Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

willie o dea on late late show

• 10-09-2010 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭

the little b*ll*x is on the FF show wonder if tub will grill him:rolleyes: jesus he even got a round of applause from the audience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

What the f**k is Tubridy at ? Trying to get all of the con-men on to make them look good before the next election ?

Happy to say that I haven't watched this ****e show since Tub did his first FF love-in, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

tubs is a chher leader for ff,as is the late late,as is fcuking rte for gods sake. sickening.
    we need to purge the country of ff and its quislings, it really is a cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

he must be doing a peter mandelson and getting ready for a return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

i bet you a tenner liam that IVOR i dont know what house to stay in to night will be on it next:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

i bet you a tenner liam that IVOR i dont know what house to stay in to night will be on it next:eek:

Probably not, since he's been kicked out of FF, Tubridy is only interested in saving FF's skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Willie sticking the knife in the Greens - total **** stirrer.

The little runt has a brass neck.

I'm no Green supporter but I bet Gormley is chewing his own elbow watching this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

O'Dea is complaining about the Greens tweeting all over the place :rolleyes:?? Is it only Fianna Fail who are allowed to tweet?

Tubridy obviously invited an FF rent-a-crowd, judging from the huge applause O'Dea got when he said he would run again in the next elections. Nothing surprising there :rolleyes:!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I thought the bertie love in was bad, but that was sickening.

Tubs is pure FF scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    What the f**k is Tubridy at ? Trying to get all of the con-men on to make them look good before the next election ?

Would he have that much say though?
    Who here could possibly know

On lots of shows it's the producers who run it and decide who the guests are.

I'm posting on who gets on the show, not his interview style

Poly wrote: »

Tubs is pure FF scum.
    after some how sitting through the ahern orgie i dont watch the late late ff show anymore.

Probably not, since he's been kicked out of FF, Tubridy is only interested in saving FF's skin.

what i meant was in the near distance future that the little b*ll*x gets re-elected and somehow the FF shower do a bev flynn job.

did anyone see what came on before the show started a product placement warning they should have included this is a political party broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Agent_47

Tubs must be hard up for guests bringing that "has been" on.

Would get a better veiwing figures bringing on the bold Jean Byrne (Met Eireann) and asking her about those eye catching colour dresses :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

when he mentioned our willie was to be on the show, i used the remote to good effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 johnf332003

Poly wrote: »

Tubs is pure FF scum.

you bunch of whiners, your right to give FF a kicking (yes your right). but to say tubs is FF only is bull ... what about the ginger cringe form Mayo. He was an embarrassment when he was on the late late.
    But the greens are a tax only party. Transport costs up because of the greens carbon tax. Green's are putting a 5% increase on all your ESB bills from October. Self employed people must now pay more commercial tax on there vehicles. Oh wait till your start pay property taxes (Green original idea). Oh also water charges greens brilliant idea. The Green economy is more and more taxes, yes the greens are scum!!!

RonMexico wrote: »
    Willie sticking the knife in the Greens - total **** stirrer.

The little runt has a brass neck.

I'm no Green supporter but I bet Gormley is chewing his own elbow watching this.

WOD is right the greens are no good. There the party of more and more tax. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭The Raven.

you bunch of whiners, your right to give FF a kicking (yes your right). but to say tubs is FF only is bull ... what about the ginger cringe form Mayo. He was an embarrassment when he was on the late late.
    But the greens are a tax only party. Transport cost cause of the greens carbon tax. Green's are putting a 5% increase on all your ESB bills from October. Self employed people must now pay more commercial tax on there vehicles. WOD is right the greens are scum!!!

Don't worry, I'm not defending the Greens. I agree with what you say about the Green tax and it is disgraceful. I just found it amazing that a FF TD would come on TV complaining that his Green colleagues in government are twittering, when FF are doing exactly the same.

It also seems too much of a coincidence that there was such a huge applause from the audience in approval of O'Dea standing again in the next elections.

the blame game has well and truly started tween the greens and ff...i just hope we all remember they're both to blame when election time comes.

tubs is a chher leader for ff,as is the late late,as is fcuking rte for gods sake. sickening.
    we need to purge the country of ff and its quislings, it really is a cancer.

