Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does power corrupt? Would you be corrupt?

• 13-09-2010 8:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 43 IMMA CHARGIN MAH LAZER

At the end of the day we can slag off the banks and the government but if you were there? What would you do? Would you care about people who were stupid and bought over priced flats in Ongar? Or would you look after you close friends, on behalf of yourself?

Is it easy to berate the people in power but would you be any different?

Does power corrupt?

As much as I hate to admit it I think. I would close ranks to keep my stuff in check. So I am not sure I can criticise others for doing the same. :(

You?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'd use my power to further the LGBT agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

I'd kill everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Howaya Bertie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Where the hell is Ongar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I don't know any other way, i have been assimilated from living here. Resistance is futile....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Does power corrupt? Would you be corrupt?

Absolutely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i would introduce a 99c coin, make it law that everyone must eat indian once a week and i would ban the catholic church

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 IMMA CHARGIN MAH LAZER

Where the hell is Ongar?

That's what I keep asking : It is on buses :/ who knows where it is??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

its in meath or louth isnt it, like nobber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

That's what I keep asking : It is on buses :/ who knows where it is??

Its one of the moons in Alpha Senturi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

*puts brown envelope in OP's pocket* What say you now? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Links234 wrote: »

I assume the agenda is to rid the world of humans! :D Only sex with the same sex! :pac:

I'd probably not be corrupted, I doubt I could be really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

its in meath or louth isnt it, like nobber

I just googled it - it says Dublin 15.

So yeah, it's in Meath, technically.

Links234 wrote: »

So they DO have an agenda!! :eek:
    Conspiracy! rabblerabble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Then raise the scarlet standard high.
    Within its shade we'll live and die,
    Though cowards flinch and traitors sneer,
    We'll keep the red flag flying here.

You can shove the red flag up your arse,
    I've got the foreman's job at last.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Damn, I've let it slip! the homosexual agenda has been exposed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 IMMA CHARGIN MAH LAZER

Pookah wrote: »

Absolutely.

Indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

Chicken and egg. Corrupt people are more likely to pursue power for its own sake, and to be more ruthless and aggressive in their pursuit of it. The only effect power has is enable them to express their inate corruptness.

Personally I respond to power with an increased sense of responsibility.

A lack of power is more likely to corrupt imo. It can force people to do things they would not like to do in other circumstances.

I think there is often a connection between the drive for power and the survival instinct of an individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Young idealists like Stalin, Castro and Mao Tse Tung probably have proven that it often does

Just reminded me of this song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

ask any garda, judge or politician ..... if they can help a friend by using their "power" ... the official answer is "no"

the unofficial position .... "what do you want/need me to do for you?" ....shortly followed by ..... "I'll see what I can do....." (and a wink)

so in answer to the question ...yes power corrupts, would I be corrupt ... probably - I dont know until I get power.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

No, and No. Micheal Collins was Commander in Chief of the free state army, did he try to become a dictator? No. Power does not corrupt. Its just that sometimes, unscrupulous and already corrupt people try to get power for their own ends. They are corrupt first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

PCPhoto wrote: »
    ask any garda, judge or politician ..... if they can help a friend by using their "power" ... the official answer is "no"

the unofficial position .... "what do you want/need me to do for you?" ....shortly followed by ..... "I'll see what I can do....." (and a wink)

This is generally true. But generally only **** want to be guards, judges or politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 mrbruno

Power does not necessarily corrupt. It provides an outlet in which an already corrupt person can work to better their own position. For example, in Cuba, Batista used his power to better himself. But later, Castro, who arguably had more power, used this power to help the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Would power corrupt me? - of course not.
    Would I operate within the law? - without question.
    Would I write the laws? - absolutely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Where the hell is Ongar?

It's an archaeological site in Pakistan.

That's where Ongar is. Check it if you like.