying to pull our country out of the mess that it's in by trying to work with the Gov and it's possible plans.We've complained for 2 and a half years now.It's getting really, really goddamn old and we need to get over it and cop on to ourselves. We pay ourselves too much money, we are only interested in what we can get out of something personally, and we're great at saying "shure it's not my problem". It's all of our f*&king problems, and instead of whinging about it to Joe Duffy and Pat Kenny (who should know better than to encourage that) , can we please try and actually come up with some solutions.:mad::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Even the government mouthpiece has to tone down its headline
    Taoiseach denies being drunk during interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

jmayo wrote: »
    The majority of the population are not costing the taxpayers money by organising the pi** up in Galway and using taxpayer paid for resourcers to get to and from it.
    Now are they ?

I notice you ignored all my previous points about who is paying for the accomodation of all the ministers drivers ?
    It is us the taxpayers.
    Once again a ff apologist ignores hard questions. :rolleyes:

Is he f***.
    Look at his excusers out in force to excuse his behaviour.
    cowen could have an orgy with animals or engage in child abuse and you would have the ones out excusing him.

Why is it ?
    I couldn't give two craps if he was drunk all the time since in my opinion it wouldn't matter.
    He is cr** at his job, period.

Why I am angry is the ff party and it's ministers have decided to go away to Galway on the razz, as affectionately labelled above, and who is paying the cost ?
    We are.

We are continously being told we need to tighten our belts, but we have ff deciding to stay in reasonably expensive hotel in Galway for a couple of nights, courtesy of us the taxpayers.
    How many of them have cars driven by state employed Garda and civilian drivers ?
    Who pays for their accomodation ?

To add insult to injury the moron from Clara turns up to address the nation through the naitonal broadcaster in what appears to be a semi drunken daze.

Bravo for our glorious leader.

We are a joke of a nation.

We are not paying for this. Surely the FF party are paying for it.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I heard that this morning. I couldn't believe it. The man is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

dan_d wrote: »
    Actually, what's more embarassing is the witch hunt that's now being conducted on the national airwaves and by our journalists.

Personally, I have nothing but absolute contempt for journalists. I know several, and they are very nice people, but as a career it is basically sitting there being a critic under the name of "keeping the public informed" and "delivering news that people have to know". It is the easiest thing in the world to be a critic.

As for the what's now going on on the various radio shows - well, we can hardly expect much more from the people of Ireland...it's about as far as we are prepared to rise. Have a problem? Ring Joe Duffy. Perish the thought that you might actually employ a bit of cop on and realise that in the grand scheme of things, this does not matter a damn. That the best or the worst of us, have had mornings where we were tired/hungover/not tuned in. That we all do stupid things.

I am not a FF supporter. In fact, I'm not a fan of politicians in this country. But I wouldn't have Brian Cowen's job for all the money in the country right now. He cannot do anything right. He is actually speaking a modicum of sense this week - he won't fix the problems outright, the budget will be - HAS to be - tough, and people need to grow up and realise that. And as usual, everyone out there is screaming about how wrong he is.

I am deeply ashamed at this point in time to be Irish, and it's not because of what Brian Cowen may have done. It's because we have been exposed, yet again, as the parochial, small minded, self interested paddies that we actually are, instead of a people who are interested in trying to pull our country out of the mess that it's in by trying to work with the Gov and it's possible plans.We've complained for 2 and a half years now.It's getting really, really goddamn old and we need to get over it and cop on to ourselves. We pay ourselves too much money, we are only interested in what we can get out of something personally, and we're great at saying "shure it's not my problem". It's all of our f*&king problems, and instead of whinging about it to Joe Duffy and Pat Kenny (who should know better than to encourage that) , can we please try and actually come up with some solutions.:mad::mad:

The man is a disgrace. The arrogance of rolling out of bed and dragging your hungover a$$ down to an interview which you haven't bothered preparing for when hundreds of thousands of citizens are fighting to keep their heads above water is mind-numbing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

dan_d wrote: »

Deflect all you want, the topic is Cowen on national radio apparently drunk/hungover.
    The LEADER of the country.
    I'm not following an apparent drunk over the edge to oblivion, are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Kalimah wrote: »
    I heard that this morning. I couldn't believe it. The man is a disgrace.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67996775&postcount=47

Thing is, this really isnt that hard to believe........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

I was watching a special feature on how Ireland is totally "fcuked" on French News this morning. This man and his cronies are primarily responsible for the current situation.

I'd love to return to Ireland to my family and friends, but with people like this in charge there is little point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Sizzler wrote: »

Yeah, I saw that... Just incredible.
    It all highlights the disconnect between Fianna Fail and everybody who has to go out and earn a living.
    For most of us, Bad Times = worrying about losing your job/paying the mortgage
    For FF grandees, Bad Times = getting heat from the voters on the doorstep.

Sizzler wrote: »

I'd say FF spin doctors and lowlifes are now threatening every barman and staff members to STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Kalimah

Oh my God!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

All hail our glorious leader

BrianCowan1.png

BrianCowan3.png

15cc4rk.jpg

And people complain that the man down the pub thinks he can solve the country's problems.....
    Cowen IS the man down the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭MrDarcy

It sounds to me listening to that interview that Cowen's voice is messed up after a violent pukeing session... Ya know that deep gutteral voice ya get after a hard gruelling dose of throwing up on your knees at the jacks???