Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foreign Girls

• 14-09-2010 12:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Guys what do you think about an Irish guy going out with an Eastern European girl? I am doing so and I've gotten a few snide comments here and there about her nationality, customs etc... It's from people I've not expected it to come from either. It's really bothering me and I know it shouldn't do so but I hate to see her get insulted like this. It's driving me crazy. They don't even know her at all yet they preempt their judgement. As if I asked for their opinion on her. We're happy together so screw them. I'm just worried about what's being said to her when I'm not around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

Guys what do you think about an Irish guy going out with an Eastern European girl? I am doing so and I've gotten a few snide comments here and there about her nationality, customs etc... It's from people I've not expected it to come from either. It's really bothering me and I know it shouldn't do so but I hate to see her get insulted like this. It's driving me crazy. They don't even know her at all yet they preempt their judgement. As if I asked for their opinion on her. We're happy together so screw them. I'm just worried about what's being said to her when I'm not around.

Don't see anything wrong with it. Why would there be? Tell whoever is saying these insulting things straight out, that you will not tolerate these insults of the girl you are dating, and that if they continue to do so that you don't wish spend time in their company any more. It could be that they are plain jealous for some reason, or just massively ignorant. Either way, just tell them you don't appreciate their comments, and that to cease speaking in that way about your girlfriend, because you won't stand for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

It's fairly common, dunno why you're getting comments. Anyway, you need to react the same way you would if your gf was Irish - tell them to cop on and stop insulting your gf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Yeah, tell me about it, I have been insulted at many occasions and it can be really tough sometimes, but what can I do? For some people, the fact, that english isnt my first language is enough reason to act really nasty. Its so sad :(
    My advice? Tell them to go to hell :-)

Welcome to the club. My ex was kinda ashemed of me too. He was okay when there was no one around but once we went down to the shops or to the pub he suddenly started acting weird. We broke up, he couldnt cope the pressure of his family and friends talking **** about foreigners . He now regrets it but its too late. Lesson learned. I loved him with all my heart and I actually still do but he hurt me and insulted me enough. I hope his friends and family is there with him right now. He cared about their opinion more than he should have so he should look for their help now. And you OP, you make sure you will never let her down and you will always be there for her when she needs you. If you really care about her dont let people to ruin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

OP i was in the same position. I say "WAS" because i predicted a few snide jokes and comments before everyone knew about the relatonship. Therefore I nipped it in the bud the first time I heard anything. Soon as the first stereotypical comment came out I had a quick serious word to let them know that it was insulting to her and me. Anyone who didnt get the picture were no longer recognised as a friend or relative of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

there could be some jealousy too.

Certainly amongst my mates, having an eastern european gf is sth to be proud of...so far in our experience they have always looked great and really looked after their bfs in a way we dont expect any more from irish girls! Where do I sign up, lol

in terms of snide comments, id take the person aside and say that you know they may not have meant it that way, but that those comments are actually hurtful and you would appreciate it if they stopped. Most reasonable people will stop then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭sassychick

I know how you feel it can be so annoying,im an irish girl with a polish boyfriend and i am very happy...my family wont accept him because he is foreign esp my dad...i cant understand why ppl are so small minded and get a life...and dats exactly what i told them:D ..i deserve to be happy and i dont care what ppl think anymore...so u enjoy your other half;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

All this slagging over having a foreign girlfriend is complete non-sense.
    The same friends who slag you for having a foreign girlfriend would do the same. If they saw some hot polish thing and she was flirting with them, you think they'd say "sorry love" - no they wouldnt. Its all BS.

Ireland has opened up alot in the last 15 years. Which is basically a generation. Alot of African, Polish, eastern european etc etc now live in Ireland. Its natural they will intergrate and begin dating Irish people.

There is actually alot of discussions on the net and not just in Ireland about more and more black women dating white men. I even dated 2 black women. I am 25 and if you asked me 2 years ago "would you date a black girl?" i probably would of said "probably not" - then i did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭TomBeckett

Yeah I remember getting this S**T also.. My Gf is Thai and she would get
    snubbed by Irish women because she was going out with an irish lad..
    To be honest i think its just ignorance and Jealousy...Ireland is full of
    that...Glad im out of there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

This is common enough. My lady is Italian, I have heard of a few snide remarks and all were from women.

