Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinn Fein Presidential Candidate

• 11-09-2010 8:05pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭

Do Sinn Fein normally run a cadidate for the Irish Presidency? And if so what would it mean for Ireland and the Peace Process if one was elected?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Would probably help the party if they got rid of the IRA terrorist Gerry Adams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I doubt Sinn Féin have the numbers to nominate a candidate. Certainly not enough in the Oireachtas and probably not enough in the councils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

KeithAFC wrote: »

:facepalms:

OP, Sinn Féin need 20 TDs i think and a few more regulations so it's unlikely they'll be able to if they wanted

PomBear wrote: »
    :facepalms:

OP, Sinn Féin need 20 TDs i think and a few more regulations so it's unlikely they'll be able to if they wanted
    I was being serious. The only reason the guy survives up here in Northern Ireland is because of the wounds of the Troubles. The moment those wounds fully heal, the guy would be useless.

He would never get into a high position down south because as far as im aware, people don't vote for terrorists in the Republic of Ireland. His past is as dodgy as f*ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

As I said in another thread, if SF actually recognised the country, it might be a start.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

How does the nomination work? I thought anyone could run? (George Hook)

I was being serious. The only reason the guy survives up here in Northern Ireland is because of the wounds of the Troubles. The moment those wounds fully heal, the guy would be useless.

He would never get into a high position down south because as far as im aware, people don't vote for terrorists in the Republic of Ireland. His past is as dodgy as f*ck.

Or he's leader of the Third Biggest Party on this Island and that Party and his oters seems to approve of him What are you on about wounds healing from the Troubles? There are wounds that won't heal and parents without sons or daughters, sons and daughters without parents and so on.

He is respected by most for being key to peace and being a fine politician. The Irish voter isn't as fickle as thinking 'dodgy as ****'. Grow up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭timespast

Yawn.

Or he's leader of the Third Biggest Party on this Island and that Party and his oters seems to approve of him What are you on about wounds healing from the Troubles? There are wounds that won't heal and parents without sons or daughters, sons and daughters without parents and so on.

He is respected by most for being key to peace and being a fine politician. The Irish voter isn't as fickle as thinking 'dodgy as ****'. Grow up
    The wounds of the troubles. As time passes and people move on, his position will weaken. I dont' see what he has to offer anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

The wounds of the troubles. As time passes and people move on, his position will weaken. I dont' see what he has to offer anyway.

somehow i doubht it. with the threat fo dissident republicans, people will have a new enemy to focus their anger on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

paky wrote: »
    How does the nomination work? I thought anyone could run? (George Hook)

From the Consitution, article 12, section 4:
    1. Every citizen who has reached his thirty-fifth year of age is eligible for election to the office of President.
    2. Every candidate for election, not a former or retiring President, must be nominated either by:
      1. not less than twenty persons, each of whom is at the time a member of one of the Houses of the Oireachtas, or
      2. by the Councils of not less than four administrative Counties (including County Boroughs) as defined by law.
    3. No person and no such Council shall be entitled to subscribe to the nomination of more than one candidate in respect of the same election.
    4. Former or retiring Presidents may become candidates on their own nomination.
    5. Where only one candidate is nominated for the office of President it shall not be necessary to proceed to a ballot for his election.

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/eng/Youth_Zone/About_the_Constitution,_Flag,_Anthem_Harp/Constitution_of_Ireland_Eng_Nov2004.htm :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Is there a way someone can be proposed if they have a certain amount of signatures from members of the public? Or was that something I imagined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

yekahs wrote: »
    Is there a way someone can be proposed if they have a certain amount of signatures from members of the public? Or was that something I imagined?

Something imagined. As per my post above, there are only three ways a person can run:
    • They are nominated by at least 20 members of the Oireachtas.
    • They are nominated by at least 4 country councils.
    • They are a former or retiring president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

You are derailing this thread (and by responding to you, so am I, but anyway...).

Gerry Adams has been instrumental in delivering peace in the six counties and maintaining that peace to the present day. He does not seek to stoke the fire of bitterness, sectarianism or anti-British sentiment. He himself has been personally affected by the destruction of the war and his message in today's Ireland is one of peace and reconciliation. That is the platform on which he operates in 2010.

Just so there's no confusion she ran as an Independant (she left Labour over the Good Friday Agreement)
    But she was mainly nominated by Labour of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Just so there's no confusion she ran as an Independant (she left Labour over the Good Friday Agreement)
    But she was mainly nominated by Labour of course.

Good Friday Agreement 1998, My god the woman is a visionary as well as everything else.:D
    It was over the Anlgo Irish Agreement 1985.

I can't see them running anyone in the next Pres election. Mary Lou is too young, she prob wouldn't want to go for it anyway. She prob see herself as Taoiseach material. None of their other figures elected or unelected in the Republic has a big enough profile/appeal.