You dick ' What about the leader of the tax more party when he was on (yes the Green leader). he wants to screw you with more taxes. Yes kick FF (you right too), but get you facts right.
    The Ginger embaresment from Mayo when he was on also, and he is the leader in waiting. You Dope .... they are all the same. You have no clue if you believe different. The sooner the IMF and the EU come in to run the country the better. Then things will be fixed.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

Never trust a man with a rat under his nose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Turned it off no more of this shoite will i listen too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

You dick ' What about the leader of the tax more party when he was on (yes the Green leader). he wants to screw you with more taxes. Yes kick FF (you right too), but get you facts right.
    The Ginger embaresment from Mayo when he was on also, and he is the leader in waiting. You Dope .... they are all the same. You have no clue if you believe different. The sooner the IMF and the EU come in to run the country the better. Then things will be fixed.:mad:

The IMF will come into the country, sell off all the state assets and we'll be left with massive interest repayments for any money we 'borrow' from them.

We have to hope Angela and the Germans are in forgiving mood - the EU would be the more preffered route to take.

i dont want to be seeing as back moding but johnf can you leave out the insults to other members we are all aware of the green party f**kups.

did i say the greens or fg would be any better?
    but fact is ff and their cohorts have driven this country to the brink of collapse.
    im no fg'er but anything is better then ahern and his gangster pals.
    also dont call me a dope for pointing out the obvious, that tubs is a die hard and biased ff'er. ok? ya fcuking muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Tuberty is a long time Fianna Fail hack but I was surprised they had O'Dea on, like he didn't actually add ANYTHING relevant during the interview except to rip on the Greens (who I possibly hate more than FF but that's beside the point).

He got what he deserved, and the fact that he and his Fianna Fail colleagues thought it was acceptable for him to stay on, if the Greens hadn't had the balls to throw the hissy-fit, speaks volumes about the culture of shameless, dishonest behaviour within Fianna Fail where its acceptable to make serious but scurrilous accusations against rival politicians who dare to question the wasting of tax payers money by using Civil Servants to do constituency work.

Our TDs already get plenty of, for all intents and purposes, unlimited expenses to run their Parish Pump operations without using paid Civil Servants who could be better applied to some of the more pressing issues than the potholes outside Paddy Joe's house.

ILA wrote: »
    Tuberty is a long time Fianna Fail hack but I was surprised they had O'Dea on, like he didn't actually add ANYTHING relevant during the interview except to rip on the Greens (who I possibly hate more than FF but that's beside the point).

He got what he deserved, and the fact that he and his Fianna Fail colleagues thought it was acceptable for him to stay on, if the Greens hadn't had the balls to throw the hissy-fit, speaks volumes about the culture of shameless, dishonest behaviour within Fianna Fail where its acceptable to make serious but scurrilous accusations against rival politicians who dare to question the wasting of tax payers money by using Civil Servants to do constituency work.

They're trying to rehabilitate O'Dea because he has pulled in enough first preference votes to get two TDs elected in Limerick.

So it's to keep O'Dea sweet and help rebuild his image to the FF Faithful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

I stupidly thought I'd give Tubridy the benefit of the doubt, as he is only a TV presenter, and not responsible for the mess the country is in, even if I object to his scandalously high salary.

But after this, I have lost all respect for him. He is shamelessly plugging and plugging Fianna Fáil, the party of WASTERS, THIEFS and CROOKS who have screwed this country, and screwed me. No matter how he pleads he doesn't. Self serving lies, just like Cowen and Ahern and the rest of FF.

I couldn't care less now who jeers him in the street, cocky little upstart. Anyway his honeymoon is over, and his amateur abilities are now showing themselves for what they are. He will NEVER be a Gaybo or a Parky. He is second rate, on a premier league salary, paid for by taxpayers who have no say in the matter.

And just like FF, he just can't seem to step outside himself and see how the rest of us view him.

paddyland wrote: »
    I stupidly thought I'd give Tubridy the benefit of the doubt, as he is only a TV presenter, and not responsible for the mess the country is in, even if I object to his scandalously high salary.