Thing is, Irish women feel threatened by it and don't like the way lads now have more choice and can meet nicer women. Not all women are like that here. Still plenty of lovely women to be found on the native isle who are perfectly sound but unforunately, only the geebags speak up and that's what we hear.

If your girlfriend doesn't mind it, then don't worry. Feel free to insult these feckweapons back. They deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Honestly I think it depends where the foreign girl is from. I don't know what kind of comments you are getting. It sounds out of line. But if my brother were dating an Eastern European woman, other than from Poland,based on what I see around me I would stay away because these ladies seem tough and hard and they are only one or two generations away from living in the communist block and you cant shake off that kind of paranoia in one generation. No thank you. Plus they are used to being treated a certain way by men and that makes you both hard, tough, and devious.

My brother has a Thai girlfriend, which tbh I think is funny and a tiny part of me thinks its so she can be sweet and meek and obedient and non demanding. Would I ever make this comment to his face? No. At the same time I think Eurasian babies are gorgeous so I can't be too smug about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Distorted

Slightly as above. But in a non-racist sense, I do kind of find myself looking at the girlfriends guys have and kind of making certain assumptions about them based on that. For example, at uni there were a big group of friends comprised of males and females and a lot of the guys were doing one particular vocational course. We still meet up now and then for get togethers, and its really noticeable that all the guys in this course, without exception, have girlfriend who weren't at uni and who in their mid to late twenties, have never had more than a casual little part-time job. Now I'm not saying there is anything wrong with that at all but its like they dislike intelligent women with careers. And I'm not being racist in this thinking (because they are all Irish) but I do find myself having a higher opinion of a guy if he has an intelligent, hard working, good looking girlfriend.

So if a guy had an Eastern European or Thai girlfriend, and the girlfriend barely said a word to me if I met her other than to be quite unfriendly (has happened), and had no career of her own to speak of (never met any that did yet), and lived off the man (this too), or was unusually meak and submissive (I was brought up in Ireland to make my own way in life and not to serve a man), it would make me carry certain assumptions about the man. I wouldn't make rude comments, but I would carry those assumptions round in my head. OTOH if he had an Eastern European or Thai girlfriend who was gregarious and ran her own successful business or had a professional career, I would think well of the man and admire him for attracting such a "catch".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Chicago Chick

If possible I would try to ignore it. My BIL is married to an Eastern European girl and she does do some things differently to us, it can be nice to have different customs, we would be very boring if we were all the same.

People will always pick on something different from the bullies at school to this sort of thing when out socialising. If you are happy together thats what matters.

I've met some lovely Eastern European women who have been very open and friendly as well as attractive. They have great senses of humour and I'd have no issue going out with them - cos they were hot and funny.

I have a friend who went out with a Polish girl recently and she was not particularly friendly to any of his group of friends, didn't really seem to want to get on with us even though we had tried to make her feel as welcome as we could.

It all depends on the person's personality.

If it's jokes about the girl's background/nationality, unless it's malicious, I don't think it would bother me unless it was ongoing. We are a nation of slaggers. If she was from Cork, she'd hear about that.... a culchie/a jackeen, a Nordy.... from a rougher area...... we've all had it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Honestly I think it depends where the foreign girl is from. I don't know what kind of comments you are getting. It sounds out of line. But if my brother were dating an Eastern European woman, other than from Poland,based on what I see around me I would stay away because these ladies seem tough and hard and they are only one or two generations away from living in the communist block and you cant shake off that kind of paranoia in one generation. No thank you. Plus they are used to being treated a certain way by men and that makes you both hard, tough, and devious.

My brother has a Thai girlfriend, which tbh I think is funny and a tiny part of me thinks its so she can be sweet and meek and obedient and non demanding. Would I ever make this comment to his face? No. At the same time I think Eurasian babies are gorgeous so I can't be too smug about it.

