Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best in Ireland

• 13-09-2010 2:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

who would you say are currently the best DJs in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

its obviously gonna be genre specific so its gonna be hard to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

go to crawdaddy on a tuesday and youll be blown away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭BigDaddyCan

ok well in any given genre who would you say is the best?

Fergal D'Arcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

It's far too relative a term man, there's heads I respect who keep it real, but as for who to call "the best" i think it's a fool's game really...

Code
    Sunil Sharpe
    Jeff Walters
    Don Rosco
    Barry Redsetta

are all on top of their game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

joe duffy
    his "talk to joe" show is at the forefront of electronic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

copeyhagen wrote: »
    joe duffy
    his "talk to joe" show is at the forefront of electronic.

I think he's more rap than electronic though so I wouldn't class him here. Although when he starts to freestyle, his lyrical flow is second to none, gets them all going from Clontarf to Dundrum and the way he raises his voice when he gets excited, the guy's a passionate man and he just can't hide it.

Montrose to the muthafúcka!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

Sunil Sharpe

Dan McElligot

Giles Armstrong

Jeff Walters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

It's far too relative a term man, there's heads I respect who keep it real, but as for who to call "the best" i think it's a fool's game really...

Code
    Sunil Sharpe
    Jeff Walters
    Don Rosco
    Barry Redsetta

are all on top of their game.

i really enjoy listening to the redsetta podcast and sunil sharpe is allways on top form, but i am definetly the best dj in ireland at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Kormac ftw!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

go to crawdaddy on a tuesday and youll be blown away

In fairness, one of the DJs at that night, who I know well, is probably one of the best resident DJs of a mainstream music night in Dublin.

probably one of the best resident DJs of a mainstream music night in Dublin.

Thats a big claim to make. Ive came across plenty of DJs in clubs in Dublin who were fairly decent despite the constraints they're under when playing in a mainstream venue. Crawdaddy isnt a mainstream venue in a 'student clubbing' sense, yet the two times ive been there they DJin was bad to middlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

In fairness, one of the DJs at that night, who I know well, is probably one of the best resident DJs of a mainstream music night in Dublin.

your only saying that coz hes your mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Always enjoy going to see Barry Redsettazzz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭R.Shackleford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭NotInventedHere

That is possibly the gayest thing i've ever seen

No mentions of Fran Hartnett so far, shame on me.

brianc27 wrote: »
    your only saying that coz hes your mate

I'm not. Have you ever seen him DJ? He can beatmatch two tracks of completely different genres perfectly in about 10 seconds, and finds completely different tracks that mix together perfectly. DJing that kind of music is much harder than 20 house tracks of the same BPM.

just a question,is he a laptop dj?

(dont know the fella or the night in question so im just curious)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

blatant scouring of internet forums to book guests? :P

It would really depend on what genre to be honest.

there's plenty of crowd pleasers out there, there's plenty of top quality DJ with amazing tunes and amazing abilities!

I'm just going to judge this on DJ's i've seen this year (i've only been out 4 times so far this year)
    Frankie Fagan(Dublin)
    Darren Rice(Waterford/Wexford)
    Lee McEnery(Waterford)
    Luke Creed(Waterford)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

No one in Dublin is as good as Dancepig at that kind of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

who the feck are ye's talking about?

quick lads,try to look cool.there a girl on the forum:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

seannash wrote: »
    quick lads,try to look cool.there a girl on the forum:cool:

False alarm, it's just a shiller.

Hah... Women DJs. Where the hell would you fit decks in a kitchen?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

SteveDon wrote: »
    No one in Dublin is as good as Dancepig at that kind of stuff.

Just a shame he's from Tramore, Co.Waterford then isn't it? :D

seannash wrote: »
    just a question,is he a laptop dj?

(dont know the fella or the night in question so im just curious)

Nope, always uses CDs.

2,000 posts or something, and the first woman in here is and she's a shiller. We might have to do something about our image. Maybe we should change the name of the forum to Electronic Music & DJing, and Committment and Changing Ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Oh good god :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

I seem to remember a certain DJ Alan creating quite a stir here a few months back, can we include him on the list?:D

Sweet. Divine. Jesus.

Fourplay DJs are headlining the re-launch of Thursdays LIVE! in the UCD student bar tonight...

jimi_t2 wrote: »
    Sweet. Divine. Jesus.

Fourplay DJs are headlining the re-launch of Thursdays LIVE! in the UCD student bar tonight...
    whoever booked them clowns deserves to be shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Sweet. Divine. Jesus.

