Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If This Kid Can Smile, So Can You

• 12-09-2010 6:15am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

This is a truly inspiring photo. This just shows the tremendous strength and courage that can be mustered by a child. Look the elation on his face. How many days how you gotten home and been in a bad mood? Have you ever gotten “bitchy” over your latte order coming out wrong? This kind of puts that all into perspective.

I’m not trying to say that you can’t ever be in a bad mood, but things like this make you think twice about what you’re upset about and if it really matters in the long run. This kid is my hero of the month. I would love to meet him. It will be interesting to see where he is and what he’s accomplished 10/15 years from now despite all of his hardships. I’ll bet he will have done quite a bit, if I’m not totally off-base. I’ll also bet that he doesn’t even consider himself to be hindered in any way.

Source

Photo
    Thought it was a good article myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

What now ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

What now ??
    Bit early, a few links would have been handy :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

God bless that little tike!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Source

Photo
    Thought it was a good article myself.

im sick of these good news storys that aren't really good news storys their just sympathy for some body wh o im sure gets their fair share on a daily basis.

i mean the kid can smile now... but in 20 years when or if he lives on the streets he's just something to stare at.

the internet is full of teh ghey these days and this is more evidence.

don't get me wrong i wish everyone was born as intended but some folks arent, some get wonky brains but their bodys fine and vice versa.... but alienating someone to the extent that we can smile cause they can too ( despite the fact this kid will never operate large machinery )

i call shenanagians on all this sorta thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Run along there now.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Dude, if i had that many pairs of Bionic Legs i'd be smiling too!

They look cool as hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

The author is a self righteous prick.

Because everyone but this kid only has 'latte' related worries :rolleyes:

Sounds like the author is a latte bitch more like.

Well, of course he can smile. He's had state-of-the-art prozzy legs growing up. Considering the state of prosthetics, in 10-15 years time the lad will be able to run faster than any of us if he wants. He'll talk about his legs the same way petrolheads talk about cars.

At least, he will with people who think beyond the "oh, you have no legs, you poor poor thing you, awwww" mentality.
    Besides, that kid will always be able to choose his own height.

Most people in this kind of situation roll their eyes at this kind of stuff. Or ham it up. Ham-it-up folks are jackasses.

Amputee t-shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

And what about the sad faces on Iraqi and Afghani kids with arms and legs blown off, will they get state of the art prosthetics? I doubt it, if they are very lucky they will get obsolete hand me downs from a charity, they certainly won't have a feel good article in a western publication, because they wouldn't make the readers feel good at all.

Split from above. If there's one thing I feel sorry for with amputees, it's the amount of online attention they get (on Facebook, twitter etc.) from people who have an "interest" in amputeeism. Any amputee who's ever put pictures that have their rezzy limb (stump) or their prosthetic in it, will eventually get a deluge of messages from various men (I've yet to see a female one) saying "oh, you are fantastic/beautiful/an inspiration, can you post more pictures of your stump?"

I mean, yeuch. If that's your bag, fair enough it's not kiddie porn (and I suppose if you're into your leather & PVC then an all-plastic limb can work for you) but come on. Looking for fapping pics over the interwebs from non-porn people = fail.

Wtf? I thought this would be a kid in a wheelchair or could do next to nothing for himself or was horribly disfigured or lost his whole family or something.
    He has prosthetic legs :confused:
    I'm sure it's very difficult but of all the things to have a stupid soppy garnering-sympathy email about...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Why wouldn't he be smiling ffs. a load of **** to be honest.

'a truely inspiring photo...'

Come back to me when he has climbed everest or something with that same smile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

This thread is now about hawt amputee girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

This thread is now about hawt amputee girl

Wrong! This thread is now about unexplained subterranean mystery horse.

I see your hawt amputee....

and raise you nude cyborg athlete

(before anyone asks, I'm a prosthetics nerd.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

why did they give her a kangaroo leg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

maybe it's sunday morning hangovers, but you lot are been an awful shower of **** this morning.

Read what ye said again, and tell me that ye lot are not being soulless arses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

HAWT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

snyper wrote: »
    maybe it's sunday morning hangovers, but you lot are been an awful shower of **** this morning.

lol

It's AH. I think defending amps is the least I could do.....

no.....

wait a sec.......

*reads*

damn.

*shrugs*

Edit: Ohhhhhhh I jsut got that. Thanks bonerm, I iz tick.

I don't like "aw look at this poor creature" emails anyway and while I did say it would be difficult, it's not what the email was building it up to be
    So no I stand by what I said

unless that was a joke in which case, lol ;s