OMG. Prejudice alert. I have stupidly never assumed that, as a 'non-Polish Eastern European', I could ever feel an object of discrimination (and to be fair, I have never as yet felt it in Ireland as such), but your post has definitely got me there, so congrats on that. ;)

How would it make you feel if I came on here saying that the OP is very lucky at the very least not to have an North-American g/f, as, based on what I see around me, the Americans are thick as two planks, very ignorant of the world outside their country, arrogant to the hilt, and have absolutely no sense of humour. I bet you would have something to say about that (and I am sure you are aware that this is a well established opinion in some quarters of the society).

Besides which, I can see by the very content of your prejudice that you are tarring a vast amount of people (whose countries you have never been to) with a very wide and ill-fitting brush. I could understand if you said that these girls seem tough and hard and left it at that, because I can see how they would seem different to you. (In my local supermarket, there is a woman with an Eastern European accent working the check-out who doesn't seem to have ever cracked a smile in her life. An Irish person I was shopping with noticed it and took a bit of an exception to that, as in "bad service", while I never mind that kind of thing, as I know the mentality through and through and there is no malice or lack of effort in it - it's how people were brought up and the way different nations communicate, some very energetically so, some less so - think of the other extreme, Japanese people always bowing to one another, and you will be better able to understand "hardness" or "lack of politeness" these people are accused of).

But introducing paranoia and "deviousness" is really a step too far and projection of some imaginary Eastern Europe of yours onto the OP's situation. Not to mention "being treated a certain way by men". LOL. It made me laugh, because as I thought about it, it made me realise that problems for me, in terms of indifferent/selfish treatment by men, only started after I immigrated here. Do I blame Irish men for this? No. Because that would be tarring them all with the same brush.

Or am I being "paranoid"? :p

OP, if you care about the girl, the strength of your relationship will soon enough start speaking volumes to people around you. They will get to change their minds. And whoever stays inimical to your girlfriend, wasn't worth knowing in the first place. It's all about the ignorance.

seenitall wrote: »
    OMG. Prejudice alert. I have stupidly never assumed that, as a 'non-Polish Eastern European', I could ever feel an object of discrimination (and to be fair, I have never as yet felt it in Ireland as such), but your post has definitely got me there, so congrats on that. ;)

How would it make you feel if I came on here saying that the OP is very lucky at the very least not to have an North-American g/f, as, based on what I see around me, the Americans are thick as two planks, very ignorant of the world outside their country, arrogant to the hilt, and have absolutely no sense of humour. I bet you would have something to say about that (and I am sure you are aware that this is a well established opinion in some quarters of the society).

Honestly I wouldn't care if only because it is inaccurate. It would only matter if I thought it was true. If you said he is lucky not to be with a north american girl because we have a totally different sense of rights and entitlement, particularly Manhattanites because they don't know how to cook, and expect you to pick up the tab, well then I'd have to agree with you on their customs even if I don't agree with you on the OPs luck or bad luck in being with that person.

This thread is about prejudices. They do exist. They are as old as the ages, rightly or wrongly. I have been on the other side of them myself, being foreign. That's life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Honestly I wouldn't care if only because it is inaccurate. It would only matter if I though it was true. If you said he is lucky not to be with a north american girl because we have a totally different sense of rights and entitlement, particularly Manhattanites because they don't know how to cook, and expect you to pick up the tab, well then I'd have to agree with you on their customs even if I don't agree with you on the OPs luck or bad luck in being with that person.

This thread is about prejudices. They do exist. They are as old as the ages, rightly or wrongly. I have been on the other side of them myself, being foreign. That's life.

Well, you have actually been on both sides of them! Agreed, c'est la vie. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

hmm, glanced over the last few replies.
    But sadly we do live in a world where people are either ignorant, prejudice or just plain old stupid.

Example:
    - A man could date a girl from somalia - and for his friends to be talking behind his back. Obviously what alot of people know is Somalia has had its troubles with war and alot are refugees in this country. They have a stigma of being "moochers" - Fact is tho, she could be a lovely girl.

or better yet,
    - irish guy dates a romanian girl. Your average person ignorantly thinks all romanian people are gypsys. They are not. Its the exact same as Ireland and our gypsys.