But after this, I have lost all respect for him. He is shamelessly plugging and plugging Fianna Fáil, the party of WASTERS, THIEFS and CROOKS who have screwed this country, and screwed me. No matter how he pleads he doesn't. Self serving lies, just like Cowen and Ahern and the rest of FF.

I couldn't care less now who jeers him in the street, cocky little upstart. Anyway his honeymoon is over, and his amateur abilities are now showing themselves for what they are. He will NEVER be a Gaybo or a Parky. He is second rate, on a premier league salary, paid for by taxpayers who have no say in the matter.

And just like FF, he just can't seem to step outside himself and see how the rest of us view him.

........and like almost the entire FF front bench, promoted way beyond his ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It was clear that a section of the audience were O'Dea supporters. It was really quite blatant. RTE's impartiality has to come into question.

Tubridy is either useless at hard interviews or is a FF supporter and intentionally steered clear of difficult questions. It was quite a sad interview.

Even to an apolitical, ordinary viewer, this was obvious.

Edit: I normally don't buy that RTE is biased, I think it usually stays impartial. On this occasion, I really have my doubts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

what I want to know is how much Willie is going to put down on his expenses sheet for busing a loads of auld FF die hards from limerick to whoop and cheer him when he walked out. I would have pelted the lying yoke with eggs or some other foul smelling food, and would gladly have put it to him that FF think they should be exempt from rules that govern everyone else. :mad:

I used to support FG but over the last 2 years have lost all respect for them too and every other political party. you cant trust any of them.
    people who are qualified and experts in their fields should be running our country. not a bunch of cowboys and tree huggers who care more about propping up the banks than people suffering in this country. :mad:

sorry for the rant, but Willie O'Dea and his cronies represent everything that is wrong and disgusting about Irish Politics, and I just want them gone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Went home this weekend to visit the parents. Arrived just in time to see most of this. Ryan Tubridy is an absolute disgrace. Licked O'Dea's hole all night. When they broke to the sob story type interviews I'd had enough and went to watch a DVD in my room. The irony of both pieces obviously was lost on Ryan the Runt
    The Raven. wrote: »
    Tubridy obviously invited an FF rent-a-crowd, judging from the huge applause O'Dea got when he said he would run again in the next elections.

Couldn't help but notice this myself. The whole charade made me sick to the pit of my stomach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

Willie O'Dea perjured himself in a court of law, and by rights, should be in jail. But the ordinary taxpayer is in no position to influence events, so instead, this man is enabled, by another taxpayer supported organisation, RTE, to come onto national telly, and smile and grin, and preen, and make a joke out of the country and it's laws. Sure it's all a laugh, and up de boys, vote FF.

O'Dea has contributed nothing of any note to government of this country, and by all accounts, he has contributed little to his own Limerick constituency either, despite all the bluster and PR. What he HAS managed to do, and do very well, is to shore up his FF party and defend them strongly at every juncture, and create no end of empty publicity for them, even though, like Bertie, Willie O'Dea is Willie O'Dea first, FF second.

The fact that, given O'Dea's lacklustre personal contribution to society as a whole, and the carnage visited upon society by his FF party, a small coterie of people can still be relied on to crawl out of the woodwork like flies out of a nest, and defend the indefensible, speaks volumes about why this country is where it is. These small minded people must have done very well personally out of their support for a corrupt political party, despite the negative effect that has on society as a whole.

As long as I'm doing all right Jack (Willie) then to hell with everyone else, to hell with society, and vote the shysters back in again. FF never had to worry about society as a whole. As long as just enough friends of the party were looked after, they could swing the game their way, despite never gaining an overall majority of support since the 1970s.

The majority of this country DO NOT want them, yet our curious version of 'democracy' seems to favour them time, and time again. Unfortunately, a few well placed party hacks, like Tubridy in RTE, will always be useful to spread another layer of fresh sh1te over stinking week old sh1te, and keep a rotting corpse breathing decomposition and decay long after it should be dead and buried.

spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

One wonders why Willie was wheeled out tonight?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I was hoping Tubs would say roll it there Roisín and show Willie this classic video of him selling hash and playing guitar in front of some council flats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

It wasn't as bad as Dobby and crying Bertie, but it's up there in the book of "Times RTE Gave FF A Dig Out."