They wouldn't nominate any of the Northern women politicians as they're total unknowns in the Republic. The male politicians are all associated with the peace process and pre peace process. None has a big voter appeal I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

imme wrote: »
    Mary Lou is too young, she prob wouldn't want to go for it anyway. She prob see herself as Taoiseach material.
    So you reckon she'll go back to FF? :D
    If she really is that, er confident, she would certainly be in the right party!

lugha wrote: »
    So you reckon she'll go back to FF? :D
    If she really is that, er confident, she would certainly be in the right party!

No, I don't see her wanting to be President. I see her wanting more than the presidency.
    Even though she failed to be elected to the Dail a couple of times and failed to be reelected to the European Parliament when the Dublin constituency lost a seat, I believe that she thinks there's better things in store for her some day.

I don't think she'll rejoin FF, she has some intelligence.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

imme wrote: »
    I can't see them running anyone in the next Pres election. Mary Lou is too young, she prob wouldn't want to go for it anyway. She prob see herself as Taoiseach material. None of their other figures elected or unelected in the Republic has a big enough profile/appeal.

They wouldn't nominate any of the Northern women politicians as they're total unknowns in the Republic. The male politicians are all associated with the peace process and pre peace process. None has a big voter appeal I think.

Was mcaleese well known before running for election? I was only 12/13 at the time so cant remember.

why would being associated with the peace process go against them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Adams is 50/1(same as Bono) and Mary Lou is 100/1.

In other words.... not a hope in hell!

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/other-politics/next-irish-president?ev_oc_grp_ids=33552

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

Ok Gerry Adams having been urged and advised by John Hume played his part in the peace process and the GFA.

However he has a rather murky past. Could not have a presidential candidate who refuses to condemn the many murders and other crimes committed as part of the "armed struggle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭REPSOC1916

Speaking as a supporter, there wouldnt be much point in running a candidate. First of we dont meet the threshold for the number of TD's and Senators and the only council where the party could get a nomination from would be Monaghan County Council. Secondly it'd be a waste of resources campaigning for an election to a post which doesnt really have much power or in Joe Higgins word's a "bourgeoise bauble".
    I'd say most members would be happy enough to back Michael D Higgins and probably have an arrangement with Labour similar to the 1990 agreement with the Workers' Party (when they had strength) with Mary Robinson.

nuac wrote: »
    Ok Gerry Adams having been urged and advised by John Hume played his part in the peace process and the GFA.

However he has a rather murky past. Could not have a presidential candidate who refuses to condemn the many murders and other crimes committed as part of the "armed struggle"
    Or the ones he took part in.

Was mcaleese well known before running for election? I was only 12/13 at the time so cant remember.

why would being associated with the peace process go against them?

she was well known politically, she'd stood for FF at a Gen Election. She'd represented the Irish Bishops Conference at the New Ireland Forum or something. Sge was Reid Prof in Trinity. She was known politically, but was a complete surprise to most when announced.

You know what I can't remember the second point I made above.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

nuac wrote: »

However he has a rather murky past.

So has Bertie Ahern but he still wants to run for President.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

Martin Ferriss & Arthur Morgan are currently elected to an Dail. Both former PIRA members.
    Also, there are many, many public representatives in the south that hold, or have held, public office that, with your labeling, have been involved in republican activity.

Martin Ferriss & Arthur Morgan are currently elected to an Dail. Both former PIRA members.
    Also, there are many, many public representatives in the south that hold, or have held, public office that, with your labeling, have been involved in republican activity.
    They should be booted out. And its not republican activity im on about, its shooting people, planning the planting of bombs, lying about activity in the IRA etc.

Yes, be undemocratic about as you can about it :rolleyes:
    Should we kick out all Parties bar the Greens because of their IRA past?:rolleyes:

Yes, be undemocratic about as you can about it :rolleyes:
    Should we kick out all Parties bar the Greens because of their IRA past?:rolleyes:
    People involved in trying and blowing people apart with bombs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

are you related to owen c or did you just go to the same school ? , many people tried to kill each other in n ireland , ira, british army , uda ,uvf , inla . its all history now . what is been discussed here despite your best efforts to derail the thread is sinn and the presidency in the rep of ireland .start another thread on gerry adams the ira murderer if you like its been discussed millions of times already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

The President of Ireland is commander in chief of Oglaigh na hEireann.

Would this cause confusion for a Sinn Fein president ?

chughes wrote: »
    The President of Ireland is commander in chief of Oglaigh na hEireann.

Would this cause confusion for a Sinn Fein president ?

A very valid point.

Part of the Constitution also states that only OnhE is the only legit army. President would have to swear to uphold the Constitution as well.