But yet, if the above was replaced with Polish or Russian there wouldnt be much said.

You just got to accept the fact some people are either stupid, ignorant or prejudice. (i think its more stupid and ignorant alot of the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

I think what matters is that you are both at similar stages in your life and compatible.

It doesnt really matter where a girl comes from, Ireland, America's, Africa, Europe, Australia, Asia etc. No relationship is plain sailing and regardless of what customs or culture a person may have, you have to work through day to day problems. What really matters is that your happy and it seems like you are.

Who cares what other people think? They will soon think of something else to criticise with time and most likely it will be something completely new to them. The novelty of your "foreign" girlfriend will wear off to them, and they might actually just see her in the same light as any other Irish girl.

Once you get to know people personally of different colour, country, culture, religion, background, usually any sort of fear of the unknown, ignorance or prejudice wears off. So I suggest you do mutual activities,hanging out with your girlfriend and friends, and she will eventually blend in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

But if my brother were dating an Eastern European woman, other than from Poland,based on what I see around me I would stay away because these ladies seem tough and hard and they are only one or two generations away from living in the communist block and you cant shake off that kind of paranoia in one generation. No thank you. Plus they are used to being treated a certain way by men and that makes you both hard, tough, and devious.

Or maybe what you call 'paranoia' is just realism, and awareness of certain truths about life and power that we, having grown up in a totalitarian state, have and you don't?

Distorted wrote: »
    So if a guy had an Eastern European or Thai girlfriend, and the girlfriend barely said a word to me if I met her other than to be quite unfriendly (has happened), and had no career of her own to speak of (never met any that did yet), and lived off the man (this too), or was unusually meak and submissive (I was brought up in Ireland to make my own way in life and not to serve a man), it would make me carry certain assumptions about the man. I wouldn't make rude comments, but I would carry those assumptions round in my head. OTOH if he had an Eastern European or Thai girlfriend who was gregarious and ran her own successful business or had a professional career, I would think well of the man and admire him for attracting such a "catch".

For God's sake, what the hell is wrong with being a housewife? It's a profession like any other, and if there are kids involved then raising kids well is as important a job as any other.

So just because I marry a woman who wants to stay at home and run a household you would 'make assumptions' about me? What happened to knowing people before you make assumptions?

Murder exists and is as old as the ages. Does that mean that one should just murder people, and not to fight such urges within themselves?

You just seem to be accepting a quality in yourself that is negative: why? Why don't you fight to change it, to learn to judge people on what they do and not on what they are?

OP here, thanks for all the replies! I think I'll just be straight up and mention it to the next person who says it to her. It's generally girls who say things though and I don't want to be the overprotective boyfriend and at the same time, I don't want to make it worse by interfering if you get what I mean? Like they may stop saying it to her face but the b1tching might get worse behind both our backs.

Oh and metrovelvet, I don't see how whether her being from Poland or not has anything to do with her attitude. She is not from Poland and she is one of the friendliest, nicest girls I have ever met in my life. I think it's just a stereotype. Irish people = drunks, Eastern European = cold, German = efficient, Italians = coffee drinkers and Americans = stupid. It's not correct 99 times out of a 100 (except for maybe the Irish one!!) but the stereotype is still there.

Moomoo1 wrote: »
    For God's sake, what the hell is wrong with being a housewife? It's a profession like any other, and if there are kids involved then raising kids well is as important a job as any other.

So just because I marry a woman who wants to stay at home and run a household you would 'make assumptions' about me? What happened to knowing people before you make assumptions?

Nationality aside, I do find men dont like competition and when it comes to intelligence its really evident. My mam was a housewife and brillant mum (like most Irish mammies were), so nothing to do with actual career as such. I find it myself being discriminated by men because of my level of education. I feel over qualified! The few times I have lied and mentioned being an "air-hostess" I got a totally different reaction compared to saying a "Science Geek".