They're also on in NUIM on the Wednesday night of fresher's week :(
    I'm ashamed to say I go to college there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭R.Shackleford

cian1500ww wrote: »
    They're also on in NUIM on the Wednesday night of fresher's week :(
    I'm ashamed to say I go to college there...

This should wet your appetite for the big night. Cringe factor 1000!!

Ah c'mon now, they've got a bebo page set up. They must be fairly professional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭A_Fitz

Saw Kevin Blake earlier this year and he was wicked - although I think it was more of a live/ableton thing.........serious quality though

Executive Steve & Bonz AKA Ancient Ways - my favourite Irish dn'b DJs

Saw Kormac a few years back and he was wicked

Jay Galligan is quality, as much as it pains me to say it

That Vakama lad plays some quality, deep ****

CJ Fitz - best warm up DJ in the country, IMO.......also one of the best deep dubstep DJs around (Yes we are related, and yes I am biased - but I'm also right)

Micky Naked Lunch - top dubstep DJ/label boss

I like Code as well, and his non-dn/b selections are probably even better than his dn'b ones, IMO

Paudi Ahern - for all that italo, electro and techno business

Kevin O' Shea
    - purveyor of all sorts of deep quality and Detroit goodness

A_Fitz wrote: »

Executive Steve & Bonz AKA Ancient Ways - my favourite Irish dn'b DJs

Nice one for the mention dude!

Catch us at:

Cyberfest Sligo 25th of September (Executive Steve)

Lavery's Belfast 27th of September (Executive Steve)

Afterlife @ The Vaults Dublin 1st of October

Tumbleweed @ Turk's Head Dublin 2nd of October (2 1/2 hour back to back set)

Hertz U 1st Birthday bash @ The Twisted Pepper Dublin, October 8th (dubstep / garage / techno set)

Baker's Limerick 16th of October

Raveyard @ The Twisted Pepper 29th October

Vinyl copies of Ancient Ways 001 featuring Gremlinz & Stranjah "Blues VIP" and Cartridge "Another Way" are on sale now. PM me for details, will be knocking them out at gigs as well so rock on down and pick one up from us.

Tumbleweed @ Turk's Head Dublin 2nd of October (2 1/2 hour back to back set)

That the one the other Steve (Ganjdalf?) is involved in?

The very man! Haven't even been to the Turk's Head before, should be a giggle though - what's the setup like in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭A_Fitz

Nice one for the mention dude!

Hertz U 1st Birthday bash @ The Twisted Pepper Dublin, October 8th (dubstep / garage / techno set)

Will be at this, more than likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

The very man! Haven't even been to the Turk's Head before, should be a giggle though - what's the setup like in there?

It's a nice little spot. Decent enough sound system from all reports.

Very excited that i shall be supporting Ancient Ways.:D

With regard to local heads doing things right....definitely gotta give Exec Steve and Bonz a lot of respect.

CJ Fitz has done some of my favourite mixes hands down, hence having him headline Stomp @ South William for me on the 7th of October. Cannot WAIT to stand there, fizzy drink in hand and just enjoy what he does.

I have massive respect for Welfare, dude has some serious skills on the decks and is a top notch selecta as well. Really looking forward to his return to the Irish scene.

A-force ****ing blew me away at the Dublin leg of Bass Off, savage set, definitely a guy who always drops something new and exciting that i haven't heard before.

Drokkr does a bitching live thing, his 100BPM sets are really something i think and he is gonna do a lot of damage on the international scene over the next couple of years.

Jonezy out of Cork is a man with a bad jungle addiction who can put together a seriously room shuddering Dubstep set as well.

Oh yeah and Bellows, quality skills and a ****ing lesson in quality selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭cjfitz

CJ Fitz has done some of my favourite mixes hands down, hence having him headline Stomp @ South William for me on the 7th of October. Cannot WAIT to stand there, fizzy drink in hand and just enjoy what he does.

No pressure then, lol! ;)

Cheers for the kind words man, looking forward to the gig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

A_Fitz wrote: »
    Saw Kevin Blake earlier this year and he was wicked - although I think it was more of a live/ableton thing.........serious quality though

Live only. He's come on in a major way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

cjfitz wrote: »
    No pressure then, lol! ;)

Cheers for the kind words man, looking forward to the gig!

None at all mate! :D

Also, can't believe i forget to mention T-Woc. D'oh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Dr_Herringbone

Are you hoping somebody will nominate you Can?

Redmonk is pretty damn handy with a pair of 1210's, that chap could mix oil and water...

Rohan & Naphta were godike in their day too.