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Next to no discussion on the reasons why he had to resign but more on how bad the greens are.
    I was surprised to see the weasel there but not surprised at the nicey nicey interview style of Tubridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

The Raven. wrote: »
    O'Dea is complaining about the Greens tweeting all over the place :rolleyes:?? Is it only Fianna Fail who are allowed to tweet?

Tubridy obviously invited an FF rent-a-crowd, judging from the huge applause O'Dea got when he said he would run again in the next elections. Nothing surprising there :rolleyes:!!

As if anyone expected him not to run again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

paddyland wrote: »
    Willie O'Dea perjured himself in a court of law, and by rights, should be in jail.

Really ? ? Did I miss that court case where he was charged, tried, convicted and sentenced ? ?

Or did you just hold your own little kangaroo court and convict him based on what you read in the papers ?

I would have liked to see him in court.
    However, unfortunately the government nominated Garda commissioner decided not to follow this route and he effectively got away with telling lies to the High Court!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

kbannon wrote: »
    I would have liked to see him in court.
    However, unfortunately the government nominated Garda commissioner decided not to follow this route and he effectively got away with telling lies to the High Court!

The reason he wasn't charged was because he didn't commit perjury. . . He said something in a sworn affidavit that was not true but that is not perjury . . .

Perjury is requires that he deliberately misled the court. It emerged that the comments he had made were recorded and the journalist in question has been clear that the recording device was "under Willie O Dea's nose" . .

For him to be convicted of perjury a court would have to believe that he remembered the interview, remembered making the comment and deliberately lied about it. It simply is not credible that he would remember the interview and not remember that he was recorded. It is equally not credible that he would swear an affidavit in the knowledge that such a recording existed.

He made a stupid mistake, it was right that he resigned but he did not commit perjury.

I would have liked a court to decide that and not the garda commissioner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

methinks a dog never bites the hand that feeds him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

WOD is right the greens are no good. There the party of more and more tax. :mad:
    Then why did his party form a coalition government with them? Oh, FF want to be in power at any and all costs.

The Greens at least have some principles IMO. FF have none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

For him to be convicted of perjury a court would have to believe that he remembered the interview, remembered making the comment and deliberately lied about it. It simply is not credible that he would remember the interview and not remember that he was recorded. It is equally not credible that he would swear an affidavit in the knowledge that such a recording existed.

Hmmm.........amnesia seems to be infectious in FF. I'd get that seen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

the little b*ll*x is on the FF show wonder if tub will grill him:rolleyes: jesus he even got a round of applause from the audience

Hi lads, joining the debate a bit late I am but one question. Has there ever been a guest on the late late that didn't get a round of applause?
    I assume every guest gets one at the start and one at the end? The lenght and intensity can vary I imagine but I don't recall any guest being blanked so .....I'm not sure whats so strange/wrong with him getting a round of applause.

What ever you say about Wille , I'm sure he'd be well able to handle any grilling from the tubster. For better or for worse I doubt we've seen the last of Wille and that moustache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭deanh

seems clear now that FF strategy will be to blame it all on the greens and nothing to do with Brian, Bertie, Willie et al. If the electorate buy that sh1te, we deserve all we get. Did any greens tweet a response to little willie's remarks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Darsad wrote: »
    Never trust a man with a rat under his nose

Is that Blackadder?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 140 ✭✭nizo888

Frogeye wrote: »
    Hi lads, joining the debate a bit late I am but one question. Has there ever been a guest on the late late that didn't get a round of applause?

Not a LLS expert here but I remember Bishop Casey's lover Annie Murphy walking off at the end of an interview without getting an applause and on one of Tommie Tiernan's first appearances, he got quite a muted applause after taking the piss out of Jesus and had furious viewers driving up to Montrose to confront him.

This country is sick. RTE is a media outlet for FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

What actiual evidenc is there for Tubridy being a FFer? I'm not doubting it but apart from his brother standing for election what else is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

tubridy is an FF mouthpiece. Fact. He has his cronies on for a chat and brown noses them like Smithers. I guarantee you that before the next GE he'll have them all on plus the odius senator Harris for a nice little FF circle-jerk/reacharound.