Also discrimination occurs all the time in Ireland, even within Counties and Cities. People continue to stereotype people based on the area they come from, whether it be a particular place in Dublin etc.

So back to OP, like other posters touched on, you could be slagged about any number of reasons about the girl. Even if she was Irish, they prob slag her based on the specific town/city she is from. Unfortunately that is the Nature of Irish People. (and I thought they were meant to be friendly bunch)

OP here, thanks for all the replies! I think I'll just be straight up and mention it to the next person who says it to her. It's generally girls who say things though and I don't want to be the overprotective boyfriend and at the same time, I don't want to make it worse by interfering if you get what I mean? Like they may stop saying it to her face but the b1tching might get worse behind both our backs.

Oh and metrovelvet, I don't see how whether her being from Poland or not has anything to do with her attitude. She is not from Poland and she is one of the friendliest, nicest girls I have ever met in my life. I think it's just a stereotype. Irish people = drunks, Eastern European = cold, German = efficient, Italians = coffee drinkers and Americans = stupid. It's not correct 99 times out of a 100 (except for maybe the Irish one!!) but the stereotype is still there.

Sorry but the Irish stereotype has a huge element of truth in it. Don't tell me Im wrong about that. And Cowen doesn't help matters. You're telling me Germans aren't efficient? Lol. You'll tell me the French don't take digestion seriously next.

Cultures carry traits. You should be prepared for this kind of reaction and not be so sensitive to it. Your friends should just keep their opinions to themselves.

Nationality aside, I do find men dont like competition and when it comes to intelligence its really evident. My mam was a housewife and brillant mum (like most Irish mammies were), so nothing to do with actual career as such. I find it myself being discriminated by men because of my level of education. I feel over qualified! The few times I have lied and mentioned being an "air-hostess" I got a totally different reaction compared to saying a "Science Geek".

Also discrimination occurs all the time in Ireland, even within Counties and Cities. People continue to stereotype people based on the area they come from, whether it be a particular place in Dublin etc.

So back to OP, like other posters touched on, you could be slagged about any number of reasons about the girl. Even if she was Irish, they prob slag her based on the specific town/city she is from. Unfortunately that is the Nature of Irish People. (and I thought they were meant to be friendly bunch)

I think this is very true. Irish people are very tribal. And you leave the country for 15 minutes and your not Irish anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Major Lovechild

Racism, small-mindedness, ignorance and of course jealousy.

Real friends do not make such judgements.

Wo ist die Gemütlichkeit?

It most certainly is not a profession! And yes, your second paragraph is 100% spot on, in relation to people I know in real life. Theres no reason on earth why in the 21st Century a woman can't have a job and provide for herself, before getting married and raising kids. Or indeed go back to work once the children are a certain age. I dislike golddiggers and liggers, basically. And the people I'm referring to don't actually have children yet.

You wouldn't make the same comments about a man who at the age of 27, had never had a full time job or got qualifications, and who then planned to live off his girlfriend/wife for the rest of his life.

Its just total sexism, with a bit of misogyny thrown in. Theres a lot of men who just can't cope with an intelligent woman who has a career, and they try to excuse it with all sorts of nonsense, like the women in Thailand being more "compassionate", or women who have careers being too hard. I'm not taken in by any of it. And neither are a lot of other people. You can't control what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

You get sick of the where did you buy her type comments. (rellay happened with an ex girlfriend)

I even quite a few female friends of varying skin tones that are often mistaken for more than friends that have been commented on.

To be honest the people that make the comments are usually not worth knowing anyway. Try and just let it go.

Distorted wrote: »
    It most certainly is not a profession! And yes, your second paragraph is 100% spot on, in relation to people I know in real life. Theres no reason on earth why in the 21st Century a woman can't have a job and provide for herself, before getting married and raising kids. Or indeed go back to work once the children are a certain age. I dislike golddiggers and liggers, basically. And the people I'm referring to don't actually have children yet.

You wouldn't make the same comments about a man who at the age of 27, had never had a full time job or got qualifications, and who then planned to live off his girlfriend/wife for the rest of his life.