Although if Sinn Féin have given up the IRA then there shouldn't be a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

people in the south vote for gangsters , who helped cover up paedophilia , child sex abuse and corruption, gerry adams has more intelligence in his beard than most southern politicians put together, whatever about the rights and wrongs of the IRA campaign above, at least gerry and his crew had real conviction in their beliefs , he will never be president here anyway but i think peter robinson could win the vote here but obvious he wont be putting his hat in the ring...john hume or the late david irvine would get my vote...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

N_Ireland_News_1-1__286801t.jpg

Tongue firmly in cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I don’t think Gerry Adams would have any interest in running for it, lets be honest here, it is a mickey mouse role. If you want to have any form of influence in the country would Brian Cowens job now be what you are chasing? Ive seen programmes with Adams stating he will stay president of SF until he retires and then will be done with it, i cannot see how this role would attract him in anyway. He is far to intelligent and useful to the country (despite others just constantly bashing him) in his current role than he would be as president of Ireland.

Despite his past, i think Northern Ireland needs him, and down here would really benefit from him if he had any form of power in policies. He is probably the only politician id place any trust in. Thats my opinion, il hang on in this thread though for the usual critics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,746 ✭✭✭✭maccored

yay! another thread derailed by the same anti republican bull****! (that was for keith btw)

at this stage of the game, I dont think SF would actually wish to put anyone forward for the presidency.

maccored wrote: »
    yay! another thread derailed by the same anti republican bull****! (that was for keith btw)

Sorry ?

Since when is it "bull****" to point out that someone suggested for president refuses to recognise the state and refuses to condemn the murder of a Garda ?

apology accepted. Its bull**** to drag down a thread with the same repeated crap, time after time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

apology accepted. Its bull**** to drag down a thread with the same repeated crap, time after time.

It may be bull to you but I would like to know which Oglaigh Na hEireann a Sinn Fein presidential candidate would recognise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Its bull**** to drag down a thread with the same repeated crap, time after time.
    I see. So if someone started a thread seriously advocating Bertie for president, you'd be calling foul on any " bull**** to drag down a thread with the same repeated crap, time after time" about his funny finances, as this had been done and covered to death? I think not.

You refute a criticism by, well refuting it, not by saying "oh, I wish you would stop bringing that up"

FF, FG and Labour all have their roots in the IRA who used bombs back then too and FF, FG and Labour are quite proud of the fact (at times), so i'll ask again, should we expel their TDs?

As anyone who read my post will realise, your "apology accepted" is bull****.

That said, if I ever did anything that required an apology, I'll give it; which is more than I can say for Adams & Co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭evenmicheal

Think Martin McGuinness is the only one who comes acoss as somewhat likable, don't think he really would be interested though, he actually has a job of some importance, Adams would not stand a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭REPSOC1916

Your comments really remind me of a letter sent in by an ex-PD local election candidate called Martin Kenny. He accused Arthur Morgan of treason and stated he should resign. The so called act of treason: Morgan was scathing of the 2009 budget and stated in the Dail that there was more social conscience "in a cats arse than in the entire Fianna Fail parliamentary party".
    Firstly your position is one based on absolutely ignorance. If you had lived during the life-time of that orange statelet you'd have seen the reasons why many people took up arms against an authoritarian regime. Gerrymandering, open sectarianism and a poor standard of living along with the triumphalism of unionism are a few motifs of that regime.
    I'm really fed up of this anti-shinner bashing. SF is the fourth largest party in the south in terms of votes. Larger than the Greens and the PD's could ever muster. Morgan, Ferris, O'Snodaigh and O'Caolain have a mandate from the people and are all hard-workers. Theyre all hard workers in their constituencies. And you believe that the people who voted for Sinn Fein should be denied to express their mandate because Morgan and Ferris both were volunteers in the IRA at a time where the only avenue against a sectarian statelet was through the gun?

You people are unbelievable. It really a case of "some animals are more equal than others".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

You can dress it up any way you like :rolleyes: but the people of Ireland are not going to vote for a SF President, its just not on the cards in any way shape or form, mainly due to all the unsavoury baggage that they carry, but also because of their total lack or realistic candidates.

Adams, former IRA member?
    McGuinness, ex IRA member?
    Martin Ferris, ex IRA member?
    Mary Lou McDonald - I dont think so :)
    Caitríona Ruane - don't mention education!

The very idea of a Sinn Fein president of Ireland is just rediculous, & not realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

I don’t think as i stated before that they have any fuc*ing interest in the mickey mouse role.

I do believe though they will grow in numbers in the coming years, and will successfully bring about a united Ireland through working with unionists. People moan about Ulster politicians for their involvement with the troubles etc, but to be honest with you, i live in Dublin and i respect politicians on both sides within Ulster more than i will respect politicians within the Republic of Ireland.

I think Gerry Adams is a great leader, he has done alot for Nationalists / Republicans, and has helped Ulster evolve into a better society, not quite there yet, but its alot better than what it was im sure.

Bring on the Gerry / SF bashing :D