Its just total sexism, with a bit of misogyny thrown in. Theres a lot of men who just can't cope with an intelligent woman who has a career, and they try to excuse it with all sorts of nonsense, like the women in Thailand being more "compassionate", or women who have careers being too hard. I'm not taken in by any of it. And neither are a lot of other people. You can't control what people think.

there is just one flaw in your argument, but it's a major one: assuming that being a housewife/husband is easy. To maintain a house to a high standard and do all the errands is a lot of work. If you wanted to hire an au pair, guess how much they cost? And what about a nanny for your kids, those cost even more? And yet, if the wife chooses to do those full-time, it's somehow 'not a job'! But she's doing work that, if done by a third party, costs a lot of money.

I can't control what people think, for sure, but I can point out prejudice and tell you that the way you judge people is wrong. Which is what I am doing. Your basic assumption is that men (for whatever reason) should love (and find attractive) professional women more than housewives, and any men who don't are ones that 'wimped out'. But that assumption is unfounded: we fall in love with a person, not a career path.

The real reason Irish men go for foreigners is simple: the pool of women considered attractive in a relatively small nation like Ireland is limited, and so by going abroad you can get the sort of woman who would be well out of your league if she were Irish.

there is just one flaw in your argument, but it's a major one: assuming that being a housewife/husband is easy. To maintain a house to a high standard and do all the errands is a lot of work. If you wanted to hire an au pair, guess how much they cost? And what about a nanny for your kids, those cost even more? And yet, if the wife chooses to do those full-time, it's somehow 'not a job'! But she's doing work that, if done by a third party, costs a lot of money.

I can't control what people think, for sure, but I can point out prejudice and tell you that the way you judge people is wrong. Which is what I am doing. Your basic assumption is that men (for whatever reason) should love (and find attractive) professional women more than housewives, and any men who don't are ones that 'wimped out'. But that assumption is unfounded: we fall in love with a person, not a career path.

The real reason Irish men go for foreigners is simple: the pool of women considered attractive in a relatively small nation like Ireland is limited, and so by going abroad you can get the sort of woman who would be well out of your league if she were Irish.

what happened to personality?? surely beauty is in the eye of the beholder?

i think ireland could do with a mix in the gene pool...its about time...if the irish keep mixing with themselves, we know what that is called ;)

mixing up the gene pool decreases the likelihood of getting diseases, cancer etc. and prob makes better looking off spring too.

You misunderstand me. I see nothing wrong with being a "housewife" - its the never having a decent job or paying your way in life that I don't respect. Nothing wrong with having a career and then choosing to give it up to do more stuff at home, or be with children. I do of course know how "hard" it is to "maintain a house to a high standard and do all the errands is" - I combine it with a full time job, for goodness sake! Just like loads of other people.

No, I don't think men should love women only for their accomplishments, but I don't think they should deliberately pick women who are going to be financially grateful to them because they're easier to control. However its human nature to judge people on all sorts of things. Appearances can be deceptive, but like it or not, your choice of partner says about a person. Your last sentence is true though, especially the out of your league bit (and us Irish women know it and are not taken in) - but it might have something to do with some of these foreign brides coming from third world countries where their only realistic way out of poverty is marrying a rich Westerner?

I was actually surprised by the OP saying that he got negative comments. I certainly wouldn't comment on someone going out with a foreigner (I might have some thoughts but I would never dream of saying anything rude). Then in the supermarket tonight I saw a man parading (and I use the word parading deliberately because he was out there with her to get people to look at him) a woman dressed as Thailand's version of Britney Spears. Quite frankly if you are going to go around a supermarket with someone dressed in silver hotpants, bare thighs, knee length white socks and little silver boots, combined with a tight, low cut top when its a raging gale and freezing outside, you might attract a few comments I guess. She was dressed up to look like a child really, but had a face in her mid thirties, but the effect was more comical and sleazy than admirable.

And no, this is nothing to do with me wishing I had her figure because I'm a track runner, yet me and my training partners don't feel the desire to go around the supermarket in shorts and crop top, showing off our perfectly toned bodies.